DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1-6, 9, and 11-17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (WO 2020/111253 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 06/23/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 8 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (WO 2020/111253 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 06/23/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claim, which is dependent on Claim 1, recites numerous amine compounds which lie outside the scope of Applicant’s Formula 1 as defined in the parent claim. For example, the claim recites C60 that does not comprise the FG group represented by any one of Applicant’s Formulae 2-5. The Applicant should ensure that every single amine compound as recited in Claim 10 fully lies within the scope of Formula 1 as recited in Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (WO 2020/111253 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of WIPO publication WO 2020/111253 A1 (herein referred to as “Takahashi et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Takahashi et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 169 of Takahashi et al.) (corresponds to Applicant’s A37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (WO 2020/111253 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of WIPO publication WO 2020/111253 A1 (herein referred to as “Takahashi et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Regarding Claims 1-6, 9, 11-17, and 19, Takahashi et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light emitting element) comprising the following layers: substrate (2), anode (3), first hole-transporting layer (6a), second hole-transporting layer (6b), light-emitting layer (5), first electron-transporting layer (7a), second electron-transporting layer (7b), and cathode (4) (Fig. 2 of Takahashi et al.; [0249]). Takahashi et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
(page 2 of Takahashi et al.) where X = O or S, Ar1 = aryl or heteroaryl, and Ar2 = heteroaryl, L1-2 = independently arylene having 6-30 ring carbon atoms such as phenylene, biphenylene, terphenylene, and naphthylene ([0026], [0046]). Narrowed forms include the following:
(page 11 of Takahashi et al.). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 162 of Takahashi et al.) such that o = p = 0, n = 0, L2 = unsubstituted arylene group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenylene), X = O, Ar1 = unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenyl), and FG = Applicant’s Formula 5 (with m5 = 0) of Applicant’s Formulae 1 and 1-4 as comprising (any one of) the hole-transporting layer(s) ([0243]). However, Takahashi et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on the Applicant’s formula, particularly in regards to the nature of the L1 group. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the compound as disclosed by Takahashi et al. (above) such that L1 = unsubstituted arylene group of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms (biphenylene). The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange of one group (phenylene) for a functional equivalent (another arylene, i.e., biphenylene) selected from a highly finite list as disclosed by Takahashi et al. as viable embodiments for the L1 group; further motivation exists, as the modification merely involves a homologous extension of the phenylene (to biphenylene), thus producing a compound that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties (and easily envisioned from the scope of Takahashi et al.’s formula), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success. Takahashi et al. further discloses compounds such as the following as host material comprising the light-emitting layer:
(page 209 of Takahashi et al.) such that c = d = 1, R39-40 = unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (phenyl), and R31-38 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formula E-1.
Regarding Claim 10, Takahashi et al. discloses another narrowed formula:
(page 12 of Takahashi et al.) where Y = NR (with R = aryl group having 6-30 ring carbon atoms such as phenyl and naphthyl) ([0032], [0042]). Another embodiment is disclosed:
(page 169 of Takahashi et al.). However, Takahashi et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that corresponds to any of the explicated recited compounds in the claim. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the compound as disclosed by Takahashi et al. (above) such that the resulting compound corresponds to Applicant’s A45. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange of one group (phenyl) for a functional equivalent (another aryl, i.e., naphthyl) selected from a highly finite list as disclosed by Takahashi et al. as possible viable embodiments for an aryl group (for R) (and easily envisioned from the scope of its general formula), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of WIPO publication WO 2020/111253 A1 (herein referred to as “Takahashi et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
The closest prior art is provided by Takahashi et al. (WO 2020/111253 A1), which discloses inventive compounds encompassed by the following formula for use in an organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(page 14 of Takahashi et al.) where R1-20 = hydrogen (including deuterium) or substituent group ([0017], [0026]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 162 of Takahashi et al.). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Takahashi et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature of the substituents attached to the core dibenzofuran or dibenzothiophene group.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pages 70-76) with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786