DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in grounds of the new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2003197427)(English translation) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 2018/0096780) and Ishii et al. (US 20140145815).
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al. (figures 1-5 and para 0017-0040) discloses an element body (see figures 1b/5) including a mounting surface and a main surface facing the mounting surface (see figures 1b/5); a pair of terminal electrodes (6/7) disposed on the mounting surface of the element body(see figures 1b/5); and a coil that is disposed in the element body and electrically connected to the pair of terminal electrodes(see figures 1b/5), wherein the coil includes a first wiring portion (2),a second wiring portion (3), and a connection portion (8) that extends in a direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and connects the first wiring portion to the second wiring portion (see para 0017-0032),
the first wiring portion being disposed between the main surface and the second wiring portion in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1b/5), the second wiring portion being disposed between the first wiring portion and the mounting surface in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1b/5); and the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler (1 or 5) and at least one second resin layer (15) having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes.(see para 0034-0036)
Sato et al. does not expressly disclose wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Sekiguchi et al. (figures 1a-3 and para 0089-0104) discloses a teaching wherein
wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes (16/16) and the connection portion (32) overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other. (see figures 1a-1b)
Ishiiet al. (figures 1, para 0007-0008 and para 0020) discloses a teaching wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes wherein the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other as taught by Sekiguchi et al. to the inductive device of Sato et al. so as allow for a more compact design, while also improving the electrical connection between the inductive device and the terminal electrode thereby allowing for improved inductive characteristics.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface as taught by Ishii et al. to the inductive device of Sato et al. so as to allow for a more compact design; which will save in production cost in regards to time and material needed to make the inductive device while also allowing for a smaller stray capacitance and high Q to be obtained.
Regarding claim 2, Sato et al. (figures 1b/5) discloses wherein the main surface is configured of the first resin layer (4).
Regarding claim 4, Sato et al. (figures 1b/5 and para 0049-0063) discloses wherein a plurality of first resin layers (4,1,5) and a plurality of second resin layers (14,15) are alternately disposed in the element body.
Regarding claim 6, Sekiguchi et al. (figures 1a-3) wherein the terminal electrodes and the second wiring portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the main surface and the mounting surface face each other.
2. Claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2003197427)(English translation) in view of Yatabe et al. (US 20180096778) and Ishii et al. (US 20140145815).
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al. (figures 1-5 and para 0017-0040) discloses an element body (see figures 1b/5) including a mounting surface and a main surface facing the mounting surface (see figures 1b/5); a pair of terminal electrodes (6/7) disposed on the mounting surface of the element body(see figures 1b/5); and a coil that is disposed in the element body and electrically connected to the pair of terminal electrodes(see figures 1b/5), wherein the coil includes a first wiring portion (2),a second wiring portion (3), and a connection portion (8) that extends in a direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and connects the first wiring portion to the second wiring portion (see para 0017-0032),
the first wiring portion being disposed between the main surface and the second wiring portion in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1b/5), the second wiring portion being disposed between the first wiring portion and the mounting surface in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1b/5); and the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler (1 or 5) and at least one second resin layer (15) having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes.(see para 0034-0036)
Sato et al. does not expressly disclose wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Yatabe et al. (figures 1-2c and para 0072-0089) discloses a teaching wherein
when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes (50/50) and the connection portion (32) overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other. (see figures 1-2b)
Ishii et al. (figures 1, para 0007-0008 and para 0020) discloses a teaching wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other as taught by Yatabe et al. to the inductive device of Sato et al. so as allow for a more compact design, while also improving the electrical connection between the inductive device and the terminal electrode thereby allowing for improved inductive characteristics.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface as taught by Ishii et al. to the inductive device of Sato et al. so as to allow for a more compact design; which will save in production cost in regards to time and material needed to make the inductive device while also allowing for a smaller stray capacitance and high Q to be obtained.
Regarding claim 2, Sato et al. (figures 1b/5) discloses wherein the main surface is configured of the first resin layer (4).
Regarding claim 4, Sato et al. (figures 1b/5 and para 0049-0063) discloses wherein a plurality of first resin layers (4,1,5) and a plurality of second resin layers (14,15) are alternately disposed in the element body.
Regarding claim 6, Yatabe et al. (figures 1-2c) discloses the terminal electrodes and the second wiring portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the main surface and the mounting surface face each other.
3. Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya et al. (US 2004/0183645) in view of Sato et al. (JP 2003197427)(English translation), Sekiguchi et al. (US 20170345558) and Kido (US 10840009).
Regarding claim 1, Takaya et al. (figures 1a-2b and para 0089-0104) discloses an element body (see figures 1a-2b) including a mounting surface and a main surface facing the mounting surface (see figures 1a-1c); a pair of terminal electrodes (12/12) disposed on the mounting surface of the element body(see figures 1a-1c); and a coil that is disposed in the element body and electrically connected to the pair of terminal electrodes(see figures 1a-1c and para 0090), wherein the coil includes a first wiring portion (3b) disposed on the main surface side (see figures 1a-1c), a second wiring portion (3a) disposed on the mounting surface side(see figures 1a-1c), and a connection portion (2a/2b) that extends in a direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and connects the first wiring portion to the second wiring portion (see figures 1a-1c and para 0090-0095), the first wiring portion being disposed between the main surface and the second wiring portion in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1a-1c), the second wiring portion being disposed between the first wiring portion and the mounting surface in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1a-1c)
Takaya et al. (figures 1b/2b and para 0090-0093) discloses the element body has a plurality of first layers (9 or 10) and second resin layer (4-5/11) that are made of a resin material or a resin material containing fillers but does not expressly disclose wherein the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler and at least one second resin layer having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes.
Takaya et al. does not expressly disclose when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and a pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Sato et al. (figures 1-5 and para 0017-0040) discloses a teaching of the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler (1 or 5) and at least one second resin layer (15) having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes. (see para 0034-0036)
Sekiguchi et al. (figures 1a-3 and para 0089-0104) discloses a teaching wherein
wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes (16/16) and the connection portion (32) overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other. (see figures 1a-1b)
Kido (figure 1 and Col 6, lines 1-60) discloses a teaching wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler and at least one second resin layer having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes as taught by Sato et al. to the inductive device of Takaya et al.so as to reduce crosstalk thereby improving signal quality while also allowing for electrical signals to travel at a higher speed due to reduced interaction with the medium.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a teaching wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other as taught by Sekiguchi et al. to the inductive device of Takaya et al. so as allow for a more compact design, while also improving the electrical connection between the inductive device and the terminal electrode thereby allowing for improved inductive characteristics.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface as taught by Kido to the inductive device of Takaya et al. so as to allow for a more compact design; which will save in production cost in regards to time and material needed to make the inductive device while also allowing for a smaller stray capacitance and high Q to be obtained.
Regarding claim 2, Takaya et al. (figure 1b) discloses wherein the main surface is configured of the first resin layer (9).
Regarding claim 3, Takaya et al. (figure 1b) discloses wherein a thickness of the first resin layer (9) in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other is smaller than a thickness of the second resin layer (5).
Regarding claim 4, Sato et al. (figures 1b/5 and para 0034-0036) discloses wherein a plurality of first resin layers (4,1,5) and a plurality of second resin layers (14,15) are alternately disposed in the element body.
Regarding claim 6, Sekiguchi et al. (figures 1-4) discloses the terminal electrodes and the second wiring portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the main surface and the mounting surface face each other.
4. Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya et al. (US 2004/0183645) in view of Takaya et al. (US 2002/0009577), Sekiguchi et al. (US 20170345558) and Kido (US 10840009).
Regarding claim 1, Takaya et al. (figures 1a-2b and para 0089-0104) discloses an element body (see figures 1a-2b) including a mounting surface and a main surface facing the mounting surface (see figures 1a-1c); a pair of terminal electrodes (12/12) disposed on the mounting surface of the element body(see figures 1a-1c); and a coil that is disposed in the element body and electrically connected to the pair of terminal electrodes(see figures 1a-1c and para 0090), wherein the coil includes a first wiring portion (3b) disposed on the main surface side (see figures 1a-1c), a second wiring portion (3a) disposed on the mounting surface side(see figures 1a-1c), and a connection portion (2a/2b) that extends in a direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and connects the first wiring portion to the second wiring portion (see figures 1a-1c and para 0090-0095); the first wiring portion being disposed between the main surface and the second wiring portion in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1a-1c), the second wiring portion being disposed between the first wiring portion and the mounting surface in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other (see figures 1a-1c).
Takaya et al. (figures 1b/2b and para 0090-0093) discloses the element body has a plurality of first layers (9 or 10) and second resin layer (4-5/11) that are made of a resin material or a resin material containing fillers but does not expressly disclose wherein the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler and at least one second resin layer having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes.
Takaya et al. does not expressly disclose when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other and a pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Takaya et al.(9577) (figures 1-4 and para 0068-0098) discloses a teaching of the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler (10c) and at least one second resin layer (10b) having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes. (see para 0068 discloses how two layers can differ in at least one parameter in regards to dielectric constant, Q value, and magnetic permeability, which allows the prior art of Takaya 577 to have the capability where in the layers can be designed to one first resin layer containing a filler and at least one second resin layer having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer).
Sekiguchi et al. (figures 1a-3 and para 0089-0104) discloses a teaching wherein
wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes (16/16) and the connection portion (32) overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other. (see figures 1a-1b)
Kido (figure 1 and Col 6, lines 1-60) discloses a teaching wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the element body is configured to include at least one first resin layer containing a filler and at least one second resin layer having a lower dielectric constant than the first resin layer between the first wiring portion and the terminal electrodes as taught by Takaya et al.(9577) to the inductive device of Takaya et al.so as to reduce crosstalk thereby improving signal quality while also allowing for electrical signals to travel at a higher speed due to reduced interaction with the medium.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a teaching wherein
wherein when viewed in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other, the first wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, and the second wiring portion extends continuously between the pair of terminal electrodes and overlaps both of the pair of terminal electrodes, wherein one of the terminal electrodes (and the connection portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other as taught by Sekiguchi et al. to the inductive device of Takaya et al. so as allow for a more compact design, while also improving the electrical connection between the inductive device and the terminal electrode thereby allowing for improved inductive characteristics.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed only on the mounting surface as taught by Kido to the inductive device of Takaya et al. so as to allow for a more compact design; which will save in production cost in regards to time and material needed to make the inductive device while also allowing for a smaller stray capacitance and high Q to be obtained.
Regarding claim 2, Takaya et al. (figure 1b) discloses wherein the main surface is configured of the first resin layer (9).
Regarding claim 3, Takaya et al. (figure 1b) discloses wherein a thickness of the first resin layer (9) in the direction in which the mounting surface and the main surface face each other is smaller than a thickness of the second resin layer (5).
Regarding claim 6, Sekiguchi et al. (figures 1-4) discloses the terminal electrodes and the second wiring portion overlap when viewed from the direction in which the main surface and the mounting surface face each other.
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya et al. (US 2004/0183645) in view of Takaya et al. (US 2002/0009577), Sekiguchi et al. (US 20170345558) and Kido (US 10840009) in further view Suga et al. (US 2017/0278811).
Regarding claim 5, Takaya et al (figures 1a-2b and para 0089-0104) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly disclose wherein at least one second resin layer contains no filler.
Suga et al. (para 0030) wherein at least one second resin layer contains no filler.(note: Suga discloses wherein a first resin-based insulating material can added with filler of a silica and mixed with polyimide or parylene and the second resin-based insulating material is added with no filler such as a just polyimide or parylene resin)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein at least one second resin layer contains no filler as taught by Suga et al. to the inductive device of Takaya et al.so as to help improve thermal stability of resin by increasing its heating temperature threshold while allowing the inductive device improves resistant to moisture and solvents.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837