DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)–(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-2, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naqvi (US 20080259887) in view of Zhang (US 20180352398)
Regarding claim 1, Naqvi teaches a method for rendering media content, comprising:
receiving call signaling of a call service from a call session control device ([0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone umber, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s); [0130] Party A dials telephone number of party B. The signaling for this call is carried to the originating MSC from where it is routed to the terminating MSC and onwards to the receiving handset.”);
obtaining call context information based on the call signaling, wherein the call context information comprises information that describes progress of user equipment in the call service in a call service process ([0134] “We shall assume that the service being implemented is to render a selected multimedia object as a part of the call alerting phase of an incoming call to a receiving handset… During this routing phase, one or more triggers are generated ... to inform the SN of the progress ("state of the call") of the voice call. The SN uses this state information to coordinate the delivery of the multimedia object to the receiving handset.”); and
enabling, based on the call context information, the user equipment to render media content (advertisement) ([0134] “The SN may optionally respond to the trigger received from the CS network element or the CS network may simply wait for a pre-determined amount of time before carrying on with actions dictated by its logic. The PA renders the received object on the handset. [0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone number, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s) to be shown to this recipient, then retrieve the corresponding advertisement from the database, and cause it to be transported to the handset... the SN may retrieve the advertisement from the database for a particular handset and cause it to be pre-loaded in the handset”).
However, Naqvi does not explicitly teach “wherein the call context information comprises call status information of the user equipment, and the call status information comprises a call status of the user equipment and a start time point of the call status; to render media content based on the start time point of the call status.”
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the call context information (status of a call) comprises call status information of the user equipment (Fig. 1; [0024] At step S110, a status of a call is monitored. [0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”), and
the call status information comprises a call status of the user equipment (call answered) and a start time point of the call status (starting to be answered) (“[0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”. Since the claim does not define what “start time point” is, the examiner interprets “start time point” is the point where the call is “starting be answered”)
to render media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status ([0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”; [0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Naqvi's teaching of rendering advertisement to include Zhang's teaching of rendering media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status (starting to answer the call) in order to improve the effectiveness of the advertisement by specifically sending the advertisement based on start of the call and the phone is being used instead of when the phone is off or not being used (Zhang [0008] “the inventors have found a solution by combining the pushing of service information about a service or application developed by an Internet service provider, with the progress of a call on the user equipment. In addition, another problem to be solved is how to achieve accurate pushing to a specific target.”)
Regarding claim 2, Naqvi and Zhang teach the method for rendering media content according to claim 1, wherein the enabling, based on the call context information, the user equipment to render media content based on the start time point of the call status comprises: triggering, based on the call context information, the user equipment to render target media content on a target rendering occasion (Zhang [0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”; [0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Naqvi's teaching of rendering advertisement to include Zhang's teaching of rendering media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status (starting to answer the call) in order to improve the effectiveness of the advertisement by specifically sending the advertisement based on start of the call and the phone is being used instead of when the phone is off or not being used (Zhang [0008] “the inventors have found a solution by combining the pushing of service information about a service or application developed by an Internet service provider, with the progress of a call on the user equipment. In addition, another problem to be solved is how to achieve accurate pushing to a specific target.”)
Regarding claim 16, Naqvi teaches a method for rendering media content, executed by a call context management device, wherein the method comprises:
receiving call signaling of a call service from a call session control device ([0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone umber, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s); [0130] Party A dials telephone number of party B. The signaling for this call is carried to the originating MSC from where it is routed to the terminating MSC and onwards to the receiving handset.”);
obtaining call context information based on the call signaling, wherein the call context information comprises information used to describe progress of user equipment in the call service in a call service process ([0134] “We shall assume that the service being implemented is to render a selected multimedia object as a part of the call alerting phase of an incoming call to a receiving handset… During this routing phase, one or more triggers are generated ... to inform the SN of the progress ("state of the call") of the voice call. The SN uses this state information to coordinate the delivery of the multimedia object to the receiving handset.”); and
indicating, based on the call context information, a media rendering device to trigger the user equipment to render target media content on a target rendering occasion ([0134] “The SN may optionally respond to the trigger received from the CS network element or the CS network may simply wait for a pre-determined amount of time before carrying on with actions dictated by its logic. The PA renders the received object on the handset. [0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone number, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s) to be shown to this recipient, then retrieve the corresponding advertisement from the database, and cause it to be transported to the handset... the SN may retrieve the advertisement from the database for a particular handset and cause it to be pre-loaded in the handset”).
However, Naqvi does not explicitly teach “wherein the call context information comprises call status information of the user equipment, and the call status information comprises a call status of the user equipment and a start time point of the call status; to render media content based on the start time point of the call status.”
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the call context information (status of a call) comprises call status information of the user equipment (Fig. 1; [0024] At step S110, a status of a call is monitored. [0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”), and
the call status information comprises a call status of the user equipment (call answered) and a start time point of the call status (starting to be answered) (“[0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”. Since the claim does not define what “start time point” is, the examiner interprets “start time point” is the point where the call is “starting be answered”)
to render media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status ([0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”; [0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Naqvi's teaching of rendering advertisement to include Zhang's teaching of rendering media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status (starting to answer the call) in order to improve the effectiveness of the advertisement by specifically sending the advertisement based on start of the call and the phone is being used instead of when the phone is off or not being used (Zhang [0008] “the inventors have found a solution by combining the pushing of service information about a service or application developed by an Internet service provider, with the progress of a call on the user equipment. In addition, another problem to be solved is how to achieve accurate pushing to a specific target.”)
Regarding claim 19, Naqvi teaches a method for rendering media content, wherein the method comprises: receiving call context information from a call context management device ([0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone umber, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s); [0130] Party A dials telephone number of party B. The signaling for this call is carried to the originating MSC from where it is routed to the terminating MSC and onwards to the receiving handset.”),
wherein the call context information comprises information used to describe progress of user equipment in a call service in a call service process ([0134] “We shall assume that the service being implemented is to render a selected multimedia object as a part of the call alerting phase of an incoming call to a receiving handset… During this routing phase, one or more triggers are generated ... to inform the SN of the progress ("state of the call") of the voice call. The SN uses this state information to coordinate the delivery of the multimedia object to the receiving handset.”);
determining at least one of a target rendering occasion or target media content based on the call context information ([0134] “The SN may optionally respond to the trigger received from the CS network element or the CS network may simply wait for a pre-determined amount of time before carrying on with actions dictated by its logic. The PA renders the received object on the handset. [0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone number, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s) to be shown to this recipient, then retrieve the corresponding advertisement from the database, and cause it to be transported to the handset... the SN may retrieve the advertisement from the database for a particular handset and cause it to be pre-loaded in the handset”).
and sending the at least one of target rendering occasion or information about the target media content (advertisement) to the call context management device, so that the call context management device triggers the user equipment to render the target media content on the target rendering occasion ( [0134] “The SN may optionally respond to the trigger received from the CS network element or the CS network may simply wait for a pre-determined amount of time before carrying on with actions dictated by its logic. The PA renders the received object on the handset. [0130] “Upon receiving a trigger from the CS network of an impending call in a UMTS network destined for a particular receiving mobile handset identified by a telephone number, the SN may look up the telephone number in the association table, retrieve the serial number of the advertisement(s) to be shown to this recipient, then retrieve the corresponding advertisement from the database, and cause it to be transported to the handset... the SN may retrieve the advertisement from the database for a particular handset and cause it to be pre-loaded in the handset”).
However, Naqvi does not explicitly teach “wherein the call context information comprises call status information of the user equipment, and the call status information comprises a call status of the user equipment and a start time point of the call status; to render media content based on the start time point of the call status.”
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the call context information (status of a call) comprises call status information of the user equipment (Fig. 1; [0024] At step S110, a status of a call is monitored. [0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”), and
the call status information comprises a call status of the user equipment (call answered) and a start time point of the call status (starting to be answered) (“[0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”. Since the claim does not define what “start time point” is, the examiner interprets “start time point” is the point where the call is “starting be answered”)
to render media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status ([0026] “At step S130, at least one piece of the service information, as well as a corresponding push method, is acquired based on the status of the call. At step S140, the at least one piece of the service information is pushed to a current call status interface”; [0030] “the status of the call may be, for example, one or more of ongoing entry of information of a called user by the calling user, waiting to be answered, starting to be answered”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Naqvi's teaching of rendering advertisement to include Zhang's teaching of rendering media content (push piece of the service information) based on the start time point of the call status (starting to answer the call) in order to improve the effectiveness of the advertisement by specifically sending the advertisement based on start of the call and the phone is being used instead of when the phone is off or not being used (Zhang [0008] “the inventors have found a solution by combining the pushing of service information about a service or application developed by an Internet service provider, with the progress of a call on the user equipment. In addition, another problem to be solved is how to achieve accurate pushing to a specific target.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 16 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 and 4 were previously objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fail to teach “a theoretical end time point of the call status; the obtaining call context information based on the call signaling comprises: determining the call status of the user equipment based on a signaling code or a status code in the call signaling; and the triggering, based on the call context information, the user equipment to render target media content on a target rendering occasion comprises: obtaining the start time point of the call status, setting a start time point of the target rendering occasion based on the start time point of the call status, and setting an end time point of the target rendering occasion based on the theoretical end time point.”
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 3 and thus is also allowable for being dependent on claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG L LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646