DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments received on 05/19/2026. Claims 1 and 3-20 were previously pending. Claims 1, 5 and 9 have been amended. A complete action on the merits of claims 1 and 3-20 follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a housing for a battery”. It is unclear if this battery is the same or different than the one introduced in claim 1 “a lower lobe housing a battery”. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge (US Pub. No. 2014/0207124) in view of Gomez (US Pub. No. 2019/0274666).
Regarding Claim 1, Aldridge teaches, a handheld instrument (Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18 and 21) comprising:
an upper lobe (210, 610, 1002, 1402 and 1702) housing electrically powered components (“an ultrasonic transducer (224) within handpiece (210)” [0064], similarly [0084], [0094], [0101] and [0106]); a lower lobe (212, 612, 1004, 1404 and 1704) housing a battery (240, 640, [0064], [0084], [0094], [0101] and [0106]); and a neck operable to be contacted by a user's hand when the handheld instrument is in use (see the annotated figure below, please note that other embodiments have a similar neck portion in Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18 and 21); wherein the upper lobe and the lower lobe are joined at the neck and extend from the neck (Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18 and 21); wherein the upper lobe is substantially perpendicular to the lower lobe (as seen in the following annotated figure, the upper lobe is substantially perpendicular to the lower lobe, please note that the same configuration is present in other embodiments of Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18 and 21), the upper lobe and the lower lobe oriented about respective axes that intersect at the neck (see the annotated figure below); wherein a lower surface of the upper lobe tapers towards the neck (see the annotated figure below); however, Aldridge does not specifically teach wherein an upper portion of the lower lobe tapers towards the neck; and wherein a middle portion of the neck is narrower than the upper lobe and the lower lobe as claimed.
In the same field of invention, Gomez teaches an ergonomic surgical handle which allows for multiple type grip styles and reduces operator fatigue by balancing the weight of the device about a fulcrum point. As seen in various figures, the upper and lower lobes are substantially perpendicular to one another joint at a neck portion wherein an upper portion of the lower lobe tapers towards the neck; and wherein a middle portion of the neck is narrower than the upper lobe and the lower lobe to allow an easier grip by the user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to design an upper portion of the lower lobe such that it tapers towards the neck; and wherein a middle portion of the neck is narrower than the upper lobe and the lower lobe in view of the teachings of Gomez in order to have an ergonomic surgical handle that minimizes operator fatigue and accommodates or provides for a variety of different grip positions as Gomez teaches.
Regarding Claim 3, Aldridge in view of Gomez teaches, wherein a cross sectional dimension of the lower lobe relative to the neck is selected from the group consisting of: 2:1 ratio; 3:1 ratio; 4:1 ratio; and 5:1 ratio (given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Gomez teaches the lower lobe is at least twice (maybe more) than the diameter of the neck portion, see the annotated figure below L2 vs. L3).
Regarding Claim 4, Aldridge in view of Gomez teaches, wherein weight is distributed across the upper lobe and the lower lobe to cause the handheld instrument to balance at a point between the upper lobe and the lower lobe proximate to the neck, wherein the point is an equilibrium position, wherein the upper lobe counterbalances the handheld instrument, and wherein the handheld instrument is held in between a user's thumb and index finger and returns to the equilibrium position when the upper lobe or the lower lobe is subject to a perturbance that displaces the handheld instrument from the equilibrium position (Figs. 4-6 and [0025]-[0031] of Gomez).
Regarding Claim 5, Aldridge teaches, wherein a distal portion of the lower surface of the upper lobe and a proximate portion of the back of the lower lobe form an arcuate and concave profile with an open C shape configured as a catch for the handheld instrument to rest on a thenar web space in between a user's thumb and index finger (Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18 and 21 of Aldridge, also see Figs. 1-9, especially Fig. 4 and [0015], [0046] of Gomez).
Regarding Claim 6, Aldridge in view of Gomez teaches, wherein a first angle between a surface of a distal portion of the lower surface of the upper lobe and a surface of the proximate back of the lower lobe is acute, wherein a second angle between a longitudinal axis of the upper lobe and a longitudinal axis of the lower lobe is obtuse, and wherein the first angle and the second angle are configured for a thumb and index finger to touch the longitudinal axis of the upper lobe above the neck (Figs. 4A, 5B and 6 of Gomez, also see various figures of Aldridge).
Regarding Claim 9, Aldridge teaches, wherein; the upper lobe is oriented about a first axis and the lower lobe is oriented about a second axis wherein the first axis and the second axis correspond to the respective axes of the upper lobe and the lower lobe; and wherein an angle between the first axis and the second axis is between 80 degrees and 120 degrees (Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18 and 21 of Aldridge, especially the annotated figure above showing the axes).
Regarding Claim 10, Aldridge teaches, wherein one or more of the upper lobe or the lower lobe comprises a housing for an electronics module configured to detect when a modular surgical tool is connected to the handheld instrument ([0063] of Aldridge teaches “a handpiece (210), which is operable to selectively couple with a modular shaft assembly and end effector (not shown). By way of example only, such selective coupling and modularity may be provided in accordance with at least some of the teachings herein and/or at least some of the teachings of …” and makes reference to US Pub. No. 2012/0116266 incorporated by reference which teaches “[0038] In yet other exemplary versions, connector port (702) may be operable to detect the identity of transmission assembly (300, 400, 500, 600) attached without transmission assembly (300, 400, 500, 600) having to directly identify itself to connector port (702). For example, connector port (704) may be configured to detect the impedance, number of connection contacts, etc., or any other suitable feature to determine which transmission assembly (300, 400, 500, 600) is connected to connector port (702)”), and a housing for a battery (lower housing 212, 612, 1004, 1404, 1704 house a battery 240, 640 [0064], [0084], [0094], [0101] and [0106]) and wherein a mass of the battery is greater than a mass of the electronics module to cause a center of mass of the handheld instrument to be proximate to the neck (see Fig. 6 of Aldridge).
Regarding Claim 11, Aldridge teaches, wherein the lower lobe comprises an actuator configured to change a mode of operation of the instrument (various triggers and buttons are shown in Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18, 21 of Aldridge such as buttons 219 “operable to selectively activate an ultrasonic transducer (224) within handpiece (210), to thereby drive an ultrasonic blade of an end effector at the distal end of a shaft assembly coupled with handpiece (210)” [0064], also see [0084], [0101] and [0106]).
Regarding Claim 16, Aldridge teaches, wherein the handheld instrument further comprises: a socket positioned at a distal portion of the upper lobe, wherein the socket is configured to connect to one of a plurality of modular surgical tools ([0064] teaches a shaft assembly is configured to be coupled to handpiece 210 according to the teachings of a number of prior art incorporated by reference; in addition, Fig. 14 shows a socket 1006 disclosed in [0094] to be configured to receive a shaft assembly); and a modular surgical tool, from among the plurality of modular surgical tools, extending from the socket (generally see [0092]-[0106] and Figs. 14-24).
Regarding Claim 17, Aldridge teaches, wherein the modular surgical tool comprises a monopolar surgical instrument or a bipolar surgical instrument ([0100] and [0108]).
Regarding Claim 18, Aldridge teaches, wherein the modular surgical tool further comprises a connector configured to plug into the socket ([0099] and Fig. 17).
Regarding Claim 19, Aldridge in view of Gomez and Cybulski teaches wherein one or more of the upper lobe or the lower lobe comprises one or more feedback devices configured to send data to control energy delivery through the modular surgical tool ([0075] of Aldridge teaches a surgical instrument 500 comprising a control module (512), an end effector (514), a sensor (516), a user input (518), and an integral battery (540) and further teaches “Data from sensor (516) may be processed by control module (512) to effect the delivery of power to end effector (514) (e.g., in a feedback loop, etc.)” in [0077]; however, from Fig. 11 it is unclear if one or more of the upper lobe or the lower lobe comprises one or more feedback devices. Examiner takes the position that since many embodiments such as Figs. 6, 14, 18 and 21 depict a battery operated portable device where the upper and lower lobes house the essential elements that the feedback control is also housed within at least one of the upper and lower lobes).
Claims 7-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge in view of Gomez as applied above and further in view of Cybulski (US Pub. No. 2011/0276113).
Regarding Claim 7, Aldridge teaches wherein the upper lobe and the lower lobe are [substantially cylindrical] in shape, and wherein diameters of the upper lobe and the lower lobe are greater than a diameter of the neck and the lower lobe is adapted to fit in a user's hand (Figs. 6, 12, 14, 18, 21 of Aldridge show slightly different configurations of the upper lobe and the lower lobe such that in some of the embodiments one could potentially interpret each to be substantially cylindrical; however, it is unclear if they really are rounded/ substantially cylindrical or more squarish. Furthermore, Gomez teaches the upper lobe being substantially cylindrical in shape and wherein diameters of the upper lobe and the lower lobe are greater than a diameter of the neck and the lower lobe is adapted to fit in a user's hand as seen in various figures 1-9 of Gomez; however, the lower lobe of Gomez does not appear to be substantially cylindrical).
In the same field of invention, Cybulski teaches wherein the upper lobe and the lower lobe are substantially cylindrical in shape, and wherein diameters of the upper lobe and the lower lobe are greater than a diameter of the neck and the lower lobe is adapted to fit in a user's hand (see the annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to have the lower lobe substantially cylindrical in shape in order to make it easier to be grip by a user during use in view of the teachings of Cybulski.
Regarding Claim 8, Aldridge in view of Gomez and Cybulski teaches wherein the upper lobe and the lower lobe are substantially cylindrical in shape, and wherein a diameter of the lower lobe is greater than or equal to a diameter of the upper lobe such that the lower lobe is adapted to fit in a user's hand (see generally Figs. 1-9 of Gomez and the annotated figure above of Cybulski).
Regarding Claim 20, Aldridge in view of Gomez and Cybulski teaches wherein the handheld instrument further comprises: a display at a proximate end of the upper lobe 351 (Cybulski teaches a monitor 354, Fig. 3B); a camera at a distal end of the upper lobe (Cybulski in addition teaches video processor module, [0121], [0131], [0204]); and a light source on the distal end of the upper lobe (see [0099]-[0100] of Cybulski); wherein the camera is configured to capture imagery and send the imagery to the display ([0077], [0091], [0130] and [0204] of Cybulski).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge in view of Gomez and further in view of Zacharias (US Patent No. 5,720,742).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Aldridge in view of Gomez teaches the invention as applied above, but not wherein the actuator is a pressure-sensitive tactile pad configured to be programmed for providing a desired input to the handheld instrument in response to a gesture and wherein the lower lobe comprises one or more sensors configured to process one or more inputs from a user of the handheld instrument.
In the same field of electrosurgical devices, Zacharias teaches a surgical instrument controller and actuating system that will allow the use of the gripping hand for a precise control of surgical instruments. Zacharias further teaches with respect to Fig. 3a “the gripping force detection elements. These consist in a set of semiconductor strain gauges 36 properly arranged beneath gripping area 14 and covered by an elastic cover 38. Leads 34 of strain gauges 36 connect to the input terminals of a miniature conditioning amplifier 35 configuring a grip pressure sensing circuit 37 enclosed within hand piece 12” Col. 3, ll. 63-Col. 4, ll. 2, “The gripping force is transmitted though elastic cover 38 causing proportional deformation of strain gauges 36. Strain gages 36 and conditioning amplifier 35 conform a temperature compensated pressure sensing circuit 37 producing an output voltage that varies in proportion to the gripping force applied” in Col. 6, ll. 25-31 and “Software algorithms can be included in the microprocessor program to make it respond to particular temporal patterns of gripping force change with specific actions” in Col. 58-61.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to add a similar strain gage/sensing pad to the lower lobe in order to easier control the output of the forceps based on the compressed pressure applied to the handle while allowing it to be programmed to output a desired specific action as Zacharias teaches.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge in view of Gomez as applied above in view of Su (US Pub. No. 2008/0173139).
Regarding Claim 14, Aldridge in view of Gomez teaches a handle to rest comfortably and balanced on the hand and a balanced ergonomic surgical handle is designed to minimizing fatigue to the user and to accommodate multiple grip styles ([0025]-[0031] of Gomez), but does not teach wherein the neck comprises a joint, wherein the joint is adjustable and lockable.
In the same field of hand-held devices, Su teaches “as shown in FIGS. 1 to 5, a grip portion 12 and a body portion 13 are connected rotatably about a rotational shaft portion 14 such that an angle therebetween can be changed freely. The rotational shaft 14 allows the housing 3 of the main body 2 to be varied between the straight shape and the L-shape. Further, a structure for changing the angle about the rotational shaft portion 14 and maintaining changed angle can be configured properly without being limited to a specific one. By changing the angle of the grip portion 12 as set forth above, the shape of the housing 3 can be varied to provide an easy grip for an operator” in [0032]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to include such flexibility with the neck comprising a joint, wherein the joint is adjustable and lockable in order to allow the angle of the grip to change to be handled by any user and provide a comfortable grip.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge in view of Gomez as applied above in view of Pusateri (US Patent No. 6,082,468).
Regarding Claim 15, Aldridge in view of Gomez teaches a handle to rest comfortably and balanced on the hand and a balanced ergonomic surgical handle is designed to minimizing fatigue to the user and to accommodate multiple grip styles ([0025]-[0031]), but does not teach teaches wherein the neck comprises a flexible outer sheath housing a ductile member.
In the same field of hand-held devices, Pusateri teaches “a grip 40 is provided for the handle 30, the grip 40 preferably being formed of a flexible and resilient material, such as thermoplastic material, and being of unitary, one-piece construction” in Col. 3, ll. 20-24.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to add a flexible cover surrounding the lower lobe and the neck of the handle of Gomez in order to create a more comfortable grip for the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument as necessitate by amendments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHADIJEH A VAHDAT whose telephone number is (571)270-7631. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-6 EST.
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794