Status of Claims
This Action is in response to the amendment filed on January 29, 2026.
As directed by the amendment: Claims 1-15 were cancelled. Claims 16-19 are newly added, and thus claims 16-19 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“Each one of the plurality of body bladders extends from one side of the plenum to an opposite side of the plenum in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis” (claim 16) has not been shown. The only figures that appear to show the plenum are figures 4-5 (plenum 37), and it is unclear where the sides of the plenum are located in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17, line 1 recites “The occupant support of claim 16” and Examiner suggests --The occupant support system of claim 16-- to use consistent language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16, lines 3-5 recite “each of the plurality of body bladders extends from one side of the plenum to an opposite side of the plenum in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis” which appears to be new matter. Figures 4-5 are the only figures that appear to illustrate the plenum (37), and it is unclear where the sides of the plenum are located in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afeyan (4,914,771) in view of Sloop (5,815,864).
Regarding claim 16, Afeyan discloses an occupant support system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an inflatable plenum (the lower plenum 16 as seen in Fig. 2) having a longitudinal axis (the left-to-right direction as seen in Fig. 2);
a plurality of body bladders (inflatable pillows 18, see Figs. 1-3) coupled to the plenum (16, see Figs. 1-4, the bladders 18 are mounted on top of the plenum, and in fluid communication with the plenum 16 via air mouth(s) 54, Fig. 4), wherein each of the plurality of body bladders (18) extends from one side of the plenum (end 38 of each bladder 18 extends below the lower edge of the plenum 16 as seen in Fig. 4) to an opposite side of the plenum (towards an upper edge of the plenum 16 as seen in Fig. 2) in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (extending from the lower edge of the plenum 16 towards an upper edge of the plenum as seen in Fig. 2, is along the up-down direction in Fig. 2, perpendicular to the longitudinal left-to-right direction of Fig. 2) and are arranged along the longitudinal axis so as to substantially cover an upper surface of the plenum (as seen in Figs. 1-2, a portion of the upper surface of the plenum 16 is covered along the length of the plenum. Thus, reading on the broadest reasonable interpretation of substantially covered by the plurality of bladders 18),
wherein each of the plurality of body bladders (18) is at least partially formed by a material that is permeable to air (each bladder 18 is formed by a material that includes air escape orifices 28, Fig. 4, which allows air to escape continuously. See col. 4, lines 51-53) and is fluidly coupled to the plenum without restriction (each bladder 18 is coupled directly to the plenum 16, via air flow passage 52 and air mouth(s) 54, see Fig. 4) so that air pressure within each of the plurality of body bladders (18) is equal to air pressure within the plenum (the bladders 18 are in direct fluidic communication with the air pressure within the plenum 16, at air flow passage 52, thus allowing pressure to equalize);
an air pump (air under pressure is provided by a hose, at air inlet 26, see Fig. 4 and see col. 7, lines 1-3. The “air under pressure” is provided by an air pump under the broadest reasonable interpretation) fluidly coupled to the inflatable plenum (via air inlet 26, Fig. 4) to continuously supply air to the plenum (“air inlet for continuous introduction of inflating air under pressure” see col. 2, lines 25-26).
Afeyan is silent regarding a control unit coupled to the air pump and operable to monitor air pressure within the plenum and activate the pump so that the pump supplies air to the plenum to maintain a selected air pressure within the plenum.
Sloop teaches a related inflatable occupant support (Fig. 1) including a control unit (microprocessor controller 25, Fig. 1) coupled to an air pump (blower 19, Fig. 1) and operable to monitor air pressure within a plenum (plenum 5, Fig. 1; “the microprocessor monitoring either the pressure or the rate of increase of the pressure (dp/dt) in plenum 5' or in duct 21'” see col. 13, lines 18-20) so that the pump continuously supplies air to the plenum to maintain a selected air pressure within the plenum (“control system … will maintain a continuous flow of pressurizing air to the cells of the low air loss mattress so that none of the cells exceed a predetermined maximum pressure or drops below a minimum pressure level thereby to insure that a maximum decubitis pressure is not exceeded and so that all portions of the patient’s body are supported” see col. 2, lines 36-44). Sloop’s control unit additionally provides beneficial functions such as an “Auto Comfort” feature, that cycles the air pump to a series of high and low settings (see col. 8, lines 59-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air pump of Afeyan to include a control unit coupled to an air pump and operable to monitor air pressure within the plenum and activate the pump so that the pump supplies air to the plenum to maintain a selected air pressure within the plenum as taught by Sloop so the device ensures that a maximum decubitis pressure is not exceeded and so that all portions of the patient’s body are adequately supported, and so additional functions such as the “Auto Comfort” setting may be provided.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Afeyan/Sloop device discloses further comprising a gap in between each adjacent pair of body bladders (as seen in Figs. 2 and Fig. 4 of Afeyan, there is a gap at least at the ends 38 of each adjacent bladder 18. Additionally, as seen in Fig. 3, there is a gap at the surface of the upper layer 12, for each adjacent bladder 18).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Afeyan/Sloop device discloses wherein the selected pressure is automatically adjusted between a low pressure and a high pressure (“initialization procedure is carried out automatically in a few minutes … the ‘Auto Comfort’ button is pushed. This initiates the automatic pressure setting cycle in which the microprocessor sets the air pump 19 to a series of high and low settings” see col. 8, lines 52-63 of Sloop) at a set time interval (“the time to fully inflate the air mattress can be preset … inflation time is adjustable in five minute increments … [by] Time switch 80c” see col. 15, lines 51-58 of Sloop. Thus, the timing of how long the initialization period lasts can be set to a set time interval based upon the selected time switch).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afeyan (4,914,771) in view of Sloop (5,815,864) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Vrzalik (5,044,029).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Afeyan/Sloop device is silent regarding wherein the selected pressure is determined by the control unit based on a height and weight of an occupant.
Vrzalik teaches a related inflatable occupant support system (Fig. 1) for preventing bed sores (see col. 3, lines 23-26), wherein a preselected pressure is determined by a control unit (controller 198 and control panel 346, Fig. 12) based on a height and weight of an occupant (“Default settings are provided for three weight ranges of patients, each default setting having a tall and a short patient option … Buttons are provided on control panel 346 for selection of these baseline pressures for tall patients in the light weight range 350A, for short patients in the light weight range 350B, for tall patients in the medium weight range 352A, for short patients in the medium weight range 352B, for tall patients in the heavy weight range 354A and short patients in the heavy weight range 354B” see Fig. 12 and col. 16, lines 33-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit of Afeyan/Sloop to have a control panel that allows the selected pressure to be determined based on a height and weight of an occupant, as entered by buttons as taught by Vrzalik so the user can easily select a baseline pressure that is most appropriate for the patient’s size.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Thomas does not teach the claim limitations of the newly added claims (see the first two paragraphs of page 3 of the Remarks), this argument has been considered, but it is moot because Thomas is not relied upon in any of the current rejection(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miller Sr. et al. (5,634,225) discloses a related inflatable occupant support system with a plenum that directly feeds a plurality of inflatable bladders, and a pressure sensor line connected to the plenum to allow the control unit to accurately control an air pump to maintain a selected pressure level.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785