DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The Applicant’s amendment filed on March 11, 2026 was received. Claims 26 and 34 were canceled. Claims 14, 30 and 33 were amended. Claim 35 was added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, on claim 34 is withdrawn because the claim has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker and Shah on claims 14, 16-18, 20, 22-28, 30 and 32-34 are withdrawn because independent claims 14, 30 and 33 have been amended.
The claim rejection rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Schmidt on claim 29 is withdrawn because independent claim 14 has been amended.
Please consider the following.
Claims 14, 16-18, 20, 22-25, 27-28, 30, 32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walmer (US 2010/0127100) in view of Smith (US 6,547,158), Nonemaker (US 5,275,504), Shah (US 2019/0033898) and Rindi (US 2013/0312536).
In regards to claims 14, 20, 30 and 32, Walmer teaches an apparatus for applying paint and reflective glass beads to a surface, the apparatus comprising:
a paint reservoir (32, liquid reservoir) (fig. 1-2; para. 16, 18);
a spray head (36) provides a spray outlet (fig. 1-2; para. 16, 18);
a paint pump (34) is fluidly connected to the paint reservoir to apply paint from the paint reservoir and through the spray outlet of the spray head (fig. 1-2; para. 16, 18);
an air reservoir (16, functional equivalent to claimed compressor) provides a flow of compressed/pressurized air (fig. 1-2; para. 17-18);
a bead reservoir (14, hopper) supplies a flow beads (fig. 1-2; para. 17-18);
a bead dispensing nozzle(s) connected to the bead reservoir by way of bead tubing (24) (fig. 1-2; para. 17).
Walmer does not explicitly teach an compressor which supplies air to the bead reservoir/hopper so that a flow of compressed air to flow the bead out of the bead reservoir/hopper.
However, Smith teaches an air compressor (52) is connected to a container (14, bead hopper) and supplies pressurized air to cause a flow of glass spheres (46, beads) to move from the container to a spray gun (50, bead dispenser) (fig. 1-4; col. 2, lines 30-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the air compressor and container of Smith onto the air reservoir and the bead reservoir/hopper of Walmer because Smith teaches it allows for applying reflective glass bead pattern to a two component external mix line striping pattern utilizing a minimum number of operators (col. 1, line 40-45) .
Walmer and Smith as discussed, but do not explicitly teach a bead flow sensor module positioned along the flow pathway, bead flow sensor module is adjacent to the bead dispenser and the bead flow sensor module comprising: a sensor that outputs a signal proportional to bead flow through the bead flow sensor module.
However, Nonemaker teaches an infrared sensor (10, bead flow sensor module) is connected to glass gun-12 to monitor the flow of reflective beads (fig. 1-3; col. 2, lines 45-68). Nonemaker teaches an infrared sensor is positioned closer/adjacent to the glass gun-12 that the source of beads (fig. 1-2: col. 2, lines 55-65).
Nonemaker teaches the infrared sensor is connected to a junction box (42) and a monitor box (44) where the infrared sensor provides a signal indicating an interruption in flow of glass beads which provides for the signal that is proportional to bead flow through the infrared sensor (fig. 1-3; col. 3, lines 40-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the infrared sensor, junction box and monitor box of Nonemaker onto the apparatus of Walmer and Smith because Nonemaker teaches it will ensure the supply bead through and out of the glass gun (col. 2, lines 10-25).
Walmer, Smith and Nonemaker as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the bead flow sensor module comprises: a housing having a flow channel fluidly connected to the flow pathway; and a beam supported by the housing that extends from the housing into the flow channel, wherein the signal is indicative of bead impact on the beam, the signal is proportional to a degree of deflection of the beam that varies with bead flow.
However, Shah teaches a solids detector (40) which is used to monitor a flow rate of a fluid (fig. 4-5; para. 46). Shah teaches the solids detector comprises housing (84) comprising a flow channel which mounts onto a conduit (82) using fasteners (86, mount). Shah teaches a receptor (88, beam) extends into the flow of fluid, where a sensor (98) is connected to the beam to convert impact energy to electrical signals (fig. 4-5; para. 63-66).
Shah teaches receptor connected to the sensor, converts impact energy which is capable of being mechanical waves, stress/strain waves, or vibrations, into electrical signals (para. 65-66). The mechanical waves, stress/strain waves or vibrations corresponds to a degree of deflection of the receptor as forming of waves or vibrations require movement/deflection in some amount.
Shah teaches the electrical signal varies and is proportional to the impact from solid particles in the fluid and is used to determine flow rate of the solid particles (para. 66, 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the solids detector of Shah onto the infrared sensor of Walmer, Smith and Nonemaker because Shah teaches it provides it will allow detection of small impact forces and be resistant to abrasion by the particles flowing in the fluid (para. 67).
Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker and Shah as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the bead flow sensor module a side channel that branches from and fluidically connects with the flow channel, a mount removably engaging the housing and a head engaging the mount that seals the side channel and forms a dead end opposite the flow channel.
However, Rindi teaches a flow rate sensor (10) comprising hollow container body (20) which contains a probe (40) (fig. 1-5, 15; para. 91, 93). Rindi teaches the hollow container body comprises a portion-23 which provides a side channel that branches from and fluidically connects with the fluid (4) flow in duct (1) (flow channel) (fig. 1-5, 15; para. 119-120).
Rindi teaches the portion-23 connects with a dividing wall (21), where the dividing wall seals the side channel and forms a dead end opposite the flow channel (fig. 4-5; para. 92, 95-96, 120). Rindi teaches the flow rate sensor is removably mounted onto the duct using a support (71) and a collar (72) (fig. 15; para. 122-124).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the container body and mounting of the flow rate sensor of Rindi onto the sensor of Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker and Shah because Rindi teaches it will allow for quick installation and a sensor that resilient (para. 14, 18-19).
In regards to claim 16, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Walmer in view of Smith teach, the paint reservoir, the paint pump and the air compressor are provided on a surface of a vehicle chassis (50) (Walmer-fig. 2; para. 18; Smith-fig. 1).
In regards to claim 17, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Walmer teaches the paint spray head is positioned in front of the spray bead dispensing nozzle(s) to provide spray bead dispensing nozzle to pass over the paint applied by the paint spray head (fig. 2; para. 16, 18).
In regards to claim 18, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Walmer teaches the bead tubing (24) provides a pathway that connects the bead reservoir and the bead dispensing nozzle (fig. 1; para. 17).
In regards to claim 22, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Shah teaches the sensor is mounted onto the receptor (beam) (fig. 4-5).
In regards to claim 23, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Shah teaches the sensor is position on an upstream side of the receptor (beam) (fig. 4-5).
In regards to claims 24-25, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Shah teaches the receptor extends into the flow channel and partially outside the flow channel into the housing (fig. 4-5). Rindi further teaches the probe extends from the interior of the portion-23 of the hollow container body and into the duct (fig. 1-5, 15).
In regards to claims 27-28, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, where Shah teaches the receptor extends within the flow channel, through the opening of the housing, where the opening perimeter provides a ledge through which the receptor extends into the flow channel (fig. 4-5).
In regards to claim 33, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed above, where Nonemaker teaches the use of two glass guns-12, and each have the infrared sensor.
Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi teach the solids detector of Shah is incorporated onto the infrared sensor of Walmer, Smith and Nonemaker, where each of the two glass guns-12 will incorporate the solid detector as discussed above.
Therefore, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi teach the claimed plurality of bead dispensers; a plurality of flow pathways, each flow pathway of the plurality of flow pathways extends between the bead hopper and one of the plurality of bead dispensers; and a plurality of bead flow sensor modules, each bead flow sensor module of the plurality of bead flow sensor modules positioned along one of the plurality of flow pathways, and each bead flow sensor module comprising: a housing having a flow channel forming a portion of one of the flow pathways; a beam that extends into the flow channel; and a sensor that outputs a signal proportional to a degree of movement of the beam that varies with of bead flow through the bead flow sensor module; and where at least one of the bead flow sensor modules is closer/adjacent to the bead dispenser than the bead hopper along the flow pathway.
In regards to claim 35, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed above, where Rindi teaches the hollow container body comprising theportion-23 that provides the side channel that is oriented orthogonal to the duct (1) (flow channel) (fig. 1-5, 15).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as applied to claims 14, 16-18, 20, 22-25, 24-28, 30, 32-33 and 35 above, and further in view of Schmidt (US 2014/0020480).
In regards to claim 29, Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi as discussed, but do not explicitly teach one or more fasteners that secure the beam to the housing.
However, Schmidt teaches a sensor that uses bolts-78 with blocks-75 which are used to secure a probe-60 with the sensor housing-52 (fig. 7; para. 49-50, 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of fasteners to secure elements of Schmidt onto the receptor and housing of Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi because Schmidt teaches it will ensure accurate readings (para. 52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response filed March 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 14, 30 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker and Shah, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Walmer, Smith, Nonemaker, Shah and Rindi.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717