DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Kirr fails to teach the distinguishing features of amended claim 1 regarding the preloaded part having to be positioned on the right side of the third bearing and pushing the third bearing to the very left in the second axial direction so that the first concentric surface 12 tightly abuts against the second concentric surface. The amendment attempting to distinguish over Kirr based on the positional recitation of the preloaded part “on the right side” of the bearing is not sufficient to confer patentable distinction. The designation of “left” and “right” in a mechanical assembly is inherently dependent on the chosen frame of reference and is therefore arbitrary rather than structural. A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would understand that Kirr’s wave spring 200 functions to apply an axial preload to the bearing regardless of which axial side it is mounted on based on Newtonian physics. Reversing the orientation of the assembly, or equivalently positioning the spring on the opposite axial side, would merely result in the preload force being applied from the opposite direction while achieving the same functional outcome – namely, urging the bearing components into abutting contact and restricting relative radial movement. Such a modification amounts to a predictable use of known elements according to their established functions and would have been an obvious matter of design choice, particularly where spatial constraints or assembly preferences dictate placement on side versus the other. Lastly, Kirr’s disclosure of a wave spring providing axial preload that prevents radial displacement renders the claimed configuration obvious, notwithstanding the recited “right-side” placement, and therefore the amendment does not overcome the cited prior art.
Applicant’s argument regarding Dellal failing to teach the distinguishing features of claim 1 is similarly unpersuasive because it relies on an artificial distinction between a spring that “prevents movement to the right” and one that “pushes to the left,” when in fact these are the same physical phenomenon described from opposite perspectives. As disclosed in Dellal, the wave spring 336 provides axial preload to the bearing 214. By basic mechanical principles, including Newton’s Third Law, any spring that resists displacement in one direction necessarily exerts an equal and opposite force in the other direction. Thus, in preventing the bearing from moving too far to the right, the wave spring inherently applies a leftward-directed force on the bearing. A PHOSITA would appreciate that this preload force biases the bearing into contact with adjacent components, thereby “tightening” or maintain abutment between concentric surfaces as claimed. The functional result of axial preloading and maintain positional stability and minimizing relative radial movement is taught by Dellal, regardless of the Applicant’s characterization of the force direction. Additionally, configuring the wave spring to bias the bearing into abutment, as recited in the amended claim, would haven an obvious and predictable application of Dellal’s teaching, and does not confer patentable distinction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-9,11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 208021193 U) in view of Dellal (US 20190006923 A1), Kirr (WO2021165026A1) and Piorkowski (US 20160238083 A1).
Claim 1
Chen teaches the following:
A power assembly (Fig. 4), comprising:
a housing (11, 12); a first rotating shaft (221), having a first end (left end of 221) and a second end (right end of 221), wherein the first end (left end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a first bearing (23), and the second end (right end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a second bearing (24);
and a second rotating shaft (131), coaxially disposed with the first rotating shaft (221), wherein the second rotating shaft (131) has a third end (right end) and a fourth end (left end of 131), the third end (right end) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a third bearing (14), wherein
a first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is disposed at the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), a second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131), and the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is coupled to the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”), so that the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) rotate synchronously (as a result of their matched splined connections; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12);
a first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed on the first rotating shaft (221), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the first rotating shaft (221), and a distance between the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) and the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) gradually increases in a first axial direction (increases from left to right when viewing Fig. 4);
a second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed on the second rotating shaft (131), the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the second rotating shaft (131), and a distance between the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) and the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) gradually increases in the first axial direction (increases from left to right when viewing Fig. 4);
the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221), to prevent the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) from moving relative to each other in a radial direction (in combination with the splined connection),
wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131);
wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211);
wherein a first auxiliary junction (surface on inner wall of 2211) surface which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where o-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where o-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211), wherein the outer circumferential surface of the docking post is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where o-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5);
Chen however is silent to the following limitation(s):
the third bearing is capable of sliding relative to the housing in an axial direction.
and a preloaded part, connected to the housing and the third bearing, wherein the preloaded part is configured to apply acting force to the second rotating shaft in a second axial direction by using the third bearing, wherein the second axial direction is a direction opposite to the first axial direction;
wherein the preloaded part is configured to make the first concentric surface abut against the second concentric surface;
and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit
wherein the preloaded part is connected to an outer ring of the third bearing and the housing, and the preloaded part pushes against the third bearing to the left in the second axial direction through elasticity of the preloaded part;
Dellal conversely teaches limitation I, wherein the power assembly comprises a preloaded part (336), wherein the preloaded part (336) is connected to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) and a bearing (214,338), and is configured to enable the bearing (214,338) to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) in an axial direction. Dellal also teaches limitation V, wherein the preloaded part (336) is connected to an outer ring (338) of the bearing (214,338) and a housing, and the preloaded part (336) pushes against the bearing (214, 338) to the left in the second axial direction through elasticity of the preloaded part (336).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly to further comprise a preloaded part, wherein the preloaded part is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), and is configured to enable the third bearing to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (11, 12) in an axial direction. Such a modification would be advantageous as the preloaded part (a spring in this case) allows for consistent axial preloading of a bearing across a range of axial work heights which reduces bearing noise and vibration, and improves durability (Dellal, para. 0025). Furthermore, in preventing the bearing from moving too far to the right, the wave spring inherently applies a leftward-directed force on the bearing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this preload force biases the bearing into contact with adjacent components, thereby “tightening” or maintain abutment between concentric surfaces as claimed. The functional result of axial preloading and maintain positional stability and minimizing relative radial movement is taught by Dellal.
With this modification, Chen as modified by Dellal teaches limitation II and wherein the power assembly (Fig. 4) as further comprising a preloaded part (336; Dellal), wherein the preloaded part (336; Dellal) is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), wherein the preloaded part (336; Dellal) is configured to apply acting force to the second rotating shaft (131) in a second axial direction (the 2nd axial direction is not addressed) by using the third bearing (14), wherein the second axial direction is a direction opposite to the first axial direction.
As for limitation III, While Dellal discloses the bearing (214) as being in contact with the rotating shaft (206), Dellal does not explicitly disclose the preloaded wave spring 336 as providing axial force to the second rotating shaft (206) such that it can translate along the axial direction to then abut against the first rotating shaft (208). It is a fundamentally known concept within the art however to provide a wave spring that provides translation to both an attached bearing and a rotating shaft. For example, Kirr teaches a shaft system (Fig. 1) comprised of a preloaded wave spring (200) rigidly connected to a bearing (155) and guiding the movement of the bearing (155) and a guide shaft (160) to be able to move in the axial direction (para. 58).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly further modified by Dellal to enable the preloaded spring part to make the first concentric surface abut against the second concentric surface as a result of the linkage of the preloaded spring to the adjacent bearing attached to the second rotating shaft. The employment of the preloaded part to guide the axial movement of the bearing and shaft contributes to prevention of radial mobility within the device (para. 58).
As for limitation IV Piorkowski conversely teaches an auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 22-1) is in a clearance fit (33) while maintaining a splined connection with shaft (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly to configure the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) to be in a clearance fit while still maintaining a splined connection. Providing a clearance fit for a splined connection is advantageous in that the gap offered by the clearance fit would provide ease in assembly and disassembly, and provide the ability to accommodate thermal expansion and contraction.
Claim 3/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131; fig 4), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) as a rotation center.
Claim 4/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) as a rotation center.
Claim 5/3/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 3, wherein the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) as a rotation center.
Claim 6/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 7/3/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 3, wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131); the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 8/4/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 4, wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131); the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 9/6/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 6, wherein the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) comprises an internal spline (spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para 12), and the internal spline is disposed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) comprises an external spline (spline matched connection to internal spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para 12), and the external spline is disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and the internal spline cooperates with the external spline.
Claim 11/9/6/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 9, wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit (Piorkowski [33]) with the second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131).
Claim 12/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131); the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 13/12/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 12, wherein the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) comprises an external spline (spline matched connection to internal spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12), and the external spline is disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) comprises an internal spline (spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12), and the internal spline is disposed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and the internal spline cooperates with the external spline.
Claim 14/12/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 12, wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit (Piorkowski [33]) with the second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131).
Claim 15/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the housing (11, 12) further comprises a limit surface (“limit surface”), and the limit surface (“limit surface”) is disposed towards the third bearing (14), so that while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in an impact state (device in impact state as motor shaft impactfully rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate wit splines; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the limit surface (“limit surface”) is configured to abut against an outer ring of the third bearing (14), to limit movement of the third bearing (14) in a second axial direction.
Claim 16/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a retarder (annotated fig below) and a motor 13, wherein the first rotating shaft is an input shaft (annotated fig below) of the retarder, and the second rotating shaft is an output shaft (annotated fig below) of the motor.
Claims 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Dellal in view of Kirr, Luo (CN 110086275) and Piorkowski.
Claim 17
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
A vehicle (electric vehicle; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 5), a power assembly (Fig. 4), wherein the power assembly (Fig. 4) comprises a housing (11, 12); a first rotating shaft (221), having a first end (left end of 221) and a second end (right end of 221), wherein the first end (left end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a first bearing (23), and the second end (right end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a second bearing (24); and a second rotating shaft (131), coaxially disposed with the first rotating shaft (221), wherein the second rotating shaft (131) has a third end (right end) and a fourth end (left end of 131), the third end (right end) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a third bearing (14), and the third bearing (14) is capable of sliding (axially as result of only having one “bearing stopper”) relative to the housing (11, 12) in an axial direction, wherein a first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is disposed at the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), a second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131), and the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is coupled to the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”), so that the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) rotate synchronously (as a result of their matched splined connections; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12); a first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed on the first rotating shaft (221), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the first rotating shaft (221), and a distance between the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) and the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) gradually increases in a first axial direction (increases from left to right when viewing Fig. 4); a second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed on the second rotating shaft (131), the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the second rotating shaft (131), and a distance between the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) and the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) gradually increases in the first axial direction;
the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221), to prevent the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) from moving relative to each other in a radial direction (in combination with the splined connection),
wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131);
wherein a first auxiliary junction (surface on inner wall of 2211) surface which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where o-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where o-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211), wherein the outer circumferential surface of the docking post is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where o-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5);
Chen is silent however to the following limitation(s):
The vehicle comprises a wheel
and wherein the first rotating shaft (221) is connected to the wheel through driving, and is configured to transmit driving torque to the wheel.
a preloaded part, connected to the housing and the third bearing, wherein the preloaded part is configured to apply acting force to the second rotating shaft in a second axial direction by using the third bearing, wherein the second axial direction is a direction opposite to the first axial direction;
wherein the preloaded part is configured to make the first concentric surface abut against the second concentric surface;
and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit
wherein the preloaded part is connected to an outer ring of the third bearing and the housing, and the preloaded part pushes against the third bearing to the left in the second axial direction through elasticity of the preloaded part;
As for limitations I and II Luo conversely teaches a vehicle robot comprising of a wheel (1), and wherein a rotating shaft (shaft of retarder 9; Luo, Description, para. 9) is connected to the wheel (1) through driving, and is configured to transmit driving torque to the wheel (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s vehicle to comprise of a wheel, and wherein the first rotating shaft (221) is connected to the wheel through driving, and is configured to transmit driving torque to the wheel. Such a modification would be advantageous especially when incorporating Luo’s retarder (9) as it would help slow Chen’s vehicle and reduce the need for regular brakes and minimize wear on them, especially when descending steep hills with the wheels.
Dellal conversely teaches the power assembly comprises a preloaded part (336), wherein the preloaded part (336) is connected to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) and a bearing (214,338), and is configured to enable the bearing (214,338) to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) in an axial direction. Dellal also teaches limitation V, wherein the preloaded part (336) is connected to an outer ring (338) of the bearing (214,338) and a housing, and the preloaded part (336) pushes against the bearing (214, 338) to the left in the second axial direction through elasticity of the preloaded part (336).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly to further comprise a preloaded part, wherein the preloaded part is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), and is configured to enable the third bearing to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (11, 12) in an axial direction. Such a modification would be advantageous as the preloaded part (a spring in this case) allows for consistent axial preloading of a bearing across a range of axial work heights which reduces bearing noise and vibration, and improves durability (Dellal, para. 0025). Furthermore, in preventing the bearing from moving too far to the right, the wave spring inherently applies a leftward-directed force on the bearing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this preload force biases the bearing into contact with adjacent components, thereby “tightening” or maintain abutment between concentric surfaces as claimed. The functional result of axial preloading and maintain positional stability and minimizing relative radial movement is taught by Dellal.
With this modification, Chen as modified by Dellal teaches limitation III wherein the power assembly (Fig. 4) as further comprising a preloaded part (336; Dellal), wherein the preloaded part (336; Dellal) is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), wherein the preloaded part (336; Dellal) is configured to apply acting force to the second rotating shaft (131) in a second axial direction (the 2nd axial direction is not addressed) by using the third bearing (14), wherein the second axial direction is a direction opposite to the first axial direction.
As for limitation IV, While Dellal discloses the bearing (214) as being in contact with the rotating shaft (206), Dellal does not explicitly disclose the preloaded wave spring 336 as providing axial force to the second rotating shaft (206) such that it can translate along the axial direction to then abut against the first rotating shaft (208). It is a fundamentally known concept within the art however to provide a wave spring that provides translation to both an attached bearing and a rotating shaft. For example, Kirr teaches a shaft system (Fig. 1) comprised of a preloaded wave spring (200) rigidly connected to a bearing (155) and guiding the movement of the bearing (155) and a guide shaft (160) to be able to move in the axial direction (para. 58).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly further modified by Dellal to enable the preloaded spring part to make the first concentric surface abut against the second concentric surface as a result of the linkage of the preloaded spring to the adjacent bearing attached to the second rotating shaft. The employment of the preloaded part to guide the axial movement of the bearing and shaft contributes to prevention of radial mobility within the device (para. 58).
As for limitation V Piorkowski conversely teaches an auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 22-1) is in a clearance fit (33) while maintaining a splined connection with shaft (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly to configure the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) to be in a clearance fit while still maintaining a splined connection. Providing a clearance fit for a splined connection is advantageous in that the gap offered by the clearance fit would provide ease in assembly and disassembly, and provide the ability to accommodate thermal expansion and contraction.
Claim 19/17
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Luo and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The vehicle (electric vehicle; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 5) according to claim 17, wherein the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) as a rotation center.
Claim 20/17
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Luo and Piorkowski teaches the following limitation(s):
The vehicle (electric vehicle; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 5) according to claim 17, wherein the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) as a rotation center.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834