DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7, 8, 11, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " wherein a docking hole is disposed on an end surface of the second end of the first rotating shaft, and a docking post is disposed at the fourth end of the second rotating shaft;" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as both a docking hole and docking post were previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " wherein a docking hole is disposed on an end surface of the second end of the first rotating shaft, and a docking post is disposed at the fourth end of the second rotating shaft;" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as both a docking hole and docking post were previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole, and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post;" in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 1 had already introduced a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " wherein a docking post is disposed at the second end of the first rotating shaft, and a docking hole is disposed on an end surface of the fourth end of the second rotating shaft;" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as both a docking hole and docking post were previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole, and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post; " in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 1 had already introduced a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface. Appropriate correction is advised.
Claim(s) 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, Claim 1 already recites a first auxiliary junction surface formed on the inner wall of the docking hole, a second auxiliary junction surface formed on the inner wall of the docking hole, a second auxiliary junction surface formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post, and that the first auxiliary junction surface is in a clearance fit with the second auxiliary junction surface. Claim 1 further specifies that the first and second auxiliary junction surfaces are cylindrical and without a spline. Both Claim 11 and 14 repeat these limitations and do not specify further limitations of the subject matter of claim 9 and 12 respectively and are therefore in improper dependent forms. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered. The amendment does not merely recite an arbitrary spring orientation; rather, it specifies that the elastic preload is directed so as to maintain abutment between the first and second inclined surfaces. However, the claimed relationship represents the predictable application of a known axial preload to the complementary inclined surfaces already disclosed by Chen, rather than an inventive mechanical principle.
As set forth in the previous Office Action, Chen expressly discloses first and second inclined surfaces which abut one another and cooperate to prevent relative radial movement between the first and second shafts. Thus, Chen already recognizes the claimed mechanical objective of maintaining concentricity and restricting radial displacement through abutting inclined surfaces. The remaining difference is the particular mechanism used to maintain the surfaces in abutment.
Dellal teaches the use of an elastic wave spring to apply an axial preload to a sliding bearing associated with a rotating shaft. Dellal further teaches that the spring accommodates axial displacement while maintaining preload on the bearing. Kirr likewise teaches the use of a preloaded wave spring in conjunction with a bearing and shaft to bias the components axially while accommodating axial movement.
Given Chen’s existing arrangement of complementary inclined surfaces, a person having ordinary skill in the art seeking to replace Chen’s rigid axial retention arrangement with a resilient preload would have understood that the spring should be oriented to bias the shaft toward the direction that brings the complimentary inclined surfaces into engagement. Such selection does not require inventive insight. Rather, it is the direct and predictable result of applying an axial preload to Chen’s already known inclined interface. A spring oriented in the opposite direction would separate the surfaces, whereas a spring oriented in the claimed direction would maintain their engagement. Selecting the latter orientation is therefore an ordinary engineering design choice dictated by the desired operation of Chen’s known structure.
Applicant’s assertion that the claimed preload direction is a “structural necessity” does not distinguish the claimed arrangement. To the contrary, where a known mechanical arrangement requires two mating surfaces to remain engaged, a person having ordinary skill in the art would naturally configure a known resilient preload member to bias the components toward on another. The fact that the opposite orientation would not achieve the desired result does not render the successful orientation non-obvious.
Moreover, the asserted result of preventing relative radial movement by maintaining abutment of the inclined surfaces is not a new or unexpected result. Chen already teaches that the abutting inclined surfaces prevent relative radial movement. Dellal and Kirr supply the known resilient preload mechanism for maintaining a desired axial relationship between a shaft and bearing. Combining these teachings merely substitutes a known resilient biasing mechanism for, or supplements, Chen’s existing axial retention arrangement to maintain the already known surface to surface engagement.
Accordingly, the combination does not depend upon hindsight recognition of Applicant’s invention. Rather, Chen provides the inclined mating surfaces and the radial stabilization objective, while Dellal and Kirr provide a known mechanism for resiliently maintaining axial engagement. The claimed configuration is therefore no more than the predictable result of arranging the known spring so that its force acts in the direction necessary to maintain Chen’s surfaces in engagement.
As for Applicant’s argument regarding the limit surface limitation, Tiemel has been introduced to cure this deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-9,11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 208021193 U) in view of Dellal (US 20190006923 A1), Kirr (WO2021165026A1), Paumier (US US7900763B2), and Tiemel (US2015219149A1).
Claim 1
Chen teaches the following:
A power assembly (Fig. 4), comprising:
a housing (11, 12); a first rotating shaft (221), having a first end (left end of 221) and a second end (right end of 221), wherein the first end (left end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a first bearing (23), and the second end (right end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a second bearing (24);
a second rotating shaft (131), coaxially disposed with the first rotating shaft (221), wherein the second rotating shaft (131) has a third end (right end) and a fourth end (left end of 131), the third end (right end) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a third bearing (14), wherein
a first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is disposed at the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), a second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131), and the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is coupled to the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”), so that the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) rotate synchronously (as a result of their matched splined connections; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12);
a first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed on the first rotating shaft (221), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the first rotating shaft (221), and a distance between the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) and the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) gradually increases in a first axial direction (increases from left to right when viewing Fig. 4);
a second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed on the second rotating shaft (131), the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the second rotating shaft (131), and a distance between the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) and the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) gradually increases in the first axial direction (increases from left to right when viewing Fig. 4);
the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221), to prevent the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) from moving relative to each other in a radial direction (in combination with the splined connection),
wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131);
wherein a first auxiliary junction (surface on inner wall of 2211) surface which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where O-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where O-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211), wherein the outer circumferential surface of the docking post is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where O-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5);
Chen however is silent to the following limitation(s):
the third bearing is capable of sliding relative to the housing in an axial direction.
a preloaded part connected to the housing and the third bearing, wherein the preloaded part applies an elastic force to the second rotating shaft via the third bearing in a second axial direction that is opposite to the first axial direction,
wherein the elastic force drives the first concentric surface to tightly abut against the second concentric surface to prevent the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft from moving relative to each other in a radial direction;
and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit
wherein the housing further comprises a limit surface disposed towards the third bearing, and wherein, upon the second rotating shaft sliding in the first axial direction against the elastic force of the preloaded part, the limit surface abuts against an outer ring of the third bearing to limit movement of the third bearing in the first axial direction.
Dellal conversely teaches limitation I, wherein the power assembly comprises a preloaded part (336), wherein the preloaded part (336) is connected to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) and a bearing (214,338), and is configured to enable the bearing (214,338) to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) in an axial direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly to further comprise a preloaded part, wherein the preloaded part is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), and is configured to enable the third bearing to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (11, 12) in an axial direction. Such a modification would be advantageous as the preloaded part (a spring in this case) allows for consistent axial preloading of a bearing across a range of axial work heights which reduces bearing noise and vibration, and improves durability (Dellal, para. 0025). Furthermore, in preventing the bearing from moving too far to the right, the wave spring inherently applies a leftward-directed force on the bearing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this preload force biases the bearing into contact with adjacent components, thereby “tightening” or maintain abutment between concentric surfaces as claimed. The functional result of axial preloading and maintain positional stability and minimizing relative radial movement is taught by Dellal.
With this modification, Chen as modified by Dellal teaches limitation II and a preloaded part (336) connected to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) and a bearing (214,338), wherein the preloaded part (336) applies an elastic force (spring force) to the second rotating shaft (131) via the bearing (214,338) in a second axial direction that is opposite to the first axial direction,
As for limitation III, While Dellal discloses the bearing (214) as being in contact with the rotating shaft (206), Dellal does not explicitly disclose the preloaded wave spring 336 as providing axial force to the second rotating shaft (206) such that it can translate along the axial direction to then abut against the first rotating shaft (208) to prevent the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft from moving relative to each other in a radial direction. It is a fundamentally known concept within the art however to provide a wave spring that provides translation to both an attached bearing and a rotating shaft. For example, Kirr teaches a shaft system (Fig. 1) comprised of a preloaded wave spring (200) rigidly connected to a bearing (155) and guiding the movement of the bearing (155) and a guide shaft (160) to be able to move in the axial direction (para. 58).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly further modified by Dellal to enable the preloaded spring part to make the first concentric surface abut against the second concentric surface as a result of the linkage of the preloaded spring to the adjacent bearing attached to the second rotating shaft. The employment of the preloaded part to guide the axial movement of the bearing and shaft contributes to prevention of radial mobility within the device (para. 58).
As for limitation IV, Paumier teaches a shaft coupling 25 having a splined connection for transmitting torque and separate smooth cylindrical surfaces provided adjacent to the spline connection. The smooth cylindrical surfaces are coupled by a slip/sliding fit and perform a centering function separate from the torque transmitting function of the splines (see para. 0007). Paumier further explains that the sliding fit of the cylindrical surfaces centers the coupled components and suppresses radial micromovement between the components, thereby reducing wear of the splines (see para. 0006 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Chen such that the cylindrical, non-splined auxiliary junction surfaces of the docking hole and docking post are provided with a clearance/sliding fit, while retaining the splined coupling portions for torque transmission. Such a modification would have provided the predictable benefit of separately locating and centering the first and second rotating shafts while allowing the splined portions to perform the torque transmitting function, thereby reducing radial micromovement and associated wear.
As for limitation V, Teimel teaches an axially preloaded bearing assembly 1 having a bearing with an outer ring, a spring element for generating axial preload, and an axial stop. Tiemel expressly teaches that, when the outer ring is axially preloaded, the spring acts between the outer ring and an axial stop provided on the motor housing or another stationary component.
Thu, Tiemel teaches positioning a housing side axial stop relative to the outer ring of an axially movable bearing such that the stop limits axial movement of the bearing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to further modify the power assembly of Chen, as modified by Dellal and Kirr, to provide a housing limit surface adjacent the third bearing as taught by Tiemel, The modification would provide a predictable mechanical end stop for limiting axial travel of the third bearing and would thereby establish a defined range of axial movement for the preloaded bearing.
In the resulting arrangement, when the second rotating shaft moves in the first axial direction against the elastic force of the preloaded part, the third bearing moves with the second rotating shaft until the outer ring of the third bearing contacts the housing limit surface, thereby limiting further movement of the third bearing in the first axial direction.
In the resulting arrangement, when the second rotating shaft moves in the first axial direction against the elastic force of the preloaded part, the third bearing would move with the shaft until the outer ring of the third bearing contacts the housing limit surface. The limit surface would thereby prevent further movement of the bearing in the first axial direction and would transfer the resulting axial reaction force into the housing rather than permitting continued displacement of the bearing and further compression or deflection of the elastic preloaded part.
Claim 3/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131; fig 4), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) as a rotation center.
Claim 4/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) as a rotation center.
Claim 5/3/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 3, wherein the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) as a rotation center.
Claim 6/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 7/3/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 3, wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131); the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 8/4/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 4, wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131); the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 9/6/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 6, wherein the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) comprises an internal spline (spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para 12), and the internal spline is disposed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211); the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) comprises an external spline (spline matched connection to internal spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para 12), and the external spline is disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and the internal spline cooperates with the external spline.
Claim 11/9/6/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 9, wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit (Paumier [33]) with the second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131).
Claim 12/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131); the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and while the power assembly (Fig. 4) is in a working state (device in working state as motor shaft actively rotates to drive the main shaft to rotate; Chen, Contents of this utility model, para. 6), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221).
Claim 13/12/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 12, wherein the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) comprises an external spline (spline matched connection to internal spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12), and the external spline is disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) comprises an internal spline (spline connection; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12), and the internal spline is disposed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211); and the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is inserted into the docking hole (2211), and the internal spline cooperates with the external spline.
Claim 14/12/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly (Fig. 4) according to claim 12, wherein a cylindrical first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is formed on the inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a cylindrical second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211); and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit (Paumier [33]) with the second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131).
Claim 16/1
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The power assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a retarder (annotated fig below) and a motor 13, wherein the first rotating shaft is an input shaft (annotated fig below) of the retarder, and the second rotating shaft is an output shaft (annotated fig below) of the motor.
Claim21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Dellal in view of Kirr, Paumier and Tiemel in view of Takeuchi (US2012176007A1).
Claim 21/1
The power assembly according to claim 1, but is silent to: wherein the housing comprises a first housing, a second housing, and a third housing; wherein the first bearing is assembled in the first housing, the second bearing is assembled in the second housing, and the third bearing is assembled in the third housing; and wherein the second housing is fixedly connected between the first housing and the third housing.
Takeuchi teaches a motor assembly in which bearings are respectively supported by separate housing structures, including a load connection unit 1133, a front stage 1351, and a cylindrical partition wall 1213. Thus, Takeuchi teaches the known practice of distributing bearing supporting structures among multiple distinct housing portions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Chen’s housing arrangement to provide a first, second, and third housing portions respectively for each bearing as taught by Takeuchi. The motivation would be to facilitate assembly and positioning of each individual bearing and provide independent structural support for each.
Claims 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Dellal in view of Kirr, Luo (CN 110086275), Paumier and Tiemel.
Claim 17
Chen teaches: A vehicle (electric vehicle; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 5), a power assembly (Fig. 4), wherein the power assembly (Fig. 4) comprises a housing (11, 12); a first rotating shaft (221), having a first end (left end of 221) and a second end (right end of 221), wherein the first end (left end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a first bearing (23), and the second end (right end of 221) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a second bearing (24); and a second rotating shaft (131), coaxially disposed with the first rotating shaft (221), wherein the second rotating shaft (131) has a third end (right end) and a fourth end (left end of 131), the third end (right end) is located in the housing (11, 12) by using a third bearing (14), and the third bearing (14) is capable of sliding (axially as result of only having one “bearing stopper”) relative to the housing (11, 12) in an axial direction, wherein a first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is disposed at the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), a second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131), and the first coupling portion (“first coupling portion of 221”) is coupled to the second coupling portion (“second coupling portion of 131”), so that the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) rotate synchronously (as a result of their matched splined connections; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 12); a first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed on the first rotating shaft (221), the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the first rotating shaft (221), and a distance between the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) and the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) gradually increases in a first axial direction (increases from left to right when viewing Fig. 4); a second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed on the second rotating shaft (131), the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is disposed oblique to an axis center of the second rotating shaft (131), and a distance between the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) and the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) gradually increases in the first axial direction;
the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) abuts against the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221), to prevent the first rotating shaft (221) and the second rotating shaft (131) from moving relative to each other in a radial direction (in combination with the splined connection),
wherein a docking hole (2211) is disposed on an end surface of the second end (right end of 221) of the first rotating shaft (221), and a docking post (post of 131 received by 2211) is disposed at the fourth end (left end of 131) of the second rotating shaft (131);
wherein a first auxiliary junction (surface on inner wall of 2211) surface which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where O-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an inner wall of the docking hole (2211), and a second auxiliary junction surface (surface on outer wall of docking post of 131) which is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where O-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5) is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the docking post (post of 131 received by 2211), wherein the outer circumferential surface of the docking post is in a cylindrical shape without a spline (right portion within bearing 24 where O-ring seal 225 is located is a smooth connection, Fig. 5);
Chen is silent however to the following limitation(s):
The vehicle comprises a wheel
and wherein the first rotating shaft (221) is connected to the wheel through driving, and is configured to transmit driving torque to the wheel.
a preloaded part connected to the housing and the third bearing, wherein the preloaded part applies an elastic force to the second rotating shaft via the third bearing in a second axial direction that is opposite to the first axial direction,
wherein the elastic force drives the first concentric surface to tightly abut against the second concentric surface to prevent the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft from moving relative to each other in a radial direction;
and the first auxiliary junction surface (surface on inner wall of 2211) is in a clearance fit
wherein the housing further comprises a limit surface disposed towards the third bearing, and wherein, upon the second rotating shaft sliding in the first axial direction against the elastic force of the preloaded part, the limit surface abuts against an outer ring of the third bearing to limit movement of the third bearing in the first axial direction.
As for limitations I and II Luo conversely teaches a vehicle robot comprising of a wheel (1), and wherein a rotating shaft (shaft of retarder 9; Luo, Description, para. 9) is connected to the wheel (1) through driving, and is configured to transmit driving torque to the wheel (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s vehicle to comprise of a wheel, and wherein the first rotating shaft (221) is connected to the wheel through driving, and is configured to transmit driving torque to the wheel. Such a modification would be advantageous especially when incorporating Luo’s retarder (9) as it would help slow Chen’s vehicle and reduce the need for regular brakes and minimize wear on them, especially when descending steep hills with the wheels.
Dellal conversely teaches the power assembly comprises a preloaded part (336), wherein the preloaded part (336) is connected to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) and a bearing (214,338), and is configured to enable the bearing (214,338) to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (of electric drive unit 200) in an axial direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly to further comprise a preloaded part, wherein the preloaded part is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), and is configured to enable the third bearing to be capable of sliding relative to the housing (11, 12) in an axial direction. Such a modification would be advantageous as the preloaded part (a spring in this case) allows for consistent axial preloading of a bearing across a range of axial work heights which reduces bearing noise and vibration, and improves durability (Dellal, para. 0025). Furthermore, in preventing the bearing from moving too far to the right, the wave spring inherently applies a leftward-directed force on the bearing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this preload force biases the bearing into contact with adjacent components, thereby “tightening” or maintain abutment between concentric surfaces as claimed. The functional result of axial preloading and maintain positional stability and minimizing relative radial movement is taught by Dellal.
With this modification, Chen as modified by Dellal teaches limitation III wherein the power assembly (Fig. 4) as further comprising a preloaded part (336; Dellal), wherein the preloaded part (336; Dellal) is connected to the housing (11, 12) and the third bearing (14), wherein the preloaded part (336; Dellal) is configured to apply acting force to the second rotating shaft (131) in a second axial direction (the 2nd axial direction is not addressed) by using the third bearing (14), wherein the second axial direction is a direction opposite to the first axial direction.
While Dellal discloses the bearing (214) as being in contact with the rotating shaft (206), Dellal does not explicitly disclose the preloaded wave spring 336 as providing axial force to the second rotating shaft (206) such that it can translate along the axial direction to then abut against the first rotating shaft (208). It is a fundamentally known concept within the art however to provide a wave spring that provides translation to both an attached bearing and a rotating shaft. For example, Kirr teaches a shaft system (Fig. 1) comprised of a preloaded wave spring (200) rigidly connected to a bearing (155) and guiding the movement of the bearing (155) and a guide shaft (160) to be able to move in the axial direction (para. 58).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Chen’s power assembly further modified by Dellal to enable the preloaded spring part to make the first concentric surface abut against the second concentric surface as a result of the linkage of the preloaded spring to the adjacent bearing attached to the second rotating shaft. The employment of the preloaded part to guide the axial movement of the bearing and shaft contributes to prevention of radial mobility within the device (para. 58).
Paumier conversely teaches a shaft coupling 25 having a splined connection for transmitting torque and separate smooth cylindrical surfaces provided adjacent to the spline connection. The smooth cylindrical surfaces are coupled by a slip/sliding fit and perform a centering function separate from the torque transmitting function of the splines (see para. 0007). Paumier further explains that the sliding fit of the cylindrical surfaces centers the coupled components and suppresses radial micromovement between the components, thereby reducing wear of the splines (see para. 0006 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Chen such that the cylindrical, non-splined auxiliary junction surfaces of the docking hole and docking post are provided with a clearance/sliding fit, while retaining the splined coupling portions for torque transmission. Such a modification would have provided the predictable benefit of separately locating and centering the first and second rotating shafts while allowing the splined portions to perform the torque transmitting function, thereby reducing radial micromovement and associated wear.
As for limitation V, Teimel teaches an axially preloaded bearing assembly 1 having a bearing with an outer ring, a spring element for generating axial preload, and an axial stop. Tiemel expressly teaches that, when the outer ring is axially preloaded, the spring axts between the outer ring and an axial stop provided on the motor housing or another stationary component.
Thu, Tiemel teaches positioning a housing side axial stop relative to the outer ring of an axially movable bearing such that the stop limits axial movement of the bearing. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to further modify the power assembly of Chen, as modified by Dellal and Kirr, to provide a housing limit surface adjacent the third bearing as taught by Tiemel, The modification would provide a predictable mechanical end stop for limiting axial travel of the third bearing and would thereby establish a defined range of axial movement for the preloaded bearing.
In the resulting arrangement, when the second rotating shaft moves in the first axial direction against the elastic force of the preloaded part, the third bearing moves with the second rotating shaft until the outer ring of the third bearing contacts the housing limit surface, thereby limiting further movement of the third bearing in the first axial direction.
Claim 19/17
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Luo, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The vehicle (electric vehicle; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 5) according to claim 17, wherein the first concentric surface (surface of 221 abutting chamfer of 131) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the first rotating shaft (221) as a rotation center.
Claim 20/17
Chen as modified by Dellal, Kirr, Luo, Paumier, and Tiemel teaches the following limitation(s):
The vehicle (electric vehicle; Chen, Specific implementation methods, para. 5) according to claim 17, wherein the second concentric surface (chamfered surface of 131 abutting surface of 221) is a structure of a conical oblique surface (as a result of cupped extruded profile receiving chamfer of 131), a conical convex surface, or a conical concave surface using the axis center of the second rotating shaft (131) as a rotation center.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834