DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10/17/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/09/2025. Claims 1, 12, 23 and 27 have been amended. Claims 11 and 22 have been cancelled. Claims 31-32 are newly added. Claims 1-10,12-21 and 23-32 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to Claims 1-10,12-21 and 23-32 have been considered but are not persuasive/moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9, 12, 17, 20, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al. (US 2024/0196195 A1), Shrivastava hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Shrivastava teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, comprising: one or more memories; a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM); a second USIM; and one or more processors coupled to the first USIM, the second USIM, and the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the UE to: (Fig. 3 & ¶0209, ¶0217, ¶0220-¶0221);
monitor, using a first procedure, a failure event associated with the first USIM, the failure event comprising at least one of a radio link failure (RLF), a beam failure, or a listen-before-talk (LBT) failure; (¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. Please also see ¶0176-¶0178, ¶0185. Examiner interprets first procedure as comprising conventional beam failure detection associated with the first USIM, including monitoring beam failure instances using BFD timer/BFI counter/MAC procedures);
transmit, to a network entity, a request for a time gap in network operations associated with the first USIM to perform a network operation associated with the second USIM, (¶0210 - Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to determine whether the switching gap … on the first network apparatus (200a) is required based on at least one of a MUSIM operation type and a required gap length for the activities associated with the second network apparatus (200b).¶0211 - In an embodiment, further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to send the UE assistance information message comprising the requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required …Fig. 4 & ¶0227 - At S416, the method includes sending the UE assistance information message comprising at least one requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required. At S418, the method includes receiving the MUSIM gap configuration comprising configured gap information from the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see Fig. 5 & ¶0229);
while the UE remains in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state associated with the first USIM during the time gap; (¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see ¶0043);
and monitor, during the time gap, the failure event associated with the first USIM, using a second procedure different than the first procedure, wherein the second procedure is configured to forgo at least one of a cell re-establishment procedure or a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure associated with the failure event until the time gap terminates, in response to detection of the failure event (¶0178 - c) The MUSIM UE (100) continues running BFD timer and/or continues monitoring/detection for beam failure during the gap … Alternately, the UE holds beam recovery procedure and/or random access and performs only at the end of the gap. ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. BFD resources are provided by the network apparatus and MUSIM UE (100) utilizes these resources or SSB resources to perform BFD. If beam failure is detected, the MUSIM UE (100) performs the recovery at the end of the MUSIM gap. Examiner interprets second procedure different from the first procedure as the UE performing intermittent beam failure detection during a switching gap in accordance with a gap pattern using BFD or SSB resources and upon detecting the failure, holding the recovery process until after the gap is finished).
Re. Claims 6 and 17, Shrivastava teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Shrivastava further teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/the second procedure comprises at least one of:
transmit/transmitting a beam failure indication after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the beam failure occurs on a secondary serving cell (SCell) associated with the first USIM;
or perform/performing beam failure recovery after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the beam failure occurs on a primary serving cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell) associated with the first USIM (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0178 - c) The MUSIM UE (100) continues running BFD timer and/or continues monitoring/detection for beam failure during the gap. If beam failure instance is detected more than a threshold, the MUSIM UE (100) initiates beam recovery procedure immediately if this is SCell … ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. BFD resources are provided by the network apparatus and MUSIM UE (100) utilizes these resources or SSB resources to perform BFD. If beam failure is detected, the MUSIM UE (100) performs the recovery at the end of the MUSIM gap. ¶0186 - In an embodiment, the MUSIM UE (100) requests for SCell or SCG deactivation on SIM A (associated with the first network apparatus (200a)) in order to support MUSIM activity on SIM B (associated with the second network apparatus (200b)) e.g., when the MUSIM UE (100) is engaged in MRDC (Multi-RAT Dual Connectivity). Please also see ¶0185-¶0186).
Re. Claims 9 and 20, Shrivastava teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Shrivastava further teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to suspend or stop monitoring the failure event/the second procedure comprises suspending or stopping the monitoring of the failure event (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a)), including one or more of the listed actions as— ¶0179 - The MUSIM UE (100) … does not perform monitoring/detection for beam failure during the gap. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Re. Claim 12, Shrivastava teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (Fig. 4-5);
monitoring, using a first procedure, a failure event associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE, the failure event comprising at least one of a radio link failure (RLF), a beam failure, or a listen-before-talk (LBT) failure; (¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. Please also see ¶0176-¶0178, ¶0185. Examiner interprets first procedure as comprising conventional beam failure detection associated with the first USIM, including monitoring beam failure instances using BFD timer/BFI counter/MAC procedures);
transmitting, to a network entity, a request for a time gap in network operations associated with the first USIM to perform a network operation associated with a second USIM of the UE, (¶0210 - Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to determine whether the switching gap … on the first network apparatus (200a) is required based on at least one of a MUSIM operation type and a required gap length for the activities associated with the second network apparatus (200b).¶0211 - In an embodiment, further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to send the UE assistance information message comprising the requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required …Fig. 4 & ¶0227 - At S416, the method includes sending the UE assistance information message comprising at least one requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required. At S418, the method includes receiving the MUSIM gap configuration comprising configured gap information from the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see Fig. 5 & ¶0229);
while the UE remains in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state associated with the first USIM during the time gap; (¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see ¶0043);
and monitoring, during the time gap, the failure event associated with the first USIM, using a second procedure different than the first procedure, wherein the second procedure is further configured to forgo corrective action in response to detection of at least one of the RLF, the beam failure, or the LBT failure, wherein the second procedure is configured to forgo at least one of a cell re- establishment procedure or a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure associated with the failure event until the time gap terminates, in response to detection of the failure event (¶0178 - c) The MUSIM UE (100) continues running BFD timer and/or continues monitoring/detection for beam failure during the gap … Alternately, the UE holds beam recovery procedure and/or random access and performs only at the end of the gap. ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. BFD resources are provided by the network apparatus and MUSIM UE (100) utilizes these resources or SSB resources to perform BFD. If beam failure is detected, the MUSIM UE (100) performs the recovery at the end of the MUSIM gap. Examiner interprets second procedure different from the first procedure as the UE performing intermittent beam failure detection during a switching gap in accordance with a gap pattern using BFD or SSB resources and upon detecting the failure, holding the recovery process until after the gap is finished).
Re. Claim 23, Shrivastava teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: (Fig. 3 & ¶0209, ¶0217, ¶0220-¶0221);
means for monitoring, using a first procedure, a failure event associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE, the failure event comprising at least one of a radio link failure (RLF), a beam failure, or a listen- before-talk (LBT) failure; (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. Please also see ¶0176-¶0178, ¶0185. Examiner interprets first procedure as comprising conventional beam failure detection associated with the first USIM, including monitoring beam failure instances using BFD timer/BFI counter/MAC procedures);
means for transmitting, to a network entity, a request for a time gap in network operations associated with the first USIM to perform a network operation associated with a second USIM of the UE, (¶0210 - Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to determine whether the switching gap … on the first network apparatus (200a) is required based on at least one of a MUSIM operation type and a required gap length for the activities associated with the second network apparatus (200b).¶0211 - In an embodiment, further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to send the UE assistance information message comprising the requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required …Fig. 4 & ¶0227 - At S416, the method includes sending the UE assistance information message comprising at least one requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required. At S418, the method includes receiving the MUSIM gap configuration comprising configured gap information from the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see Fig. 5 & ¶0229);
while the UE remains in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state associated with the first USIM during the time gap; (¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see ¶0043);
and means for monitoring, during the time gap, the failure event associated with the first USIM, using a second procedure different than the first procedure, wherein the second procedure is configured to forgo at least one of a cell re- establishment procedure or a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure associated with the failure event until the time gap terminates, in response to detection of the failure event (¶0178 - c) The MUSIM UE (100) continues running BFD timer and/or continues monitoring/detection for beam failure during the gap … Alternately, the UE holds beam recovery procedure and/or random access and performs only at the end of the gap. ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. BFD resources are provided by the network apparatus and MUSIM UE (100) utilizes these resources or SSB resources to perform BFD. If beam failure is detected, the MUSIM UE (100) performs the recovery at the end of the MUSIM gap. Examiner interprets second procedure different from the first procedure as the UE performing intermittent beam failure detection during a switching gap in accordance with a gap pattern using BFD or SSB resources and upon detecting the failure, holding the recovery process until after the gap is finished).
Re. Claim 27, Shrivastava teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stored with executable codes for wireless communication, the executable codes comprising instructions that cause a user equipment (UE) to: (Fig. 3 & ¶0220-¶0221);
monitor, using a first procedure, a failure event associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE, the failure event comprising at least one of a radio link failure (RLF), a beam failure, or a listen-before-talk (LBT) failure; (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. Please also see ¶0176-¶0178, ¶0185. Examiner interprets first procedure as comprising conventional beam failure detection associated with the first USIM, including monitoring beam failure instances using BFD timer/BFI counter/MAC procedures);
transmit, to a network entity, a request for a time gap in network operations associated with the first USIM to perform a network operation associated with a second USIM of the UE, (¶0210 - Further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to determine whether the switching gap … on the first network apparatus (200a) is required based on at least one of a MUSIM operation type and a required gap length for the activities associated with the second network apparatus (200b).¶0211 - In an embodiment, further, the MUSIM coordinated gap controller (140) is configured to send the UE assistance information message comprising the requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required …Fig. 4 & ¶0227 - At S416, the method includes sending the UE assistance information message comprising at least one requested switching gap information to the first network apparatus (200a) in response to determining that the switching gap is required. At S418, the method includes receiving the MUSIM gap configuration comprising configured gap information from the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see Fig. 5 & ¶0229);
while the UE remains in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state associated with the first USIM during the time gap; (¶0175 - Further, for the beam failure determination and recovery, invention introduces a rule in the standard defining that the MUSIM UE (100) shall perform which actions for beam failure detection (BFD) and beam failure recovery operations upon initiating or performing gap (e.g., short-time switching gap i.e. without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state in the first network apparatus (200a). Please also see ¶0043);
and monitor, during the time gap, the failure event associated with the first USIM, using a second procedure different than the first procedure, wherein the second procedure is configured to forgo at least one of a cell re- establishment procedure or a beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure associated with the failure event until the time gap terminates, in response to detection of the failure event (¶0178 - c) The MUSIM UE (100) continues running BFD timer and/or continues monitoring/detection for beam failure during the gap … Alternately, the UE holds beam recovery procedure and/or random access and performs only at the end of the gap. ¶0184 - b) In another example, Network configures MUSIM UE (100) with requested gap pattern or the network apparatus assign gap pattern allowing intermitted BFD operation. BFD resources are provided by the network apparatus and MUSIM UE (100) utilizes these resources or SSB resources to perform BFD. If beam failure is detected, the MUSIM UE (100) performs the recovery at the end of the MUSIM gap. Examiner interprets second procedure different from the first procedure as the UE performing intermittent beam failure detection during a switching gap in accordance with a gap pattern using BFD or SSB resources and upon detecting the failure, holding the recovery process until after the gap is finished).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 13-15, 24-26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, and further in view of Ingale et al. (WO 2021/025491 A1), Ingale hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2, 13, 24 and 28, Shrivastava teaches Claims 1, 12, 23 and 27.
Shrivastava further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: perform the network operation associated with the second USIM during the time gap, while the second USIM remains in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state;/performing the network operation associated with the second USIM during the time gap, while the second USIM remains in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state;/mean for performing the network operation associated with the second USIM during the time gap, while the second USIM remains in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state;/the executable codes further comprises instructions that cause the UE to: perform the network operation associated with the second USIM during the time gap, while the second USIM remains in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state; (Fig. 3-5, 11 & ¶0207 - In another embodiment, when the MUSIM UE (100) has already have periodic configured gap on the first network apparatus (200a) (e.g. for paging reception on the second network apparatus (200b)) and there is change of paging configuration on the second network apparatus (200b) e.g. due to paging configuration parameter change, due to cell reselection, change of UE identity on the second network apparatus (200b), change of RRC state e.g. between Idle and Inactive state on the second network apparatus (200b) …);
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach and transmit, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires/and transmitting, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires/and means for transmitting, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires/and transmit, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires.
However, in the analogous art, Ingale explicitly teaches and transmit, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires/and transmitting, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires/and means for transmitting, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires/and transmit, to the network entity, a signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM before the time gap expires (Fig. 6A & ¶0081 - In an embodiment, the UE (100) upon receiving the acknowledgement from the wireless network in response to the activate gap indication, the UE (100) shall start the timer associated with configured gap and suspend the data session. In an embodiment, the UE (100) shall send the de-activate gap indication to the wireless network (200) before the expiry of the timer associated with configured gap to resume the data session. Fig. 7A & ¶0085 - At S624a, the UE (100) decides to provide the RF ownership to the second SIM (150b) for reading the paging information. At S626a, the second network entity (200b) sends the paging information to the second SIM (150b). At 628a, the second SIM (150b) decides that there is no response for paging information. ¶0086 - At S634a, the UE (100) decides to provide the RF ownership to the first SIM (150a) for the data session. At 636a, the first SIM (150a) sends the message indicating to deactivate the gap event/a suspend event to the first network entity (200a)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ingale to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention is related to a method and User Equipment (UE) for managing connection of a first subscriber identity module (SIM) and a second SIM in the wireless communication system by configuring a gap event on the first SIM or the second SIM of the UE at a predefined duration (¶0001, Ingale).
Re. Claims 3, 14, 25 and 29, Shrivastava and Ingale teach Claims 2, 13, 24 and 28.
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach the signal comprises a scheduling request, a channel state information feedback, or a hybrid automatic repeat request feedback.
However, in the analogous art, Ingale explicitly teaches the signal comprises a scheduling request, a channel state information feedback, or a hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (Fig. 6A, 7A & ¶0086 - At S634a, the UE (100) decides to provide the RF ownership to the first SIM (150a) for the data session. At 636a, the first SIM (150a) sends the message indicating to deactivate the gap event/a suspend event to the first network entity (200a)). At S638a, the first network entity (200a) sends the HARQ acknowledge message to the first SIM (150a)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ingale to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention is related to a method and User Equipment (UE) for managing connection of a first subscriber identity module (SIM) and a second SIM in the wireless communication system by configuring a gap event on the first SIM or the second SIM of the UE at a predefined duration (¶0001, Ingale).
Re. Claims 4, 15, 26 and 30, Shrivastava and Ingale teach Claims 2, 13, 24 and 28.
Shrivastava further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/at least one of:/at least one of:/the executable codes further comprises instructions that cause the UE to at least one of:
resume/resuming/means for resuming/resume monitoring the failure event using the first procedure after performing the network operation associated with the second USIM;
resume/resuming/means for monitoring/resume the failure event using the first procedure after transmitting the signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM;
or resume/resuming/means for resuming/resume monitoring the failure event using the first procedure … (Fig 4-5 & ¶0177 - b) The MUSIM UE (100) starts/restarts BFD timer and/or resumes monitoring/detection for beam failure at end of gap. The MUSIM UE (100) may set BFI counter to 0);
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach … after receiving a confirmation from the network entity for the signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM.
However, in the analogous art, Ingale explicitly teaches … after receiving a confirmation from the network entity for the signal configured to indicate completion of the network operation associated with the second USIM (Fig. 6A & ¶0086 - At S634a, the UE (100) decides to provide the RF ownership to the first SIM (150a) for the data session. At 636a, the first SIM (150a) sends the message indicating to deactivate the gap event/a suspend event to the first network entity (200a)). At S638a, the first network entity (200a) sends the HARQ acknowledge message to the first SIM (150a). At S640a, the timer is stopped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ingale to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention is related to a method and User Equipment (UE) for managing connection of a first subscriber identity module (SIM) and a second SIM in the wireless communication system by configuring a gap event on the first SIM or the second SIM of the UE at a predefined duration (¶0001, Ingale).
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, and further in view of Ebrahim et al. (WO 2021/069625 A1), Ebrahim hereinafter.
Re. Claims 5 and 16, Shrivastava teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Shrivastava further teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/the second procedure comprises at least one of: … after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, … (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0188 - a) MUSIM UE (100) performs RLC retransmission, which is due because of NACK received before the gap, at the first opportunity after the gap end ¶0189 - b) MUSIM UE (100) performs RLC status transmission, which is due to t-statusProhibit expiry before the gap or due to t-statusProhibit expiry during gap, at the first opportunity after the gap end ¶0190 - c) MUSIM UE (100) suspends Scheduling Request (SR) when UE undertakes gap and resumes SR post switching gap. ¶0191 - d) MUSIM UE (100) suspends Random Access procedure (RA) when UE undertakes gap and resumes RA post switching gap. Examiner interprets Shrivastava teaching performing intermittent radio link monitoring during a MUSIM gap in ¶0164-¶0174 and deferring network operations until after the MUSIM gap terminates);
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach … transmit/transmitting secondary cell group (SCG) failure information … in response to determining that the RLF occurs on a primary SCG cell (PSCell) associated with the first USIM; or perform/performing cell selection and re-establishment after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the RLF occurs on a primary serving cell (PCell) associated with the first USIM.
However, in the analogous art, Ebrahim explicitly teaches … transmit/transmitting secondary cell group (SCG) failure information … in response to determining that the RLF occurs on a primary SCG cell (PSCell) associated with the first USIM; (Fig. 13, Pages 34 - When an SCG failure occurs due to a radio link failure (RLF) on a PSCell, the network, specifically the MN, handles the SCG Failure Information message (scgFail-urelnformation/ scgFailurelnformationEUTRA).
or perform/performing cell selection and re-establishment after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the RLF occurs on a primary serving cell (PCell) associated with the first USIM.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ebrahim to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention refers to user equipments for communication over a cellular network, wherein the user equipment is configured for simultaneously communicating with one or more cells of a first node of the cellular network and with one or more cells of second node of the cellular network, and to methods for operating such user equipments for communication over a cellular network (Abstract, Ebrahim).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0167408 A1), Lee hereinafter.
Re. Claims 7 and 18, Shrivastava teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/ the second procedure comprises at least one of: transmit/transmitting a LBT failure indication after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the LBT failure occurs on a secondary serving cell (SCell) associated with the first USIM;transmit/transmitting secondary cell group (SCG) failure information after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the LBT failure occurs on a primary SCG cell (PSCell) associated with the first USIM; or change/changing a bandwidth part or initiate/initiating a random access procedure after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the LBT failure occurs on a primary service cell (PCell) associated with the first USIM.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/the second procedure comprises at least one of:
transmit/transmitting a LBT failure indication after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the LBT failure occurs on a secondary serving cell (SCell) associated with the first USIM;
transmit/transmitting secondary cell group (SCG) failure information after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the LBT failure occurs on a primary SCG cell (PSCell) associated with the first USIM;
or change/changing a bandwidth part or initiate/initiating a random access procedure after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, in response to determining that the LBT failure occurs on a primary service cell (PCell) associated with the first USIM (Fig. 11, 12 & ¶0011 - …by the UE, the recovery procedure includes performing a random access procedure at the media access control (MAC) level including switching from a first bandwidth part (BWP) to a second BWP… ¶0020 - The operations further include initiating a recovery procedure in response to the LBT failure counter exceeding the predetermined threshold at expiration of the LBT timer. ¶0086 - This is used in the case where the PCell is having this consistent and systematic LBT failure. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lee to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention includes systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media for determining and processing uplink listen before talk (LBT) failures, including the determination of a consistent and systematic LBT failure associated with uplink transmissions in new radio (NR) operating over unlicensed spectrum (¶0003, Lee).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, and further in view of Chin et al. (US 2021/0144761 A1), Chin hereinafter.
Re. Claims 8 and 19, Shrivastava teach Claims 1 and 12.
Shrivastava further teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/the second procedure comprises at least one of: … after the time gap terminates due to expiration of the time gap or early termination effected by the UE, … (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0188 - a) MUSIM UE (100) performs RLC retransmission, which is due because of NACK received before the gap, at the first opportunity after the gap end ¶0189 - b) MUSIM UE (100) performs RLC status transmission, which is due to t-statusProhibit expiry before the gap or due to t-statusProhibit expiry during gap, at the first opportunity after the gap end ¶0190 - c) MUSIM UE (100) suspends Scheduling Request (SR) when UE undertakes gap and resumes SR post switching gap. ¶0191 - d) MUSIM UE (100) suspends Random Access procedure (RA) when UE undertakes gap and resumes RA post switching gap. Examiner interprets Shrivastava teaching performing intermittent radio link monitoring during a MUSIM gap in ¶0164-¶0174 and deferring network operations until after the MUSIM gap terminates);
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach … transmit/transmitting secondary cell group (SCG) failure information … in response to determining that the RLF, the beam failure, or the LBT failure occurs on a primary SCG cell (PSCell) before the RLF occurs on a primary serving cell (PCell).
However, in the analogous art, Chin explicitly teaches … transmit/transmitting secondary cell group (SCG) failure information … in response to determining that the RLF, the beam failure, or the LBT failure occurs on a primary SCG cell (PSCell) before the RLF occurs on a primary serving cell (PCell) (¶0044 - On the other hand, for a PSCell, if there is no available BWP for BWP switching (e.g., consistent UL LBT failures are detected in the switched BWP) during the LBT recovery procedure, the UE may trigger a SCG radio link failure (RLF) procedure and reports the LBT failure to the MN. ¶0204 - Thus, the UE may transmit an RRC message (e.g., SCG Failure Information message) including the failureType to the gNB. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Chin to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communications, and more specifically, to a method of listen before talk (LBT) recovery procedure and a related device (¶0002, Chin).
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, and further in view of Wei et al. (US 2021/0219370 A1), Wei hereinafter.
Re. Claims 10 and 21, Shrivastava teach Claim 1.
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/the second procedure further comprises at least one of: stop/stopping a timer or a counter configured to monitor the RLF; or stop/stopping the monitoring of the RLF and the beam failure.
However, in the analogous art, Wei explicitly teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to, at least one of:/the second procedure further comprises at least one of:
stop/stopping a timer or a counter configured to monitor the RLF; (Fig. 5 & ¶0039 - Example 1 is an apparatus configured to be employed in a UE (User Equipment), comprising: a memory interface; and processing circuitry configured to: … one or more of stop a first timer associated with a radio link failure (RLF) procedure…);
or stop/stopping the monitoring of the RLF and the beam failure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Wei to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because by associating BFR and RLF mechanisms of 5G NR, embodiments discussed herein can reduce the rate of RLF timer triggering compared to existing 5G NR systems, and can also reduce the number of false RLF procedures compared to existing 5G NR systems. In turn, this can improve the efficiency and reliability of communications in 5G NR systems (¶0012, Wei).
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava, and further in view of Jung et al. (WO 2013/051836 A1), Jung hereinafter.
Re. Claims 31 and 32, Shrivastava teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Shrivastava does not explicitly teach in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to/ the second procedure is further configured to determine a radio link quality of the primary cell associated with the first USIM based on assumed measurement values that are not associated with measurements received from a physical (PHY) layer.
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly teaches in the second procedure, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to/ the second procedure is further configured to determine a radio link quality of the primary cell associated with the first USIM based on assumed measurement values that are not associated with measurements received from a physical (PHY) layer (Fig. 4 & Page 6, ¶1 - The UE selects a cell having the greatest value among cells in which signal strength or quality thereof is greater than a particular value (S420) … The particular value refers to a value defined in the system in order to guarantee quality of a physical signal in data transmission and reception. Page 6, ¶15/Page 7 ¶1- - The intra-frequency cell reselection is basically based on ranking. The ranking is an operation for defining a criterion value for evaluation of the cell reselection and for ordering cells according to a magnitude of the criterion value by using the criterion value. A cell having the highest criterion is referred to as a best-ranked cell. Page 7, ¶3 - For the inter-frequency cell reselection, the network may provide parameters (e.g., frequency-specific offsets) for use in cell reselection to the UE for each frequency. Page 9, ¶1 - The UE shall monitor the downlink link quality based on the cell-specific reference signal in order to detect the downlink radio link quality of the Pcell. The UE shall estimate the downlink radio link quality and compare it to the thresholds Qout and Qin for the purpose of monitoring downlink radio link quality of the Pcell. Examiner interprets Jung discloses using values/thresholds instead of relying on measurements from a physical (PHY) layer for the purpose of monitoring downlink radio link quality of the Pcell. Cell quality is evaluated by ranking cells, not comparing raw signal measurements, where the ranking uses criterion values. Jung also teaches how the evaluation of link quality depends on network-configured thresholds, so instead of directly interpreting PHY measurements, the UE estimates radio link quality (a processed value), compares it against predefined thresholds (Qin, Qout), and makes decisions based on logical comparisons, not PHY measurements. This shows radio link quality determination is a higher-layer, rule-based process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jung to the teaching of Shrivastava. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication and more particularly, to a method for reporting measurement results (Page 1, Technical Field, Jung).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (WO 2021/147958 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-4.
Da Silva et al. (US 2020/0344019 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-18.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2429 /AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429