DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2026 and 07/08/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art fails to teach wherein an infrared transmissive coating covers an entire perimeter of the substrate because Wong’s Figure 5 depicts 6, flexible film, covers the top and the side surfaces of 4, optical window, but does not cover the bottom surface. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to teach wherein an infrared transmissive coating covers an entire perimeter of the substrate because Wong’s Figure 5 depicts 6, flexible film, covers the top and the side surfaces of 4, optical window, but does not cover the bottom surface, Examiner notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., every surface of the substrate is covered by the coating) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim positively recites “an entire perimeter of the substrate” and not “every surface of the substrate”. Given the claim language, when viewed from the top view, Wong is interpreted to teach 6, flexible film, covering an entire perimeter of 4, optical window. Thus, Examiner maintains the prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (Examiner provided machine translation of JP 2012202951 A, of record) in view of Wong et al. (5,463,223, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Nagao discloses a Fourier transform infrared spectroscope (Figure 1; [0024]) comprising: a substrate composed of KRS-5 as a raw material (12, substrate; [0030]); an infrared light source (52, IR light source) accommodated in a housing (see Figure A, below; the housing has been drawn in the broadest reasonable interpretation and includes the housing of 52, IR light source, and the housing of 50, optical system); a sample chamber (20, cell) disposed on an exterior of the housing (see Figure A), in which a sample is accommodated (32, working electrode; [0033]); and a detector (58, infrared spectrometer; [0033]) disposed on the exterior of the housing (see Figure A) and configured to detect infrared light ([0033]), wherein an infrared transmissive coating covers the substrate ([0065] teaches a prism having a diamond-like carbon film prepared on the bottom surface of the prism substrate), the substrate is a window of the housing (at least [0065] teaches the ATR prism is made of a Ge window material; Examiner notes that because 10, prism, is transparent, it can be considered a window), and the window transmits infrared light from an interior of the housing toward the sample chamber and the detector at the exterior of the housing (Figure 3; [0033]).
Figure A: Examiner provided annotated Figure 3
Nagao fails to teach wherein an infrared transmissive coating covers an entire perimeter of the substrate. Nagao and Wong are related because both teach an infrared spectroscope.
Wong teaches an infrared spectroscope (at least col 1 lines 5-6) wherein an infrared transmissive coating (Figure 5, 6, flexible film; col 4 lines 32-34) covers an entire perimeter of the substrate (4, optical window; Figure 5 depicts 6, flexible film, convers an entire perimeter of 4, optical window; col 8 lines 59-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Nagao to incorporate the teachings of Wong and provide wherein an infrared transmissive coating covers an entire perimeter of the substrate. Doing so would allow for prevention of leaking or evaporation of the sample as well as significant clarity in analyzing and imaging in the sample.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Nagao discloses the Fourier transform infrared spectroscope according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a thickness of the infrared transmissive coating is set to a value at which an infrared absorptance is lower than 3%.
However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the thickness of the coating such that the infrared absorptance is lower than 3%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Furthermore, Examiner notes that [0065] teaches the prism to have a diamond-like carbon film, which is known in the art to have an extremely high transmittance in the IR band by material property. Thus Examiner notes that it is within the scope of the reference to be motivated to keep a low infrared absorptance rate of the coating. Doing so would allow for improved transmissivity through the prism.
Regarding claim 4, he modified Nagao discloses the Fourier transform infrared spectroscope according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the infrared transmissive coating is set to a value within a range not smaller than 10 nanometers and smaller than 100 nanometers ([0065] teaches DLC film with thicknesses of 20 nm and 75 nm).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Nagao discloses the Fourier transform infrared spectroscope according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the infrared transmissive coating is set to a value within a range not smaller than 20 nanometers and smaller than 50 nanometers ([0065] teaches DLC film with thickness of 20 nm).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Nagao discloses the Fourier transform infrared spectroscope according to claim 1, wherein a raw material for the infrared transmissive coating is diamond-like carbon ([0065] teaches a prism having a diamond-like carbon film prepared on the bottom surface of the prism substrate).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Nagao discloses the Fourier transform infrared spectroscope according to claim 1, wherein the housing accommodates an optical system (50, optical system) that receives infrared light from the infrared light source (Figure 2; [0044]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (Examiner provided machine translation of JP 2012202951 A, of record) in view of Wong et al. (5,463,223, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kocabas et al. (2024/0003662, of record).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Nagao discloses the Fourier transform infrared spectroscope according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a raw material for the infrared transmissive coating is parylene. The modified Nagao and Kocabas are related because each teach an infrared transmissive coating.
Kocabas teaches an infrared transmissive coating wherein a raw material for the infrared transmissive coating is parylene ([0052] teaches an alternative of diamond-like carbon as a material of an infrared transparent layer may be parylene).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Nagao to incorporate the teachings of Kocabas and provide wherein a raw material for the infrared transmissive coating is parylene. Doing so would allow for improved protection and durability of the member and subsequent components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872