DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 20230238166 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kobayashi teaches that A coil device comprising:
a first conductor (12S, Drawing: 1);
a second conductor (12P, Drawing: 1) located inside the first conductor;
a first inner core (11F) located inside the second conductor; and
a second inner core (232, Drawing:1) located between the first conductor and the second conductor.
(Note: The Examiner interpret 232, 40a, 41-43 as inner core, extension, first part and second part as shown in Drawing 1 in view of Applicant disclosure of as an inner core, extension, first part and second part in Fig. 4)
Drawing: 1, an annotated version of Fig.6
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches that the second conductor comprises an extension (40a, Drawing: 1) extending along the first conductor,
the extension comprises a first part (43, Drawing: 1), extending away from the first conductor, and a second part (41, Drawing: 1), extending closer to the first conductor than the first part (construed from Drawing: 1; i.e. d2<d1), and
the second inner core locates between the first part and the first conductor.
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches that further comprising an outer leg (11Y),
wherein the outer leg and the first inner core form a closed magnetic circuit.
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches that the first inner core and the second inner core comprise the same magnetic material (see para 0026-0028).
Regarding Claim 7:
As applied to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches that the first inner core and the second inner core comprise a molding material including a magnetic material and a resin material (see Fig. 1 and para 0025).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches that an electronic circuit comprising the coil device (i.e. 12P and 12S formed coil device; see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 8, Kobayashi teaches that multiple coil devices (construed from Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Yamamoto (US 20230100669 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
As applied to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches the first inner core and the second inner core except the first inner core and the second inner core each comprises a different magnetic material.
However, Yamamoto teaches that the first core portion and the second core portion are constituted by compacts made of different materials (see claim 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first inner core and
the second inner core each comprises a different magnetic material to provide a reactor that can easily adjust inductance and heat dissipation without increasing the size of the reactor (see para 0019).
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 6, the modified Kobayashi teaches that the material of the
second inner core has a lower magnetic permeability than the material of the
first inner core (see para 0034).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837