DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Rejection office action in response to application Serial No. 17/969,833 Appeal Brief filed 07/20/2026. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-15, and 17-20 have been examined and fully considered. Claim(s) 1, 14 and 20 have been amended, and claims 4 and 16 are canceled. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-15, and 17-20 are pending in the Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2029 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Foster at al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0264866; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Foster”.
Foster discloses a method for automatically filling a target truck-trailer container to a desired weight (“a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value”*** Interpreting as the desired weight of container as the combined weight values to meet this certain the desired weight****) during collection of an agricultural product (see, Abstract; and Paragraph [0022]: “The coordinated control of the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 allows for loading the trailer 21 to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combination 19 of the determined loading strategy. The target total weight and target weight distribution values for each of the particular truck and trailer combinations 19 can be stored in a database of the tractor/grain cart control system 25 for retrieval upon identifying each truck and trailer combination 19 with the truck and trailer identification system 27. Each target total weight value, target weight distribution value, or other loading strategy information stored in the database may be determined based at least in part on the bridge gross weight formula, or other regulations.”), comprising identifying a second predetermined level (see, “a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value”, Paragraph [0026]: “As represented by blocks 81 and 83, by way of sensors 39 that monitor fill level of the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 automatically moves the tractor 17 forward to fill a new area(s) of the trailer 21 when the area presently being filled reaches the target or required fill level.”) of product for the target truck-trailer container (see, Paragraph [0012]: “When the required fill level is achieved for the first area, the tractor and grain cart are moved for loading the crop material into a second area of the trailer. Movement from loading the first to loading the secondary of the trailer can be done without stopping the loading procedure. When the control system determines that a complete full condition of the trailer has been achieved, a flow gate in the grain cart disclosed to stop crop material transfer from the grain cart to the trailer.”; and [0028]: “the tractor/grain cart control system 25 automatically moves the tractor 17 forward to fill a new area(s) of the trailer 21 when the area presently being filled reaches the target or required fill level. Once all areas of the trailer 21 are filled to the target or required fill levels, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 stops loading the trailer as represented at block 85 by closing the flow gate 45 to stop crop material transfer,”)
selecting an optimized fill method (see, Paragraph [0025]: “As represented at block 53, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a loading strategy for the particular identified truck and trailer combination 19, based on the particular weight ratings of that truck and trailer com bination 19. The loading strategy allows the trailer 21 to be loaded to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combination 19. As represented at block 55, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 controls the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 to load the trailer 21 according to the loading strategy.”), from a plurality of fill methods (see, Paragraph [0022]: “FIG. 1, a control system shown as tractor/grain cart control system 25 cooperates with a truck and trailer identification system 27 for identifying particular truck and trailer combinations 19 for determining loading strategies based on weight rating characteristics of the truck and trailer combinations 19. The truck and trailer identification system 27 includes an RFID system 29. RFID system 29 can be an active or passive RFID system having at least one RFID tag 31 mounted to the truck and trailer combination 19 that operably communicates with and can be identified by the tractor/grain cart control system 25 for determining loading strategy for the particular truck and trailer combinations 19… Upon determining a loading strategy for a particular truck and trailer combination 19 by way of the truck and trailer identification system 27, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 coordinates at least some movement of the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 and at least Some unloading functions of the grain can 15 to automatically load the trailer 21. The coordinated control of the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 allows for loading the trailer 21 to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combi nation 19 of the determined loading strategy.”),
for transferring the product from a field to the target truck-trailer container using a mobile transport container (see “grain cart 15”) by optimizing a fill-weight for the mobile transport container (see, Paragraph [0025]: “As represented at block 53, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a loading strategy for the particular identified truck and trailer combination 19, based on the particular weight ratings of that truck and trailer com bination 19. The loading strategy allows the trailer 21 to be loaded to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combination 19. As represented at block 55, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 controls the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 to load the trailer 21 according to the loading strategy.”),
wherein the optimized fill weight of the mobile transport container is selected to be an integer (see, Paragraph [0026]: “The tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a target total weight or how much total weight of crop material 9 can be loaded based on truck and trailer weight value information stored in the data base as represented at block 71. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a target weight distribution or till levels for the trailer 21 or different areas within the trailer 21 can be loaded based on trailer geometry information stored in the database as represented at block 73…sensors 39 that monitor fill level of the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 automatically moves the tractor 17 forward to fill a new area(s) of the trailer 21 when the area presently being filled reaches the target or required fill level. Once all areas of the trailer 21 are filled to the target or required fill levels” *** Examiner notes that Foster does not explicitly teach “an integer divisor”, however, Foster discloses fill levels in relation to the applicants’ example “an optimal single grain cart fill level weight can be identified, which is an integer division of the target truck container weight”, see paragraph [0030]***) of the second predetermined level of product for the target truck-trailer container (see, Paragraph [0026]: “As represented by blocks 81 and 83, by way of sensors 39 that monitor fill level of the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 automatically moves the tractor 17 forward to fill a new area(s) of the trailer 21 when the area presently being filled reaches the target or required fill level. Once all areas of the trailer 21 are filled to the target or required fill levels, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 stops loading the trailer as represented at block 85 by closing the flow gate 45 to stop crop material transfer”; [0027]: “The grain cart 15 may not have enough crop material 9 to completely fill the trailer 21 to the target total weight value. After transferring all the crop material 9 from the grain cart 15 into the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 may determine a partial-full condition of the trailer. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 may store a partial-full value of the trailer 21 in memory that corresponds to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The grain cart 15 is reloaded with crop material 9 from the combine 7 and the crop material 9 is transferred into the trailer 21 based on the stored partial-full value. For example, the grain cart 15 can start a subsequent loading session at the same location or area of the trailer 21 that was being loaded when the grain cart 15 was emptied during the previous loading session.” and [0028]: “the multiple grain carts 15 and tractors 17 communicate with each other through wireless transfer of data through their respective tractor/grain cart control systems 25. This allows the grain carts 15 and tractors 17 to share information about fill status of a trailer 21 for shared loading of the trailer 21 or making other loading decisions such as which grain cart 15 is best Suited to load a particular trailer 21. A first grain cart 15 may transfer less than the target total weight value of crop material 9 into the trailer 21 to define a partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 of the first grain cart broadcasts information corresponding to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21 to the tractor/grain cart control system 25 of a second grain cart 15. The second grain cart 15 transfers additional crop material 9 into the trailer 21 to achieve the target total weight value.”);
using a sensor array (see, “Sensor system 37 has sensors 39”), which detects an amount of the product disposed in the mobile transport container during transfer (see, Paragraph [0023]: “The sensors 39 are arranged to detect characteristics of the grain cart 15 and trailer 21, such as loading status of the trailer 21 which may include fill level(s) of the grain cart 15 and/or trailer 21 or particular zones or areas within the trailer 21, the position(s) of the grain cart 15 or its components relative to the trailer 21, geometry of the trailer 21, and orientation of the trailer 21 relative to the grain cart 15 and tractor 17.”), to fill the mobile transport container to a first predetermined level (see, “partial-full condition” or “partial-full value”; and Paragraph [0027]: “the tractor/grain cart control system 25 may determine a partial-full condition of the trailer. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 may store a partial-full value of the trailer 21 in memory that corresponds to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The grain cart 15 is reloaded with crop material 9 from the combine 7 and the crop material 9 is transferred into the trailer 21 based on the stored partial-full value.”) that is selected based at least on the optimized fill method (see, Paragraph [0026]: “As represented at block59, the grain cart 15 is loaded and the tractor 17 tows the grain cart 15 to a truck and trailer combination 19. As represented at block 61, the grain cart 15 is positioned for loading the trailer 21. An operator extends the unloading tube 43 of the grain cart 15 over one end of the trailer 21. As represented at block 63, a trailer loading sequence is initiated. This may include the operator actuating a button or switch of a user interface of the tractor/grain cart control system 25 to initiate an automated trailer filling algorithm through the tractor/grain cart control system 25, as represented at block 65. As represented at block 67, tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a loading strategy for the particular truck and trailer combination 19…The tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a target total weight or how much total weight of crop material 9 can be loaded based on truck and trailer weight value information stored in the database as represented at block 71. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a target weight distribution or till levels for the trailer 21 or different areas within the trailer 21 can be loaded based on trailer geometry information stored in the database as represented at block 73. Additional geometric data is collected by the tractor/grain cart control system 25 through the sensors 39, as represented at block 75. Control system 25 can consider the specific truck and trailer combi nation 19 identified at block 69, the corresponding determined target total weight and weight distribution at blocks 71, 73, and data and signals from the sensors at block 75 when determining the path plan components of block 68A.”; and [0028]: “the multiple grain carts 15 and tractors 17 communicate with each other through wireless transfer of data through their respective tractor/grain cart control systems 25. This allows the grain carts 15 and tractors 17 to share information about fill status of a trailer 21 for shared loading of the trailer 21 or making other loading decisions such as which grain cart 15 is best Suited to load a particular trailer 21. A first grain cart 15 may transfer less than the target total weight value of crop material 9 into the trailer 21 to define a partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 of the first grain cart broadcasts information corresponding to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21 to the tractor/grain cart control system 25 of a second grain cart 15.”); and
after filling the mobile transport container to the first predetermined level, using the mobile transport container to fill the target truck-trailer container to the second predetermined level of product (see, Paragraph [0026]: “As represented by blocks 81 and 83, by way of sensors 39 that monitor fill level of the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 automatically moves the tractor 17 forward to fill a new area(s) of the trailer 21 when the area presently being filled reaches the target or required fill level. Once all areas of the trailer 21 are filled to the target or required fill levels”; and [0027]: “The grain cart 15 may not have enough crop material 9 to completely fill the trailer 21 to the target total weight value. After transferring all the crop material 9 from the grain cart 15 into the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 may determine a partial-full condition of the trailer. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 may store a partial-full value of the trailer 21 in memory that corresponds to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The grain cart 15 is reloaded with crop material 9 from the combine 7 and the crop material 9 is transferred into the trailer 21 based on the stored partial-full value. For example, the grain cart 15 can start a subsequent loading session at the same location or area of the trailer 21 that was being loaded when the grain cart 15 was emptied during the previous loading session.”; and [0028]: “A first grain cart 15 may transfer less than the target total weight value of crop material 9 into the trailer 21 to define a partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 of the first grain cart broadcasts information corresponding to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21 to the tractor/grain cart control system 25 of a second grain cart 15. The second grain cart 15 transfers additional crop material 9 into the trailer 21 to achieve the target total weight value.”).
As the Applicants’ specification states in paragraph [0017] “the optimized fill level weight can comprise an integer that is a division of a target truck/trailer's container weight. That is, X number of cart loads can be used to fill the target truck/trailer's container to its target weight, where X is a whole number. In this way, specific carts, with their optimized fill weights, can be automatically associated with trailers to optimize the loading process”; and [0018]: “In this example, the last grain cart can have a target fill weight that allows it to meet the target quantity remaining for the trailer container, which may be a partial load for the cart.”.
Foster is interpreted for this this idea, shared in paragraph [0028]: “the multiple grain carts 15 and tractors 17 communicate with each other through wireless transfer of data through their respective tractor/grain cart control systems 25. This allows the grain carts 15 and tractors 17 to share information about fill status of a trailer 21 for shared loading of the trailer 21 or making other loading decisions such as which grain cart 15 is best suited to load a particular trailer 21. A first grain cart 15 may transfer less than the target total weight value of crop material 9 into the trailer 21 to define a partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 of the first grain cart broadcasts information corresponding to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21 to the tractor/grain cart control system 25 of a second grain cart 15….”.
Furthermore, for example, if a first cart can carry 70% of the needed amount and the second cart can carry 30% of the needed amount, they each only need 1 trip, and there's 2 trips needed in total, but neither are filled to an integer divisor amount of the total needed to be transferred. Therefore, the integer divisor portion of the claim language of the loading strategy is full and complete even if the load is partial based on the combination truck and trailer combination evaluating for compliance with bridge gross weight formula, and/or applicable state, federal laws or regulations. If the load strategy is not a requirement in the specification and alternatives are presented, then it is not critical to the invention.
One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey to minimize operating expenses. Improving efficiency of agricultural implements can help reduce operating expenses. To improve efficiency of agricultural implements, implements such as grain harvesting equipment like combines have been made larger with wider collection heads, which can reduce harvesting time of a field by requiring fewer passes (see at least Paragraph [0003]).
As to [claim 2], Foster teaches the method of claim 1. Foster discloses wherein the second predetermined level, and the first predetermined level comprise a weight (see, Paragraph [0022]: “Still referring to FIG. 1, a control system shown as tractor/grain cart control system 25 cooperates with a truck and trailer identification system 27 for identifying particular… The coordinated control of the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 allows for loading the trailer 21 to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combi nation 19 of the determined loading strategy… Each target total weight value, target weight distribution value, or other loading strategy information stored in the database may be determined based at least in part on the bridge gross weight formula, or other regulations.”; and [0025]: “As represented at block 53, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 determines a loading strategy for the particular identified truck and trailer combination 19, based on the particular weight ratings of that truck and trailer com bination 19. The loading strategy allows the trailer 21 to be loaded to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combination 19.”) and/or a volume.
As to [claim 3], Foster discloses the method of claim 1. Foster discloses wherein identifying the second predetermined level comprises identifying a pre-determined high-load weight specified for the target truck-trailer container, and/or identifying a pre-determined high-load weight for a combined product and the target truck-trailer container specified for a pre-determined travel route for hauling the product offsite (see, Paragraphs [0009]: “The trailer loading sequence may be initiated automatically by the control system or by at least Some operator manual input or confirmation. A target total weight value of crop material to load into the trailer is determined based on axle weight ratings of the axles of the truck and trailer combination. A target weight distribution value of the trailer is determined for distributing the crop material in the trailer based on the axle weight ratings of the axles of the truck and trailer combination. This determination may include evaluating the axle weight ratings based on the bridge gross weight formula, or other regulations.”; and [0022]: “The coordinated control of the grain cart 15 and tractor 17 allows for loading the trailer 21 to correspond to a target total weight value and a target weight distribution value based on axle weight ratings of the axles the truck and trailer combi nation 19 of the determined loading strategy. The target total weight and target weight distribution values for each of the particular truck and trailer combinations 19 can be stored in a database of the tractor/grain cart control system 25 for retrieval upon identifying each truck and trailer combination 19 with the truck and trailer identification system 27. Each target total weight value, target weight distribution value, or other loading strategy information stored in the database may be determined based at least in part on the bridge gross weight formula, or other regulations.”).
As to [claim 5], Foster discloses the method of claim 1. Foster discloses using the sensor array (see, Paragraph [0023]: “Sensor system 37 has sensors 39”) comprising using one or more of:
a scale that detects weight of the product (see at least Paragraph [0023]: “Sensor system 37 has sensors 39 that are mounted to the grain cart 15, the tractor 17, and/or the truck and trailer combination 19. The sensors 39 are arranged to detect characteristics of the grain cart 15 and trailer 21, such as loading status of the trailer 21 which may include fill level(s) of the grain cart 15 and/or trailer 21 or particular Zones or areas within the trailer 21, the position(s) of the grain cart 15 or its components relative to the trailer 21, geometry of the trailer 21, and orientation of the trailer 21 relative to the grain cart 15 and tractor 17. The sensors 39 can include, for example, various stereo vision cameras, 3D TOP cameras, IR cameras, ultrasonic sensors, a grain cart bin scale, and others that operably communicate with the tractor/grain cart control system 25.”); and a volumetric detector that identifies a fill level of the product.
As to [claim 10], Foster discloses the method of claim 1. Foster discloses comprising determining the first predetermined level based at least on a combined weight of the mobile transport container and the product disposed in the mobile transport container (see, Paragraph [0021]: “Referring now to the drawings and specifically to FIG. 1, a system 5 for coordinating vehicle control of agricultural vehicles for automatically loading and/or automatically approaching and loading crop material for on-road transport is schematically shown. System 5 includes a harvester such as a combine 7 that harvests grain and/or other crop material 9 from an agricultural field and stores the crop material in an onboard bin 11 of the combine 7. The combine 7 can unload its bin 11 while on-the-move into a bin 13 of grain cart 15 which may be a grain cart or grain wagon that is towed by a tractor 17”; and [0027]: “The grain cart 15 may not have enough crop material 9 to completely fill the trailer 21 to the target total weight value. After transferring all the crop material 9 from the grain cart 15 into the trailer 21, the tractor/grain cart control system 25 may determine a partial-full condition of the trailer. The tractor/grain cart control system 25 may store a partial-full value of the trailer 21 in memory that corresponds to the partial-full condition of the trailer 21. The grain cart 15 is reloaded with crop material 9 from the combine 7 and the crop material 9 is transferred into the trailer 21 based on the stored partial-full value.”).
As to [claim 14], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1 therefore claim 14 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 15], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 15 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 19], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 8 and 9, therefore claim 19 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Claim(s) 8-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster in view of Pickett et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0045067; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Pickett”.
As to [claim 8], Foster teaches the method of claim 1. Pickett discloses comprising identifying one or more characteristics of the product being transferred to the mobile transport container, the characteristics comprising moisture level (see at least Paragraph [0064]: “The material-transferring vehicle system 10 may communicate Supplemental information about the agricultural material (e.g., grain) to the material receiving system 12. Such supplemental information may comprise one or more of the following items: moisture, protein content, source, or other data of the load”), kernel weight, and kernel size.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material as taught by Pickett. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey supplemental information that may comprise one or more of the following items: moisture, protein content, source, or other data of the load. The supplemental information might provide faster service and transfer of agricultural material to the grain elevator. Such that the grain elevator can efficiently manage moisture levels within various bins (see, Paragraph [0064]).
As to [claim 9], Froster in view of Pickett teaches the method of claim 8. Pickett teaches using the one or more characteristics in combination with the sensor array to fill the mobile transport container (see at least Paragraph [0049]: “The sensors 14 may be mounted between the frame 91 and the axle 92 as shown in FIG. 3, between a bottom or floor of the first container 28 and top the frame 91, in the tongue or hitch assembly 303 of a two-wheeled material transferring vehicle 301, integrated into the suspension of the material-transferring vehicle 301, or mounted elsewhere to measure the weight, mass or volume of agricultural material”) to a first predetermined level (see at least Paragraph [0040]: “the material receiving vehicle system 12 (e.g., on the truck) facilitates loading of the material receiving vehicle 307 with up to maximum amount of weight that the material receiving vehicle 307 (e.g., the truck) can legally accommodate for compliance with applicable state, federal laws or regulations. The material receiving vehicle system 12 estimates the amount of agricultural material loaded onto the material receiving vehicle307 during any previous, interrupted or current grain unloading operation” and [0064]: “Such supplemental information may comprise one or more of the following items: moisture, protein content, Source, or other data of the load. The supplemental information might provide faster service and transfer of agricultural material to the grain elevator. Such that the grain elevator can efficiently manage moisture levels within various bins. In one example, supplemental information is measured by sensors (e.g., moisture, spectroscopic, microwave sensors) on the combine, and it gets transferred from combine to a material transferring vehicle 301 (e.g., grain cart) and from the material transfer ring vehicle 301 to a material receiving vehicle 307 (e.g., truck)”).
As to [claim 11], Foster in view of Picket discloses the method of claim 10.
Foster does not explicitly teach wherein determining the first predetermined level is based at least on soil conditions at a target site where product transfer occurs, however, Pickett teaches wherein determining the first predetermined level is based at least on soil conditions at a target site (see Paragraph [0024]: “The load coordinator 42 determines and records load data records that comprise one or more of the following: a first amount (e.g., volume, weight or bushels) of loaded agricultural material on the material transferring vehicle 301 or in the first container 28, a second amount of loaded agricultural material on the material receiving vehicle 307 or in the second container 401, a date of transfer of the loaded agricultural material onto or from any vehicle (301, 307) (e.g., with a vehicle identifier), a date of transfer of the loaded agricultural material from the material transferring vehicle 301 to the material receiving vehicle 307, a lot or lot identifier of the loaded agricultural material, oil content (e.g., average or mean) of the loaded agricultural material, moisture content (e.g., average or mean) of the loaded agricultural material, and a field or location identifier for the loaded agricultural material.” ---Examiner interprets that moisture content of the loaded agricultural material as the determinized soil conditions at a target site---) where product transfer occurs (see at least Paragraph [0061]: “traceability of the agricultural material that is loaded onto the truck or material receiving vehicle 307 is provided by a vehicle identification number. The material receiving vehicle 307 has a vehicle identification number to track the particular lot of agricultural material (e.g., grain) going to the elevator, the amount of agricultural material, and which field and farm or source the agricultural material came from. If there is any other information that needs to augment the traceability or amount of agricultural material loaded onto the material receiving vehicle 307, that can be done with this system (10.12) as well. The amount of agricultural information can be used to calibrate scale or sensors 14 on the material-transferring vehicle 307 by comparison to a scale at a grain elevator, for example.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material as taught by Pickett. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey supplemental information that may comprise one or more of the following items: moisture, protein content, source, or other data of the load. The supplemental information might provide faster service and transfer of agricultural material to the grain elevator. Such that the grain elevator can efficiently manage moisture levels within various bins (see, Paragraph [0064]).
As to [claim 12], Foster teaches the method of claim 1. Pickett discloses comprising providing an alert to an operator that the first predetermined level has been achieved (see at least Paragraph [0058]: “a second communications device 58 is capable of transmitting a data message indicative of the transfer of desired amount of agricultural material to the first communications device 22 to coordinate the delivery of the desired amount of agricultural material”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material as taught by Pickett. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey bushels of available capacity left, and the operator wants to unload completely the agricultural material from the first container (see Paragraph [0062]).
As to [claim 13], Foster teaches the method of claim 1. As Foster discloses … a scale disposed on the mobile transport container(see, Paragraph [0023]: “The sensors 39 are arranged to detect characteristics of the grain cart 15 and trailer 21, such as loading status of the trailer 21 which may include fill level(s) of the grain cart 15 and/or trailer 21 or particular Zones or areas within the trailer 21, the position(s) of the grain cart 15 or its components relative to the trailer 21, geometry of the trailer 21, and orientation of the trailer 21 relative to the grain cart 15 and tractor 17. The sensors 39 can include, for example, various stereo vision cameras, 3D TOP cameras, IR cameras, ultrasonic sensors, a g rain cart bin scale, and others that operably communicate with the tractor/grain cart control system 25.”), however, Foster does not explicitly teach, however, Pickett teaches calibrating the first predetermined level using a scale disposed on the mobile transport container (see at least Paragraph [0061]: “If there is any other information that needs to augment the traceability or amount of agricultural material loaded onto the material receiving vehicle 307, that can be done with this system (10.12) as well. The amount of agricultural information can be used to calibrate scale or sensors 14 on the material-transferring vehicle 307”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material as taught by Pickett. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey bushels of available capacity left, and the operator wants to unload completely the agricultural material from the first container (see Paragraph [0062]).
Claim(s) 6-7, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster in view of Meier et al. (US 2023/0329148; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Meier”.
As to [claim 6], Foster discloses the method of claim 1.
Foster discloses … transferring to the mobile transport container based at least on the detected amount of product disposed in the mobile transport container (see at least Paragraph [0023]: “The sensors 39 are arranged to detect characteristics of the grain cart 15 and trailer 21, such as loading status of the trailer 21 which may include fill level(s) of the grain cart 15 and/or trailer 21 or particular zones or areas within the trailer 21, the position(s) of the grain cart 15 or its components relative to the trailer 21, geometry of the trailer 21, and orientation of the trailer 21 relative to the grain cart 15 and tractor 17”), however, does not teach determining a flow rate of product…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Meier teaches
determining a flow rate of product transferred to the mobile transport container based at least on the detected amount of product disposed in the mobile transport container (see at least Abstract; Figure 2; Paragraph [0020]: “provide a system and method to automatically track transfer events using flow rate measurements for each machine involved in the transfer event. The system monitors flow rate sensors in each machine that produce a signal that varies with a flow rate of the material that is transferred. The system receives the signals and detects changes in the flow rates. The detected change values are used to identify windows of time that include a beginning or end of a transfer event” and [0023]: “FIG. 2 depicts an example method for calculating an amount of material transferred between a plurality of
sources and destinations in a commodity handling system. The method may be performed by any combination of the components indicated in FIG. 7 or 9.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate determining a flow rate of product transferred to the mobile transport container based at least on the detected amount as taught by Meier, and combining a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material combined with Foster. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey an efficiency of the method and system, satisfying a need for a system for automated unloading of agricultural material that minimizes unwanted collisions (see at least Paragraph [0002]).
As to [claim 7], Foster in view of Meier teaches the method of claim 6. Meier teaches wherein the sensor array detects the flow rate of the product during transfer to fill the mobile transport container to the first predetermined level (see at least Paragraph [0032]: “Other different types of flow sensors may be used, alone or in combination, to measure the flow rate of material into or out of a container. Alternative methods may include, for example, impact-based sensing, radiation-based sensing, electromagnetic sensing, metering grain flow sensing, radar based sensing, optical camera-based sensing, among other”), and wherein the detected flow rate is received by a harvester from which the product is being transferred (see at least Paragraph [0021]: “The combine harvesters and grain carts each include a sensor that measures the flow of material into (ingress) or out (egress) of the respective machine. In this example, the flow of grain out of a combine harvester is measured by a sensor attached to the auger, while the flow of grain into a grain cart is measured using a weight scale. In a combine harvester, a flow sensor is attached to the unload auger of the combine harvester that produces a signal that increases as the flow rate through the auger increases”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify the detected flow rate is received by a harvester from which the product is being transferred of Meier and combining a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material of Foster. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey an efficiency of the method and system, satisfying a need for a system for automated unloading of agricultural material that minimizes unwanted collisions (see at least Paragraph [0002]).
As to [claim 17], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 17 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 18], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 7, therefore claim 18 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Regarding [claim 20], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 7, therefore claim 18 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above. However, the references do not explicitly teach determining a flow rate of product…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Meier teaches
…
determining a flow rate of product transferred to the mobile transport container based at least on the detected amount of product disposed in the mobile transport container, using the sensor array (see at least Abstract; Figure 2; Paragraph [0020]: “provide a system and method to automatically track transfer events using flow rate measurements for each machine involved in the transfer event. The system monitors flow rate sensors in each machine that produce a signal that varies with a flow rate of the material that is transferred. The system receives the signals and detects changes in the flow rates. The detected change values are used to identify windows of time that include a beginning or end of a transfer event” and [0023]: “FIG. 2 depicts an example method for calculating an amount of material transferred between a plurality of sources and destinations in a commodity handling system. The method may be performed by any combination of the components indicated in FIG. 7 or 9.”).
using the mobile transport container to fill the target truck-trailer container to the second predetermined level of product (see at least Paragraph [0020]: “The transfer events are thus defined. An amount of material that is transferred may also be determined”) for a target truck-trailer container, using the flow rate (see at least Paragraphs [0021]: “The combine harvesters and grain carts each include a sensor that measures the flow of material into (ingress) or out (egress) of the respective machine. In this example, the flow of grain out of a combine harvester is measured by a sensor attached to the auger, while the flow of grain into a grain cart is measured using a weight scale. In a combine harvester, a flow sensor is attached to the unload auger of the combine harvester that produces a signal that increases as the flow rate through the auger increases” and [0032]: “Other different types of flow sensors may be used, alone or in combination, to measure the flow rate of material into or out of a container. Alternative methods may include, for example, impact-based sensing, radiation-based sensing, electromagnetic sensing, metering grain flow sensing, radar based sensing, optical camera-based sensing, among other”); …
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate determining a flow rate of product transferred to the mobile transport container as taught by Meier, and combining a system for automated unloading of an agricultural material of Foster. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey an efficiency of the method and system, satisfying a need for a system for automated unloading of agricultural material that minimizes unwanted collisions (see Paragraph [0002])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cardona (20190176621 A1) see [0037] [0059]- [0060].
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663