DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (WO 2020/060288) (hereafter “Chan”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576) (hereafter "Li") and Takeda (WO 2008/117889) (hereafter "Takeda").
Regarding claims 1-10 and 17-20, Chan teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (pages 30-34 of the machine translation). Chan teaches that the light emitting layer comprises the following compounds
or
with
and
(pages 30-34 of the machine translation).
is the same as applicant’s BCz-3 and
is the same as applicant’s GD4. Chan teaches that
and
can be deuterated (page 3 of the machine translation).
Chan does not specifically where
and
are deuterated.
Li teaches organic electroluminescent devices which contain deuterated or semi-deuterated organic compounds (abstract). Li further teaches that deuterium acts an apparent electron-donating inductive substituent compared to hydrogen and this isotope effect can be applied to design new luminescent materials with enhanced charge-injection ability (paragraph [0009]). The carbon-deuterium bond is stronger, more stable, and reacts more slowly than the carbon-hydrogen bond and this means that the deuterated organic system has better thermal stability and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices (paragraph [0009]).
Takeda teaches electroluminescent devices comprising carbazole compounds in the hole transporting layer (pages 21-28 and page 70 lines 4-14). Takeda teaches that the carbazole compound comprises deuterium atoms and teaches that when the compound comprises deuterium atoms and used in the electroluminescent device the device has an improved lifetime (page 70 lines 4-14 Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compounds of Chan so some of all hydrogen atoms are replaced with deuterium atoms, as taught by Li and Takeda. The motivation, as taught by Li and Takeda, would have been to improve the thermal stability of the compound and the lifetime of the device comprising the compound. The compounds of Chan can be fully and partially deuterated and can be deuterated to meet the applicant’s claimed compounds AZT002-D1 to AZT002-D6 and AZT041-D1 to AZT041-D6.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (WO 2020/060288) (hereafter “Chan”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576) (hereafter "Li") and Takeda (WO 2008/117889) (hereafter "Takeda") as applied to claims 1-10 and 17-20 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (WO 2020/138872) (hereafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Chan teaches that the electron transporting layer can comprise
(pages 30-34 of the machine translation).
Chan in view of Li and Takeda does not where the electron transporting layer comprises a compound that meets the applicant’s claimed compound.
Yoon teaches that the following compounds can be used as electron transporting materials and are substituents for each other,
,
, and
(paragraphs [226]-[227]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electron transporting material in Chan in view of Li and Takeda,
, with
or
as taught by Yoon. The substitution would have been one know electron transporting material for another and Yoon teaches that the compounds are equivalents of each other and can be used for the same purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds of Yoon can be used as electron transporting materials in the device of Chan in view of Li and Takeda.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (WO 2020/060288) (hereafter “Chan”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576) (hereafter "Li") and Takeda (WO 2008/117889) (hereafter "Takeda") as applied to claims 1-10 and 17-20 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2009/0033212) (hereafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claims 13-16, Chan in view of Li and Takeda does not teach where the device has multiple light emitting layers/units.
Ahn teaches that one can make a white light emitting device by having different light emitting layer with in the electroluminescent device (paragraphs [0033]-[0044]). Ahn teaches that the light emitting layer emit different light and can emit green light, blue light, and red/orange/yellow light and the arrangement of the layers can vary (paragraphs [0033]-[0044]). Ahn teaches that some of the light emitting layer can emit the same color and when the layers emit the same color the layers can compose the same materials (paragraphs [0033]-[0044] and [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chan in view if Li and Takeda to compose multiple light emitting layers, where the layers can emit different color and/or the same color including blue, green, red, yellow, or orange and the order of the layers can change, as taught by Ahn. The motivation would have been to make a white light emitting device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR2020-0034623 teaches compounds similar to applicant’s formula 1, except that the compounds are not deuterated as claimed.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759