DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 6/29/26, amended claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10, 16, and 20, and cancelled claim(s) 6 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of subject stimulus devices,” in claims 1 and 16, which corresponds to “lights” and/or “a speaker” (see para [0036] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed); “a plurality of subject input devices,” in claims 1 and 16, which corresponds to “button or switch,” “touch screen,” and/or “a microphone” (see para [0036]-[0037] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed); and “a depth image data collection device structured and operable to generate depth image data of the subject as the subject simultaneously performs the one or more tasks,” in claim(s) 1 and 16, which corresponds to “one or more depth camera and/or one or more LiDAR (light detection and ranging) device” (see para [0031] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0232113 to Zets et al. (hereinafter “Zets”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0293088 to Ray and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0059801 to Vardy.
For claim 1, Zets discloses a point-of-care assessment system for the assessment of neurocognitive and neuromotor performance (Abstract) (also see para [0016]), said system comprising:
a force plate (11a/11b) (Fig. 1) (para [0051]) structured and operable to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) generate force plate data indicative of measurement of dynamic vertical ground reaction forces on a subject’s body and of a center of pressure of the subject on the force plate as the subject simultaneously performs two or more tasks (para [0071]) (also see para [0019], [0046], [0048]-[0049], and [0135]);
an interactive subject interface subject board (30 and/or 34) (Fig. 1) (para [0051]) comprising a plurality of stimulus devices (see Figs. 7A-D of Zets) (also see para [0051]-[0052], [0073], and/or [0090]) and a plurality of subject input devices (“keyboard interface 31,” para [0051]) (also see “touch-screen all-in-one-computer,” para [0052] and/or “touch screen interface,” para [0083]), wherein the subject interface board is structured and operable to:
provide stimuli to the subject via the subject stimulus devices (as can be seen in Figs. 7A-7D) (para [0125]-[0126]);
receive input from the subject in response to the stimuli (para [0125]-[0129]) (also see para [0052] and/or [0083]), wherein the input comprises one of the two or more simultaneously performed tasks (para [0125]-[0129]) (also see para [0052] and/or [0083]), and
generate interface board data indicative of the subject’s input (para [0125]-[0129]) (also see para [0052] and/or [0083]);
a depth image data collection device structured and operable to generate depth image data of the subject as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (Examiner’s Note: interpreted in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) invocation above) (44/45) (Figs. 1 and 4A) (para [0061]); and
a computer-based data collection and analysis system (20) (Fig. 1) (para 0050]) communicatively connected to the force plate, the depth image data collection device and the interface board (as can be seen in Fig. 1), and structured and operable to execute one or more point-of-care assessment system program to provide the stimuli and collect and analyze the force plate data, depth image data, and interface board data generated as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (para [0050]-[0052], [0062], [0064]-[0066], and [0077]).
Zets does not expressly disclose at least one switch.
However, Ray teaches at least one switch (para [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets to include at least one switch, in view of the teachings of Ray, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of the way that a user inputs their feedback/response to the stimulus that would lead to the predictable result of being able to record a response from the user for a given stimulus/test.
Zets and Ray do not expressly disclose that the input is physical input from the subject via the subject input devices.
However, Vardy teaches an input that is a physical input from the subject via the subject input devices (para [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets such that that the input is physical input from the subject via the subject input devices, in view of the teachings of Vardy, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of the way that a user inputs their feedback/response to the stimulus that would lead to the predictable result of being able to record a response from the user for a given stimulus/test.
For claim 2, Zets further discloses a 2D camera (one of 44 or 45 not relied upon for the claimed “depth image data collection device”) (also see “Microsoft Kinect,” para [0061])1 structured and operable to generate 2D image data of the subject as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (para [0061]).
For claim 3, Zets further discloses wherein the data collection and analysis system is further structured and operable to execute the one or more PASS programs comprising a skeletal tracking algorithm to measure body motion of the subject in the form of joint centers and segment orientations as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (para [0063]) (also see para [0067], [0069], [0072], [0091], and/or [0095]).
For claim 4, Zets further discloses wherein the data collection and analysis system is further structured and operable to execute the one or more PASS programs to induce cognitive task activities for the subject to perform as one of the two or more tasks simultaneously performed by the subject (para [0047]-[0049]).
Zets does not expressly disclose wherein the cognitive task is a problem solving and memory task.
However, Vardy teaches wherein a cognitive task is a problem solving and memory task (para [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets wherein the cognitive task is a problem solving and memory task, in view of the teachings of Vardy, for the obvious advantage of of implementing a cognitive strategy into the assessment provided by Zets, which is what Zets wants to do anyway (see “cognitive strategies,” para [0047] of Zets).
For claim 5, Zets, as modified, further discloses wherein the data collection and analysis system is further structured and operable to execute the one or more PASS programs to induce the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities for the subject to perform via interaction with the interface board and the force plate (para [0047]-[0049] of Zets) (also see para [0059] of Vardy).
For claim 7, Zets further discloses wherein the plurality of subject stimulus devices comprise at least one of a plurality of lights and a speaker for audio and video dual asking modalities (see Figs. 7A-D of Zets) (also see para [0051]-[0052], [0073], and/or [0090]).
For claim 8, Zets, as modified, further discloses wherein the plurality of subject input devices further comprise at least one of: at least one push button; at least one touch screen display button; at least one switch; and a microphone (see para [0059] of Vardy).
For claim 10, Zets further discloses wherein execution of the one or more PASS programs comprises implementation of at least one of a static balance test, static and dynamic balance tasks, a reaction time task, a lateral step-down task, a drop vertical jump task, a gait task, a step-down task, a sit-to-stand task, and an upper extremity pointing task (para [0049]).
For claim 16, Zets discloses a point-of-care assessment system for the assessment of neurocognitive and neuromotor performance (Abstract) (also see para [0016]), said system comprising:
a force plate (11a/11b) (Fig. 1) (para [0051]) structured and operable to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) generate force plate data indicative of measurement of dynamic vertical ground reaction forces on a subject’s body and of a center of pressure of the subject on the force plate as the subject simultaneously performs two or more tasks (para [0071]) (also see para [0019], [0046], [0048]-[0049], and [0135]);
an interactive subject interface subject board (30 and/or 34) (Fig. 1) (para [0051]) comprising a plurality of subject interface devices (Examiner’s Note: made up of the elements they comprise) comprising a plurality of stimulus devices (see Figs. 7A-D of Zets) (also see para [0051]-[0052], [0073], and/or [0090]) and a plurality of subject input devices (“keyboard interface 31,” para [0051]) (also see “touch-screen all-in-one-computer,” para [0052] and/or “touch screen interface,” para [0083]), wherein the subject interface board is structured and operable to:
provide stimuli to the subject via the subject interface devices (as can be seen in Figs. 7A-7D) (para [0125]-[0126]);
receive input from the subject in response to the stimuli (para [0125]-[0129]) (also see para [0052] and/or [0083]), wherein the input comprises one of the two or more simultaneously performed tasks (para [0125]-[0129]) (also see para [0052] and/or [0083]), and
generate interface board data indicative of the subject’s input (para [0125]-[0129]) (also see para [0052] and/or [0083]);
a depth image data collection device structured and operable to generate depth image data of the subject as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (Examiner’s Note: interpreted in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) invocation above) (44/45) (Figs. 1 and 4A) (para [0061]);
a 2D camera (one of 44 or 45 not relied upon for the claimed “depth image data collection device”) (also see “Microsoft Kinect,” para [0061])2 structured and operable to generate 2D image data of the subject as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (para [0061]); and
a computer-based data collection and analysis system (20) (Fig. 1) (para 0050]) communicatively connected to the force plate, the depth image data collection device, the 2D camera and the interface board (as can be seen in Fig. 1), and structured and operable to execute one or more point-of-care assessment system program to provide the stimuli and collect and analyze the force plate data, depth image data, 2D data and interface board data generated as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (para [0050]-[0052], [0062], [0064]-[0066], and [0077]).
Zets does not expressly disclose at least one switch.
However, Ray teaches at least one switch (para [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets to include at least one switch, in view of the teachings of Ray, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of the way that a user inputs their feedback/response to the stimulus that would lead to the predictable result of being able to record a response from the user for a given stimulus/test.
Zets and Ray do not expressly disclose that the input is physical input from the subject via the subject input devices.
However, Vardy teaches an input that is a physical input from the subject via the subject input devices (para [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets such that that the input is physical input from the subject via the subject input devices, in view of the teachings of Vardy, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of the way that a user inputs their feedback/response to the stimulus that would lead to the predictable result of being able to record a response from the user for a given stimulus/test.
For claim 17, Zets further discloses wherein the data collection and analysis system is further structured and operable to execute the one or more PASS programs comprising a skeletal tracking algorithm to measure body motion of the subject in the form of joint centers and segment orientations as the subject simultaneously performs the two or more tasks (para [0063]) (also see para [0067], [0069], [0072], [0091], and/or [0095]).
For claim 18, Zets further discloses wherein the data collection and analysis system is further structured and operable to execute the one or more PASS programs to induce cognitive task activities for the subject to perform as one of the two or more tasks simultaneously performed by the subject (para [0047]-[0049]).
Zets does not expressly disclose wherein the cognitive task is a problem solving and memory task.
However, Vardy teaches wherein a cognitive task is a problem solving and memory task (para [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets wherein the cognitive task is a problem solving and memory task, in view of the teachings of Vardy, for the obvious advantage of of implementing a cognitive strategy into the assessment provided by Zets, which is what Zets wants to do anyway (see “cognitive strategies,” para [0047] of Zets).
For claim 19, Zets further discloses wherein the data collection and analysis system is further structured and operable to execute the one or more PASS programs to induce the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities for the subject to perform via interaction with the interface board and the force plate (para [0047]-[0049] of Zets) (also see para [0059] of Vardy).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zets in view of Ray and Vardy, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0272840 to Peterson et al. (hereinafter “Peterson”).
For claim 9, Zets, Ray, and Vardy do not expressly disclose wherein the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities comprise at least one of memory games and mental tasks that include mathematical computations.
However, Peterson teaches wherein the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities comprise at least one of memory games and mental tasks that include mathematical computations (para [0054], [0056], and [0075]-[0077]) (also see para [0084]-[0085] and [0089]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets wherein the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities comprise at least one of memory games and mental tasks that include mathematical computations, in view of the teachings of Peterson, for the obvious advantage of enhancing the user’s working memory (see Abstract of Peterson).
For claim 20, Zets, Ray, and Vardy do not expressly disclose wherein the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities comprise at least one of memory games and mental tasks that include mathematical computations.
However, Peterson teaches wherein the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities comprise at least one of memory games and mental tasks that include mathematical computations (para [0054], [0056], and [0075]-[0077]) (also see para [0084]-[0085] and [0089]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Zets wherein the cognitive problem solving and memory task activities comprise at least one of memory games and mental tasks that include mathematical computations, in view of the teachings of Peterson, for the obvious advantage of enhancing the user’s working memory (see Abstract of Peterson).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not address the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments presented in the response filed 6/29/26.
However, to address some of Applicant’s points, the argument about the closed loop vs. open loop system does not appear to be claimed. That is, the examiner could not find the term “closed loop” in the claim language and therefore it appears that this argument is arguing features not in the claims. With regards to the argument about hindsight, both Zets and Vardy are in the field of assessing a user’s balance and the rationale to combine the references was not gleaned from Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, since both references have overlapping subject matter, a skilled artisan would naturally be led to consider each reference due to their overlap.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791
1 See para [0027] of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0035247 to Liu et al. for evidence that the Microsoft Kinect can operate as a 2D camera
2 See para [0027] of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0035247 to Liu et al. for evidence that the Microsoft Kinect can operate as a 2D camera