DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 3-5 are as previously presented. Claims 1 and 3-5 are currently examined.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejection as set forth within the previous office action has been modified as necessitated by applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroma (JP 2012018795A as cited in the IDS sent on 2/15/2024), and further in view of Kwon (US2014/0170467).
As to claim 1, Hiroma discloses a secondary battery ([0002], discussed throughout) comprising: and exterior bodies that look a quadrilateral as a whole in a plan view (figures 1-6, [0030], [0047], discussed throughout, note the exterior bodies are the laminated outside portion of the battery), the exterior bodies each being a sheet member of an exterior material (figure 1-6 #56 and 76, [0026] and discussed throughout); an electrode body that is housed within the exterior bodies, the electrode body comprises (figure 1-6, [0047], discussed throughout, the positive electrode, negative electrode and separator), a cathode current collector (figures 1-6 #42a or 62, abstract discussed throughout), a cathode active material layer (positive electrode mixture, Abstract discussed throughout), a separator layer (figures 1-6 #46, discussed throughout) an anode active material layer (negative electrode mixture, Abstract discussed throughout); and an anode current collector (figures 1-6 #44a or 64, discussed throughout); cutout parts at respective two sides among sides of the quadrilateral, the two sides being opposite to each other (figures 1-6, the location of the first and second leads #72 and #74, [0047], discussed throughout), the two cutout parts being provided at all the exterior bodies and the electrode body (figures 1-6), cross section of the two cutout parts being perpendicular to the plane direction (figures 1-6); the cathode terminal being disposed in one of the cutout parts; and the anode terminal being disposed in another one of the cutout parts (figures 1-6, the first and second leads #72 and #74, [0047], discussed throughout).
Hiroma is silent to wherein the two cutout parts are provided at respective corners of the quadrilateral, the corners being opposite to each other, walls of the exterior bodies extending alongside of the quadrilateral and terminating as the two cutout parts before the respective corners of the quadrilateral. However, Kwon discloses a stacked battery ([0010]) wherein the two terminal tabs are provided at respective corners of the quadrilateral, the corners being opposite to each other (figure 25 P31 and P32, [0124], also throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill withing the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to move the location of the tabs from Hiroma to the location as disclosed by Kwon as a mere change in shape or a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results i.e. location of tabs (see MPEP 2143 I(A) or MPEP 2144.04 IV (B)). Also it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art to move the cutout portions to the corners as a mere change in shape baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04 IV (B)). Thus, modified Hiroma disclosing wherein the two cutout parts are provided at respective corners of the quadrilateral, the corners being opposite to each other, walls of the exterior bodies extending alongside of the quadrilateral and terminating as the two cutout parts before the respective corners of the quadrilateral.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hiroma (JP 2012018795A as cited in the IDS sent on 2/15/2024), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takada (US 2016/0099447).
As to claim 3, Hiroma discloses wherein the electrode body, which is housed in the exterior bodies, is also provided with the cutout parts (figures 4-6, specifically figure 4, [0047], discussed throughout). Hiroma is silent to wherein a resin layer being placed on at least part of each of the cutout parts. Takada discloses a secondary battery wherein a tab sealant made of resin ((0016], [0065]-[0068], discussed throughout) is over a portion of the tab (figures 1-4 #40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the tab sealant from Takada within Hiroma because the tab sealant can secure stable insulation, permit hermetic sealing about the periphery of the tab ([0016]-[0017]). Thus, yielding modified Hiroma having a resin layer at the required location.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroma (JP 2012018795A as cited in the IDS sent on 2/15/2024), and further in view of Park (KR101111074B1, see attached patent and translation).
As to claim 4, Hiroma discloses a secondary battery ([0002], discussed throughout) comprising: and exterior bodies that look a quadrilateral as a whole in a plan view (figures 1-6, [0030], [0047], discussed throughout, note the exterior bodies are the laminated outside portion of the battery); an electrode body that is housed within the exterior bodies, the electrode body comprises (figure 1-6, [0047], discussed throughout, the positive electrode, negative electrode and separator), a cathode current collector (figures 1-6 #42a or 62, abstract discussed throughout), a cathode active material layer (positive electrode mixture, Abstract discussed throughout), a separator layer (figures 1-6 #46, discussed throughout) an anode active material layer (negative electrode mixture, Abstract discussed throughout); and an anode current collector (figures 1-6 #44a or 64, discussed throughout); cutout parts at respective two sides among sides of the quadrilateral, the two sides being opposite to each other (figures 1-6, the location of the first and second leads #72 and #74, [0047], discussed throughout), cutout parts being provided at all the exterior bodies and the electrode body (figures 1-6); a cathode terminal being disposed in one of the cutout parts; and an anode terminal being disposed in another one of the cutout parts (figures 1-6, the first and second leads #72 and #74, [0047], discussed throughout).
Hiroma is silent to a resin layer disposed in each of the cutout parts of the electrode body, the resin layer covering each of the cathode current collector layer, the cathode active material layer, the separator layer, the anode active material layer, and the anode current collector layer for preventing electrical short circuiting therebetween.
Park discloses a battery with a cathode, separator and anode (Abstract, figures 3 and 4, discussed throughout) with a resin layer (figures 3 and 4 #150, page 5 shows that the layer is a resin, discussed throughout) next to the electrode assembly (figures 3 and 4 #130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date to use the resin layer from Park within Hiroma around the electrode assembly because the resin layer maintains the battery shape and prevents damage to the electrode assembly during assembly (Abstract, discussed throughout). Thus, disclosing the instant claimed structure.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hiroma (JP 2012018795A as cited in the IDS sent on 2/15/2024), as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Kwon (US2014/0170467).
As to claim 5, Hiroma is silent to wherein the two cutout parts are provided at respective corners of the quadrilateral, the corners being opposite to each other. However, Kwon discloses a stacked battery ([0010]) wherein the two terminal tabs are provided at respective corners of the quadrilateral, the corners being opposite to each other (figure 25 P31 and P32, [0124], also throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill withing the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to move the location of the tabs from Kwon to the location as disclosed by Yamamoto as a mere change in shape or a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results i.e. location of tabs (see MPEP 2143 I(A) or MPEP 2144.04 IV (B)). Also it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art to move the cutout portions to the corners as a mere change in shape baring any criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04 IV (B)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 3-5 under modified Hiroma have been fully considered.
Hiroma as modified by Yamamoto, has been change to Hiroma as modified by Kwon. Thus, showing the tabs at the corners without displacement. Additionally within the applicants figures there does appear to be minimal displacement as well. Also, note that the applicant. The examiner also added a mere change in shape rejection as well to further expedite prosecution. Please see the rejection above.
The applicant argues that the Hiroma as modified by Park does not discloses the resin within the cutout. This is because Park does not have any cutouts. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Park shows the resin around the perimeter of the battery. Thus, the modification would have the resin around the perimeter of the battery and read on the instant claimed invention. Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724