DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. No amendment has been filed. The double patenting rejections still apply and are not argued.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to the teaching found in paragraph 42 of Ito. Applicant asserts that the 1-20 micron range disclosed in paragraph 42 of Ito refers to the hard carbon and not the sodium particles as claimed. Applicant further asserts that paragraph 42 actually teaches away from the equivalence of particle size for the hard carbon and sodium. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is focusing only on certain words of paragraph 42 and not the entire teaching. It is true that paragraph 42 states “it is unnecessary to equalize the particle sizes of all the active materials.” But it is also true that “the average particle size only needs to be equal to the average particle size of the negative-electrode active material contained in conventionally-known negative-electrode active materials and is not particularly limited” while establishing in paragraph 41 that sodium iron manganese oxide is known negative-electrode active material.
The Ito reference still anticipates the claims but obviousness-type rejections are added as this is an appropriate circumstance for a USC 102/103 rejection. From MPEP 2131.03 II: A 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 combination rejection is permitted if it is unclear if the reference teaches the range with "sufficient specificity." The examiner must, in this case, provide reasons for anticipation as well as a reasoned statement regarding obviousness. Ex parte Lee, 31 USPQ2d 1105 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (expanded Board). For a discussion of the obviousness of ranges see MPEP § 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,132,190 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ito (WO 2012/132813 A1). Corresponding US Application 2014/0017574 is used for translation and citation purposes.
Regarding claims 1-12, 14, and 15, Ito discloses a composition comprising: sodium active particles consisting essentially of sodium iron manganese oxide (paragraph 41). Ito discloses the sodium active particles can be used as a counter electrode to hard carbon particles, that both particles have the same size, and that the hard carbon has a size of 1-20 microns (paragraph 42). This can be considered an explicit teaching of sodium iron manganese oxide sized 1-20 microns or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize sodium iron manganese oxide sized 1-20 microns when the counter electrode is hard carbon since the hard carbon is 1-20 microns and Ito discloses optimizing sizes of the particles for the specific application/materials. The claimed system does not change the properties or scope of the product. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Ito discloses a composition comprising: sodium active particles consisting essentially of sodium iron manganese oxide (paragraph 41). Ito discloses the sodium active particles can be used as a counter electrode to hard carbon particles, that both particles have the same size, and that the hard carbon has a size of 1-20 microns (paragraph 42). This can be considered an explicit teaching of sodium iron manganese oxide sized 1-20 microns or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize sodium iron manganese oxide sized 1-20 microns when the counter electrode is hard carbon since the hard carbon is 1-20 microns and Ito discloses optimizing sizes of the particles for the specific application/materials. The claimed system does not change the properties or scope of the product. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding claims 19-21, Ito discloses a composition comprising: sodium active particles consisting essentially of sodium iron manganese oxide (paragraph 41). Ito discloses the sodium active particles can be used as a counter electrode to hard carbon particles, that both particles have the same size, and that the hard carbon has a size of 1-20 microns (paragraph 42). This can be considered an explicit teaching of sodium iron manganese oxide sized 1-20 microns or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize sodium iron manganese oxide sized 1-20 microns when the counter electrode is hard carbon since the hard carbon is 1-20 microns and Ito discloses optimizing sizes of the particles for the specific application/materials. The claimed system does not change the properties or scope of the product. “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113 I.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725