DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 5 December 2025 is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-9 as amended are pending, with claims 7 and 8 withdrawn. All outstanding objections and rejections made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on 5 December 2025. For this reason, the present action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016-129231 A (“Morita”) as evidenced by WO 2022/138747 A1.
The additional reference is used in this case, only to demonstrate that a certain property is inherent. See MPEP 2131.01. A partial machine translation of WO 2022/138747 A1 is enclosed.
As to claims 1-4, Morita teaches a composition for film like adhesive (para. 0001), including an epoxy resin having the same proportion of EPPN-501H and YD-128 epoxy resins used in applicant’s specification. Morita teaches the use of phenoxy resin, exemplified by YP-70, in 30 parts with respect to 104 parts epoxy resin, or approximately 22 mass % with respect to the total of epoxy and phenoxy. Morita teaches a curing agent (para. 0084).
Morita teaches the presence of inorganic fillers, including inorganic fillers in the recited volume content required by claim 2 (para. 0096, table, all examples), having the recited particle diameter of claim 2 and Mohs hardness required by claim 3 (see para. 0084, 0089 for aluminum nitride, paras. 0092, 0094 for spherical silica and alumina).
Morita does not discuss the elastic modulus of the phenoxy resin. However, Morita teaches that preferred phenoxy resins include YP-50S, which as evidenced by Yamazaki, para. 0191, has an elastic modulus of 1.6 GPa, or 1600 MPa, which is within the recited range. It would be an obvious substitution to use phenoxy resins, including those having the recited elastic modulus as required by claims 1-4, as Morita teaches the same are preferred phenoxy resins.
Morita does not discuss the nanoindentation hardness and Young’s modulus of the film adhesive prior to curing as required by claim 1, nor the melt viscosity at 120 degrees C as required by claim 4, only stating the melt viscosity at a lower temperature. However, given that Morita suggests the same resin composition as both recited and as exemplified in applicant’s specification, in conjunction with a filler having the same loading amount, particle size, and Mohs hardness as recited, it is reasonable to presume that the resulting compositions have the same indentation hardness, Young’s modulus of an uncured adhesive and melt viscosity at 120 degrees C as recited.
As to claims 5 and 6, Morita teaches film like adhesives as required by claim 5, having the thickness required by claim 6 (para. 0084).
As to claim 9, Morita teaches that films of the adhesive may have a thickness of 10 to 150 micrometers (para. 0015), which includes thicknesses in the recited range, and thus films of the recited thickness are obvious as suggested by Morita.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While not exemplified, Morita teaches the use of YP-50S, which has the recited modulus, and thus would be expected to provide the recited characteristics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764