DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 29 July 2025 to the specification para. [0059-0060] and claims 8-9 to overcome the informalities are acceptable. Therefore, specification and claim objections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, filed 29 July 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schlipf (DE 102012110098).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the limitation “A process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket, especially for manufacturing of a module for an electrical feedthrough and especially for use in an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle,” should read:-- A process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket for a module of an electrical feedthrough of an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle, --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schlipf (DE 102012110098, prior art reference listed in 10/20/2022 IDS).
[AltContent: textbox (metallic outer pipe)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (electrically insulating mineral material)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (metallic inner part)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs. 2a and 2b, Schlipf.
Note: As best understood, given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the preamble “a process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket, especially for manufacturing a module for an electrical feedthrough and especially for use in an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle, the mineral- insulated socket” deemed to read as the intended use “for manufacturing a module for an electrical feedthrough” or “for use in an exhaust ga duct of a motor vehicle” and are not limiting the claim. Therefore, the preamble “a process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket, especially for manufacturing a module for an electrical feedthrough and especially for use in an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle, the mineral- insulated socket” has been interpreted as a process for manufacturing a mineral insulated socket.
Regarding claim 1, Schlipf teaches, a process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket (see Fig. 2a, ceramic insulating material…a porous MgO body, para. [0005]), especially for manufacturing a module for an electrical feedthrough (electrical feedthrough 200, Figs. 2a to 2e) and especially for use in an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle (see para. [0002-0003]), the mineral-insulated socket comprising:
a metallic inner part (electrical conductor 210, see annotated Fig. 2a above, para. [0050]) arranged in a metallic outer pipe (outer tube 230, Fig. 2a, outer tube…made of stainless steel, para. [0005], electrical conductor 210 arranged in the interior of the outer tube 230, para. [0050]) and electrically insulated from the metallic outer pipe by an electrically insulating mineral material (insulating material 220, Fig. 2a, insulating tube, typically made of a ceramic insulating material, in particular of a porous MgO body…and then placed in the interior of an outer tube, para. [0005]), characterized in that, in a process of constructing the mineral-insulated socket, in one step the metallic inner part, the electrically insulating material, and the outer pipe are compressed to form a composite (after this arrangement of electrical conductor, insulating tube and outer tube is assembled, it is compressed, in particular pressed, to reduce its cross-section, so that the electrical feedthrough is created, para. [0005], electrical conductor 210, the insulating tube 220 and the outer tube 230 are compressed together under high pressure, para. [0050]) and in a subsequent step the mineral-insulated socket is produced by removing at least one complete section of the compressed composite (see Figs. 2b and 2e, step (d) cutting off a section of the bar material whose length corresponds to the desired length of the electrical conductor of the bushing to be produced, para. [0014-0015]; the shaping of the connecting sections of the electrical conductor only takes place in the pressed state, para. [0025]; by cutting the electrical conductor 210 at the desired distance from the right end face 232 of the outer tube 230 the electrical implementation 200 from the bar material 290 separated, para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Schlipf further teaches, the process according to claim 1, wherein the metallic inner part used for the manufacture of the compressed composite is solid (electrical conductor 210, para. [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 alternatively, and claims 2-3 and 7-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muznik (US 20230054762) in view of Schlipf.
Regarding claim 1, Muznik teaches, a process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket (phyllosilicate mineral, para. [0039]), especially for manufacturing a module for an electrical feedthrough (electrical connection 10, Figs. 1 to 17, electrical connection…may be installed in a jacket or casing of an exhaust-gas system, para. [0005]) and especially for use in an exhaust gas duct (exhaust-gas system of an internal combustion engine, para. [0005]) of a motor vehicle, the mineral-insulated socket comprising:
[AltContent: textbox (metallic inner part)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (electrically insulating mineral material)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (metallic outer pipe)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs. 1-2, Muznik.
a metallic inner part (electrical conductor 16, see annotated Fig. 1) arranged in a metallic outer pipe (bushing 12, Fig. 1, bushing is made of metal, para. [0007]) and electrically insulated from the metallic outer pipe by an electrically insulating mineral material (insulating layer 18, Fig. 1, insulating layer is made of a material comprising at least 50% of a phyllosilicate mineral, para. [0039]), characterized in that, in a process of constructing the mineral-insulated socket, in one step, the metallic inner part, the electrically insulating material, and the outer pipe are compressed to form a composite (bushing 12, the insulating layer 18 and the electric conductor 16 are arranged coaxially in respect to the geometric central axis 14…After arranging the bushing 12, the insulating layer 18 and the electric conductor 16 coaxially in respect to the geometric central axis 14 of the bushing 12, these components 12, 18, 16 are pressed together, para. [0066]) and in a subsequent step the mineral-insulated socket is produced by compressed composite (bushing 12, the insulating layer 18 and the electric conductor 16 are preferably pressed together during a rotary forging process, para. [0067]-[0069]).
[AltContent: textbox (metallic outer pipe)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (electrically insulating mineral material)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (metallic inner part)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs. 2a and 2b, Schlipf.
Muznik does not explicitly teach removing at least one complete section of the compressed composite. However, Schlipf teaches a method of manufacturing an electrical feedthrough including an inner part 210, an outer pipe 230, and an electrically insulating MgO mineral material 220 compressed to form a compressed composite in which, removing at least one complete section of the compressed composite (see Figs. 2b and 2e, step (d) cutting off a section of the bar material whose length corresponds to the desired length of the electrical conductor of the bushing to be produced, para. [0014-0015]; the shaping of the connecting sections of the electrical conductor only takes place in the pressed state, para. [0025]; by cutting the electrical conductor 210 at the desired distance from the right end face 232 of the outer tube 230 the electrical implementation 200 from the bar material 290 separated, para. [0054]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Schlipf, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the process of manufacturing the electrical feedthrough of Muznik and include step of removing one complete section after pressing as taught by Schlipf in Figs. 2b and 2e so that it enables forming the socket into a desired geometric shape by removing one complete section in a one-step machining process of the outer tube, the insulating material and the electrical conductor as Schlipf disclosed in para. [0053]. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in removing one complete section of the compressed composite. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 2, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Muznik further teaches, the process according to claim 1, wherein the composite is a bar stock material (bushing 12 and/or the electrical conductor 16 is made of a stainless steel, para. [0097]).
Regarding claim 7, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Muznik further teaches, the process according to claim 1, wherein the process further includes the step of forming an opening (an opening 24a, Fig. 9) in the metallic inner part (electrical conductor 16, Fig. 9, the grooves 20 may have a cross section with an opening 24a on the external circumferential surface 16b, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 7. Muznik further teaches, the process according to claim 7, wherein the opening is formed in the metallic inner part before the removal step (see the electrical conductor 16 in Fig. 3, protrusions or recesses are part of a ribbed external circumferential surface of the electrical conductor. The ribbed surface preferably comprises a plurality of grooves, para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Muznik further teaches, the process according to claim 8, wherein the opening is formed in the metallic inner part after the removal step (grooves may be achieved during manufacturing of the bushing, e.g. by a certain feeding speed in respect to a rotational speed and a certain cutting depth of a cutting or milling tool with which the internal circumferential surface is machined, para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Muznik does not explicitly teach the opening completely penetrates through the metallic inner part. However, Schlipf further teaches, a method of manufacturing an electrical feedthrough, in which, the process according to claim 8, wherein the opening is formed in the metallic inner part such that the opening completely penetrates through the metallic inner part (see Fig. 2d). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Schlipf, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the process of manufacturing the electrical feedthrough of Muznik and include an opening completely penetrates through the metallic inner part as taught by Schlipf so that it enables to improve the heating speed.
Regarding claim 12, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 9. Muznik further teaches, the process according to claim 9, wherein an additional opening (see openings 24a in the modified Fig. 9 below and Fig. 5) is formed in the metallic inner part (electrical conductor 16) from an opposite side (see Fig. 5) relative to the opening, such that a separating wall remains in the metallic inner part between the opening and the additional opening.
[AltContent: textbox (opening)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (separating wall)][AltContent: textbox (additional
opening)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 9, Muznik.
Regarding claim 13, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 7. Muznik further teaches, the process according to 7, wherein the opening is formed concentric to a pipe center axis of the outer pipe (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Muznik in view of Schlipf teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Muznik further teaches, the process according to 1, wherein parts of the outer pipe of the mineral-insulated socket are removed (see length B1, Figs. 6 and 7, para. [0067]), so that the outer pipe has multiple outer pipe sections electrically insulated from each other.
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muznik in view of Schlipf as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shan (CN 108661762).
Regarding claim 4, modified Muznik does not teach the inner metallic part is a pipe. However, Shan teaches a catalytic converter in Fig. 4 used in an exhaust of a motor vehicle including a metallic inner part 2, a metallic outer pipe 4, and electrically insulating material in between, in which, the metallic inner part is a pipe (central electrode 2 is tubular and can be more uniformly heated hollow tube body set on the central electrode 2, para. [0049]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Shan, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the process of manufacturing the electrical feedthrough 10 of Muznik and replace the conductor 16 in Fig. 1 of Muznik with a tubular conductor 2 as taught by Shan so that it enables uniformly heating the tubular body and hence effectively reducing the thermal capacity of the central electrode, and to improve the heating speed as disclosed in para. [0049] Shan.
Regarding claim 5, Muznik in view of Schlipf and Shan teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Muznik further teaches, the process according to claim 4, wherein the pipe used as the metallic inner part in the manufacture of the compressed composite is filled with a core during the compression (see the stainless steel electrical conductor 16, which reads “a core”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 would be allowable for disclosing a process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket for a module of an electrical feedthrough of an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle, wherein the core is removed after the compression of the composite.
Claim 11 would be allowable for disclosing a process for manufacturing a mineral-insulated socket for a module of an electrical feedthrough of an exhaust gas duct of a motor vehicle, wherein the opening is formed as a blind hole in the metallic inner part.
Though, prior art Shan teaches central electrode 2 is a hollow pipe, Shan fails to teach the metallic hollow pipe is electrically insulated from the metallic outer pipe by an electrically insulating mineral material; or the core is removed after the compression of the composite; or the opening is formed as a blind hole in the metallic inner part.
Though, prior art Muznik teaches a step of forming an opening in the metallic inner part, Muznik does not teach removing one complete section of the compressed composite; or the opening is formed as a blind hole in the metallic inner part; or the core is removed after the compression of the composite. Therefore, claims 6 and 11 would be allowable.
Conclusion
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729