DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22, 24, and 26 recite the limitation “wherein in the direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body, the ventilation groove only extends through a part of the valve body without traversing the entirety of the valve body”.
The Examiner notes that [0051] of the instant specification was cited in the Applicant’s Remarks dated February 13, 2026 as support for this limitation.
However, [0051] of the instant specification recites “In some embodiments, the ventilation groove 24 has a first ventilation end 243 defined in the inner ring 212 of the valve body 21 to be in communication with the cavity 201 and a second ventilation end 244 located between the peripheral edge 231 of the valve cover 23 and the outer ring 212 of the valve body 21” and therefore the instant specification does not explicitly recite the claimed limitation.
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses that when the second ventilation end 244 is flush with the outer ring 212 of the valve body 21, the second ventilation end 244 is located between a peripheral edge of the valve cover 23 and the outer ring 212 of the valve body 21 ([0053]) and therefore the configuration cited in [0051] does not inherently provide support for the ventilation groove extending through a part of the valve body without traversing the entirety of the valve body.
Lastly, the Examiner notes that none of the figures of the instant specification appear to provide support for the claimed limitation (e.g. see Figs. 3-4, wherein the ventilation groove 24 extends through the entirety of the valve body 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 207409523 U, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated July 22, 2025) and further in view of Liu (CN 213584066 U, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated July 22, 2025) and Aoyanagi (JP 2013-168293 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claims 1 and 21, Wang discloses in Figs. 3-5 a top cover for a battery ([0002], [0039]), comprising:
a mounting sheet (1) having an opening (2) defined therein ([0039]); and
an explosion-proof valve comprising:
a valve body (3) mounted in the opening (2), wherein the valve body (3) has a ventilation groove (31) defined on an upper surface thereof ([0039]).
Wang does not disclose an explosion-proof diaphragm mounted on a lower surface of the valve body.
Liu teaches a top cover for a battery that reduces the discreteness of an opening pressure of an explosion-proof valve and improves the reliability and safety of the battery ([0004]).
Specifically, Liu teaches in Fig. 4 a mounting sheet (7) having an opening (3) defined therein and an explosion-proof valve comprising a valve body (5) mounted in the opening (3), an explosion-proof diaphragm (6) mounted on a lower surface of the valve body (5), and a valve cover (4) mounted on the upper surface of the valve body (5) ([0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount an explosion-proof diaphragm on a lower surface of the valve body of Wang, as taught by Liu, in order to reduce the discreteness of an opening pressure of the explosion-proof valve of modified Wang and improve the reliability and safety of the battery of Wang.
Thus, modified Wang discloses:
wherein a cavity is defined by the valve body (3 of Wang), the explosion-proof diaphragm (6 of Liu), and the valve cover (4 of Wang) and is in communication with outside of the battery through the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) (Figs. 3-5 of Wang and Fig. 4 of Liu);
the valve body (3 of Wang) is of an annular structure and comprises an inner ring and an outer ring, the inner ring being in communication with the outer ring through the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) ([0039] and annotated Fig. 4 of Wang provided below); and
the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) has a first ventilation end defined in the inner ring of the valve body (3 of Wang) to be in communication with the cavity ([0039] and annotated Fig. 4 of Wang provided below).
Modified Wang further discloses a valve cover (4 of Wang) mounted on the upper surface of the valve body (3 of Wang) (Fig. 5 and [0039], [0042] of Wang).
Specifically, modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) allows65 for ventilation of the explosion-proof valve ([0017] of Wang).
However, modified Wang does not disclose wherein the valve cover is configured to partially cover the ventilation groove such that the ventilation groove has a second ventilation end located between a peripheral edge of the valve cover and the outer ring of the valve body, wherein in a direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body, a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover and the outer ring ranges from 0.5 mm to 3.0 mm and further is selected from one of 0.5 mm, 1.0 mm, 1.5 mm, 1.7 mm, 2.2 mm, or 3.0 mm.
Aoyanagi teaches an explosion-proof valve that also functions as a vent ([0009]-[0010]).
Specifically, Aoyanagi teaches in Figs. 4-5 an explosion-proof vent (21) comprising a valve body (22) having a ventilation groove (63) defined on an upper surface thereof, a valve cover (25) mounted on the upper surface of the valve body (22) and configured to partially cover the ventilation groove (63) ([0025], [0034]-[0036], wherein the valve cover 25 has cutouts 61 that correspond to ventilation grooves 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the valve cover of modified Wang to be mounted on the upper surface of the valve body of modified Wang so as to partially cover the ventilation groove of modified Wang, as taught by Aoyanagi, in order to form an explosion-proof valve that also functions as a vent, thereby allowing for ventilation of the explosion-proof valve, as desired by modified Wang.
In light of the above, modified Wang discloses wherein the second ventilation end of the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is located a distance away from a peripheral edge of the valve cover (4 of Wang) (Figs. 4-5, [0034]-[0036] of Aoyanagi).
Modified Wang further discloses wherein a length of the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is in the range of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm ([0045] of Wang, wherein the ventilation groove 31 extends the entirety of the valve body 3).
Thus, modified Wang discloses wherein in a direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body (3 of Wang), a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover (4 of Wang) and the outer ring necessarily and inherently ranges from greater than 0 mm to less than 5.0 mm, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0.5 mm to 3.0 mm and further encompasses one of 0.5 mm, 1.0 mm, 1.5 mm, 1.7 mm, 2.2 mm, or 3.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the explosion-proof valve modified Wang such that in a direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body of modified Wang, a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover of modified Wang and the falls within the encompassing values disclosed by modified Wang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the explosion-proof valve desired by modified Wang.
Regarding Claims 4-5, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is V-shaped and therefore modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) has a first surface and a second surface that are perpendicular to each other, the first surface having a first edge and a second edge that extend in a length direction of the ventilation groove, the second surface having a third edge and a fourth edge that extend in the length direction of the ventilation groove, wherein the first edge is parallel to the third edge, and wherein the second edge abuts with the fourth edge (Fig. 4 and [0039] of Wang).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the valve cover (3 of Wang) has a width of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm and a depth of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm (Fig. 4 and [0045] of Wang) and therefore modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) necessarily and inherently has a maximum sectional length of greater than 0 mm and less than 5.0 mm in a width direction of the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) and a depth of greater than 0 mm and less than 5.0 mm, which encompasses the instantly claimed ranges of 0.2 mm and 0.1 mm respectively.
Specifically, modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) provides the explosion-proof valve with better ventilation effect ([0041] of Wang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the ventilation groove of modified Wang to have a maximum sectional length of 0.2 mm in a width direction of the ventilation groove and a depth of 0.1 mm, as disclosed by modified Wang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form an explosion-proof valve with better ventilation effect, as desired by modified Wang.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the valve body (3 of Wang) with the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is of an integrally formed structure (Fig. 4 and [0039], [0042] of Wang).
Claims 9, 12-14, 16-17, 20, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 207409523 U, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated July 22, 2025) and further in view of Liu (CN 213584066 U, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated July 22, 2025), Aoyanagi (JP 2013-168293 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), and Liu et al. (US PGPub 2022/0384906 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding Claims 9, 17, 23, and 25, Wang discloses in Figs. 3-5 a top cover for a battery ([0002], [0039]), comprising:
a mounting sheet (1) having an opening (2) defined therein ([0039]); and
an explosion-proof valve comprising:
a valve body (3) mounted in the opening (2), wherein the valve body (3) has a ventilation groove (31) defined on an upper surface thereof ([0039]).
Wang does not disclose an explosion-proof diaphragm mounted on a lower surface of the valve body.
Liu teaches a top cover for a battery that reduces the discreteness of an opening pressure of an explosion-proof valve and improves the reliability and safety of the battery ([0004]).
Specifically, Liu teaches in Fig. 4 a mounting sheet (7) having an opening (3) defined therein and an explosion-proof valve comprising a valve body (5) mounted in the opening (3), an explosion-proof diaphragm (6) mounted on a lower surface of the valve body (5), and a valve cover (4) mounted on the upper surface of the valve body (5) ([0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mount an explosion-proof diaphragm on a lower surface of the valve body of Wang, as taught by Liu, in order to reduce the discreteness of an opening pressure of the explosion-proof valve of modified Wang and improve the reliability and safety of the battery of Wang.
Thus, modified Wang discloses:
wherein a cavity is defined by the valve body (3 of Wang), the explosion-proof diaphragm (6 of Liu), and the valve cover (4 of Wang) and is in communication with outside of the battery through the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) (Figs. 3-5 of Wang and Fig. 4 of Liu);
the valve body (3 of Wang) is of an annular structure and comprises an inner ring and an outer ring, the inner ring being in communication with the outer ring through the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) ([0039] and annotated Fig. 4 of Wang provided below); and
the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) has a first ventilation end defined in the inner ring of the valve body (3 of Wang) to be in communication with the cavity ([0039] and annotated Fig. 4 of Wang provided below).
Modified Wang further discloses a valve cover (4 of Wang) mounted on the upper surface of the valve body (3 of Wang) (Fig. 5 and [0039], [0042] of Wang).
Specifically, modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) allows for ventilation of the explosion-proof valve ([0017] of Wang).
However, modified Wang does not disclose wherein the valve cover is configured to partially cover the ventilation groove such that the ventilation groove has a second ventilation end located between a peripheral edge of the valve cover and the outer ring of the valve body, wherein in a direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body, a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover and the outer ring ranges from 0.5 mm to 3.0 mm and further is selected from one of 0.5 mm, 1.0 mm, 1.5 mm, 1.7 mm, 2.2 mm, or 3.0 mm.
Aoyanagi teaches an explosion-proof valve that also functions as a vent ([0009]-[0010]).
Specifically, Aoyanagi teaches in Figs. 4-5 an explosion-proof vent (21) comprising a valve body (22) having a ventilation groove (63) defined on an upper surface thereof, a valve cover (25) mounted on the upper surface of the valve body (22) and configured to partially cover the ventilation groove (63) ([0025], [0034]-[0036], wherein the valve cover 25 has cutouts 61 that correspond to ventilation grooves 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the valve cover of modified Wang to be mounted on the upper surface of the valve body of modified Wang so as to partially cover the ventilation groove of modified Wang, as taught by Aoyanagi, in order to form an explosion-proof valve that also functions as a vent, thereby allowing for ventilation of the explosion-proof valve, as desired by modified Wang.
In light of the above, modified Wang discloses wherein the second ventilation end of the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is located a distance away from a peripheral edge of the valve cover (4 of Wang) (Figs. 4-5, [0034]-[0036] of Aoyanagi).
Modified Wang further discloses wherein a length of the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is in the range of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm ([0045] of Wang, wherein the ventilation groove 31 extends the entirety of the valve body 3).
Thus, modified Wang discloses wherein in a direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body (3 of Wang), a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover (4 of Wang) and the outer ring necessarily and inherently ranges from greater than 0 mm to less than 5.0 mm, which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0.5 mm to 3.0 mm and further encompasses one of 0.5 mm, 1.0 mm, 1.5 mm, 1.7 mm, 2.2 mm, or 3.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the explosion-proof valve modified Wang such that in a direction from the inner ring to the outer ring of the valve body of modified Wang, a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover of modified Wang and the falls within the encompassing values disclosed by modified Wang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the explosion-proof valve desired by modified Wang.
Modified Wang discloses wherein the top cover is for a battery ([0002] of Wang).
However, modified Wang does not disclose an energy storage device comprising a battery, the battery comprising a housing and the top cover for the battery, wherein the top cover for the battery is disposed on the housing.
Huang teaches in Figs. 2-5 an energy storage device (100) comprising a battery (20), the battery comprising a housing (21) and a top cover (23) for the battery (20), wherein the top cover (23) for the battery (20) is disposed on the housing (21) ([0093], [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the top cover for a battery of modified Wang in an energy storage device comprising a battery, the battery comprising a housing, wherein the top cover for the battery is disposed on the housing, as taught by Huang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing the top cover for a battery as intended by modified Wang.
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Wang further discloses wherein a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover (3 of Wang) and the outer ring is in the range of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm ([0045] of Wang), which encompasses the instantly claimed value of 1.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the valve cover of modified Wang such that a distance between a peripheral edge of the valve cover and the outer ring of modified Wang is 1.5 mm, as disclosed by modified Wang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the valve cover desired by modified Wang.
Regarding Claims 12-13 and 20, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Wang further discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is V-shaped and therefore modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) has a first surface and a second surface that are perpendicular to each other, the first surface having a first edge and a second edge that extend in a length direction of the ventilation groove, the second surface having a third edge and a fourth edge that extend in the length direction of the ventilation groove, wherein the first edge is parallel to the third edge, and wherein the second edge abuts with the fourth edge (Fig. 4 and [0039] of Wang).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Wang discloses wherein the valve cover (3 of Wang) has a width of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm and a depth of 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm (Fig. 4 and [0045] of Wang) and therefore modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) necessarily and inherently has a maximum sectional length of greater than 0 mm and less than 5.0 mm in a width direction of the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) and a depth of greater than 0 mm and less than 5.0 mm, which encompasses the instantly claimed ranges of 0.2 mm and 0.1 mm respectively.
Specifically, modified Wang discloses wherein the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) provides the explosion-proof valve with better ventilation effect ([0041] of Wang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the ventilation groove of modified Wang to have a maximum sectional length of 0.2 mm in a width direction of the ventilation groove and a depth of 0.1 mm, as disclosed by modified Wang, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form an explosion-proof valve with better ventilation effect, as desired by modified Wang.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Wang discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Wang further discloses wherein the valve body (3 of Wang) with the ventilation groove (31 of Wang) is of an integrally formed structure (Fig. 4 and [0039], [0042] of Wang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725