DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 03/11/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 12/17/2025. Independent Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are (previously) canceled. Claims 1-3, 7-13 and 17-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent Claims 1 and 11 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Argument: Amended limitation
Regarding the new limitation, Applicant argues (page 14),
In claim 1, the reporting configurations in the measurement configuration are used for UL (e.g., transmitting the at least one measurement result to the network device). In contrast, Tsuboi in [Paras. 0114, 0115] teaches that, in the reporting configurations, some are used for DL and others are used for UL. This case is different from claim 1. Thus, Tsuboi does not teach the feature of claim 1 "the plurality of reporting configurations are for transmitting the at least one measurement result to the network device". [emphasis added above by Applicant in remarks]
Response to Argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding the amended/new limitation, YANG is relied upon to teach transmitting at least one measurement result to the network device at FIG. 2, ¶0100 at 240; ¶0102 which teaches the terminal device may fill the measurement report with the measurement result of the measurement object meeting the reporting condition in the multiple measurement objects each belonging to a measurement object classification and send the measurement report to the network device.
Further, Tsuboi is relied upon and explicitly discloses the plurality of reporting configurations correspond to the measurement object (Tsuboi, ¶0114-0115, a plurality of different report configurations are configured for a single measurement object, and different types of measurement events are configured for the respective report configurations), wherein the plurality of reporting configurations are for transmitting the at least one measurement result to the network device (Tsuboi, Fig. 5; FIG. 6; FIG. 7 at S76; FIG. 9; FIG. 10 at S1005; FIG. 13 at S1305 which illustrates measurement report transmitted to the base station apparatus/ “network device”; see also ¶0054, it may be configured such that a plurality of report configuration IDs are linked to one measurement object ID (“a measurement result”) . . [s]similarly, it may be configured such that one report configuration ID is linked to a plurality of measurement object IDs).
Hence, together these references disclose the amended limitations in Claims 1 and 11.
Therefore, examiner maintains the rejection of the claimed features as applied to Claims 1 and 11 and their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG (US 20190364451 A1), hereinafter YANG, in view of Tsuboi (US 20150139005 A1), hereinafter Tsuboi and further in view of VAN DER VELDE et al. (US 20100197300 A1), hereinafter VAN DER VELDE.
Regarding Claim 1,
YANG teaches a method for handling a measurement configuration, comprising (Abstract; FIG. 2, ¶0078-¶0080, measurement method for handling a measurement configuration):
determining a measurement configuration (YANG, FIG.2; ¶0079-¶0084, at ¶0083, network device determines a measurement configuration information), wherein the measurement configuration comprises a measurement object and a plurality of reporting configurations (YANG, FIG. 2; ¶0082-¶0084; ¶0086-¶0087, measurement configuration information may include, a measurement object/measurement object classification and plurality of configurations/measurement object classifications and respective reporting configurations/reporting conditions);
performing at least one measurement for the measurement object, to generate at least one measurement result (YANG, FIG.2 at 220, ¶0077; ¶0090-¶0092, terminal device performs at least one measurement and report at least one measurement result/measurement object classification); and
transmitting the at least one measurement result to a network device according to a reporting configuration of the plurality of reporting configurations in response to the reporting configuration being satisfied; (YANG, FIG.2, at 230/240; ¶0039; ¶0100, at 240, terminal device transmits at least one measurement result/measurement report according to a measurement configuration being satisfied/satisfies a reporting condition to the network device); wherein the plurality of reporting configurations correspond to the measurement object (YANG, FIG.2; ¶0082-¶0084;¶0086-¶0087, the plurality of reporting configurations/reporting conditions correspond to the measurement object/measurement object classification), wherein the plurality of reporting configurations comprise a plurality of time durations and a plurality of measurement thresholds, respectively (YANG, ¶0086; ¶0094-0095, the plurality of/at least one of reporting configurations comprise a plurality/at least one of time durations and a plurality/at least one of measurement thresholds);
wherein one of the plurality of reporting configurations comprises:
a time duration with the greatest value among the plurality of time durations (YANG, ¶0097; ¶0107-¶0109; ¶0111-0112 at least one of the reporting configurations/reporting conditions comprises a time duration/preset duration with the greatest value/”highest measurement results” among plurality of time durations/preset durations) and a measurement threshold with the smallest value among the plurality of measurement thresholds (YANG, ¶0097; the measurement threshold with the lowest value among the plurality of measurement thresholds (lowest value among cells 1, 2, 3/plurality of measurement thresholds; see also ¶0109; ¶0111-0112); or
a time duration with the smallest value among the plurality of time durations (YANG, ¶0107-¶0109; ¶0111-0112 at least one of the reporting configurations/reporting conditions comprises a time duration/preset duration with the smallest value/”lowest measurement results” among plurality of time durations/preset durations), and a measurement threshold with the greatest value among the plurality of measurement thresholds (YANG, ¶0097; ¶0109; ¶0111-0112, the measurement threshold with the greatest value (here, measurement result at cell 3) among the plurality of measurement thresholds (of cells 1, 2, 3/plurality of measurement thresholds); [and]
transmitting at least one measurement result to the network device (YANG FIG. 2, ¶0100 at 240; ¶0102, the terminal device may fill the measurement report with the measurement result of the measurement object meeting the reporting condition in the multiple measurement objects each belonging to a measurement object classification and send the measurement report to the network device.).
Although implied, YANG does not explicitly teach the plurality of reporting configurations correspond to the measurement object . . . wherein the plurality of reporting configurations are for transmitting the at least one measurement result to the network device.
However, in the analogous art, Tsuboi explicitly discloses the plurality of reporting configurations correspond to the measurement object (Tsuboi, ¶0114-0115, a plurality of different report configurations are configured for a single measurement object, and different types of measurement events are configured for the respective report configurations), wherein the plurality of reporting configurations are for transmitting the at least one measurement result to the network device (Tsuboi, Fig. 5; FIG. 6; FIG. 7 at S76; FIG. 9; FIG. 10 at S1005; FIG. 13 at S1305 which illustrates measurement report transmitted to the base station apparatus/ “network device”; see also ¶0054, it may be configured such that a plurality of report configuration IDs are linked to one measurement object ID (“a measurement result”) . . [s]similarly, it may be configured such that one report configuration ID is linked to a plurality of measurement object IDs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YANG’s measurement method, terminal device and network device with Tsuboi’s mobile station apparatus and measurement method. The motivation would be to carry out channel state information reference signal management and measurement which serves a plurality of different purpose [Tsuboi, ¶0131].
YANG and Tsuboi do not explicitly teach the reporting configuration being satisfied is determined according to an entering condition and a leaving condition for a measurement event.
However, in the analogous art, VANDERVELDE explicitly discloses the reporting configuration being satisfied is determined according to an entering condition and a leaving condition for a measurement event (VANDERVELDE, ¶0009, the UE is triggered to send a measurement report when there is a change from the conditions specified in the "entering condition" column not being met to being met; ¶0010, [t]he "leaving conditions" specify the conditions under which each event is considered to be no longer occurring. Thus, the UE is triggered to send a measurement report when, after entering an event, the circumstances change and the relevant leaving condition is met. see also ¶0011 the entering conditions and leaving conditions associated with the various events, which can be regarded as defining the measurement report triggering conditions, are defined using a plurality of parameters or variables including Ms, Mn, Ofn, Ocn, Ofs, Ocs, Hys, Off, Thresh, Thresh1, and Thresh2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YANG’s measurement method, terminal device and network device and Tsuboi’s mobile station apparatus and measurement method with VANDERVELDE’s apparatus and method for signal measurements in a wireless system. The motivation would be to provide trigger measurement reporting using different criteria or conditions [VANDERVELDE, ¶0025].
Regarding Claim 2, YANG, Tsuboi, and VANDERVELDE teach Claim 1.
YANG further teaches receiving the measurement configuration from the network device (YANG, FIG. 2, ¶0079-0080; ¶0082, terminal device receives measurement configuration sent by the network device).
Regarding Claim 3, YANG, Tsuboi, and VANDERVELDE teach Claim 1.
YANG further teaches setting the measurement configuration according to a design algorithm (YANG, ¶0038; ¶0061, terminal device/network device setting the measurement configuration information according to a design algorithm/a program, stored in a computer-readable storage medium).
Regarding Claim 7, YANG, Tsuboi, VANDERVELDE and REF 4 teach Claim 1.
YANG further teaches the plurality of reporting configurations comprise a plurality of measurement hystereses, respectively (YANG, FIG. 2, ¶0080, a plurality of measurement hysteresis/ plurality of “multiple measurement object classifications”).
Regarding Claim 8, YANG, Tsuboi, and VANDERVELDE teach Claim 1.
YANG does not explicitly teach the reporting configuration is satisfied means that a entering condition for a measurement event applied according to a hysteresis and a measurement threshold in the reporting configuration is satisfied and that the leaving condition for the measurement event applied according to the hysteresis and the measurement threshold in the reporting configuration is not satisfied.
However, in the analogous art, VANDERVELDE explicitly discloses the reporting configuration is satisfied means that a entering condition for a measurement event applied according to a hysteresis and a measurement threshold in the reporting configuration is satisfied (¶0011; FIG.2, at 204, 206 and 208 ¶0081; ¶0094; ¶0096-¶0097; reporting configuration/CellsTriggeredList management based on entering conditions being satisfied/sufficient i.e., entering condition and measurement threshold are satisfied) and that the leaving condition for the measurement event applied according to the hysteresis and the measurement threshold in the reporting configuration is not satisfied (¶0011; FIG. 2 at 210, 212,¶0081; ¶0094;¶0096-¶0097; reporting configuration/CellsTriggeredList management based on leaving conditions (Ms+Hys<Thresh) not being satisfied/sufficient; see also ¶0116, Table 2 entering/leaving conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine YANG’s measurement method, terminal device and network device with VANDERVELDE’s apparatus and method for signal measurements in a wireless system. The motivation would be to provide trigger measurement reporting using different criteria or conditions [VANDERVELDE, ¶0025].
Regarding Claim 9, YANG, Tsuboi, and VANDERVELDE teach Claim 1.
YANG further teaches the measurement configuration comprises a plurality of measurement identities (YANG, ¶0006; ¶0086, the measurement configuration information may include a plurality of measurement identities/at least one of a measurement ID).
Regarding Claim 10, YANG, Tsuboi, and VANDERVELDE teach Claim 1.
YANG further teaches the plurality of measurement identities indicate that the plurality of reporting configurations correspond to the measurement object, respectively (YANG, ¶0006; ¶0086, the plurality of measurement identities/at least one of a measurement ID indicate the plurality of reporting configurations/reporting conditions correspond to the respective measurement object/measurement object classification).
Regarding Claims 11-13 and 17-20, the claims disclose similar features of Claims 1-3 and 7-10 and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 1-3 and 7-10, in apparatus form (YANG, FIG. 1; FIG.3; FIG: 6, UE/terminal device, 20/300 and network device 10/600, disclosed throughout).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465