DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 03/13/2026.
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Fong teaches:
A method comprising: receiving, at a cluster management service, a request from a client to create a cluster in which a workload is to be deployed; “In this example, operating 502 the hybrid application may include receiving or identifying a quantum bundle (workload) at a hybrid or other system. The quantum bundle may include a quantum circuit” [Fong ¶ 50]. “The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
decomposing the request to determine a set of workload parameters of the workload, “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein (workload parameters). Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34].
wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload; “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein. Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34]. “Once prepared, the circuit 100 can be operated or executed. Operating the circuit 100 a single time is referred to herein as a shot. In this execution, the qubits may be entangled (quantum phenomena) 104 (e.g., using quantum gates or the like).” [Fong ¶ 20].
comparing, by a processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines to determine whether the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines; “For example, the service level agreement may indicate that there is sufficient budget but not enough time (performance) to execute the quantum circuit. In this instance, multiple quantum processing units may be selected such that the quantum circuit can be executed in parallel. This allows the time requirement to be satisfied” [Fong ¶ 32]. “Machine learning models may be able to predict the runtime characteristics of various quantum processing units. This information may aid in determining how the shots can be distributed. For example, variations in predicted runtime characteristics may lead to distributing the shot in an uneven manner. Further, the number of quantum processing units selected for execution may vary as well or may depend on the predicted runtime characteristics” [Fong ¶ 33].
wherein the one or more of the set of quantum machines is based on the comparing; “This illustrates that the execution of this iteration, which includes 1024 shots (workload), is distributed to multiple quantum processing units. The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
and deploying, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. “This illustrates that the execution of this iteration, which includes 1024 shots (workload), is distributed to multiple quantum processing units. The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
Fong fails to explicitly teach wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload; determining resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs), each of the set of qCMSs executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; comparing, by a processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines.
However, Griffin teaches:
wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload “Examples of the execution environment requirement(s) may include, but are not limited to, an error rate threshold (e.g., the maximum error rate allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for the quantum computer system, a channel load rate threshold for a quantum communication channel within the quantum computer system (e.g., the maximum load rate of a quantum channel that is allowed to implement the algorithm(s)), a coherence time threshold (e.g., the longest coherence time that is allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for the quantum computer system and/or for each qubit provided by the quantum computer system, and a temperature threshold (e.g., the minimum temperature allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for a temperature of the quantum computer system, among other things” [Griffin ¶ 25].
determining resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines “The hardware profiling server 130 may monitor hardware information of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N” [Griffin ¶ 22]. “The hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A-110N may include, but is not limited to, an error rate of the quantum computer system (e.g., a gate error rate, a readout error, a multi-qubit gate error, etc.), coherence time of the quantum computer system and/or qubit or the quantum computer system (e.g., a first coherent time indicative of an amount of time required for a quantum computation, a second coherent time indicative of an amount of time available to perform the quantum computation by the quantum computer system and/or on a qubit provided by the quantum computer system, etc.-coherence time in general means how long a quantum state can be held), load information of the quantum computer system (e.g., a channel load rate indicating how loaded or busy a quantum communication channel within the quantum computer system is), temperature information of the quantum computer system, an activation frequency representative of how frequently the qubits are activated, a qubit capacity of the quantum computer system ( e.g., the number of qubits available in the respective quantum computer system), a calibration time indicative the last time when the quantum computer system was calibrated, etc” [Griffin ¶ 23].
using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs), each of the set of qCMSs executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; “The hardware profiling server 130 may monitor hardware information of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N. For example, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with an agent service (e.g., agent services 111A-111N) (quantum cluster management services) deployed on a respective quantum computer system 110A-110N to acquire hardware information (resource availability) of the respective quantum computer system. In some implementations, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with the agent service 111A deployed on the quantum computer system 110A to acquire hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A” [Griffin ¶ 22].
comparing, by a processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines “Once the statement is identified, the processing device may determine an execution environment requirement from the statement. Then, the processing device may compare the execution environment requirement against the current state of the quantum computer system including at least one of an error rate or a coherence time of the quantum computer system” [Griffin ¶ 45].
Griffin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of quantum workload scheduling. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Griffin and include wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload; determining resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs), each of the set of qCMSs executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; comparing, by a processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines. Doing so would allow for optimized scheduling taking into account execution environment requirements. “Conventional solutions for quantum computing fail to provide mechanisms for scheduling executions for the quantum computer system in accordance with execution environment requirements, resulting in time-consuming and costly overhead executions of quantum algorithms using quantum computer systems. Aspects of the disclosure address the above deficiencies and other deficiencies of conventional quantum computing mechanisms by providing an approach systems, methods, computer-readable medium, etc.) that can schedule executions of quantum algorithms responsive to execution environment requirements for implementing the quantum algorithms in quantum computer systems being satisfied” [Griffin ¶ 13-14].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, and deploying, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines.
However, ON teaches:
generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE]. “The application qubit layer (QVE controller) 114 may receive the first request RQ1 from the first quantum application program 101a. The first request RQ1 may be a request for four qubits. In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77].
and deploying, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. “In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 (workload) a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77]. “The quantum application program 101 may be program codes or software, which is driven or executed by the plurality of quantum chips QC11 to QCm1” [ON ¶ 42].
ON is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of quantum machine virtualization. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin to incorporate the teachings of ON and include generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, and deploying, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. Doing so would allow for improved quantum resource utilization. “As described above, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the management device 110 may perform a conversion operation through various layers such that the quantum application program recognizes or identifies that quantum chips implemented in different types have the same type. Accordingly, resource utilization of physical qubits may be improved” [ON ¶ 93].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON fails to teach and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine.
However, Juang teaches and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; “The introspection engine 610 performs inspection of the target server 132 through an inband agent, an IPMitool, and through a Redfish API to obtain hardware information from the hardware on the server 132. The introspection engine 610 accesses a database 614 that contains tables that include a table of the hardware status of all the components on the target server 132, a table of firmware updates, and a table of log status” [Juang ¶ 48].
Juang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of arrangements for hardware management. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON to incorporate the teachings of Juang and include and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine. Doing so would allow for the quantum cluster management services to communicate with their respective quantum machines in order to identify the hardware information. “In the hardware component identification process, the introspection engine 610 runs an automated process to scan each of the hardware components in the target server 132, and uses corresponding tools to identify its detailed specification and information. Examples of tools may include an inband agent, an open source tool such as an IPMI tool, and a Redfish API to obtain hardware information” [Juang ¶ 54].
With regard to claim 2, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the method of claim 1, as referenced above. Fong fails to teach wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, a request is sent to a QVE controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters.
However, Griffin teaches wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, a request is sent to a QVE controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters. “At block 360, responsive to determining that the one or more execution environment requirements are satisfied in view of the state of the quantum computer system, forwarding the request to execute the quantum algorithm to the quantum computer system to cause the execution of the quantum algorithm” [Griffin ¶ 54].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, a request is sent to a QVE controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters.
However, ON teaches:
wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, “…an application qubit layer configured to allocate at least one logical qubit corresponding to a qubit request (workload) received from a quantum application program based on the logical qubit mapping” [On Claim 1 Examiner notes that the allocation of one logical qubit including abstraction qubits of a single quantum chip (in this case the logical qubit LQ02 associated with quantum chip QC11) is considered a determination that the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine]. “For example, as shown in FIG. 6, one logical qubit may include 4 abstraction qubits. In more detail, the second logical qubit LQ02 may include four abstraction qubits AQ1c, AQ1d, AQ1h, and AQ1i” [ON ¶ 73]. “Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the quantum chip QC11 may include a plurality of physical qubits PQ1a to PQ1t” [ON ¶ 55]. “The plurality of abstraction qubits AQ1a to AQ1t and AQ2a to AQ2t may correspond to the plurality of physical qubits PQ1a to PQ1t and PQ2a to PQ2t of the physical qubit mapping one-to-one” [ON ¶ 64]. “The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 52].
a request is sent to a QVE controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters. “The application qubit layer (QVE controller) 114 may receive the logical qubit mapping from the logical qubit layer 113. The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 52]. “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE].
With regard to claim 6, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the method of claim 1, as referenced above. Fong further teaches:
wherein the workload parameters comprise: a number of qubits required for the workload “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein. Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34].
Fong fails to teach and a temperature restriction of the workload.
However, Griffin teaches:
and a temperature restriction of the workload. “Examples of the execution environment requirement(s) may include, but are not limited to, … and a temperature threshold (e.g., the minimum temperature allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for a temperature of the quantum computer system, among other things” [Griffin ¶ 25].
With regard to claim 15, Fong teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to: “A non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising:” [Fong Claim 14].
receive, at a cluster management service, a request from a client to create a cluster in which a workload is to be deployed; “In this example, operating 502 the hybrid application may include receiving or identifying a quantum bundle (workload) at a hybrid or other system. The quantum bundle may include a quantum circuit” [Fong ¶ 50]. “The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
decompose the request to determine a set of workload parameters of the workload, “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein (workload parameters). Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34].
wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload; “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein. Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34]. “Once prepared, the circuit 100 can be operated or executed. Operating the circuit 100 a single time is referred to herein as a shot. In this execution, the qubits may be entangled (quantum phenomena) 104 (e.g., using quantum gates or the like).” [Fong ¶ 20].
Compare, by the processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines to determine whether the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines; “For example, the service level agreement may indicate that there is sufficient budget but not enough time (performance) to execute the quantum circuit. In this instance, multiple quantum processing units may be selected such that the quantum circuit can be executed in parallel. This allows the time requirement to be satisfied” [Fong ¶ 32]. “Machine learning models may be able to predict the runtime characteristics of various quantum processing units. This information may aid in determining how the shots can be distributed. For example, variations in predicted runtime characteristics may lead to distributing the shot in an uneven manner. Further, the number of quantum processing units selected for execution may vary as well or may depend on the predicted runtime characteristics” [Fong ¶ 33].
wherein the one or more of the set of quantum machines is based on the comparing; “This illustrates that the execution of this iteration, which includes 1024 shots (workload), is distributed to multiple quantum processing units. The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. “This illustrates that the execution of this iteration, which includes 1024 shots (workload), is distributed to multiple quantum processing units. The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
Fong fails to explicitly teach wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload; determine resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs), each of the set of qCMS executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; compare, by the processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines.
However, Griffin teaches:
wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload “Examples of the execution environment requirement(s) may include, but are not limited to, an error rate threshold (e.g., the maximum error rate allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for the quantum computer system, a channel load rate threshold for a quantum communication channel within the quantum computer system (e.g., the maximum load rate of a quantum channel that is allowed to implement the algorithm(s)), a coherence time threshold (e.g., the longest coherence time that is allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for the quantum computer system and/or for each qubit provided by the quantum computer system, and a temperature threshold (e.g., the minimum temperature allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for a temperature of the quantum computer system, among other things” [Griffin ¶ 25].
determine resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines “The hardware profiling server 130 may monitor hardware information of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N” [Griffin ¶ 22]. “The hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A-110N may include, but is not limited to, an error rate of the quantum computer system (e.g., a gate error rate, a readout error, a multi-qubit gate error, etc.), coherence time of the quantum computer system and/or qubit or the quantum computer system (e.g., a first coherent time indicative of an amount of time required for a quantum computation, a second coherent time indicative of an amount of time available to perform the quantum computation by the quantum computer system and/or on a qubit provided by the quantum computer system, etc.-coherence time in general means how long a quantum state can be held), load information of the quantum computer system (e.g., a channel load rate indicating how loaded or busy a quantum communication channel within the quantum computer system is), temperature information of the quantum computer system, an activation frequency representative of how frequently the qubits are activated, a qubit capacity of the quantum computer system ( e.g., the number of qubits available in the respective quantum computer system), a calibration time indicative the last time when the quantum computer system was calibrated, etc” [Griffin ¶ 23].
using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs), each of the set of qCMS executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; “The hardware profiling server 130 may monitor hardware information of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N. For example, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with an agent service (e.g., agent services 111A-111N) (quantum cluster management services) deployed on a respective quantum computer system 110A-110N to acquire hardware information (resource availability) of the respective quantum computer system. In some implementations, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with the agent service 111A deployed on the quantum computer system 110A to acquire hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A” [Griffin ¶ 22].
compare, by the processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines “Once the statement is identified, the processing device may determine an execution environment requirement from the statement. Then, the processing device may compare the execution environment requirement against the current state of the quantum computer system including at least one of an error rate or a coherence time of the quantum computer system” [Griffin ¶ 45].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Griffin and include wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload; determine resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs), each of the set of qCMS executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; compare, by the processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines. Doing so would allow for optimized scheduling taking into account execution environment requirements. “Conventional solutions for quantum computing fail to provide mechanisms for scheduling executions for the quantum computer system in accordance with execution environment requirements, resulting in time-consuming and costly overhead executions of quantum algorithms using quantum computer systems. Aspects of the disclosure address the above deficiencies and other deficiencies of conventional quantum computing mechanisms by providing an approach systems, methods, computer-readable medium, etc.) that can schedule executions of quantum algorithms responsive to execution environment requirements for implementing the quantum algorithms in quantum computer systems being satisfied” [Griffin ¶ 13-14].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines.
However, ON teaches:
generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE]. “The application qubit layer (QVE controller) 114 may receive the first request RQ1 from the first quantum application program 101a. The first request RQ1 may be a request for four qubits. In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77].
and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. “In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 (workload) a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77]. “The quantum application program 101 may be program codes or software, which is driven or executed by the plurality of quantum chips QC11 to QCm1” [ON ¶ 42].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin to incorporate the teachings of ON and include generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. Doing so would allow for improved quantum resource utilization. “As described above, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the management device 110 may perform a conversion operation through various layers such that the quantum application program recognizes or identifies that quantum chips implemented in different types have the same type. Accordingly, resource utilization of physical qubits may be improved” [ON ¶ 93].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON fails to teach and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine.
However, Juang teaches and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; “The introspection engine 610 performs inspection of the target server 132 through an inband agent, an IPMitool, and through a Redfish API to obtain hardware information from the hardware on the server 132. The introspection engine 610 accesses a database 614 that contains tables that include a table of the hardware status of all the components on the target server 132, a table of firmware updates, and a table of log status” [Juang ¶ 48].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON to incorporate the teachings of Juang and include and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine. Doing so would allow for the quantum cluster management services to communicate with their respective quantum machines in order to identify the hardware information. “In the hardware component identification process, the introspection engine 610 runs an automated process to scan each of the hardware components in the target server 132, and uses corresponding tools to identify its detailed specification and information. Examples of tools may include an inband agent, an open source tool such as an IPMI tool, and a Redfish API to obtain hardware information” [Juang ¶ 54].
With regard to claim 16, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, as referenced above. Fong fails to teach wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, the processing device sends a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters.
However, Griffin teaches wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, the processing device sends a request a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters. “At block 360, responsive to determining that the one or more execution environment requirements are satisfied in view of the state of the quantum computer system, forwarding the request to execute the quantum algorithm to the quantum computer system to cause the execution of the quantum algorithm” [Griffin ¶ 54].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, the processing device sends a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters.
However, ON teaches:
wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, “…an application qubit layer configured to allocate at least one logical qubit corresponding to a qubit request (workload) received from a quantum application program based on the logical qubit mapping” [On Claim 1 Examiner notes that the allocation of one logical qubit including abstraction qubits of a single quantum chip (in this case the logical qubit LQ02 associated with quantum chip QC11) is considered a determination that the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine]. “For example, as shown in FIG. 6, one logical qubit may include 4 abstraction qubits. In more detail, the second logical qubit LQ02 may include four abstraction qubits AQ1c, AQ1d, AQ1h, and AQ1i” [ON ¶ 73]. “Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the quantum chip QC11 may include a plurality of physical qubits PQ1a to PQ1t” [ON ¶ 55]. “The plurality of abstraction qubits AQ1a to AQ1t and AQ2a to AQ2t may correspond to the plurality of physical qubits PQ1a to PQ1t and PQ2a to PQ2t of the physical qubit mapping one-to-one” [ON ¶ 64]. “The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 52].
the processing device sends a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters. “The application qubit layer (QVE controller) 114 may receive the logical qubit mapping from the logical qubit layer 113. The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 52]. “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE].
With regard to claim 20, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, as referenced above. Fong further teaches:
wherein the workload parameters comprise: a number of qubits required for the workload “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein. Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34].
Fong fails to teach and a temperature restriction of the workload.
However, Griffin teaches:
and a temperature restriction of the workload. “Examples of the execution environment requirement(s) may include, but are not limited to, … and a temperature threshold (e.g., the minimum temperature allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for a temperature of the quantum computer system, among other things” [Griffin ¶ 25].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Griffin and include and a temperature restriction of the workload. Doing so would allow for optimized scheduling taking into account execution environment requirements. “Conventional solutions for quantum computing fail to provide mechanisms for scheduling executions for the quantum computer system in accordance with execution environment requirements, resulting in time-consuming and costly overhead executions of quantum algorithms using quantum computer systems. Aspects of the disclosure address the above deficiencies and other deficiencies of conventional quantum computing mechanisms by providing an approach systems, methods, computer-readable medium, etc.) that can schedule executions of quantum algorithms responsive to execution environment requirements for implementing the quantum algorithms in quantum computer systems being satisfied” [Griffin ¶ 13-14].
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Chiani (US 2022/0374760 A1).
With regard to claim 3, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the method of claim 2, as referenced above. Fong fails to teach wherein deploying the workload using the QVE comprises: transmitting a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request and using the QASM file corresponding to the request.
However, Griffin further teaches:
wherein deploying the workload using the QVE comprises: transmitting a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request “For example, a scheduling component 165 can receive a request to execute a quantum algorithm in a form of a file that includes instructions for implementing the quantum algorithm in the quantum computer systems. The file may be, for example, a quantum assembly file, such as a Quantum Assembly Language (QASM) file” [Griffin ¶ 24]. “The processing device may then forward the modified QASM file for an execution of the instructions related to the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied to the quantum computer system” [Griffin ¶ 57].
using the QASM file corresponding to the request. “The scheduling server 160 may schedule executions of quantum algorithms in accordance with execution environment requirements in view of a current state of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N. For example, a scheduling component 165 can receive a request to execute a quantum algorithm in a form of a file that includes instructions for implementing the quantum algorithm in the quantum computer systems. The file may be, for example, a quantum assembly file, such as a Quantum Assembly Language (QASM) file” [Griffin ¶ 24].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach and executing, by the QVE controller, the workload on the QVE.
However, ON further teaches and executing, by the QVE controller, the workload on the QVE “In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [On ¶ 77].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to explicitly teach across a quantum channel to the QVE controller.
However, Chiani teaches across a quantum channel to the QVE controller; “The present description relates to techniques for sending first data as quantum information in qubits and second classical data in quantum information processing systems over a quantum channel, which includes applying QECC encoding to said qubits obtaining quantum information codewords” [Chiani ¶ 1].
Chiani is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of quantum machine virtualization. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Chiani and include transmitting a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request across a quantum channel to the QVE controller. Doing so would allow for the exchange of both classical and quantum information over the same channel. “One aspect is that the management of such a network will require to exchange control data in addition to the user data. Nodes should be able to identify each packet within a stream of qubits (synchronization), and also to write and read management and control information attached to the qubit stream” [Chiani ¶ 4].
With regard to claim 17, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as referenced above. Fong fails to teach wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request and using the QASM file corresponding to the request.
However, Griffin further teaches:
wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request “For example, a scheduling component 165 can receive a request to execute a quantum algorithm in a form of a file that includes instructions for implementing the quantum algorithm in the quantum computer systems. The file may be, for example, a quantum assembly file, such as a Quantum Assembly Language (QASM) file” [Griffin ¶ 24]. “The processing device may then forward the modified QASM file for an execution of the instructions related to the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied to the quantum computer system” [Griffin ¶ 57].
using the QASM file corresponding to the request. “The scheduling server 160 may schedule executions of quantum algorithms in accordance with execution environment requirements in view of a current state of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N. For example, a scheduling component 165 can receive a request to execute a quantum algorithm in a form of a file that includes instructions for implementing the quantum algorithm in the quantum computer systems. The file may be, for example, a quantum
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach and execute, by the QVE controller, the workload on the QVE.
However, ON further teaches and execute, by the QVE controller, the workload on the QVE “In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [On ¶ 77].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to explicitly teach across a quantum channel to the QVE controller.
However, Chiani teaches across a quantum channel to the QVE controller; “The present description relates to techniques for sending first data as quantum information in qubits and second classical data in quantum information processing systems over a quantum channel, which includes applying QECC encoding to said qubits obtaining quantum information codewords” [Chiani ¶ 1].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Chiani and include transmitting a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request across a quantum channel to the QVE controller. Doing so would allow for the exchange of both classical and quantum information over the same channel. “One aspect is that the management of such a network will require to exchange control data in addition to the user data. Nodes should be able to identify each packet within a stream of qubits (synchronization), and also to write and read management and control information attached to the qubit stream” [Chiani ¶ 4].
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Araujo (US 9,223,596 B1).
With regard to claim 4, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the method of claim 2, as referenced above. Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to explicitly teach wherein deploying the workload using the QVE comprises: transmitting the QVE as a reference to the client
However, Araujo teaches wherein deploying the workload using the QVE comprises: transmitting the QVE as a reference to the client. “Once client 212 requests access to virtual machine 206, virtual machine host 204 may determine whether virtual machine 206 is ready for use, and notify client 212 once virtual machine 206 is ready for use. The notification may include information such as virtual machine's 206 interne protocol (IP) address, status 60 information, configuration information, or other information that may be needed to access virtual machine 206” [Araujo Col. 4 Lines 54-61].
Araujo is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of virtual environment management. Araujo transmits a virtual environment as a refence to the client. In combination, the quantum virtual environment of ON can be transmitted as a reference. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Araujo and include that deploying the workload using the QVE comprises: transmitting the QVE as a reference to the client. Doing so would allow for notification of the client at the onset of processing. “The virtual machine is resumed on the virtual machine host in response to the request from the client. A notification is sent to a client, wherein the notification specifies that the virtual machine is ready for use” [Araujo Col. 1 Lines 33-36].
With regard to claim 18, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as referenced above. Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to explicitly teach wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit the QVE as a reference to the client.
However, Araujo teaches wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit the QVE as a reference to the client. “Once client 212 requests access to virtual machine 206, virtual machine host 204 may determine whether virtual machine 206 is ready for use, and notify client 212 once virtual machine 206 is ready for use. The notification may include information such as virtual machine's 206 interne protocol (IP) address, status 60 information, configuration information, or other information that may be needed to access virtual machine 206” [Araujo Col. 4 Lines 54-61].
Araujo transmits a virtual environment as a refence to the client. In combination, the quantum virtual environment of ON can be transmitted as a reference. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Araujo and include that to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit the QVE as a reference to the client. Doing so would allow for notification of the client at the onset of processing. “The virtual machine is resumed on the virtual machine host in response to the request from the client. A notification is sent to a client, wherein the notification specifies that the virtual machine is ready for use” [Araujo Col. 1 Lines 33-36].
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Scheps (US 2023/0315539 A1).
With regard to claim 5, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the method of claim 1, as referenced above. Fong further teaches wherein if the workload must be executed on two or more quantum machines of the set of quantum machines, “For example, the service level agreement may indicate that there is sufficient budget but not enough time (performance) to execute the quantum circuit. In this instance, multiple quantum processing units may be selected such that the quantum circuit can be executed in parallel. This allows the time requirement to be satisfied” [Fong ¶ 32].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to teach one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines are entangled to generate a QVE.
However, Scheps teaches:
one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines are entangled to generate a QVE. “In this way, if the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm require a greater number of qubits than may be provided by one of the one or more QPUs 102 alone, the distributed quantum computing system 100 may leverage the global qubits of multiple QPUs 102 to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm. In some embodiments, the global qubits 206 may be entangled” [Scheps ¶ 37]. “In some embodiments, the global qubits 206 of each of the one or more QPUs 102 may be configured to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm in conjunction with other global qubits of other QPUs 102. For example, a global qubit associated with a first QPU 102-1 may be configured to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm in conjunction with a global qubit associated with a second QPU 102-2” [Scheps ¶ 37 Examiner notes entangled qubits from separate processing units working in conjunction to process a workload are considered a QVE].
Scheps is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of quantum workload scheduling. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Scheps and include one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines are entangled to generate a QVE. Doing so would allow for improved quantum resource utilization. “By each QPU of the distributed quantum computing system continuously performing the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm until the one or more operations performed by each QPU are in sync, the distributed quantum computing embodiments disclosed herein provides improved quantum resource utilization” [Scheps ¶ 31].
With regard to claim 19, Fong in view of Griffin teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, as referenced above. Fong further teaches wherein if the workload must be executed on two or more quantum machines of the set of quantum machines, “For example, the service level agreement may indicate that there is sufficient budget but not enough time (performance) to execute the quantum circuit. In this instance, multiple quantum processing units may be selected such that the quantum circuit can be executed in parallel. This allows the time requirement to be satisfied” [Fong ¶ 32].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to teach the processing device entangles one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines to generate the QVE.
However, Scheps teaches:
the processing device entangles one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines to generate the QVE. “In this way, if the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm require a greater number of qubits than may be provided by one of the one or more QPUs 102 alone, the distributed quantum computing system 100 may leverage the global qubits of multiple QPUs 102 to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm. In some embodiments, the global qubits 206 may be entangled” [Scheps ¶ 37]. “In some embodiments, the global qubits 206 of each of the one or more QPUs 102 may be configured to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm in conjunction with other global qubits of other QPUs 102. For example, a global qubit associated with a first QPU 102-1 may be configured to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm in conjunction with a global qubit associated with a second QPU 102-2” [Scheps ¶ 37 Examiner notes entangled qubits from separate processors working in conjunction to process a workload are considered a QVE].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Scheps and include the processing device entangles one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines to generate the QVE. Doing so would allow for improved quantum resource utilization. “By each QPU of the distributed quantum computing system continuously performing the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm until the one or more operations performed by each QPU are in sync, the distributed quantum computing embodiments disclosed herein provides improved quantum resource utilization” [Scheps ¶ 31].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Kommera (US 10,394,696 B1).
With regard to claim 7, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang teaches the method of claim 2, as referenced above. Fong further teaches further comprising: determining that execution of the workload has completed; “Quantum circuit execution results can be returned intermittently, at completion, or in another manner” [Fong ¶ 49].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach the QVE.
However, ON teaches the QVE. “The application qubit layer 114 may receive the first request RQ1 from the first quantum application program 101a. The first request RQ1 may be a request for four qubits. In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77]. “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to teach and removing the QVE.
However, Kommera teaches and removing the QVE. “…cause the application to be executed with the one or more source virtual machines and the one or more other virtual machines, based on the file; and cause the one or more source virtual machines, and the one or more other virtual machines, to be removed from the cloud computing environment after execution of the application” [Kommera Claim 8].
Kommera is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of virtual environment management. Kommera removes a virtual environment. In combination, the quantum virtual environment of ON can be removed. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Kommera and include removing the QVE. Doing so would allow for computing cost benefits. “In some implementations, if the results of executing the application are valid, the testing platform may perform actions, such as…causing the source infrastructure and other infrastructure to be removed from the cloud computing environment (e.g., to save costs), and/or the like” [Kommera Col. 6-7 Lines 66-67, 1, 7-9].
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Bohacek (US 2014/0278807 A1).
With regard to claim 8, Fong teaches:
A system comprising: a memory; and a processing device operatively coupled to the memory, the processing device to: “In the example of FIG. 6, the physical computing device 600 includes a memory 602 which may include one, some, or all, of random access memory (RAM), non-volatile memory (NVM) 604 such as NVRAM for example, read-only memory (ROM), and persistent memory, one or more hardware processors 606, non-transitory storage media 608, UI device 610, and data storage 612” [Fong ¶ 89].
receive, at a cluster management service, a request from a client to create a cluster in which a workload is to be deployed; “In this example, operating 502 the hybrid application may include receiving or identifying a quantum bundle (workload) at a hybrid or other system. The quantum bundle may include a quantum circuit” [Fong ¶ 50]. “The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
decompose the request to determine a set of workload parameters of the workload, “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein (workload parameters). Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34].
wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload; “Processing the bundle 310 may include determining a number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum circuits or gates therein. Using this information, the runtime prediction engine 308 may generate runtime predictions for each of multiple quantum processing units. The predictions may include time required, memory, or the like” [Fong ¶ 34]. “Once prepared, the circuit 100 can be operated or executed. Operating the circuit 100 a single time is referred to herein as a shot. In this execution, the qubits may be entangled (quantum phenomena) 104 (e.g., using quantum gates or the like).” [Fong ¶ 20].
Compare the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines to determine whether the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines; “For example, the service level agreement may indicate that there is sufficient budget but not enough time (performance) to execute the quantum circuit. In this instance, multiple quantum processing units may be selected such that the quantum circuit can be executed in parallel. This allows the time requirement to be satisfied” [Fong ¶ 32]. “Machine learning models may be able to predict the runtime characteristics of various quantum processing units. This information may aid in determining how the shots can be distributed. For example, variations in predicted runtime characteristics may lead to distributing the shot in an uneven manner. Further, the number of quantum processing units selected for execution may vary as well or may depend on the predicted runtime characteristics” [Fong ¶ 33].
wherein the one or more of the set of quantum machines is based on the comparing; “This illustrates that the execution of this iteration, which includes 1024 shots (workload), is distributed to multiple quantum processing units. The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. “This illustrates that the execution of this iteration, which includes 1024 shots (workload), is distributed to multiple quantum processing units. The actual number of quantum processing units used in parallel quantum execution may depend on the number of quantum processing units available, the user's service level agreement, time or performance constraints, or the like or combination thereof” [Fong ¶ 38].
Fong fails to explicitly teach wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload; monitor resource availability information of each of a set of quantum machines using a quantum cluster management service (qCMS) executing on each of the set of quantum machines; wherein each of the set of qCMSs federate the CMS across the set of quantum machines; compare the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines.
However, Griffin teaches:
wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload “Examples of the execution environment requirement(s) may include, but are not limited to, an error rate threshold (e.g., the maximum error rate allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for the quantum computer system, a channel load rate threshold for a quantum communication channel within the quantum computer system (e.g., the maximum load rate of a quantum channel that is allowed to implement the algorithm(s)), a coherence time threshold (e.g., the longest coherence time that is allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for the quantum computer system and/or for each qubit provided by the quantum computer system, and a temperature threshold (e.g., the minimum temperature allowed to implement the algorithm(s)) for a temperature of the quantum computer system, among other things” [Griffin ¶ 25].
monitor resource availability information of each of a set of quantum machines “The hardware profiling server 130 may monitor hardware information of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N” [Griffin ¶ 22]. “The hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A-110N may include, but is not limited to, an error rate of the quantum computer system (e.g., a gate error rate, a readout error, a multi-qubit gate error, etc.), coherence time of the quantum computer system and/or qubit or the quantum computer system (e.g., a first coherent time indicative of an amount of time required for a quantum computation, a second coherent time indicative of an amount of time available to perform the quantum computation by the quantum computer system and/or on a qubit provided by the quantum computer system, etc.-coherence time in general means how long a quantum state can be held), load information of the quantum computer system (e.g., a channel load rate indicating how loaded or busy a quantum communication channel within the quantum computer system is), temperature information of the quantum computer system, an activation frequency representative of how frequently the qubits are activated, a qubit capacity of the quantum computer system ( e.g., the number of qubits available in the respective quantum computer system), a calibration time indicative the last time when the quantum computer system was calibrated, etc” [Griffin ¶ 23].
using a quantum cluster management service (qCMS) executing on each of the set of quantum machines, wherein each qCMS is configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; “The hardware profiling server 130 may monitor hardware information of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N. For example, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with an agent service (e.g., agent services 111A-111N) (quantum cluster management services) deployed on a respective quantum computer system 110A-110N to acquire hardware information (resource availability) of the respective quantum computer system. In some implementations, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with the agent service 111A deployed on the quantum computer system 110A to acquire hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A” [Griffin ¶ 22].
wherein each of the set of qCMSs federate the CMS across the set of quantum machines; “For example, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with an agent service (e.g., agent services 111A-111N) (quantum cluster management services) deployed on a respective quantum computer system 110A-110N to acquire hardware information of the respective quantum computer system. In some implementations, the hardware profiling server 130 may communicate with the agent service 111A deployed on the quantum computer system 110A to acquire hardware information of the quantum computer system 110A” [Griffin ¶ 22].
compare the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines “Once the statement is identified, the processing device may determine an execution environment requirement from the statement. Then, the processing device may compare the execution environment requirement against the current state of the quantum computer system including at least one of an error rate or a coherence time of the quantum computer system” [Griffin ¶ 45].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong to incorporate the teachings of Griffin and include wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload; monitoring resource availability information of each of a set of quantum machines using a quantum cluster management service (qCMS) executing on each of the set of quantum machines; wherein each of the set of qCMSs federate the CMS across the set of quantum machines; compare the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines. Doing so would allow for optimized scheduling taking into account execution environment requirements. “Conventional solutions for quantum computing fail to provide mechanisms for scheduling executions for the quantum computer system in accordance with execution environment requirements, resulting in time-consuming and costly overhead executions of quantum algorithms using quantum computer systems. Aspects of the disclosure address the above deficiencies and other deficiencies of conventional quantum computing mechanisms by providing an approach systems, methods, computer-readable medium, etc.) that can schedule executions of quantum algorithms responsive to execution environment requirements for implementing the quantum algorithms in quantum computer systems being satisfied” [Griffin ¶ 13-14].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines.
However, ON teaches:
generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE]. “The application qubit layer (QVE controller) 114 may receive the first request RQ1 from the first quantum application program 101a. The first request RQ1 may be a request for four qubits. In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77].
and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. “In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 (workload) a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ01, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [ON ¶ 77]. “The quantum application program 101 may be program codes or software, which is driven or executed by the plurality of quantum chips QC11 to QCm1” [ON ¶ 42].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin to incorporate the teachings of ON and include generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, and deploy, using the QVE, the workload on the one or more of the set of quantum machines. Doing so would allow for improved quantum resource utilization. “As described above, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the management device 110 may perform a conversion operation through various layers such that the quantum application program recognizes or identifies that quantum chips implemented in different types have the same type. Accordingly, resource utilization of physical qubits may be improved” [ON ¶ 93].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON fails to teach wherein each qCMS is configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine.
However, Juang teaches wherein each qCMS is configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine; “The introspection engine 610 performs inspection of the target server 132 through an inband agent, an IPMitool, and through a Redfish API to obtain hardware information from the hardware on the server 132. The introspection engine 610 accesses a database 614 that contains tables that include a table of the hardware status of all the components on the target server 132, a table of firmware updates, and a table of log status” [Juang ¶ 48].
Juang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of arrangements for hardware management. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON to incorporate the teachings of Juang and include that each qCMS is configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine. Doing so would allow for the quantum cluster management services to communicate with their respective quantum machines in order to identify the hardware information. “In the hardware component identification process, the introspection engine 610 runs an automated process to scan each of the hardware components in the target server 132, and uses corresponding tools to identify its detailed specification and information. Examples of tools may include an inband agent, an open source tool such as an IPMI tool, and a Redfish API to obtain hardware information” [Juang ¶ 54].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang fails to explicitly teach continuously provide real-time snapshots of the resource availability information of each of the set of quantum machines to a cluster management service (CMS).
However, Bohacek teaches continuously provide real-time snapshots of the resource availability information of each of the set of quantum machines to a cluster management service (CMS), “The frequency of the data collection might depend on the metric being observed. The sensors might monitor one or more cloud assets for performance, availability, resource usage cost, security, compliance, social and/or one or more additional aspects of performance or values of reliability. In some embodiments, the monitoring occurs in real-time” [Bohacek ¶ 29].
Bohacek is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of virtual environment resource monitoring. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang to incorporate the teachings of Bohacek and include continuously provide real-time snapshots of the resource availability information of each of the set of quantum machines to a cluster management service (CMS). Doing so would allow for improved performance prediction and improved resource availability updates. “Performance and cost predictions for the cloud computing system are generated based on the one or more system models and the user configuration data; and the performance and cost predictions are processed to provide a set of attributes and parameters for the cloud computing system” [Bohacek ¶ 8].
With regard to claim 10, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek teaches the system of claim 8, as referenced above. Fong fails to teach wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, the processing device sends a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters.
However, Griffin teaches wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, the processing device sends a request a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters. “At block 360, responsive to determining that the one or more execution environment requirements are satisfied in view of the state of the quantum computer system, forwarding the request to execute the quantum algorithm to the quantum computer system to cause the execution of the quantum algorithm” [Griffin ¶ 54].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, the processing device sends a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters.
However, ON teaches:
wherein if the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines, “…an application qubit layer configured to allocate at least one logical qubit corresponding to a qubit request (workload) received from a quantum application program based on the logical qubit mapping” [On Claim 1 Examiner notes that the allocation of one logical qubit including abstraction qubits of a single quantum chip (in this case the logical qubit LQ02 associated with quantum chip QC11) is considered a determination that the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine]. “For example, as shown in FIG. 6, one logical qubit may include 4 abstraction qubits. In more detail, the second logical qubit LQ02 may include four abstraction qubits AQ1c, AQ1d, AQ1h, and AQ1i” [ON ¶ 73]. “Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the quantum chip QC11 may include a plurality of physical qubits PQ1a to PQ1t” [ON ¶ 55]. “The plurality of abstraction qubits AQ1a to AQ1t and AQ2a to AQ2t may correspond to the plurality of physical qubits PQ1a to PQ1t and PQ2a to PQ2t of the physical qubit mapping one-to-one” [ON ¶ 64]. “The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 52].
the processing device sends a request to a quantum virtual environment controller (QVE) controller of the single quantum machine to generate the QVE based on the set of workload parameters. “The application qubit layer (QVE controller) 114 may receive the logical qubit mapping from the logical qubit layer 113. The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 52]. “In an embodiment, as described above, each of the logical qubits may include a plurality of abstraction qubits, and each of a plurality of abstraction qubits may correspond to physical qubits of a quantum chip” [On ¶ 79 Examiner notes this layer of logical qubits including a plurality of abstraction qubits is considered a QVE].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Bohacek (US 2014/0278807 A1) in view of Chiani (US 2022/0374760 A1).
With regard to claim 11, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek teaches the system of claim 10, as referenced above. Fong fails to teach wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request and using the QASM file corresponding to the request.
However, Griffin further teaches:
wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request “For example, a scheduling component 165 can receive a request to execute a quantum algorithm in a form of a file that includes instructions for implementing the quantum algorithm in the quantum computer systems. The file may be, for example, a quantum assembly file, such as a Quantum Assembly Language (QASM) file” [Griffin ¶ 24]. “The processing device may then forward the modified QASM file for an execution of the instructions related to the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied to the quantum computer system” [Griffin ¶ 57].
using the QASM file corresponding to the request. “The scheduling server 160 may schedule executions of quantum algorithms in accordance with execution environment requirements in view of a current state of the quantum computer systems 110A-110N. For example, a scheduling component 165 can receive a request to execute a quantum algorithm in a form of a file that includes instructions for implementing the quantum algorithm in the quantum computer systems. The file may be, for example, a quantum assembly file, such as a Quantum Assembly Language (QASM) file” [Griffin ¶ 24].
Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach and execute, by the QVE controller, the workload on the QVE.
However, ON further teaches and execute, by the QVE controller, the workload on the QVE “In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [On ¶ 77].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek fails to explicitly teach across a quantum channel to the QVE controller.
However, Chiani teaches across a quantum channel to the QVE controller; “The present description relates to techniques for sending first data as quantum information in qubits and second classical data in quantum information processing systems over a quantum channel, which includes applying QECC encoding to said qubits obtaining quantum information codewords” [Chiani ¶ 1].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek to incorporate the teachings of Chiani and include transmitting a quantum assembly language (QASM) file corresponding to the request across a quantum channel to the QVE controller. Doing so would allow for the exchange of both classical and quantum information over the same channel. “One aspect is that the management of such a network will require to exchange control data in addition to the user data. Nodes should be able to identify each packet within a stream of qubits (synchronization), and also to write and read management and control information attached to the qubit stream” [Chiani ¶ 4].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Bohacek (US 2014/0278807 A1) in view of Araujo (US 9,223,596 B1).
With regard to claim 12, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek teaches the system of claim 10, as referenced above. Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek fails to explicitly teach wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit the QVE as a reference to the client.
However, Araujo teaches wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit the QVE as a reference to the client. “Once client 212 requests access to virtual machine 206, virtual machine host 204 may determine whether virtual machine 206 is ready for use, and notify client 212 once virtual machine 206 is ready for use. The notification may include information such as virtual machine's 206 interne protocol (IP) address, status 60 information, configuration information, or other information that may be needed to access virtual machine 206” [Araujo Col. 4 Lines 54-61].
Araujo transmits a virtual environment as a refence to the client. In combination, the quantum virtual environment of ON can be transmitted as a reference. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek to incorporate the teachings of Araujo and include that wherein to deploy the workload using the QVE, the processing device is to: transmit the QVE as a reference to the client. Doing so would allow for notification of the client at the onset of processing. “The virtual machine is resumed on the virtual machine host in response to the request from the client. A notification is sent to a client, wherein the notification specifies that the virtual machine is ready for use” [Araujo Col. 1 Lines 33-36].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Bohacek (US 2014/0278807 A1) in view of Scheps (US 2023/0315539 A1).
With regard to claim 13, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek teaches the system of claim 8, as referenced above. Fong further teaches wherein if the workload must be executed on two or more quantum machines of the set of quantum machines, “For example, the service level agreement may indicate that there is sufficient budget but not enough time (performance) to execute the quantum circuit. In this instance, multiple quantum processing units may be selected such that the quantum circuit can be executed in parallel. This allows the time requirement to be satisfied” [Fong ¶ 32].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek fails to teach the processing device entangles one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines to generate the QVE.
However, Scheps teaches:
the processing device entangles one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines to generate the QVE. “In this way, if the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm require a greater number of qubits than may be provided by one of the one or more QPUs 102 alone, the distributed quantum computing system 100 may leverage the global qubits of multiple QPUs 102 to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm. In some embodiments, the global qubits 206 may be entangled” [Scheps ¶ 37]. “In some embodiments, the global qubits 206 of each of the one or more QPUs 102 may be configured to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm in conjunction with other global qubits of other QPUs 102. For example, a global qubit associated with a first QPU 102-1 may be configured to perform the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm in conjunction with a global qubit associated with a second QPU 102-2” [Scheps ¶ 37 Examiner notes entangled qubits from separate processors working in conjunction to process a workload are considered a QVE].
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek to incorporate the teachings of Scheps and include the processing device entangles one or more qubits from each of the two or more quantum machines to generate the QVE. Doing so would allow for improved quantum resource utilization. “By each QPU of the distributed quantum computing system continuously performing the one or more operations associated with the quantum algorithm until the one or more operations performed by each QPU are in sync, the distributed quantum computing embodiments disclosed herein provides improved quantum resource utilization” [Scheps ¶ 31].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong (US 2023/0222372 A1) in view of Griffin (US 2020/0125402 A1) in view of ON (US 2022/0164253 A1) in view of Juang (US 2022/0147335 A1) in view of Bohacek (US 2014/0278807 A1) in view of Tayeb (US 2022/0417117 A1).
With regard to claim 14, Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek teaches the system of claim 10, as referenced above. Fong in view of Griffin fails to teach wherein the QVE comprises a quantum isolation zone.
However, ON further teaches wherein the QVE comprises a quantum isolation zone. “The first request RQ1 may be a request for four qubits. In this case, the application qubit layer 114 may allocate four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07 to the first quantum application program 101 a based on the logical qubit mapping. The first quantum application program 101 a may perform calculations by using the allocated four logical qubits LQ0l, LQ02, LQ06, and LQ07” [On ¶ 77 Examiner notes a set of qubits is considered a quantum zone].
Fong in view of Griffin in view of Bohacek in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek fails to teach wherein the QVE comprises a quantum isolation zone.
However, Tayeb teaches wherein the QVE comprises a quantum isolation zone. “Additionally or alternatively, the memory circuitry 854 and/or storage circuitry 858 may be divided into isolated user-space instances (isolation zones) such as virtualization/OS containers, partitions, virtual environments (VEs), and/or the like” [Tayeb ¶ 90]. “The term "virtual machine" or "VM" at least in some examples refers to a virtualized computation environment that behaves in a same or similar manner as a physical computer and/or a server. The term "hypervisor" at least in some examples refers to a software element that partitions the underlying physical resources of a compute node, creates VMs, manages resources for VMs, and isolates individual VMs from each other” [Tayeb ¶ 199].
Tayeb is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of virtual environment resource monitoring. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON in view of Juang in view of Bohacek to incorporate the teachings of Tayeb and include that the QVE comprises a quantum isolation zone. Doing so would allow for improved security for the quantum processing. “The TEE 890 operates as a protected area accessible to the processor circuitry 802 to enable secure access to data and secure execution of instructions… Additionally or alternatively, the TEE 890 may be implemented as secure enclaves (or "enclaves"), which are isolated regions of code and/or data within the processor and/or memory/storage circuitry of the compute node 850” [Tayeb ¶ 89-90].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance:
I. As an initial matter, none of the cited references, whether taken alone or in combination disclose or suggest "decomposing the request to determine a set of workload parameters of the workload, wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload," as recited in claim 1 as amended. It follows that none of the cited references, whether taken alone or in combination disclose or suggest "generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, wherein the one or more of the set of quantum machines is based on the comparing," as recited in claim 1 because none of the cited references disclose generating a QVE based on workload parameters that include "one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload," as recited in claim 1 as amended.
a) Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed in the rejection above, Fong teaches decomposing the request to determine a set of workload parameters of the workload, [Fong ¶ 34] wherein the set of workload parameters include quantum phenomena required by the workload; [Fong ¶ 20, 34]. Fong teaches determining the number of qubits, input parameters, and understanding the quantum gates of a processing bundle, these are all workload parameters of a processing request. Further, the determination of the number of qubits and the consideration of quantum gates is a determination of the quantum phenomena of the workload. Fong gives the example quantum phenomena of entanglement implemented via quantum gates in ¶ 20. Griffin teaches wherein the set of workload parameters include one or more communication pathways required by the workload [Griffin ¶ 25].
As detailed in the rejection above, the combination of Fong in view of Griffin in view of ON teaches generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines, wherein the one or more of the set of quantum machines is based on the comparing, as recited in independent claim 1. Fong teaches that a workload distribution is based on parameters such as resource availability and time or performance constraints [Fong ¶ 38]. Griffin teaches comparing workload parameters to the current resource availability of a quantum computer system [Griffin ¶ 45]. ON teaches a system which logically allocates qbits of multiple quantum chips using abstraction. ON teaches generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines. The system of ON allocates logical qubits based on the number of qbits requested, these logical qbits comprise abstraction qbits used to abstract the physical resources of a set of quantum chips. “The logical qubit layer 113 may receive the abstraction qubit mapping from the abstraction qubit layer 112, and may generate logical qubit mapping based on the received abstraction qubit mapping… The application qubit layer 114 may receive the logical qubit mapping from the logical qubit layer 113. The application qubit layer 114 may allocate or map a qubit corresponding to the calculation requested by the quantum application program 101 based on the logical qubit mapping” [ON ¶ 51-52]. The arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive.
II. The Office action further asserts that Juang teaches "each of the set of qCMSs executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine," as recited in claim 1, citing paragraph [0048] Of Juang. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
The foregoing discussion shows that Juang is silent on the above-recited feature of claim 1. Juang simply discloses using application programming interfaces (APIs) to "obtain hardware information from the hardware on the server 132." Juang, paragraph [0048]. Juang is silent on using "hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine," (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1. Indeed, Juang merely teaches generic use of APIs to gather information from hardware. Even combined with Griffin's alleged disclosure of "determining resource availability information for each of a set of quantum machines using a set of quantum cluster management services (qCMSs)," Juang does not disclose "each of the set of qCMSs executing on a respective quantum machine and configured to use hardware application programming interfaces (APIs) of the cluster management service to obtain the resource availability information for the respective quantum machine," as recited in claim 1.
a) Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Juang was not cited in the above rejection to teach quantum machines or to teach each of the set of qCMSs executing on a respective quantum machine. The arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive.
III. However, abstracting qubits of a quantum machine is not the same as "generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines," as recited in claim 1 because abstracting qubits of a quantum machine is not the same as abstracting "resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines," as recited in claim 1. Indeed, the resources of "one or more of the set of quantum machines" as recited in claim 1 must include "one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload" since claim 1 recites "comparing, by a processing device, the workload parameters to the resource availability information for each of the set of quantum machines to determine whether the workload can be executed on a single quantum machine of the set of quantum machines." On does not disclose abstracting resources including "one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload," as recited in claim 1 and thus is silent on the above-recited feature of claim 1.
Because the combination of On, Fong, Griffin, and Juang does not disclose or suggest every feature of independent claim 1, as required to maintain a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 1 is allowable over the cited references. Independent claim 15 recites features similar to those recited by independent claim 1, and is thus allowable for similar reasons. Claims 2, 6, 16, and 20 depend from independent claims 1 and 15 and are thus allowable for similar reasons as well as for the additional distinguishing features that they recite.
a) Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “abstracting resources including "one or more communication pathways required by the workload and quantum phenomena required by the workload,"”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claim 1 states “generating, based on the set of workload parameters, a quantum virtual environment (QVE) to abstract resources of one or more of the set of quantum machines,” this limitation does not specify which resources are abstracted. Qubits are considered resources of a quantum machine, thus, as detailed in the rejection above, this limitation is taught by ON. The arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/A.F.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197