DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 04/07/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 01/15/2026. Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10, 13 and 18-19 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0227578), Lee hereinafter, and further in view of Tooher et al. (US 2022/0141805), Tooher hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Lee teaches a transmission acknowledgment method, performed by a first terminal, wherein the method comprises: (Fig. 5-7);
monitoring a first physical control channel based on monitoring configuration information of the first physical control channel; (Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0061 - Where the LAA RTS is included in the LAA burst frame, it can be either stand-alone or part of LAA control message, e.g. the LAA preamble 308. The stand-alone LAA RTS within the LAA burst frame 300 can be transmitted before or after the channel reservation message 306 and/or LAA control messages, e.g. LAA preamble 306 or (E)PDCCH 312 containing downlink scheduling and control information of the scheduled UE(s) whose CTS is successfully received, but before data transmission. Please also see ¶0055 and ¶0062);
obtaining first control information transmitted by a transmission node on the first physical control channel, wherein the first control information comprises Request To Send (RTS) information for a plurality of target terminal devices, and the plurality of target terminal devices comprise the first terminal; (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0055 - the eNB transmits an LAA RTS signal 522. …the RTS 522 includes identifiers for UE1, UE2 and UEN… via unlicensed spectrum to the UEs to which it has data to send. The RTS can be sent by unicast (serially where more than one UE is identified), by multicast or by broadcast. Please also see ¶0061-¶0062);
and sending Clear To Send (CTS) information on a second physical control channel based on the RTS information, (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0056 - Upon successful reception of LAA RTS, the UE (data destination) transmits LAA CTS to the eNB via unlicensed spectrum, but only if the unlicensed spectrum is idle and UE identifier or UE index is included in LAA RTS);
and wherein after sending the CTS information on the second physical control channel, (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0066 - An interval time required for appropriate message spacing, e.g. between RTS and CTS and/or CTS and (E)PDCCH/Data, can be predefined in the specification… ¶0090 - The eNB sends the (E)PDCCH(s), via unlicensed band (or licensed band if cross carrier scheduling is used), containing downlink scheduling and control information of the UEs which send LAA CTS in response to LAA RTS. ¶0092 - However, both UE #1 712 and UE #N 718 establish locally that the relevant unlicensed spectrum is clear and they each return a respective CTS 732, 734. Please also see ¶0067);
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the first control information comprises User Equipment (UE)-specific indication domain that comprises: monitoring indication information of a third physical control channel comprising a search space identifier (ID) of the third physical control channel, wherein the third physical control channel is used to schedule data from the transmission node to the first terminal, wherein a time domain monitoring location of the third physical control channel is determined based on a time domain monitoring location of a configured target search space, wherein the configured target search space is a search space in which the third physical control channel is located, the method further comprises: stopping monitoring the first physical control channel within a first time interval, wherein the first time interval is the same as a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT) indicated by the first control information.
However, in the analogous art, Tooher explicitly teaches wherein the first control information comprises User Equipment (UE)-specific indication domain that comprises: (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0003 - Systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided. A WTRU may receive a plurality of monitoring configurations. The plurality of monitoring configurations may be associated with a plurality of sub-bands);
monitoring indication information of a third physical control channel comprising a search space identifier (ID) of the third physical control channel, (¶0094 - In examples, a WTRU may be configured with at least one monitoring configuration. The monitoring configuration may be associated with (e.g., tied to) one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate. A monitoring configuration may indicate at least one of a timing of monitoring instances, a number of PDCCH candidates, a number of search spaces, or an indexation of one or more of search spaces, PDCCH candidates, or CORESETs. For example, the timing of monitoring instances may include a period and/or offset of a search space(s) (e.g., valid search spaces). The number of PDCCH candidates may be associated with the number of BDs attributed to a search space and/or CORESET. Please also see ¶0185);
wherein the third physical control channel is used to schedule data from the transmission node to the first terminal, (¶0125 - A WTRU may be configured to monitor for a DCI that indicates a COT structure and/or schedules a transmission with the COT structure. A WTRU may be configured with a set of PDCCH monitoring parameters or configurations to monitor for the DCI);
wherein a time domain monitoring location of the third physical control channel is determined based on a time domain monitoring location of a configured target search space, (¶0094 - In examples, a WTRU may be configured with at least one monitoring configuration. The monitoring configuration may be associated with (e.g., tied to) one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate. A monitoring configuration may indicate at least one of a timing of monitoring instances, a number of PDCCH candidates, a number of search spaces, or an indexation of one or more of search spaces, PDCCH candidates, or CORESETs. Please also see ¶0095-¶0096);
wherein the configured target search space is a search space in which the third physical control channel is located, (¶0091 - A COT may be active in a BWP without requiring all LBT subbands to be acquired by the gNB. In such a case, the WTRU may be enabled to determine what LBT subbands of a COT are active and/or to determine the appropriate PDCCH monitoring of some or all CORESETs and search spaces within the BWP. ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following: one or more sets of CORESETs, one or more sets of search spaces, and/or one or more sets of PDCCH candidates per search space … A WTRU may perform PDCCH BD on valid PDCCH candidates. Whether one or more of the set(s) of CORESETs, search spaces, and/or PDCCH candidates are valid at a given moment may depend on at least one of: active channel occupancy time (COT) for an LBT subband(s) where one or more of the CORESET, search space, and/or PDCCH candidate are expected, a number (e.g., a total number) of active LBT subbands, or a number of (e.g., a total number) of valid CORESETs and/or search spaces and/or PDCCH candidates. ¶0095 - In examples, a WTRU may have a first monitoring configuration for one of a CORESET, search space, PDCCH candidate, or combination thereof, associated with an active COT (e.g., for LBT subbands and/or unlicensed channels that are in an active COT, for example multiple subbands as illustrated in FIG. 5);
the method further comprises: stopping monitoring the first physical control channel within a first time interval, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0099 - The WTRU may receive an indication from the gNB indicating when to switch monitoring configurations … The reception of such an indication may switch the WTRU at a specific time (e.g., after reception of the indication, for example an amount of time after reception of the indication). ¶0100 - In the example shown in FIGS. 2 and 5, a WTRU may use a first monitoring configuration until reception of an indication indicating to the WTRU to switch to a second monitoring configuration (e.g., where the indication may indicate a start of a COT as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5). ¶0101 - In examples, the indication of when to switch monitoring configurations may be the same as that used to indicate a start of a COT on LBT subband(s) (e.g., DM-RS));
wherein the first time interval is the same as a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT) indicated by the first control information (¶0099 - The reception of such an indication (e.g., possibly tied to slot timing) may be used to indicate the WTRU to switch to a third monitoring configuration (e.g. used for COT monitoring for the remainder of the COT). The reception of such an indication may be used to indicate the WTRU to switch to a third monitoring configuration, for example at a second specific time (e.g., after reception of the indication, for example an amount of time after reception of the indication). ¶0101 - In examples, the indication of when to switch monitoring configurations may be the same as that used to indicate a start of a COT on LBT subband(s) (e.g., DM-RS). ¶0114 - In examples, if a DM-RS is associated with (e.g., belongs to) a PDCCH (e.g., which may be transmitted in a WTRU Specific Search Space), then the WTRU may assume that this is an indication to switch from a second to a third monitoring configuration within the COT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tooher to the teaching of Lee. The motivation would be because systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided (¶0003, Tooher).
Re. Claim 2, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 1.
Lee further teaches the first control information further comprises common indication domain, and wherein the common indication domain comprises at least one of the following:
first indication information used to indicate the duration of the channel occupancy time;
second indication information used to indicate Quasi-CoLocation (QCL), wherein the QCL is QCL used by the transmission node for obtaining a channel on a shared spectrum;
or third indication information used to indicate the target terminal devices having a request for transmission (Fig. 8 & ¶0094 - if the LTE LAA carrier is found to be free at process element 810, then at process element 820, the eNB proceeds to transmit an RTS signal to one or more target (destination) UEs (in this case to 1 to N UEs where N is an integer of 1 or more) via unlicensed spectrum of the carrier that it determined to be free. Thereafter, at process element 832, the eNB awaits receipt of a CTS signal in response to the RTS signal. Fig 8 & ¶0095 - …the eNB transmits scheduling and control information to establish the LTE LAA downlink connection with the particular UEs that responded to the RTS signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”).
Re. Claim 3, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 2.
Lee further teaches the third indication information comprises one of the following:
a list of identity information of the target terminal devices, wherein the identity information of the target terminal devices comprises Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTI) of the target terminal devices or identifiers of the target terminal devices in a terminal device group; or (Fig. 5-8 & ¶0065 - UE identifiers can be multiplexed in a form of C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) or bitmap. The C-RNTI is a UE identifier that is unique within a given cell. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one of the following”);
a bitmap, wherein each bit in the bitmap is used to indicate whether a corresponding terminal device or a corresponding group of terminal devices is in the target terminal devices.
Re. Claim 5, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 1.
Lee further teaches after the obtaining first control information transmitted by a transmission node on the first physical control channel, the method further comprises:
obtaining RTS information corresponding to the first terminal from the first control information based on a first start location, wherein the first start location is a start location of the RTS information in the first control information (Fig. 6 & ¶0071 - FIG. 6A schematically illustrates an IEEE 802.11 RTS Frame 610 comprising: a 2 byte frame control field 612; a 2 bytes duration field 614; a 6 byte receiver (destination) address field 616; a 6 byte transmitter (destination) address field 618; and a 4 byte Cyclic Redundancy Check field 620. The receiver address 616 gives the recipient of the next frame and the transmitter address 618 gives the source of the RTS frame).
Re. Claim 6, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 5.
Lee further teaches the RTS information comprises at least one of the following:
first indication information used to indicate the duration of the channel occupancy time;
second indication information used to indicate Quasi-CoLocation (QCL), wherein the QCL is QCL used by the transmission node for obtaining a channel on a shared spectrum;
fourth indication information used to indicate whether the first terminal needs to return the CTS;
resource indication information of the second physical control channel; (Fig. 6 & ¶0071 - FIG. 6A schematically illustrates an IEEE 802.11 RTS Frame 610 comprising: a 2 byte frame control field 612; a 2 bytes duration field 614; a 6 byte receiver (destination) address field 616; a 6 byte transmitter (destination) address field 618; and a 4 byte Cyclic Redundancy Check field 620. The duration filed 614 contains a value corresponding to a time in microseconds given by a total of the transmission duration of the next frame plus time for a CTS frame, an ACK frame and three SIFS (one each for: (i) RTS frame… Please also see ¶0069. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”);
the monitoring indication information of the third physical control channel;
or sending indication information of the second physical control channel.
Re. Claim 7, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 1.
Lee further teaches the sending CTS information on a second physical control channel based on the RTS information comprises:
sending the CTS information corresponding to the RTS information on the second physical control channel when at least one of the following is confirmed to be satisfied:
that there is a request for transmission is determined based on the first control information; or that there is no interference is determined; (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0056 - Upon successful reception of LAA RTS, the UE (data destination) transmits LAA CTS to the eNB via unlicensed spectrum…);
wherein that there is no interference is determined comprises at least one of the following: the first control information is decoded successfully;
after one or more times of energy-detection-based channel sensing, a channel sensing result indicates that a channel is idle; or (Fig. 5-9 & ¶0056 - …but only if the unlicensed spectrum is idle and UE identifier or UE index is included in LAA RTS. Fig. 5-9 & ¶0097 - However, if the carrier is idle or has energy levels below a threshold then it sends a CTS signal to the eNB in response at process element 940. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”);
with interference estimation based on the first control information, that signal quality satisfies a pre-specified requirement is determined.
Re. Claim 8, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 1.
Lee further teaches after sending the CTS information on the second physical control channel, the method further comprises: monitoring the data scheduled by the third physical control channel. (Fig. 5-8 & ¶0057 - The eNB transmits downlink scheduling and control information on a (E)PDCCH connection 524 and data via a PDSCH 526, all via unlicensed spectrum to the UEs (i.e. UE1 and UEN in this example) who sent CTS. ¶0095 - Upon successful receipt of a CTS signal, at process element 840, the eNB transmits scheduling and control information to establish the LTE LAA downlink connection with the particular UEs that responded to the RTS signal);
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach monitoring the data scheduled by the third physical control channel.
However, in the analogous art, Tooher explicitly teaches monitoring the data scheduled by the third physical control channel; (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0176 - For a CORESET and/or search space and/or PDCCH candidate, the WTRU may have multiple (e.g., three) monitoring configurations (e.g., FIGS. 2, 3, and 4) … The WTRU may operate with different monitoring configurations, e.g., depending on whether one or more of a CORESET and/or search space and/or PDCCH candidate is in an LBT subband that is part of the COT or not (e.g., see FIG. 5). Please also see ¶0129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tooher to the teaching of Lee. The motivation would be because systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided (¶0003, Tooher).
Re. Claim 9, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 8.
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach stopping monitoring the third physical control channel outside the duration of the channel occupancy time indicated by the first control information.
However, in the analogous art, Tooher explicitly teaches stopping monitoring the third physical control channel outside the duration of the channel occupancy time indicated by the first control information (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0100 - The WTRU may return to the first monitoring configuration, e.g., at a time indicated in the original indication (e.g., the indication indicating the WTRU to switch to the second monitoring configuration), for example at the end of the COT as indicated in FIGS. 2 and 5. ¶0183 - The WTRU may not be required to monitor (e.g., be enabled to stop monitor) for an COT structure indication in all LBT subbands, for example, upon a COT being started in a first LBT subband).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tooher to the teaching of Lee. The motivation would be because systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided (¶0003, Tooher).
Re. Claim 10, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 8.
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach the time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space comprises at least one of the following: an absolute time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space, a relative time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space relative to the first physical control channel or the second physical control channel; or a relative time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space, indicated by the first physical control channel, relative to the first physical control channel or the second physical control channel.
However, in the analogous art, Tooher explicitly teaches the time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space comprises at least one of the following:
an absolute time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space,
a relative time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space relative to the first physical control channel or the second physical control channel;
or a relative time domain monitoring location of the configured target search space, indicated by the first physical control channel, relative to the first physical control channel or the second physical control channel (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0087 - A WTRU may switch between monitoring configurations. For example, a WTRU may use a first monitoring configuration until reception of a first indication. The indication may indicate that the WTRU switch to a second monitoring configuration. For example, the WTRU may determine to switch from the first monitoring configuration to the second monitoring configuration based on the first indication. ¶0095 - In examples, a WTRU may have a first monitoring configuration for one of a CORESET, search space, PDCCH candidate, or combination thereof, associated with an active COT (e.g., for LBT subbands and/or unlicensed channels that are in an active COT, for example multiple subbands as illustrated in FIG. 5). A WTRU may have a second monitoring configuration for one of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidates outside of an active COT (e.g., for LBT subband(s) and/or unlicensed channel(s) that are not in an active COT). A monitoring configuration of one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate may depend on a number (e.g., the total number) of active LBT subbands and/or a monitoring configuration of one or more of other CORESET, other search space, or other PDCCH candidate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tooher to the teaching of Lee. The motivation would be because systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided (¶0003, Tooher).
Re. Claim 11, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 1.
Lee further teaches before the monitoring a first physical control channel, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
receiving the monitoring configuration information of the first physical control channel; or (Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0062 - The LAA RTS can include parameters such as UE identifiers, channel reservation duration, the interval time required between RTS and CTS and/or CTS and (E)PDCCH/Data, and transmit power and/or modulation for CTS. Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0065 - UE identifiers can be multiplexed in a form of C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) or bitmap. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”);
receiving configuration information of the second physical control channel.
Re. Claim 12, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 11.
Lee further teaches the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
an RTS-specific Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTI); (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0065 - UE identifiers can be multiplexed in a form of C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) or bitmap. The C-RNTI is a UE identifier that is unique within a given cell. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”);
start locations of RTS information, in the first control information, of each target terminal device;
a size of the first control information;
a target search space, wherein the target search space corresponds to a format of the first control information; or
fifth indication information, wherein the fifth indication information is used to indicate whether the target search space is only used for transmission on the first physical control channel.
Re. Claim 13, Lee teaches an information transmission method, performed by a transmission node, wherein the method comprises: (Fig. 5-7);
transmitting first control information at a monitoring location of a first physical control channel, wherein the first control information comprises Request To Send (RTS) information for a plurality of target terminal devices; (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0055 - When the unlicensed spectrum is idle or an energy level present over the unlicensed spectrum is below a threshold, the eNB transmits an LAA RTS signal 522. The RTS can be sent by unicast (serially where more than one UE is identified), by multicast or by broadcast);
receiving Clear To Send (CTS) information returned by at least one target terminal device from the plurality of target terminal devices on a second physical control channel; (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0056 - Upon successful reception of LAA RTS, the UE (data destination) transmits LAA CTS to the eNB via unlicensed spectrum, but only if the unlicensed spectrum is idle and UE identifier or UE index is included in LAA RTS);
and scheduling a third physical control channel in a search space corresponding to the at least one target terminal device for data transmission to the at least one target terminal device, (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0057 - The eNB transmits downlink scheduling and control information on a (E)PDCCH connection 524 and data via a PDSCH 526, all via unlicensed spectrum to the UEs (i.e. UE1 and UEN in this example) who sent CTS. Fig 5-7 & ¶0090 - The scheduling and control information can include identifiers of the scheduled UEs, modulation and coding schemes (MCS), resource allocation (e.g., PRB assignment), etc.);
wherein the first physical control channel is monitored based on monitoring configuration information of the first physical control channel, (Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0061 - Where the LAA RTS is included in the LAA burst frame, it can be either stand-alone or part of LAA control message, e.g. the LAA preamble 308. The stand-alone LAA RTS within the LAA burst frame 300 can be transmitted before or after the channel reservation message 306 and/or LAA control messages, e.g. LAA preamble 306 or (E)PDCCH 312 containing downlink scheduling and control information of the scheduled UE(s) whose CTS is successfully received, but before data transmission. Please also see ¶0055 and ¶0062);
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the first control information comprises User Equipment (UE)-specific indication domain that comprises: monitoring indication information of the third physical control channel comprising a search space identifier (ID) of the third physical control channel, wherein the third physical control channel is used to schedule data from the transmission node to the at least one target terminal device, wherein a time domain monitoring location of the third physical control channel is determined based on a time domain monitoring location of a configured target search space, wherein the configured target search space is a search space in which the third physical control channel is located, and the monitoring of the first physical control channel is stopped within a first time interval, wherein the first time interval is the same as a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT) indicated by the first control information.
However, in the analogous art, Tooher explicitly teaches wherein the first control information comprises User Equipment (UE)-specific indication domain that comprises: (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0003 - Systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided. A WTRU may receive a plurality of monitoring configurations. The plurality of monitoring configurations may be associated with a plurality of sub-bands);
monitoring indication information of the third physical control channel comprising a search space identifier (ID) of the third physical control channel, (¶0094 - In examples, a WTRU may be configured with at least one monitoring configuration. The monitoring configuration may be associated with (e.g., tied to) one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate. A monitoring configuration may indicate at least one of a timing of monitoring instances, a number of PDCCH candidates, a number of search spaces, or an indexation of one or more of search spaces, PDCCH candidates, or CORESETs. For example, the timing of monitoring instances may include a period and/or offset of a search space(s) (e.g., valid search spaces). The number of PDCCH candidates may be associated with the number of BDs attributed to a search space and/or CORESET. Please also see ¶0185);
wherein the third physical control channel is used to schedule data from the transmission node to the at least one target terminal device, (¶0125 - A WTRU may be configured to monitor for a DCI that indicates a COT structure and/or schedules a transmission with the COT structure. A WTRU may be configured with a set of PDCCH monitoring parameters or configurations to monitor for the DCI);
wherein a time domain monitoring location of the third physical control channel is determined based on a time domain monitoring location of a configured target search space, (¶0094 - In examples, a WTRU may be configured with at least one monitoring configuration. The monitoring configuration may be associated with (e.g., tied to) one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate. A monitoring configuration may indicate at least one of a timing of monitoring instances, a number of PDCCH candidates, a number of search spaces, or an indexation of one or more of search spaces, PDCCH candidates, or CORESETs. Please also see ¶0095-¶0096);
wherein the configured target search space is a search space in which the third physical control channel is located, (¶0091 - A COT may be active in a BWP without requiring all LBT subbands to be acquired by the gNB. In such a case, the WTRU may be enabled to determine what LBT subbands of a COT are active and/or to determine the appropriate PDCCH monitoring of some or all CORESETs and search spaces within the BWP. ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following: one or more sets of CORESETs, one or more sets of search spaces, and/or one or more sets of PDCCH candidates per search space … A WTRU may perform PDCCH BD on valid PDCCH candidates. Whether one or more of the set(s) of CORESETs, search spaces, and/or PDCCH candidates are valid at a given moment may depend on at least one of: active channel occupancy time (COT) for an LBT subband(s) where one or more of the CORESET, search space, and/or PDCCH candidate are expected, a number (e.g., a total number) of active LBT subbands, or a number of (e.g., a total number) of valid CORESETs and/or search spaces and/or PDCCH candidates. ¶0095 - In examples, a WTRU may have a first monitoring configuration for one of a CORESET, search space, PDCCH candidate, or combination thereof, associated with an active COT (e.g., for LBT subbands and/or unlicensed channels that are in an active COT, for example multiple subbands as illustrated in FIG. 5);
and the monitoring of the first physical control channel is stopped within a first time interval, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0099 - The WTRU may receive an indication from the gNB indicating when to switch monitoring configurations … The reception of such an indication may switch the WTRU at a specific time (e.g., after reception of the indication, for example an amount of time after reception of the indication). ¶0100 - In the example shown in FIGS. 2 and 5, a WTRU may use a first monitoring configuration until reception of an indication indicating to the WTRU to switch to a second monitoring configuration (e.g., where the indication may indicate a start of a COT as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5). ¶0101 - In examples, the indication of when to switch monitoring configurations may be the same as that used to indicate a start of a COT on LBT subband(s) (e.g., DM-RS));
wherein the first time interval is the same as a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT) indicated by the first control information (¶0099 - The reception of such an indication (e.g., possibly tied to slot timing) may be used to indicate the WTRU to switch to a third monitoring configuration (e.g. used for COT monitoring for the remainder of the COT). The reception of such an indication may be used to indicate the WTRU to switch to a third monitoring configuration, for example at a second specific time (e.g., after reception of the indication, for example an amount of time after reception of the indication). ¶0101 - In examples, the indication of when to switch monitoring configurations may be the same as that used to indicate a start of a COT on LBT subband(s) (e.g., DM-RS). ¶0114 - In examples, if a DM-RS is associated with (e.g., belongs to) a PDCCH (e.g., which may be transmitted in a WTRU Specific Search Space), then the WTRU may assume that this is an indication to switch from a second to a third monitoring configuration within the COT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tooher to the teaching of Lee. The motivation would be because systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided (¶0003, Tooher).
Re. Claim 14, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 13.
Lee further teaches before the transmitting first control information, the method further comprises: performing Listen Before Talk (LBT) to determine whether a channel is idle (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0058/¶0059 - The eNB can perform CCA and/or ECCA to check the medium status. The minimum duration to perform CCA can be configured to follow the “Listen Before Talk” requirement if applicable, e.g. 20 microseconds. Listen Before Talk is one way of dealing with co-existence when implementing LTE-U).
Re. Claim 15, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 13.
Lee further teaches before the transmitting first control information, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
sending the monitoring configuration information of the first physical control channel to the at least one target terminal device; or (Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0062 - The LAA RTS can include parameters such as UE identifiers, channel reservation duration, the interval time required between RTS and CTS and/or CTS and (E)PDCCH/Data, and transmit power and/or modulation for CTS. Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0065 - UE identifiers can be multiplexed in a form of C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) or bitmap. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”);
sending configuration information of the second physical control channel to the at least one target terminal device.
Re. Claim 17, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 13.
Lee further teaches the second physical control channel comprises at least one of the following: a CTS Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) or a CTS Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (Fig. 5-7, 12-14 & ¶0092 - FIG. 7 schematically illustrates a signal flow for the downlink CTS/RTS spectrum reservation communication of FIG. 5. Please see CTS signals 732 and 734 transmitted from different UEs to the eNB 710. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”).
Re. Claim 18, Lee teaches a terminal device, comprising: (Fig. 15-18);
a memory storing computer-readable instructions (Fig. 15-18);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: (Fig. 15-18 & ¶0159 - Processors 1740 may be operable to carry out the above described methods, using suitable instructions or programs…The instructions may be stored in system memory 1710… or additionally or alternatively may be stored in (NVM)/storage 1730, as NVM instruction portion 1735. LTE LAA spectrum reservation module 1715 may include program instructions to cause reservation of unlicensed spectrum via exchange of RTS/CTS signals on an unlicensed carrier);
monitoring a first physical control channel based on monitoring configuration information of the first physical control channel (Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0061 - Where the LAA RTS is included in the LAA burst frame, it can be either stand-alone or part of LAA control message, e.g. the LAA preamble 308. The stand-alone LAA RTS within the LAA burst frame 300 can be transmitted before or after the channel reservation message 306 and/or LAA control messages, e.g. LAA preamble 306 or (E)PDCCH 312 containing downlink scheduling and control information of the scheduled UE(s) whose CTS is successfully received, but before data transmission. Please also see ¶0055 and ¶0062);
obtaining first control information transmitted by a transmission node on the first physical control channel, wherein the first control information comprises Request To Send (RTS) information for a plurality of target terminal devices, and the plurality of target terminal devices comprise the terminal device (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0055 - the eNB transmits an LAA RTS signal 522. …the RTS 522 includes identifiers for UE1, UE2 and UEN… via unlicensed spectrum to the UEs to which it has data to send. The RTS can be sent by unicast (serially where more than one UE is identified), by multicast or by broadcast. Please also see ¶0061-¶0062);
sending Clear To Send (CTS) information on a second physical control channel based on the RTS information (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0056 - Upon successful reception of LAA RTS, the UE (data destination) transmits LAA CTS to the eNB via unlicensed spectrum, but only if the unlicensed spectrum is idle and UE identifier or UE index is included in LAA RTS).
and wherein after sending the CTS information on the second physical control channel (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0066 - An interval time required for appropriate message spacing, e.g. between RTS and CTS and/or CTS and (E)PDCCH/Data, can be predefined in the specification… ¶0090 - The eNB sends the (E)PDCCH(s), via unlicensed band (or licensed band if cross carrier scheduling is used), containing downlink scheduling and control information of the UEs which send LAA CTS in response to LAA RTS. ¶0092 - However, both UE #1 712 and UE #N 718 establish locally that the relevant unlicensed spectrum is clear and they each return a respective CTS 732, 734. Please also see ¶0067);
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the first control information comprises User Equipment (UE)-specific indication domain that comprises: monitoring indication information of a third physical control channel comprising a search space identifier (ID) of the third physical control channel, wherein the third physical control channel is used to schedule data from the transmission node to the terminal device, wherein a time domain monitoring location of the third physical control channel is determined based on a time domain monitoring location of a configured target search space, wherein the configured target search space is a search space in which the third physical control channel is located, the operations further comprise: stopping monitoring the first physical control channel within a first time interval, wherein the first time interval is the same as a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT) indicated by the first control information.
However, in the analogous art, Tooher explicitly teaches wherein the first control information comprises User Equipment (UE)-specific indication domain that comprises: (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0003 - Systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided. A WTRU may receive a plurality of monitoring configurations. The plurality of monitoring configurations may be associated with a plurality of sub-bands);
monitoring indication information of a third physical control channel comprising a search space identifier (ID) of the third physical control channel, (¶0094 - In examples, a WTRU may be configured with at least one monitoring configuration. The monitoring configuration may be associated with (e.g., tied to) one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate. A monitoring configuration may indicate at least one of a timing of monitoring instances, a number of PDCCH candidates, a number of search spaces, or an indexation of one or more of search spaces, PDCCH candidates, or CORESETs. For example, the timing of monitoring instances may include a period and/or offset of a search space(s) (e.g., valid search spaces). The number of PDCCH candidates may be associated with the number of BDs attributed to a search space and/or CORESET. Please also see ¶0185);
wherein the third physical control channel is used to schedule data from the transmission node to the terminal device, (¶0125 - A WTRU may be configured to monitor for a DCI that indicates a COT structure and/or schedules a transmission with the COT structure. A WTRU may be configured with a set of PDCCH monitoring parameters or configurations to monitor for the DCI);
wherein a time domain monitoring location of the third physical control channel is determined based on a time domain monitoring location of a configured target search space, (¶0094 - In examples, a WTRU may be configured with at least one monitoring configuration. The monitoring configuration may be associated with (e.g., tied to) one or more of a CORESET, search space, or PDCCH candidate. A monitoring configuration may indicate at least one of a timing of monitoring instances, a number of PDCCH candidates, a number of search spaces, or an indexation of one or more of search spaces, PDCCH candidates, or CORESETs. Please also see ¶0095-¶0096);
wherein the configured target search space is a search space in which the third physical control channel is located, (¶0091 - A COT may be active in a BWP without requiring all LBT subbands to be acquired by the gNB. In such a case, the WTRU may be enabled to determine what LBT subbands of a COT are active and/or to determine the appropriate PDCCH monitoring of some or all CORESETs and search spaces within the BWP. ¶0093 - For example, a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following: one or more sets of CORESETs, one or more sets of search spaces, and/or one or more sets of PDCCH candidates per search space … A WTRU may perform PDCCH BD on valid PDCCH candidates. Whether one or more of the set(s) of CORESETs, search spaces, and/or PDCCH candidates are valid at a given moment may depend on at least one of: active channel occupancy time (COT) for an LBT subband(s) where one or more of the CORESET, search space, and/or PDCCH candidate are expected, a number (e.g., a total number) of active LBT subbands, or a number of (e.g., a total number) of valid CORESETs and/or search spaces and/or PDCCH candidates. ¶0095 - In examples, a WTRU may have a first monitoring configuration for one of a CORESET, search space, PDCCH candidate, or combination thereof, associated with an active COT (e.g., for LBT subbands and/or unlicensed channels that are in an active COT, for example multiple subbands as illustrated in FIG. 5);
the operations further comprise: stopping monitoring the first physical control channel within a first time interval, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0099 - The WTRU may receive an indication from the gNB indicating when to switch monitoring configurations … The reception of such an indication may switch the WTRU at a specific time (e.g., after reception of the indication, for example an amount of time after reception of the indication). ¶0100 - In the example shown in FIGS. 2 and 5, a WTRU may use a first monitoring configuration until reception of an indication indicating to the WTRU to switch to a second monitoring configuration (e.g., where the indication may indicate a start of a COT as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5). ¶0101 - In examples, the indication of when to switch monitoring configurations may be the same as that used to indicate a start of a COT on LBT subband(s) (e.g., DM-RS));
wherein the first time interval is the same as a duration of a channel occupancy time (COT) indicated by the first control information (¶0099 - The reception of such an indication (e.g., possibly tied to slot timing) may be used to indicate the WTRU to switch to a third monitoring configuration (e.g. used for COT monitoring for the remainder of the COT). The reception of such an indication may be used to indicate the WTRU to switch to a third monitoring configuration, for example at a second specific time (e.g., after reception of the indication, for example an amount of time after reception of the indication). ¶0101 - In examples, the indication of when to switch monitoring configurations may be the same as that used to indicate a start of a COT on LBT subband(s) (e.g., DM-RS). ¶0114 - In examples, if a DM-RS is associated with (e.g., belongs to) a PDCCH (e.g., which may be transmitted in a WTRU Specific Search Space), then the WTRU may assume that this is an indication to switch from a second to a third monitoring configuration within the COT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Tooher to the teaching of Lee. The motivation would be because systems, methods, and instrumentalities associated with receiving control information in new radio (NR) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) may be provided (¶0003, Tooher).
Re. Claim 19, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 18.
Lee further teaches the first control information further comprises common indication domain, and wherein the common indication domain comprises at least one of the following:
first indication information used to indicate the duration of the channel occupancy time;
second indication information used to indicate Quasi-CoLocation (QCL), wherein the QCL is QCL used by the transmission node for obtaining a channel on a shared spectrum; or
third indication information used to indicate the target terminal devices having a request for transmission; (Fig. 8 & ¶0094 - if the LTE LAA carrier is found to be free at process element 810, then at process element 820, the eNB proceeds to transmit an RTS signal to one or more target (destination) UEs (in this case to 1 to N UEs where N is an integer of 1 or more) via unlicensed spectrum of the carrier that it determined to be free. Thereafter, at process element 832, the eNB awaits receipt of a CTS signal in response to the RTS signal. Fig 8 & ¶0095 - …the eNB transmits scheduling and control information to establish the LTE LAA downlink connection with the particular UEs that responded to the RTS signal. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”).
Re. Claim 20, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 19.
Lee further teaches the third indication information comprises one of the following:
a list of identity information of the target terminal devices, wherein the identity information of the target terminal devices comprises Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTI) of the target terminal devices or identifiers of the target terminal devices in a terminal device group; or (Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0062 - The LAA RTS can include parameters such as UE identifiers, channel reservation duration, the interval time required between RTS and CTS and/or CTS and (E)PDCCH/Data, and transmit power and/or modulation for CTS. Fig. 5-7, 10 & ¶0065 - UE identifiers can be multiplexed in a form of C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier) or bitmap. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “one of the following”);
a bitmap, wherein each bit in the bitmap is used to indicate whether a corresponding terminal device or a corresponding group of terminal devices is in the target terminal devices.
Re. Claim 21, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 13.
Lee further teaches a transmission node, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the method according to claim 13 is implemented (Fig. 17 & ¶0167 - The system 1700 of FIG. 17… may alternatively be implemented in a picocell, femtocell or relay node… Fig. 17 & ¶0159 - LTE LAA spectrum reservation module 1715 may include program instructions to cause reservation of unlicensed spectrum via exchange of RTS/CTS signals on an unlicensed carrier, for example, enabling a one to many point connection to be established on LTE LAA via multiplexing of CTS signals and/or RTS signals from a plurality of UEs).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Tooher, and further in view of You (US 2017/0202019), You hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 2.
Yet, Lee and Tooher do not explicitly teach wherein the first physical control channel comprises at least one of the following: an RTS Group Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-GC-PDCCH); an RTS Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-C-PDCCH); or an RTS UE-Specific Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-UE-Specific PDCCH), wherein the common indication domain is carried on the RTS-GC-PDCCH or the RTS-C-PDCCH, or the UE-specific indication domain is carried on the RTS-UE-Specific PDCCH, or, both the common indication domain and the UE-Specific indication domain are carried on the RTS-GC-PDCCH or the RTS-C-PDCCH.
However, in the analogous art, You explicitly discloses wherein the first physical control channel comprises at least one of the following:
an RTS Group Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-GC-PDCCH);
an RTS Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-C-PDCCH); or
an RTS UE-Specific Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-UE-Specific PDCCH), (Fig. 5, 8 & ¶0114 - The PDCCH monitoring DL CC set may be configured to be UE-specific, UE group-specific, or cell-specific);
wherein the common indication domain is carried on the RTS-GC-PDCCH or the RTS-C-PDCCH, or the UE-specific indication domain is carried on the RTS-UE-Specific PDCCH (Fig. 5, 8 & ¶0111 - A UE may monitor or receive a control channel (PDCCH) and a data channel (PDSCH) of an activated cell in order to identify resources (which may be a frequency or time) assigned thereto. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”),
or, both the common indication domain and the UE-Specific indication domain are carried on the RTS-GC-PDCCH or the RTS-C-PDCCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of You to the teachings of Lee and Tooher. The motivation would be because in a wireless communication system using both the licensed band and the unlicensed band, there are merits that the hidden node problem will be solved, by transmitting and receiving the data frame on the RTS and/or CTS frame in a stable and efficient manner (¶0022, You).
Re. Claim 16, Lee and Tooher teach Claim 13.
Yet, Lee and Tooher do not explicitly teach the first physical control channel comprises at least one of the following: an RTS Group Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-GC-PDCCH); an RTS Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-C-PDCCH); or an RTS UE-Specific Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-UE-Specific PDCCH).
However, in the analogous art, You explicitly discloses the first physical control channel comprises at least one of the following:
an RTS Group Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-GC-PDCCH);
an RTS Common Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-C-PDCCH); or
an RTS UE-Specific Physical Downlink Control Channel (RTS-UE-Specific PDCCH) (Fig. 5, 8 & ¶0114 - The PDCCH monitoring DL CC set may be configured to be UE-specific, UE group-specific, or cell-specific. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of the following”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of You to the teachings of Lee and Tooher. The motivation would be because in a wireless communication system using both the licensed band and the unlicensed band, there are merits that the hidden node problem will be solved, by transmitting and receiving the data frame on the RTS and/or CTS frame in a stable and efficient manner (¶0022, You).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465