DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on March 30, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claim 1 is amended; and claims 2 and 7 are cancelled; resulting in claims 1, 3-6, and 8 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroki, et al. (JP 2020095853 A) in view of Tamaki, et al. (US PGPub 2013/0004845 A1, cited on IDS), and further in view of Katsushi, et al. (WO 2016208480 A1), as evidenced by Ballisteri, A., et al. Thermal Decomposition of Acrylonitrile Copolymers Investigated by Direct Pyrolysis in the Mass Spectrometer Die Makromolekulare Chemie: Macromolecular Chemistry and Physics, Vol 180, no. 12 (1979), pp. 2835-2842.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Hiroki teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery with a negative electrode (20) including a negative electrode current collector (21; substrate), a first negative electrode active material layer (22A), and a second negative electrode active material layer (22B), layered in that order (¶ [0007], Ln. 49-53; Fig. 3). The first negative electrode active material layer (22A) contains a first graphite particle group (1) (¶ [0018], Ln. 163-164) and the second negative electrode active material layer (22A) contains a second graphite particle group (2) and a ceramic particle group (3) (¶ [0020], Ln. 190-191). The porosity of the second active material layer is greater than the porosity of the first active material layer (¶ [0007], Ln. 61). The ceramic particle group (3) forms pores (voids) in the second electrode active material layer (22B) (¶ [0021], Ln. 202-203). As shown in the cross-section view in Figure 3, the second active material layer (22B) has more voids than the first active material layer. Hiroki further teaches that the ceramic particles enter the gaps between the graphite particles, forming voids and allowing the second active material layer to have a relatively high porosity (¶ [0008], Ln. 69-72). The pores serve as diffusion paths for lithium ions and the high porosity promotes diffusion of lithium ions, improving input characteristics (¶ [0009], Ln. 76-78).
Hiroki is silent to the number density of voids having a diameter of 3 µm or more per mm2 unit area in a transverse cross section parallel to the thickness direction. Therefore, the reference does not expressly teach that the first negative electrode active material layer has a number density of voids having a diameter of 3 µm or more per unit area of less than 200/mm2 and the second negative electrode active material layer has a number density of voids having a diameter of 3 µm or more per unit area of from 200/mm2 to 1500/mm2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the number density of voids having a diameter of 3 µm or more per unit area to less than 200/mm2 in the first negative electrode active material layer and to adjust the number density of voids having a diameter of 3 µm or more per unit area to 200-1500/mm2 in the second negative electrode active material layer through routine optimization. As taught by Hiroki, having a relatively high porosity in the second active material layer promotes the diffusion of lithium ions, improving input characteristics. Additionally, it is well-known in the art that a low porosity of active material results in higher energy density. Based on the teachings of Hiroki, it would be obvious to adjust the amount of ceramic particles used in the second active material layer in order to adjust the number of voids. It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to optimize the porosity of the negative electrode active material layer in order to promote the diffusion of lithium ions while maintaining a high energy density of the battery.
Hiroki is silent to teach the mass density per unit volume of the negative electrode and therefore, does not expressly teach that the mass density per unit volume of the negative electrode active material layer is 1.2 g/cm3 or more.
Tamaki teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a cathode and an anode, wherein the anode has at least two layers: a collector-side active material layer (24a; first active material layer) provided on the anode collector; and a surface-side active material layer (24b; second active material layer) provided on the collector-side active material layer (¶ [0013], Ln. 1-9). The collector-side active material layer (24a; first active material layer) and the surface-side active material layer (24b; second active material layer) are constructed of an anode active material (21) consisting of carbon material (¶ [0053], Ln. 8-9). The specific surface area of the anode active material in the surface-side active material layer (24b; second active material layer) is greater than the specific surface area of the anode active material in the collector-side active material layer (24a; first active material layer) (¶ [0053], Ln. 11-15) and, as shown in Figure 5, the particle size of the anode active material in the surface-side active material layer (24b; second active material layer) is smaller than the particle size of the anode active material in the collector-side active material layer (24a; first active material layer). Tamaki further teaches that the density of the active material layer is approximately 1.0-1.5 g/cm3 (¶ [0062], Ln. 7-10). Specifically, examples 2-1 – 2-6 and 4-1 – 4-6 teach a density of 1.4 g/cm3 (Table 1, Examples 2-1 – 2-6, 4-1 – 4-6). The density is adjusted during the pressing process (¶ [0063], Ln. 20-23) and Tamaki teaches that a density of the active material layers in this range allows for retention of electrolyte (¶ [0062], Ln. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the negative electrode of Hiroki to have a mass density per unit volume between 1.0 and 1.5 g/cm3, such as 1.4 g/cm3, as taught by Tamaki, meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 6. The density adjustment could be made during the compression of the negative electrode. One would be motivated to adjust the density within this range in order to allow for adequate retention of the electrolyte within the electrode.
Hiroki further teaches that the second negative electrode active material layer (22A) contains a second graphite particle group (2) and a ceramic particle group (3) (¶ [0020], Ln. 190-191). The ceramic particle group (3) forms pores (voids) in the second electrode active material layer (22B) (¶ [0021], Ln. 202-203). The ceramic particles form pores because they make it difficult for gaps between the particles of the second negative electrode active material layer (22B) to be crushed during compression of the electrode (¶ [0021], Ln. 202-206). Hiroki does not expressly teach that the second electrode active material layer (22B) includes a thermoplastic resin that is degradable in an oxygen-containing atmosphere at a temperature of 200 °C or more.
Katsushi teaches a negative electrode for a nonaqueous secondary battery wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material, a negative electrode binder, and organic hollow particles having an outer shell made of a thermoplastic resin (¶ [0006], Ln. 60-62). Katsushi teaches that the organic hollow particles introduce voids to the negative electrode active material layer (¶ [0015], Ln. 142-144). Katsushi further teaches that including organic hollow particles in the slurry for the negative electrode results in a secondary battery with excellent cycle characteristics (¶ [0012], Ln 116-119). The particle size of the organic hollow particles is preferably 3.0-10 µm (¶ [0028], Ln. 348-349). The thermoplastic resin is formed by polymerization of a polymerizable monomer component and a crosslinking agent (¶ [0039], Ln. 507-510). The polymerizable monomer is preferably a nitrile-based monomer such as acrylonitrile or methacrylonitrile (¶ [0040], Ln. 516, 521-522) and further includes a monomer other than the nitrile monomer such as a (meth)acrylic acid ester monomer, a carboxyl group-containing monomer, a vinyl ester monomer, or an acrylamide monomer (¶ [0043], Ln. 562-565). Ballisteri teaches that the thermal decomposition of pendant ester groups in methyl acrylate and methyl methacrylate copolymers occurs at 200-260 °C. Additionally, Ballisteri teaches that polyacrylonitrile decomposition fragments are typically detected in the 240-300 °C temperature range (pg. 2835). Based on these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the thermal degradation temperature of the thermoplastic resin of Katsushi is at a temperature above 200 °C. Katsushi also teaches that the organic hollow particles are expanded at a temperature between 90-150 °C, and the maximum expansion temperature is 250 °C (¶ [0034], Ln. 451-456).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second negative electrode active material layer (22B) of Hiroki to include organic hollow particles to form voids in the active material layer as taught by Katsushi. Organic hollow particles serve the same purpose as the ceramic particles taught by Hiroki of forming voids in the active material layer. One would be motivated to use organic hollow particles as taught by Katsushi in order to produce a secondary battery with excellent cycle characteristics.
Hiroki further teaches that the first negative electrode active material layer (22A) contains a first graphite particle group (1; first active material particles) (¶ [0018], Ln. 163-164) and the second negative electrode active material layer (22A) contains a second graphite particle group (2; second active material particles) (¶ [0020], Ln. 190-191). Additionally, Hiroki teaches that graphite particles with a relatively small particle size in the surface layer of a negative electrode active material increases reaction area between electrolyte and the graphite particles, improving input characteristics (¶ [0004], Ln. 27-32). Hiroki teaches that the first graphite particle group has a first average particle diameter “d1” and the second graphite particle group has a second average particle diameter “d2” (¶ [0023], Ln. 228-231), further teaching that d1 and d2 satisfy the relationship 0.8≤d2/d1≤1.13 (¶ [0025], Ln. 244-245). Hiroki teaches that the first average particle size is more than 10 µm and less than 30 µm (¶ [0027], Ln. 257), overlapping the claimed range of more than 10 µm and less than 20 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Using the relationship between d1 and d2, the resulting second average particle size is more than 8 µm and less than 34 µm. Further, Hiroki teaches that improved input characteristics may be achieved when the second average particle size is slightly smaller (¶ [0090], Ln. 746-748). Hiroki does not expressly teach the second average particle size is 4 µm to 7 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second average particle size of Hiroki to try a second average particle diameter very close to the lower range of 8 µm, such as 7 µm, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a second graphite particle group having a slightly smaller average particle size in order to improve the input characteristics.
Regarding claim 3, Hiroki in view of Tamaki and Katsushi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. The relationship between particle size and specific surface area is well-known: the smaller the particle size, the larger the specific surface area. Therefore, as Hiroki teaches a second average particle size that is less than the first average particle size, Hiroki also teaches that the BET specific surface area of the second graphite particle group is more than the BET specific surface area of the first graphite particle group based on the provided average particle size.
Regarding claim 4, Hiroki in view of Tamaki and Katsushi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Additionally, Hiroki teaches that the mass density per unit volume of the second negative electrode active material layer (22B) is less than the mass density per unit volume of the first negative electrode active material layer (22A), as a higher porosity would result in a lower density. Figure 3 shows the first negative electrode active material layer (22A) and the second negative electrode active material layer (22B), and also demonstrates the high porosity of the second negative electrode active material layer (22B). Figure 3, along with the teaching of Hiroki that the second negative electrode active material layer has a relatively high porosity compared to the first negative electrode active material layer due to ceramic particles entering the gaps between the graphite particles and forming voids in the second negative electrode active material layer (¶ [0008], Ln. 69-72), teaches that the second negative electrode active material layer (22B) has a lower mass density per unit volume than the first negative electrode active material layer (22A).
Regarding claim 5, Hiroki in view of Tamaki and Katsushi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Hiroki further teaches that the thickness of the first negative electrode active material layer is 88-111 µm (¶ [0041], Ln. 368-370)) and that the ratio of the thickness (t2) of the second negative electrode active material layer (22B) to the thickness (t1) of the first negative electrode active material layer (22A) is 0.1<(t2/t1)<0.5 (¶ [0039], Ln. 354-355), resulting in a preferred range for the thickness of the second negative electrode active material layer (22B) of 8.8 µm to 55.5 µm, overlapping the claimed range of 10 µm to 40 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 8, Hiroki teaches a non-aqueous secondary battery including a positive electrode, the negative electrode previously referenced, and an electrolyte solution (¶ [0007], Ln. 49-50). Therefore, Hiroki in in view of Tamaki and Katsushi teaches a non-aqueous secondary battery comprising a negative electrode meeting the limitations of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
In light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to further limit the average particle size of the second active material particles, the previous rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroki, et al. (JP 2020095853 A), and further in view of Tamaki, et al. (US PGPub 2013/0004845 A1, cited on IDS) and Katsushi, et al. (WO 2016208480 A1), as evidenced by Ballisteri, A., et al. Thermal Decomposition of Acrylonitrile Copolymers Investigated by Direct Pyrolysis in the Mass Spectrometer Die Makromolekulare Chemie: Macromolecular Chemistry and Physics, Vol 180, no. 12 (1979), pp. 2835-2842 is modified above. Any arguments with respect to the reference that are still deemed valid will be addressed herein.
The Applicant argues, see pages 4-5 of the remarks filed March 30, 2026, that Hiroki does not teach the claimed range of the second active material particle diameter and that it would not be obvious to modify the particle size of Hiroki as the Applicant has demonstrated criticality of the specific limitation. This argument is not persuasive. As described above, Hiroki teaches that the first average particle size is more than 10 µm and less than 30 µm (¶ [0027], Ln. 257), and teaches a relationship between d1 and d2, resulting in a second average particle size of more than 8 µm and less than 34 µm. Further, Hiroki teaches that improved input characteristics may be achieved when the second average particle size is slightly smaller (¶ [0090], Ln. 746-748). Given the range of 8 µm to 34 µm, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the second average particle size of Hiroki to try a second average particle diameter very close to the lower range of 8 µm, such as 7 µm with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a second graphite particle group having a slightly smaller average particle size in order to improve the input characteristics.
With respect to the Applicant’s argument of criticality of the specific limitation, the Applicant points to paragraph [0074] and example No. 3 in Table 2 of the instant specification. While it is acknowledged that paragraph [0074] discloses that the average particle size of the second active material particles is preferably less than the average particle size of the first active material particles, an indication of criticality of average particle size of the second active material particles being 4 µm to 7 µm is not included. Further, in looking to example No. 3 in Table 2, it is noted that the first active material particles have a particle diameter of 16 µm and the second active material particles have a particle diameter of 7 µm. It is noted that the examples in Table 2 including active material particles having a particle size of 7 µm appear to correspond to lower initial resistances when compared to active material particles have a particle size of 16 µm, however, the criticality of the range being 4 µm to 7 µm is not established. The applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range (MPEP 2144.05(III)(A)). As the prior art teaches a lower range of 8 µm, the examples of Table 2 do not establish the criticality of the limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785