DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to amendment filed on 5/26/2026, in which claims 1 – 20 was amended, and claims 1 – 20 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 1 – 20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Remarks
5.1 As per rejection of claim 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as an abstract idea, applicant argues in substances in pages 11 – 15 that the claims are statutory and argues that the limitation of “identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access, wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index ….. load, prior to execution of the database query, the first data records and the second data records into the memory ... filter out third data records from the first table of the database which the user does not have the permission to access ... filter out fourth data records from the second table of the database which the user does not have the permission to access ... execute the join operation on the first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table ... return results, from the execution of the join operation, to the software application” cannot be performed in human mind
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicants’ argument, Examiner respectfully responds that the claim limitation of “identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access, wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index … load, prior to execution of the database query, the first data records and the second data records into the memory ... filter out third data records from the first table of the database which the user does not have the permission to access ... filter out fourth data records from the second table of the database which the user does not have the permission to access ... execute the join operation on the first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table ... return results, from the execution of the join operation, to the software application” can be performed using pen and paper. The process is not different from the act of manually extracting data with user permission from different storage and store the data on another storage which can be accessed by user to obtain relevant information, since data in the storage is limited to data with user permission, user does not have to search through the global storage to determine whether they have access to the data.
5.2 As per amended claim 1, applicants argue in substance in pages 15 – 19 that Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) does not specifically disclose identify first data records within the first table of the database, that the user has permission to access, identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access, wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index, load, prior to execution of the database query, the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access, filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access, execute the join operation first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table, and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application.
In response to applicants’ argument, Examiner respectfully responds that the teaching of Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1), Ma et al (US 2013/0185280 A1), and Arora et al (US 2017/0177888 A1) discloses each and very feature of claim 1 including the features of identify first data records within the first table of the database, that the user has permission to access, identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access, wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index, load, prior to execution of the database query, the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access, filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access, execute the join operation first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table, and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application (Arora: para.[0005], para.[0025], para.[0028], para.[0030], para.[0032], and para.[0035]).
Arora discloses access control in a big data environment (see para.[0005]). An access request is received from a user to access data in a database. The access request includes user id and the query element. An access permission associated with the user is retrieved from the permission table. The access permission indicates row-level, column-level, and table-level which the user has authority to access (see para.[0025]). The query is validated against the syntax of the query which may include query structure and keyword present in the query. Also, access permission of the query is validated against the data table. For access permission with table-level, the user permission is validated against each table of the database to determine whether the user has permission to access the data stored therein (see para.[0032]). Data from each table with user permission is retrieved and stored on the temporary table. The query is executed against the temporary table and outcome of the execution is return to the user (see para.[0035]).
5.3 Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6.1 Claims 1 - 20 are directed are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per claim 1,
Step 1: Claim 1 recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the limitation of
receive, from a software application, a database query associated with a user of the plurality of users (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. observation)).
wherein the database query is further associated with a join operation of a first table of the database and a second table of the database identify first data records, within the first table of the database, that the user has permission to access (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. observation)).
identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access, wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. observation)).
load, prior to execution of the database query the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access; filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. evaluation)).
execute the join operation on the first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. judgement)).
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements of
load, prior to execution of the database query the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access; filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
execute the join operation on the first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application (the step is directed to combining information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine, and conventional activity of preparing data for presentation (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))))).
Although the additional element limits the identified judicial exceptions. The limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element
load, prior to execution of the database query the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access; filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access (this step is directed to organizing information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine, and conventional activity of evaluating data).
execute the join operation on the first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application (the step is directed evaluating and presenting information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, and is well understood, routine, and conventional activity of preparing data for presentation (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))))).
As explained above, the additional element are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to collecting, evaluating, and presenting information are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. The recitation of a computer to perform these limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the index comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, a plurality of columns that represent the plurality of users, a plurality of rows that represent a plurality of ranges of the identifiers (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
and indicators stored within the two-dimensional array of cells which identify the access privileges of the plurality of users (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. organization)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the index comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, a plurality of columns that represent the plurality of users, a plurality of rows that represent a plurality of ranges of the identifiers (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
and indicators stored within the two-dimensional array of cells which identify the access privileges of the plurality of users (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
identify the user based on a user identifier embedded within the database query which is received from the software application. (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
identify the user based on a user identifier embedded within the database query which is received from the software application (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
generate, via a query optimizer, a query plan for the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
generate, via a query optimizer, a query plan for the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
generate a plurality of cost estimates for a plurality of possible query plans of the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index, and select the query plan from among the plurality of possible query plans based on the plurality of cost estimates (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
generate a plurality of cost estimates for a plurality of possible query plans of the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index, and select the query plan from among the plurality of possible query plans based on the plurality of cost estimates (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
execute a maintenance operation on the index and remove one or more columns from the index that comprises all zero values therein (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
execute a maintenance operation on the index and remove one or more columns from the index that comprises all zero values therein (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the index further comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, and the two-dimensional array of cells contain pointers to addresses which store access permissions of the database accessibility rights of the plurality of users (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the index further comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, and the two-dimensional array of cells contain pointers to addresses which store access permissions of the database accessibility rights of the plurality of users (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the index stores more columns of the database accessibility rights for the user than a set of users among the plurality of users, and the set of users excludes the user (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the index stores more columns of the database accessibility rights for the user than a set of users among the plurality of users, and the set of users excludes the user (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 9 – 16 recites a method, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter. As per other analysis, claims 9 - 16 are method claim correspond to apparatus claims 1 — 8 respectively, thus the rationale discussed above regarding claims 1 — 8 are applied to claims 9 - 16 respectively.
Claims 17 - 20 recites a computer-readable storage medium, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter. As per other analysis, claims 17 - 20 are computer-readable storage medium claim correspond to apparatus claims 1 - 4, thus, the rationale discussed above regarding claims 1 - 4 is applied to claims 17 - 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1 – 3, 6, 8 – 11, 14, and 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1), in view of Ma et al (US 2013/0185280 A1), and further in view of Arora et al (US 2017/0177888 A1).
As per claim 1, Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) discloses,
An apparatus, comprising: a memory configured to store an index that comprises identifiers of access privileges for a plurality of users with respect to a database (para.[0013]; “computer systems are also described that may include one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors”, para.[0026]; “repository 110 includes physical storage for the content items ( e.g. optical, magnetic, solid state, or other storage devices)”, and para.[0032]; “user permissions index 310 that correlates or otherwise associates user permissions 220 with those content items maintained in the CMS repository”).
and a processor configured to; receive, from a software application, a database query associated with a user of the plurality of users (para.[0013]; “current subject matter can be implemented by one or more data processors residing in a single computing system” and para.[0031]; “CMS 100 can include features relating to strategic evaluation of permissions of the query originator (e.g. a human user entering query terms into a search box or other user interface element, an application from within which a query is generated”).
Hind does not specifically disclose wherein the database query is further associated with a join operation of a first table of the database and a second table of the database.
However, Ma et al (US 2013/0185280 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the database query is further associated with a join operation of a first table of the database and a second table of the database (para.[0017]; “security tables 170 in the example of FIG. 2 include the four tables shown-ACL_ Object_Identity table 172, ACL_Entry table 174, ACL_Class table 176, andACL_SID table”, para.[0025]; “a query (e.g., a single query) is performed (202). The query 202 includes three join operations ….. joining the second joined table with a second DomainModel-sub-class table based on an ACL security”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate multi-join query of the Ma into secure maintenance of content item of the system of Hind to control access to join record retrieve from different tables of the database based on permission associated with each table, thereby preventing unauthorize access to data table.
Neither Hind nor Ma specifically disclose identify first data records within the first table of the database, that the user has permission to access, identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access, wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index, load, prior to execution of the database query, the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access, filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access, execute the join operation first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table, and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application.
However, Arora et al (US 2017/0177888 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
identify first data records within the first table of the database, that the user has permission to access (para.[0032]; “access permission may be access permission for a user to access data at a table level”).
identify second data records, within the second table of the database, that the user has the permission to access (para.[0032]; “access permission may be access
permission for a user to access data at a table level”).
wherein the first data records and the second data records are identified based on database accessibility rights of the user stored within the index (para.[0025]; “retrieve access permissions from access records database (ARD) 208 for each user ID that submits a query 202. ARD 208 may be a repository for access permissions. The access permissions stored in ARD 208 may indicate row-level, column-level, table-level”).
load, prior to execution of the database query (para.[0030]; “generating a temporary dataset customized based on the user submitting the query”).
the first data records and the second data records into the memory filter out third data records, from the first table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access (para.[0030]; “generating a temporary dataset customized based on the user submitting the query” and para.[0035]; “access permission may indicate that rows for which the user does not have access rights may be filtered from the temporary table ….limit the data appearing in the temporary table to data matching the user permissions”).
filter out fourth data records, from the second table of the database, which the user does not have the permission to access (para.[0030]; “generating a temporary dataset customized based on the user submitting the query” and para.[0035]; “access permission may indicate that rows for which the user does not have access rights may be filtered from the temporary table…. limit the data appearing in the temporary table to data matching the user permissions”).
execute the join operation first data records of the first table and the second data records of the second table (para.[0005]; “system may execute the query against the temporary table to generate a query result based on the temporary table”, para.[0028]; “the query 202 may be executed against the temporary table to generate result 214”, and para.[0035]; “result set generated by running the query against the temporary table”).
and return results from the execution of the join operation to the software application (para.[0022]; “System 200 accepts query 202 from a user or an application” and para.[0035]; “result set generated by running the query against the temporary table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate access permission of the system of Arora into multi-join query of the Ma to maintain permission for each row level which may be difficult to controlled in a big data storage format.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) discloses,
wherein the index further comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, a plurality of columns that represent the plurality of users, a plurality of rows that represent a plurality of ranges of the identifiers, and indicators stored within the two-dimensional array of cells which identify the access privileges of the plurality of users (para.[0032]; “user permissions index 310 that correlates or otherwise associates user permissions 220 with those content items maintained in the CMS repository 110 or managed by the CMS 100 to which the user permissions 220 are applicable”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) discloses,
wherein the processor is further configured to identify the user based on a user identifier embedded within the database query which is received from the software application (para.[0032]; “evaluation of the user permissions index 310 against the user identity 225 can optionally involve searching an ACL index for those ACLs designating the user identity”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) discloses,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute a maintenance operation on the index and remove one or more columns from the index that comprises all zero values therein (para.[0010]; “use of the permissions- corrected summary statistics to calculate faceting relevant to the permissions-filtered results set” and para.[0011]; “merging the current metadata index and the updated content index into a full content
index for the content management system”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) discloses,
wherein the index stores more columns of database accessibility rights for the user than one or more other users among the plurality of users (para.[0008]; “permissions index for permissions granted to the user based on the user identity. The user permissions index can include an access control list index maintained by the search engine”).
Claims 9 – 11, 14, and 16 are method claim corresponding to apparatus claims 1 – 3, 6, and 8 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 1 – 3, 6, and 8 respectively above.
Claims 17 - 19 are computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to apparatus claims 1 - 3 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 1 - 3 respectively above.
8. Claims 4, 7, 12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1), in view of Ma et al (US 2013/0185280 A1), in view of Arora et al (US 2017/0177888 A1), and further in view of Bernstein et al (US 2019/0361897 A1).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate, via a query optimizer, a query plan for the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index.
However, Bernstein et al (US 2019/0361897 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the processor is further configured to generate, via a query optimizer, a query plan for the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index (fig.4 #404; “GENERATE AN EXECUTION PLAN BASED ON THE QUERY AND THE ACCESS CONTROL LIST”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query optimization based on access control of the system of Bernstein into the teaching of Hind, Ma, and Arora to identify and provide efficient mean of processing a query that protects the integrity of the data.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1) does not specifically disclose wherein the index comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, and the cells contain pointers to addresses which store access permissions of database accessibility rights of the plurality of users..
However, Bernstein et al (US 2019/0361897 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the index comprises a two-dimensional array of cells, and the cells contain pointers to addresses which store access permissions of database accessibility rights of the plurality of users (para.[0034]; “a user permissions index that correlates, or otherwise associates, user permissions with those content items maintained in the CMS repository 310 or managed by the CMS 308 to which the user permissions are applicable”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query optimization based on access control of the system of Bernstein into the teaching of Hind, Ma, and Arora to identify and provide efficient mean of processing a query that protects the integrity of the data.
Claims 12 and 15 are method claim corresponding to apparatus claims 4 and 7 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 4 and 7 respectively above.
Claim 20 is a computer-readable storage medium claim corresponding to apparatus claim 4, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claim 4 above.
9. Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1), in view of Ma et al (US 2013/0185280 A1), in view of Arora et al (US 2017/0177888 A1), in view of Bernstein et al (US 2019/0361897 A1), and further in view of Gimbel (US 2012/0036162 A1).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Hind (US 2019/0394208 A1), Ma et al (US 2013/0185280 A1), Arora et al (US 2017/0177888 A1), and Bernstein et al (US 2019/0361897 A1) does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate a plurality of cost estimates for a plurality of possible query plans of the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index, and select the query plan from among the plurality of possible query plans based on the plurality of cost estimates.
However, Gimbel (US 2012/0036162 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the processor is further configured to generate a plurality of cost estimates for a plurality of possible query plans of the database query based on the database accessibility rights of the user stored in the index and select the query plan from among the plurality of possible query plans based on the plurality of cost estimates (para.[0019]; “Different plans are identical in terms of their output, but may differ in terms of their costs, i.e. the amount of time they may require to run. A query optimizer considers the possible query plans for a given input query, and attempts to determine which of those plans will be the most efficient”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate query plan cost estimate of the system of Gimbel into teaching of Bernstein, Ma, and Arora to identify efficient cost of executing a query that improve the speed of retrieving the information.
Claim 13 is a method claim corresponding to apparatus claim 5, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
8/7/2026