Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the sidewall is V-shaped, with a notch communicating with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall” (Claims 2 and 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the sidewall is U-shaped or V-shaped (not shown), with a notch communicating with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall.” Note that it is understood that “the sidewall is U-shaped” as shown in Figs. 1-6, but it is not clearly understood that “the sidewall” could be “a V-shaped (not shown)” because the handle (11) might restrict “a V-shaped scoop.” Moreover, the recitation of “a notch communicating with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall” is confusing and not clearly understood as to how “a notch” communicates “with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall.”
Further, Claim 11 recites “a scoop detachably connected to the litter sieve, comprising: a main body configured to receive the base part; and a hand sleeve part extending from the main body and configured to receive the handle.”
Claim 12 also recites “the main body comprises a lower wall corresponding to and spaced apart from the bottom wall, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from the lower wall and corresponding to the sidewall, with a receiving space formed by the surrounding wall and the lower wall to receive the base part.”
Claim 13 recites “a distance between the lower wall and the bottom wall increases in a direction away from the handle.”
Claim 14 recites “the hand sleeve part has a U-shaped groove to receive the handle.”
It appears that the recitations of “the base part” and “the handle” are confusing since the recited scoop also comprises a main body (30) having a base part (30a) or a lower wall, sidewalls (30a’, back wall (30b), and a handle (31). It is advised that “the base part of the litter sieve,” or ” the handle of the litter sieve” to be fully recited distinguish with the structural elements of the scoop.
Claim 12, which depends on claim 10, recites “the main body comprises a lower wall corresponding to and spaced apart from the bottom wall.”
There is no antecedent basis for “the main body.” Note that “a main body” is recited in claim 11. It appears that claim 12 should depend on claim 11, instead of claim 10. Clarification must be made,
Claims 3-9 and 13 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1 and dependent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 16-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renforth (6,312,029),
RE claims 1 and 16, Renforth (6,312,029) discloses comprising a litter sieve (see Figs. 1-4 and Exhibit A) for collecting used litter, wherein, the litter sieve comprises a base part (see Fig. 1) and a handle (104) extending from the base part, the base part (see Exhibit A), comprising a bottom wall (see Fig. 1) and a sidewall (124) extending upwardly from the bottom wall, with a sieving cavity (102) formed by the sidewall and the bottom wall, the handle (104) connected to the sidewall, wherein, the litter sieve comprises holes (106, 106) penetrating the bottom wall and sized such that the used litter cannot pass through the holes, and at least one guiding rib(s) (108) (See Figs. 2 & 3) and the ribs located between the slots (106, 106), protruding from the bottom wall to the sieving cavity and positioned adjacent to the holes to guide unused litter pellets in the sieving cavity to pass through the holes.
Exhibit A
[AltContent: textbox (Notch)][AltContent: arrow]
RE claims 2 and 17, Fig. 1 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) (see Exhibit A) teaches the sidewall is U-shaped, with a notch communicating with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall.
RE claims 3-7 and 18-20, Figs. 1-4 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) show an array of the holes are configured on the bottom wall and the guiding rib is at least configured between two adjacent holes, wherein the array of the guiding ribs are configured on the bottom wall, with at least one of the holes provided between two adjacent guiding ribs, wherein the holes are elongated-shaped and the guiding ribs extends along a longitude direction of the holes, wherein a row of holes are configured between two adjacent guiding ribs, the guiding rib having a length equal to or less than a row length of the holes, wherein the holes adjacent to the sidewall further extend to and penetrate the sidewall.
RE claims 8 and 9, Fig. 1 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) provides the sidewall comprises a backwall connecting to the bottom wall and the handle, and two wing walls separated by and connected to the backwall wherein the wing walls have a height decreasing in a direction away from the backwall.
RE claim 10, Fig. 1 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) displays the handle (104) includes a through hole (114) at a distal end away from the sidewall.
Claims 1-10 and 16-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myerson (D659916).
RE claims 1 and 16, Myerson (D659916) discloses a litter sieve (see Figs. 1-6 and Exhibit B) for collecting used litter, wherein the litter sieve comprises a base part (see Fig. 1) and a handle (104) extending from the base part, the base part (see Exhibit B), comprising a bottom wall (see Fig. 1) and a sidewall (124) extending upwardly from the bottom wall, with a sieving cavity (102) formed by the sidewall and the bottom wall, the handle connected to the sidewall, wherein, the litter sieve comprises holes penetrating the bottom wall and sized such that the used litter cannot pass through the holes, and at least one guiding rib(s) (See Figs. 1, 5, and 6) and the ribs located between the slots (see Exhibit B), protruding from the bottom wall to the sieving cavity and positioned adjacent to the holes to guide unused litter pellets in the sieving cavity to pass through the holes.
[AltContent: textbox (Opening or hole)]Exhibit B
[AltContent: textbox (handle)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (notch)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (slots or openings)][AltContent: textbox (Protruding ribs between slots or openings )][AltContent: textbox (U-shape wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
RE claims 2 and 17, Fig. 1 of Myerson pet litter sieve (D659916 (see Exhibit B) teaches the sidewall is U-shaped, with a notch communicating with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall.
RE claims 3-7 and 18-20, Figs. 1-6 of Myerson pet litter sieve (D659916 (see Exhibit B) show an array of the holes are configured on the bottom wall and the guiding rib is at least configured between two adjacent holes, wherein the array of the guiding ribs are configured on the bottom wall, with at least one of the holes provided between two adjacent guiding ribs, wherein the holes are elongated-shaped and the guiding ribs extends along a longitude direction of the holes, wherein a row of holes are configured between two adjacent guiding ribs, the guiding rib having a length equal to or less than a row length of the holes, wherein the holes adjacent to the sidewall further extend to and penetrate the sidewall.
RE claims 8 and 9, Fig. 1 of Myerson pet litter sieve (D659916) (see Exhibit B) provides the sidewall comprises a backwall connecting to the bottom wall and the handle, and two wing walls separated by and connected to the backwall wherein the wing walls have a height decreasing in a direction away from the backwall.
RE claim 10, Fig. 1 of Myerson pet litter sieve (D659916) (see Exhibit B) displays the handle which includes a through hole at a distal end away from the sidewall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 16-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) in view of Myerson (D659916).
RE claims 1, 3-7, and 18-20, alternatively, if Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029), as presented above, does not specifically teach at least one guiding rib(s) protruding from the bottom wall to the sieving cavity and positioned adjacent to the holes to guide unused litter pellets in the sieving cavity to pass through the holes, Myerson (D659916) (see Exhibit B) shows at least one guiding rib(s) (See Figs. 1, 5, and 6) and the ribs located between the slots (see Exhibit B), protruding from the bottom wall to the sieving cavity and positioned adjacent to the holes to guide unused litter pellets in the sieving cavity to pass through the holes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide at least one guiding rib or more ribs protruding from the base wall of
Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) as taught by Myerson (D659916) to allow to penetrate the waste and to allow the unwanted liquid and litter to go through the openings or slots.
RE claims 2 and 17, Fig. 1 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) (see Exhibit A) teaches the sidewall is U-shaped, with a notch communicating with the sieving cavity and formed by the sidewall.
RE claims 8 and 9, Fig. 1 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) provides the sidewall comprises a backwall connecting to the bottom wall and the handle, and two wing walls separated by and connected to the backwall wherein the wing walls have a height decreasing in a direction away from the backwall.
RE claim 10, Fig. 1 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) displays the handle (104) includes a through hole (114) at a distal end away from the sidewall.
Claims 11-15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) and Myerson (D659916), and further in view of Berti (D508,760).
Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029), as presented above, does not specifically show a scoop detachably connected to the litter sieve, comprising: a main body configured to receive the base part; and a hand sleeve part extending from the main body and configured to receive the handle, the main body comprises a lower wall corresponding to and spaced apart from the bottom wall, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from the lower wall and corresponding to the sidewall, with a receiving space formed by the surrounding wall and the lower wall to receive the base part, wherein a distance between the lower wall and the bottom wall increases in a direction away from the handle wherein the hand sleeve part has a U-shaped groove to receive the handle. However, Berti (D508,760) shows a scoop (see Exhibit C) having a main body configured to receive the base part; and a hand sleeve part extending from the main body and configured to receive the handle, the main body comprises a lower wall corresponding to and spaced apart from the bottom wall, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from the lower wall and corresponding to the sidewall, with a receiving space formed by the surrounding wall and the lower wall to receive the base part, wherein a distance between the lower wall and the bottom wall increases in a direction away from the handle wherein the hand sleeve part has a U-shaped groove to receive the handle.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a scoop on the Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) as taught by Berti (D508,760) to allow the unwanted liquid and litter to go through the openings or slots of the sieve and collect the waste from the scoop. Exhibit C
Claims 1-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davids (US 2019/0159423) in view of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) and further in view of Myerson (D659916).
Davids (US 2019/0159423) discloses a litter sieve (see Figs. 14-16) comprises a base part (see Fig. 15) and a handle (225) extending from the base part, the base part comprising a bottom wall (see Fig. 15) and a sidewall (226b, 226c) extending upwardly from the bottom wall, with a sieving cavity formed by the sidewall and the bottom wall, the handle connected to the sidewall, wherein the litter sieve comprises holes penetrating the bottom wall and sized such that the used litter cannot pass through the holes, and a scoop (see Fig. 15) detachably connected to the litter sieve (220), comprising: a main body configured to receive the base part; and a hand sleeve part (240) extending from the main body and configured to receive the handle (225), the main body comprises a lower wall corresponding to and spaced apart from the bottom wall, and a surrounding wall extending upwardly from the lower wall and corresponding to the sidewall, with a receiving space formed by the surrounding wall and the lower wall to receive the base part, but does not an array of the holes are configured on the bottom wall and the guiding rib is at least configured between two adjacent holes, wherein the array of the guiding ribs are configured on the bottom wall, with at least one of the holes provided between two adjacent guiding ribs, wherein the holes are elongated-shaped and the guiding ribs extends along a longitude direction of the holes, wherein a row of holes are configured between two adjacent guiding ribs, the guiding rib having a length equal to or less than a row length of the holes, wherein the holes adjacent to the sidewall further extend to and penetrate the sidewall. However,
Figs. 1-4 of Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) show an array of the holes are configured on the bottom wall and the guiding rib is at least configured between two adjacent holes, wherein the array of the guiding ribs are configured on the bottom wall, with at least one of the holes provided between two adjacent guiding ribs, wherein the holes are elongated-shaped and the guiding ribs extends along a longitude direction of the holes, wherein a row of holes are configured between two adjacent guiding ribs, the guiding rib having a length equal to or less than a row length of the holes, wherein the holes adjacent to the sidewall further extend to and penetrate the sidewall. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide slots on the Davids (US 2019/0159423) as taught by Renforth’s pet litter sieve (6,312,029) to allow to go through more and larger litter and liquid to a user.
The modified Davids (US 2019/0159423) still does not show that at least one guiding rib or more ribs protruding from the base wall. However, Myerson (D659916) (see Exhibit B) shows at least one guiding rib(s) (See Figs. 1, 5, and 6) and the ribs located between the slots (see Exhibit B), protruding from the bottom wall to the sieving cavity and positioned adjacent to the holes to guide unused litter pellets in the sieving cavity to pass through the holes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide at least one guiding rib or more ribs protruding from the base wall of Davids (US 2019/0159423)
as taught by Myerson (D659916) to allow to penetrate the waste and to allow the unwanted liquid and litter to go through the openings or slots.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651