DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s argument for claim 1 that Tsai et al. and Hekstra et al. do not teach to detect voltage drop by comparing output current and determining that a sufficient high current indicates significant transmission line loss and a corresponding voltage drop and Hekstra et al. merely teaches correspondence between current values and voltage value but not using such correspondence in a transmission-line power-delivery system to compensate voltage drops between a variable boost device and a remote radio device, as presently claimed. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered but not found persuasive. Examiner’s response set for the below.
Regarding detecting voltage drop based on comparing output current against set of current values, there is no recitation on the claim that how it is determined whether to boost voltage or not based on the comparing output current value. It is not clear on the claim based on what conditions of the output current will determine there is a voltage drop and voltage boosting is needed as argued by the applicant. Rather the claim recites that upon detecting the voltage drop that is the claim is already assuming there is a voltage drop, upon comparison of the output current to range of current values, select a voltage value that corresponds to a current value of the set of one or more current values. The comparison step is performed to find the corresponding voltage for boosting not to detect whether there is voltage drop or not. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the variable boost device detects the plant-voltage drop by comparing the output current and determining that a sufficiently high current indicates significant transmission-line loss and a corresponding voltage drop) are not recited in the rejected claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim does not recite any limitation defining how the comparison of the output current value to the range of current values indicate or determine whether there is voltage drop in the transmission line. As such Tsai et al. teaches comparing an output current against a set of one or more current values, selecting, upon detecting the voltage drop and by the variable boost device, a voltage value that corresponds to a current value of the set of one or more current values.
Applicant argued Hekstra et al. merely teaches correspondence between current values and voltage value but not using such correspondence in a transmission-line power-delivery system to compensate voltage drops between a variable boost device and a remote radio device, as presently claimed. Examiner relied on Hekstra et al. to teach the concept of correspondence between the current values and voltage values as conceded by the applicant but not to teach the newly amended limitation compensating the voltage drop caused by the transmission line. Cited prior art of record Fischer teaches a power compensator compensating for voltage losses that occur over power cable during power transmission as taught in [0016] and [0017]. However the details of comparing output current to current values and selecting voltage value corresponding to a current value of current ranges for voltage boosting where each current value has corresponding voltage value are not taught by Fishcer but taught by combination of Tsai, Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. Therefore combination of Fishcer,Tsai, Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach transmission-line power-delivery system to compensate voltage drops between a variable boost device and a remote radio device as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4,13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Fischer (US 20190289541 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160004285 A) and Zlotnik et al. (US 11,815,926 B1) and Hekstra et al. (US
20120019506 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Fischer teaches, a method for boosting a plant voltage
using a variable boost device (voltage booster 226, [0019] and [0020]) located
at a bottom of a tower (tower 102, [0012] and [0013]) that supplies power through a
transmission line (power cable, [0012] and [0018]) to a radio device located at a top
of the tower (remote radio unit at the top of tower, [0012] and [0013]), comprising:
compensating the voltage drop caused by the transmission line (power compensator to compensate for such voltage losses that occur over the power cable-transmission line, [0016] and [0017]);
repeating the steps (1)-(3)1 (at regular intervals, the voltage boost analysis module receives electrical current data to determine boost voltage for that interval and repeating the process of determination at every interval, [0032] and [0033]).
Fischer does not teach the details of (1) detecting, by the variable boost device, a
voltage drop between the variable boost device and the radio device comparing an
output current against a set of one or more current values, wherein the set of one or
more current values represents a range of currents, wherein different current values in
the set of one or more current values corresponds to different respective voltage values for compensating the voltage drop caused by the transmission line; (2) selecting upon detecting the voltage drop and by the variable boost device, a voltage value that corresponds to a current value of the set of one or more current values; (3)
setting, by the variable boost device, an output voltage of the variable boost device to
match the selected voltage value. However Fischer explicitly teaches in [0024]-[0026]
and [0032] that based on electrical current data received from the sensor at intervals
are analyzed to determine the corresponding voltage boost value for that interval.
On the other hand Tsai et al. teaches, (1) comparing an output current
against a set of one or more current values (the power supply current IS is compared
with a range of current values among a set of range of current values of the determining
circuit plus power generator for each intervals, [0022], [0027], [0028] and [0033]),
wherein the set of one or more current values represents a range of currents (set of current ranges, R11-R13, R14-R15 and more at each interval, [0022],[0027] and [0028]);
(2) selecting, by the variable boost device (the determining circuit and power
generator together works as the voltage boost device boosting the voltage of the VSUP
which powers the host device via power bus, [0027], [0028] and [0034], a voltage value
that corresponds to a current value of the set of one or more current values (when
it is determined that the supply current is within the range, corresponding voltage boost
value for that range is selected to boost the voltage of VSUP2. In a set of current values,
each current value of the set corresponds to a same voltage value meaning each current value on the set has one to one correspondence to the same voltage value for
voltage boosting. Another obvious variation is to have different voltage values that is each value of current will have one to one correspondence to each different voltage value3, [0022],[0027] and [0028];
(3) setting, by the variable boost device (the determining circuit and power
generator together works as the voltage boost device, [0027],[0028] and [0034]), an
output voltage of the variable boost device to match the selected voltage value
(adjusting the voltage of VSUP to power the host device with adjusted/boosted voltage
using the determining circuit and power generator together. Also at different time
intervals, the voltage boosting process is repeated to provide sufficient voltage to the
host device, [0037]).
Fischer and Tsai et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage for a component.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for
boosting voltage using variable boost device located at a bottom of a tower performing
electrical current data analysis by applying the known concept of comparing electrical
current of the power signal with one or more current ranges of the variable boost device
and selecting and setting the corresponding voltage value to the variable boost device
as taught by Tsai et al. to yield predictable results of automatically boosting output voltage of the variable boost device to meet system requirement as taught by Tsai et al. in [0046].
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer and Tsai et al. teach the details of
detecting, by the variable boost device, a voltage drop between the variable boost
device and the radio device and upon detecting the voltage drop and wherein different current values in the set of one or more current values corresponds to different respective voltage values. However the claim does not recite how the voltage drop is detected. There is no limitation defining how the voltage drop is related to the output current value compared to a current value in the set of one or more current values corresponding to different voltage values.
Zlotnik et al. teaches, detecting, by the variable boost device, a voltage drop
between the variable boost device and the radio device (the voltage management
circuit (variable boost device) determines the drop in voltage across the computing
component (radio device powered by the variable boost device in view of Fischer)
based on sensed sensor signals and based on the determined voltage drop, the voltage management circuit provides boosted/modified voltage and or current signal to the
computing component that is necessary to remediate the voltage drop to maintain
regular component operation, Col.9 lines 66-67 and Col.10 lines 1-16);
upon detecting the voltage drop ("....Once the voltage management circuitry
213 determines the worst voltage drop4 and/or the worst JR drop from the circuit area
portions 258 and/or from the computing components 257, the voltage management
circuitry 213 can transfer one or more signals (e.g., voltage management control
signals) to the voltage regulator 252 to cause the voltage regulator 252 to supply a
modified voltage signal on the voltage signal line 221. In some embodiments, the voltage management control signals can comprise digital signals that include
information indicating an amount of voltage and/or current that is necessary5 to
remediate the detected worst voltage drop ... ", Col.10 lines 4-15).
Fischer, Tsai et al. and Zlotnik et al. are analogous arts because they are from
the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for component/s when
needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for boosting plant voltage by using variable boost device supplying power to a radio device as taught by combination of Fischer and Tsai et al. by applying the known technique of providing an modified/boosted voltage and or current to the computing component (radio device in view of Fischer) based on voltage drop detected by the variable boost
device across the computing component as taught by Zlotnik et al. to yield predictable results of providing boosted voltage and or current to the radio device (computing component) that is necessary to remediate the detected voltage drop to maintain regular component operation as taught by Zlotnik et al. in Col.10 lines 15-16.
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al. and Zlotnik et al. teach
wherein different current values in the set of one or more current values corresponds to
different respective voltage values. In view of [0027], [0028] and [0022]) of Tsai et al., in a set of current values, each current value of the set corresponds to a same voltage value meaning each current value on the set has one to one correspondence to the same voltage value for voltage boosting. Another obvious variation is to have different voltage values that is each value of current will have one to one correspondence to each different voltage value6.
Upon further consideration, Hekstra et al. teaches, wherein different current values in the set of one or more current values corresponds to different respective voltage values (look up tables establish the relationship between each current value (each value different from another) with corresponding voltage value (each value different from another) as taught by [0037] and [0026]).
Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. are analogous arts because
they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for
component/s when needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the to modify the method for
boosting plant voltage based on detected voltage drop by using variable boost device
supplying power to a radio device where the voltage for boosting is selected based on
comparing measured current to a set of current values and picking a corresponding voltage for boosting as taught by combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. by
applying the known technique of comparing the current with individual current values
and each individual current value has individual corresponding voltage value (each
different from another and corresponding to respective current values) as taught by
Hekstra et al. to yield predictable results of boosting by specific voltage for each specific current thus reducing excess voltage loss and power loss as taught by Hekstra et al. in [0023].
Regarding claim 2 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra
et al. teach the method according to claim 1. In addition Tsai et al. teaches, wherein
the set of one or more current values is preset or given by a user of the variable
boost device (the predetermined current ranges for each interval (set of one or more
current values) are preset and stored in the host 220 and power supply, [0024]).
Regarding claim 4 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra
et al. teach the method according to claim 1. In addition Fischer teaches, wherein the
respective voltage value is based on a voltage value that is calculated according
to a resistance of the transmission line (the voltage boost is determined based on
resistance of the power cable-transmission line, [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra
et al. teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable boost
device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage
implementing the functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed above in
claim 1.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, combination of Fischer and Tsai et al. teach the
claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable boost device. Therefore
together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage implementing the
functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed above in claims 2 and 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20190289541 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160004285 A) and Zlotnik et al. (US 11,815,926 B1) and Hekstra et al. (US 20120019506 A1) and in further view of Huang et al. (US 20190229548 A1).
Regarding claim 5 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra
et al. teach the method according to claim 4. In addition Fischer teaches, the voltage value that is calculated according to the resistance of the transmission line (the
boost voltage is determined based on power cable/transmission line resistance and
supply voltage, [0028]).
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and
Hekstra et al. teach the details of the respective voltage value is equal to a sum of the
plant voltage and the voltage value that is calculated according to the resistance of the
transmission line.
However Fischer et al. explicitly teaches in [0028] that the boost voltage is
determined based on transmission line resistance and adjusts the output voltage of the
voltage booster in as taught in [0018] and [0019]. There are two ways the output voltage
can be boosted, either by summing the determined boost voltage value with original
supply voltage or replacing the supply voltage of the power signal with the determined
voltage boost value.
On the other hand Huang et al. teaches, the respective voltage value is
equal to a sum of the plant voltage and the voltage value that is calculated
according to the resistance of the transmission line (electronic device receiving
power from a charging power supply adjusts the charging voltage by summation of
initial constant voltage (supply voltage) and voltage determined based of
resistance/impedance of the charging or power path/line (boost voltage determined
based on resistance of the transmission line), [0016]).
Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et al. and Huang et al. are analogous
arts because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or
current for component/s when needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for
boosting voltage using variable boost device located at a bottom of a tower as taught by
combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al.by applying the
known concept of adjusting/boosting the voltage by summing the supply voltage with
the determined boost voltage as the total boost voltage value as taught by Huang
et al. to yield predictable results of boosting the voltage of the power supply to provide sufficient power to the host/remote device.
Regarding claim 17, combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et
al. and Huang et al. teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a
variable boost device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for
boosting plant voltage implementing the functional limitations of the claimed method as
discussed above in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20190289541 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160004285 A) and Zlotnik et al. (US 11,815,926 B1) and Hekstra et al. (US20120019506 A1) and in further view of Zhang (US 20240204735 A1).
Regarding claim 6 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra
et al. teach the method according to claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and
Hekstra et al. teach the details of wherein the selected voltage value is larger than a
maximal power signal voltage of the radio device.
Zhang teaches, the selected voltage value is larger than a maximal power
signal voltage of the radio device (the boost circuit boosts the output voltage to be
greater than the maximum input voltage of the smart PA device (radio device in view of
Fischer), to maintain normal working condition of the device without any loss in power,
[0129]).
Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et al. and Zhang are analogous arts
because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or
current for component/s when needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the boost voltage
value to the radio device as taught by combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al.
and Hekstra et al. by applying the known technique of boosting the voltage by a value
larger than the maximum voltage of the device as taught by Zhang to yield predictable results of boosting the voltage value to provide sufficient power to the device.
Regarding claim 18, combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et
al. and Zhang teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable
boost device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage implementing the functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed
above in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-12 are allowed. Reason for allowance for claims 7-12 were provided in
the previous office action mailed on 09/17/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 8/6/26
1 Also Tsai et al. teaches in [0043], at regular intervals, the voltage boosting process is performed based on current comparison.
2 VSUP powers the host device via power supply bus.
3 It will be obvious to try to choose from a finite number of identified predictable solutions such as one to one correspondence between each current value to the same voltage for a range of current values or one to one correspondence between each current value to a different voltage value for a range of current value with a reasonable expectation of success of selecting a voltage value corresponding to the current value for voltage boosting. MPEP.2143.I.(E).
4 Voltage drop detected variable boost device.
5 Boosted voltage signal.
6 It will be obvious to try to choose from a finite number of identified predictable solutions such as one to one correspondence between each current value to the same voltage for a range of current values or one to one correspondence between each current value to a different voltage value for a range of current value with a reasonable expectation of success of selecting a voltage value corresponding to the current value for voltage boosting. MPEP.2143.I.(E).