DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant argued neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al. and Zlotnitk et al. teach the details of wherein each current value in the set of one or more
current values corresponds to a respective voltage value. Applicant argued Tsai teaches in [0024], [0027] and [0028] teach that current value group including different current ranges corresponds to a voltage value instead of corresponding voltage value for each current value and selecting the corresponding voltage value for voltage boosting. All the above arguments are considered but in moot in view of newly cited reference Hekstra et al. in combination with cited prior arts of record Fischer, Tsai et al. and Zlotnitk et al. Newly cited prior art of record Hekstra et al. explicitly teaches in [0037] and [0026] that there are tables with corresponding current values with corresponding voltage values that is each current value has each corresponding voltage value instead of group of current values corresponding to a single voltage value1 and based on current value, corresponding voltage value is selected from the table which can be used to perform voltage boost in view of [0026] and also in view of Tsai et al.. Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for component/s when needed. Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the to modify the method for
boosting plant voltage based on detected voltage drop by using variable boost device supplying power to a radio device where the voltage for boosting is selected based on comparing measured current to a set of current values and picking a corresponding voltage for boosting as taught by combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. by applying the known technique of comparing the current with individual current values and each individual current value has individual corresponding voltage value (each different from another and corresponding to respective current values) as taught by Hekstra et al. as an improvement to voltage boosting to yield predictable results of boosting by specific voltage for each specific current thus reducing excess voltage loss and power loss as taught by Hekstra et al. in [0023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4,13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20190289541 A 1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160004285 A ) and Zlotnik et al. (US 11,815,926 B1) and Hekstra et al. (US 20120019506 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Fischer teaches, a method for boosting a plant voltage
using a variable boost device (voltage booster 226, [0019] and [0020]) located at a bottom of a tower (tower 102, [0012] and [0013]) that supplies power through a
transmission line (power cable, [0012] and [0018]) to a radio device located at a top
of the tower (remote radio unit at the top of tower, [0012] and [0013]), comprising:
repeating the steps (1 )-(3) ( at regular intervals, the voltage boost analysis module receives electrical current data to determine boost voltage for that interval and repeating the process of determination at every interval, [0032] and [0033]).
Fischer does not teach the details of (1) detecting, by the variable boost device, a
voltage drop between the variable boost device and the radio device comparing an
output current against a set of one or more current values, wherein the set of one or more current values represents a range of currents, wherein each current value in the set of one or more current values corresponds to a respective voltage value; (2) selecting upon detecting the voltage drop and by the variable boost device, a voltage value that corresponds to a current value of the set of one or more current values; (3) setting, by the variable boost device, an output voltage of the variable boost device to match the selected voltage value. However Fischer explicitly teaches in [0024]-[0026] and [0032] that based on electrical current data received from the sensor at intervals are analyzed to determine the corresponding voltage boost value for that interval.
On the other hand Tsai et al. teaches, (1) comparing an output current
against a set of one or more current values (the power supply current IS is compared
with a range of current values among a set of range of current values of the determining
circuit plus power generator for each intervals, [0022], [0027], [0028] and [0033]),
wherein the set of one or more current values represents a range of currents (set
of current ranges, R11-R13, R14-R15 and more at each interval, [0022],[0027] and
[0028]);
(2) selecting, by the variable boost device (the determining circuit and power
generator together works as the voltage boost device boosting the voltage of the VSUP
which powers the host device via power bus, [0027], [0028] and [0034], a voltage value
that corresponds to a current value of the set of one or more current values (when
it is determined that the supply current is within the range, corresponding voltage boost
value for that range is selected to boost the voltage of VSUP2. In a set of current values, each current value of the set corresponds to a same voltage value meaning each current value on the set has one to one correspondence to the same voltage value for voltage boosting. The claim limitation does not recite that a voltage value for corresponding current value has to be different from another voltage value corresponding to another current value in the set of current values, [0027], [0028] and
[0022]);
(3) setting, by the variable boost device (the determining circuit and power
generator together works as the voltage boost device, [0027],[0028] and [0034]), an
output voltage of the variable boost device to match the selected voltage value (adjusting the voltage of VSUP to power the host device with adjusted/boosted voltage
using the determining circuit and power generator together. Also at different time
intervals, the voltage boosting process is repeated to provide sufficient voltage to the
host device, [0037]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for
boosting voltage using variable boost device located at a bottom of a tower performing
electrical current data analysis by applying the known concept of comparing electrical
current of the power signal with one or more current ranges of the variable boost device
and selecting and setting the corresponding voltage value to the variable boost device
as taught by Tsai et al. as an improvement to variable boost device to yield predictable
results of automatically boosting output voltage of the variable boost device to meet
system requirement as taught by Tsai et al. in [0046].
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer and Tsai et al. teach the details of
detecting, by the variable boost device, a voltage drop between the variable boost
device and the radio device and upon detecting the voltage drop and wherein each current value in the set of one or more current values corresponds to a respective voltage value. Now where on the claim it recites the corresponding voltage value has to be different from another corresponding voltage value. Therefore Tsai thus teaches each current value corresponds to a corresponding voltage value or the same voltage value.
Zlotnik et al. teaches, detecting, by the variable boost device, a voltage drop
between the variable boost device and the radio device (the voltage management
circuit (variable boost device) determines the drop in voltage across the computing
component (radio device powered by the variable boost device in view of Fischer)
based on sensed sensor signals and based on the determined voltage drop, the voltage
management circuit provides boosted/modified voltage and or current signal to the computing component that is necessary to remediate the voltage drop to maintain
regular component operation, Col.9 lines 66-67 and Col.10 lines 1-16);
upon detecting the voltage drop (" ... Once the voltage management circuitry
213 determines the worst voltage drop3 and/or the worst JR drop from the circuit area
portions 258 and/or from the computing components 257, the voltage management
circuitry 213 can transfer one or more signals (e.g., voltage management control
signals) to the voltage regulator 252 to cause the voltage regulator 252 to supply a
modified voltage signal on the voltage signal line 221. In some embodiments.
the voltage management control signals can comprise digital signals that include
information indicating an amount of voltage and/or current that is necessary4 to
remediate the detected worst voltage drop ... ", Col.10 lines 4-15).
Fischer, Tsai et al. and Zlotnik et al. are analogous arts because they are from
the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for component/s when
needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for boosting plant voltage by using variable boost device supplying power to a radio device as taught by combination of Fischer and Tsai et al. by applying the known technique of providing an modified/boosted voltage and or current to the computing component (radio device in view of Fischer) based on voltage drop detected by the variable boost device across the computing component as taught by Zlotnik et al. as an improvement
to the operation of variable boost device to yield predictable results of providing boosted voltage and or current to the radio device (computing component) that is necessary to
remediate the detected voltage drop to maintain regular component operation as taught
by Zlotnik et al. in Col.10 lines 15-16.
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al. and Zlotnik et al. teach wherein each current value in the set of one or more current values corresponds to a respective voltage value. In view of [0027], [0028] and [0022]) of Tsai et al., in a set of current values, each current value of the set corresponds to a same voltage value meaning each current value on the set has one to one correspondence to the same voltage value for voltage boosting.
Upon further consideration, Hekstra et al. teaches, wherein each current value in the set of one or more current values corresponds to a respective voltage value (look up tables establish the relationship between each current value with corresponding voltage value (each value different from another) as taught by [0037] and [0026]).
Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for component/s when needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the to modify the method for
boosting plant voltage based on detected voltage drop by using variable boost device supplying power to a radio device where the voltage for boosting is selected based on comparing measured current to a set of current values and picking a corresponding voltage for boosting as taught by combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. by applying the known technique of comparing the current with individual current values and each individual current value has individual corresponding voltage value (each different from another and corresponding to respective current values) as taught by Hekstra et al. as an improvement to voltage boosting to yield predictable results of boosting by specific voltage for each specific current thus reducing excess voltage loss and power loss as taught by Hekstra et al. in [0023].
Hekstra et al. teach:
[0037] Referring to FIG. 6, the power estimation circuit 636 estimates a first voltage value V1indicative of the voltage drop Vload in FIG. 1 according to the estimated first current value Iload, and estimates a second voltage value V2 indicative of the maximal display voltage Voled according to the estimated second current value Ioled. In an embodiment, the power estimation circuit 636 includes two look-up tables 636a and 636b. The power estimation circuit 636 determines the first value V1according to the first value Iload and the look-up 636a, and determines the second value V2 according to the second value Ioled and the look-up 636b. In accordance with the resistive relationship between voltages and currents, i.e. V=R*I, the first voltage value V1 and the second voltage value V2 can be obtained in a manner of using multipliers each containing a gain indicative of the resistive relationship between voltage and current. To take nonlinear effect into account, conversion of voltage and current in this embodiment can be implemented as look-up tables which contain voltage values and current values establishing the corresponding relationship between voltages and currents5, i.e. V=LUT(I). In a practical example, the look-up tables 636a and636b can be obtained from experimental results and designed to meet different requirements.
Regarding claim 2 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the method according to claim 1. In addition Tsai et al. teaches, wherein the set of one or more current values is preset or given by a user of the variable boost device (the predetermined current ranges for each interval (set of one or more current values) are preset and stored in the host 220 and power supply, [0024]).
Regarding claim 4 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the method according to claim 1. In addition Fischer teaches, wherein the respective voltage value is based on a voltage value that is calculated according to a resistance of the transmission line (the voltage boost is determined based on
resistance of the power cable-transmission line, [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable boost device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage
implementing the functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed above in
claim 1.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, combination of Fischer and Tsai et al. teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable boost device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage implementing the
functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed above in claims 2 and 4.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20190289541 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160004285 A) and Zlotnik et al. (US 11,815,926 B1) and Hekstra et al. (US 20120019506 A1) and in further view of Huang et al. (US 20190229548 A1).
Regarding claim 5 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the method according to claim 4. In addition Fischer teaches, the voltage value that is calculated according to the resistance of the transmission line (the boost voltage is determined based on power cable/transmission line resistance and supply voltage, [0028]).
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the details of the respective voltage value is equal to a sum of the plant voltage and the voltage value that is calculated according to the resistance of the transmission line.
However Fischer et al. explicitly teaches in [0028] that the boost voltage is determined based on transmission line resistance and adjusts the output voltage of the voltage booster in as taught in [0018] and [0019]. There are two ways the output voltage can be boosted, either by summing the determined boost voltage value with original supply voltage or replacing the supply voltage of the power signal with the determined voltage boost value.
On the other hand Huang et al. teaches, the respective voltage value is
equal to a sum of the plant voltage and the voltage value that is calculated
according to the resistance of the transmission line (electronic device receiving
power from a charging power supply adjusts the charging voltage by summation of
initial constant voltage (supply voltage) and voltage determined based of resistance/impedance of the charging or power path/line (boost voltage determined
based on resistance of the transmission line), [0016]).
Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et al. and Huang et al. are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for component/s when needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for
boosting voltage using variable boost device located at a bottom of a tower as taught by combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al.by applying the known concept of adjusting/boosting the voltage by summing the supply voltage with the determined boost voltage as the total boost voltage value as taught by Huang
et al. as an improvement to voltage boosting to yield predictable results of
boosting the voltage of the power supply to provide sufficient power to the host/remote
device via transmission cables.
Regarding claim 17, combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et al. and Huang et al. teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable boost device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage implementing the functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed above in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 20190289541 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20160004285 A) and Zlotnik et al. (US 11,815,926 B1) and Hekstra et al. (US 20120019506 A1) and in further view of Zhang (US 20240204735 A1).
Regarding claim 6 combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the method according to claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. teach the details of wherein the selected voltage value is larger than a maximal power signal voltage of the radio device.
Zhang teaches, the selected voltage value is larger than a maximal power
signal voltage of the radio device (the boost circuit boosts the output voltage to be
greater than the maximum input voltage of the smart PA device (radio device in view of
Fischer), to maintain normal working condition of the device without any loss in power,
[0129]).
Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et al. and Zhang are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor that is boosting voltage and or current for component/s when needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the boost voltage
value to the radio device as taught by combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al. and Hekstra et al. by applying the known technique of boosting the voltage by a value larger than the maximum voltage of the device as taught by Zhang an improvement to boosting voltage to yield predictable results of boosting the voltage value to provide sufficient power to the device.
Regarding claim 18, combination of Fischer, Tsai et al., Zlotnik et al., Hekstra et al. and Zhang teach the claimed method for boosting a plant voltage using a variable boost device. Therefore together they teach a variable boost device for boosting plant voltage implementing the functional limitations of the claimed method as discussed above in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-12 are allowed. Reason for allowance for claims 7-12 were provided in the previous office action mailed on 09/17/2025.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukuzumi et al. (US 20180066597 A1) teaches a vehicle engine control system having voltage boosting circuit units boosting voltage based on measured current when needed to perform engine specific operations as recited in [0248].
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Now where on the claim it recites the corresponding voltage value has to be different from another corresponding voltage value. Therefore Tsai thus teaches each current value corresponds to a corresponding voltage value or the same voltage value. However in view applicant’s argument, Hekstra et al. teaches each current value has corresponding voltage value, each voltage value different from another as taught in [0037].
2 VSUP powers the host device via power supply bus
3 Voltage drop detected variable boost device.
4 Boosted voltage signal.
5 Corresponding voltage value for corresponding current value instead of same voltage value for set of current values.