DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/24/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1, 7, 16, and 21 has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Thus, claims 1 and 5-23 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabi et al (US 2006/0076320) in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabi discloses a welding device, comprising:
a body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) configured to route power;
a first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) and a first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12) formed on the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body, the first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) configured to receive a shielding gas;
a first channel (Fig. 1 #10 gas supply path) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) and connecting the first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) and the first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12);
a second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) and a second outlet (Fig. 1 #7 cooling power cable joint) formed on the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body), the second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) configured to receive a coolant;
a second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) and connecting the second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) with the second outlet (Fig. 1 #7 cooling power cable joint), the second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) having a convoluted portion (Shown in the figure below) comprising a plurality of segments configured to increase a proportion of the second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) relative to the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body).
However, Watanabi does not disclose wherein the plurality of segments includes a plurality of linear segments and a plurality of arcuate segments, at least one of the arcuate segments encircling at least a portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet and at least one of the arcuate segments being spaced from and not encircling any portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet.
Nonetheless, Enyedy in the same field of endeavor being fluid cooled welding devices teaches wherein the plurality of segments includes a plurality of linear segments and a plurality of arcuate segments, at least one of the arcuate segments encircling at least a portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet and at least one of the arcuate segments being spaced from and not encircling any portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet (Shown in the figures below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow path of the cooling channel of Watanabi by incorporating the plurality of segments including a plurality of linear segments and a plurality of arcuate segments, at least one of the arcuate segments encircling at least a portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet and at least one of the arcuate segments being spaced from and not encircling any portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Watanabi.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabi discloses a welding device, comprising:
a body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) configured to route power;
a first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) and a first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12) formed on the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body, the first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) configured to receive a shielding gas;
a first channel (Fig. 1 #10 gas supply path) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) and connecting the first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) and the first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12);
a second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) and a second outlet (Fig. 1 #7 cooling power cable joint) formed on the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body), the second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) configured to receive a coolant;
a second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) and connecting the second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) with the second outlet (Fig. 1 #7 cooling power cable joint), the second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) having a convoluted portion (Shown in the figure below) comprising a plurality of segments configured to increase a proportion of the second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) relative to the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body).
However, Watanabi does not disclose wherein a first segment lies in a first plane parallel to a bottom surface of the body and a second segment lies in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane, thus being configured to maximize the proportion of the second channel relative to the body.
Nonetheless, Enyedy teaches wherein a first segment lies in a first plane parallel to a bottom surface of the body and a second segment lies in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane (Shown in the figure below), thus being configured to maximize the proportion of the second channel relative to the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second segments of the second channel of Watanabi by incorporating the first segment lying in a first plane parallel to a bottom surface of the body and the second segment lying in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane, , since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Watanabi.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), and Watanabi teaches wherein the first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12) includes a plurality of splayed segments (Fig. 1 #13 orifices) connected to the first channel (Fig. 1 #10 gas supply path), configured to disburse the shielding gas received by the first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 8), and Watanabi teaches wherein the first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12) is configured for coupling with a diffuser cup (Fig. 1 #3 ceramic plate).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Enyedy teaches further comprising: an input port (Top opening of Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) and an output port (Bottom opening of Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) formed on the body, and a third channel (Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) extending through the body for housing an electrically insulated power line, the third channel (Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) connecting the input port (Top opening of Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) and the output port (Bottom opening of Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding device of Watanabi in view Enyedy of by incorporating inlet port, outlet port, and channel as taught by Enyedy for the benefit of providing a passage for the welding electrode.
Regarding claim 15, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach manufactured using an additive manufacturing process.(Examiner considers the limitation “manufactured using an additive manufacturing process” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113; Furthermore, Matsubara teaches that a welding torch body can be formed by 3D printing using chrome copper material in the fourth paragraph of the DESCRCIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS.)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabi et al (US 2006/0076320) in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Jusionis et al (US 5,710,403).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the plurality of arcuate segments forms a serpentine segment.
Nonetheless, Jusionis in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches wherein the plurality of arcuate segments forms a serpentine segment (Claim 2 ---" An orbital weldhead as defined in claim 1 wherein the coolant flow channel cooperatively formed by the electrode plate and body comprises a serpentine channel machined in a mating face of the electrode plate and a resilient seal surrounding the periphery of the machined surface and engaged between the mating surface of the electrode and a corresponding mating surface of the body.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling channel of Watanabi in view of Enyedy by incorporating the serpentine shape of the cooling channel as taught by Jusionis for the benefit of simplifying the design and maintainability of the weldhead. (Jusionis Col. 4 lines 23-26)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabi et al (US 2006/0076320) in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hanebuth et al (US 2015/0246409).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the plurality of arcuate segments forms a spiral segment or a helical segment.
Nonetheless, Hanebuth in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches wherein the plurality of arcuate segments forms a spiral segment or a helical segment ([0017] lines 6-11 ---" More homogeneous cooling can be achieved by a volute separating wall, since, as a result of the spiral-shaped cooling channel, the "cold" cooling medium flowing in the direction of the closure element makes it possible for the electrode holder, in particular its shell, to be cooled on all sides.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling channel of Watanabi in view of Enyedy by incorporating the spiral shape of the cooling channel as taught by Hanebuth for the benefit of more homogeneous cooling.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabi et al (US 2006/0076320) in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798) as applied to claim 9, in view of Kleppen et al (US 4,788,401).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabi in view of Enyedy teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 9), but does not teach wherein the first inlet comprises a first solder fitting and the second inlet comprises a second solder fitting.
Nonetheless, Kleppen in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches wherein the first inlet comprises a first solder fitting and the second inlet comprises a second solder fitting (Col. 3 lines 40-50 ---" This torch has a head portion, generally shown at 4, and a side arm 6, the latter being truncated in the drawings. The side arm carries any fluid supply and/or return lines and also serves as an electrical conductor to the electrode. In the version shown here, tube 8 acts as a cooling water inlet for the torch head while tube 10 serves as a water return line. Tube 12 conducts an inert gas, such as argon or helium to the torch head. These three lines are typically brazed or hard-soldered into a copper or brass header, not shown, for connection to a power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding device of Watanabi in view of Enyedy by incorporating the soldering of the first and second inlets as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of securing the cooling and shielding gas inputs to the welding head.
Regarding claim 11, Watanabi in view of Enyedy and Kleppen teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), and Kleppen teaches wherein the first outlet further comprises a torch collet (Fig 2 #42 split collet) configured for holding an electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding device of Watanabi in view of Enyedy and Kleppen by incorporating the collet as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of firmly retaining the electrode. (Kleppen Col. 4 lines 26-29)
Regarding claim 12, Watanabi in view of Enyedy and Kleppen teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 11), and Kleppen teaches wherein the body comprises a conductive material (Col. 33 lines 48-50 ---" These three lines are typically brazed or hard-soldered into a copper or brass header, not shown, for connection to a power source.”) configured to route the power directly through the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding device of Watanabi in view of Enyedy and Kleppen by incorporating body made of a conductive material as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of connecting the electrode to a power source.
Regarding claim 13, Watanabi in view of Enyedy and Kleppen teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 12), and Kleppen teaches wherein the conductive material is copper (Col. 33 lines 48-50 ---" These three lines are typically brazed or hard-soldered into a copper or brass header, not shown, for connection to a power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding device of Watanabi in view of Enyedy and Kleppen by incorporating body made of a copper material as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of connecting the electrode to a power source.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tullius et al (US 2023/0003325) in view of Matsubara et al (JP 6853409).
Regarding claim 16, Tullius discloses a method of manufacturing a welding device using a 3D printer, comprising:
printing successive layers of a material to form a three-dimensional body having a first inlet, a first outlet, a second inlet, and a second outlet ([0023] lines 18-22 ---" More specifically, layer by layer manifold 10 is manufactured using an SLA additive manufacturing process with each layer being added (or grown) in a direction that is parallel with a central axis of each of orifice 18, 20, 22, and 24.”),
the plurality of layers including:
a first subset of adjoining layers each having respective first spaces devoid of the material, for defining a first channel (Fig. 1 #30 second fluid input line and Fig. 1 #32 second fluid output line) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #10 manifold) for pathing a shielding gas, the first channel (Fig. 1 #30 second fluid input line and Fig. 1 #32 second fluid output line) connecting the first inlet (Fig. 1 #20 second fluid input orifice) and the first outlet (Fig. 1 #24 second fluid output orifice),
and a second subset of adjoining layers each having respective second spaces devoid of the material, for defining a second channel (Fig. 1 #28 first fluid input line and Fig. 1 #32 first fluid output line) for pathing a coolant, the second channel extending through the body (Fig. 1 #10 manifold) and connecting the second inlet (Fig. 1 #18 first fluid input orifice) and the second outlet (Fig. 1 #22 first fluid output orifice), the second channel (Fig. 1 #28 first fluid input line and Fig. 1 #32 first fluid output line) having a convoluted portion comprising a plurality of segments (Fig. 1 #54 plurality of bends) configured to increase a proportion of the second channel (Fig. 1 #28 first fluid input line and Fig. 1 #32 first fluid output line) relative to the body (Fig. 1 #10 manifold).
However, Tullius does not explicitly teach the amount of layers and explicit layers existing with the claimed structure; wherein at least one portion of the second channel overlies at least one portion of the first channel but the respective portions are separated by an intervening region of the material.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tullius to form the first and second subsets of adjoining layers each having respective first and second spaces devoid of the material by adjusting the thickness of the adjoining layers to form the first and second channels, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Furthermore, Matsubara in the same field of endeavor being fluid cooled welding devices teaches wherein at least one portion of the second channel overlies at least one portion of the first channel (The second channel overlies the first channel in the x-plane.) but the respective portions are separated by an intervening region of the material (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacture of Tullis by incorporating the at least one portion of the second channel overlies at least one portion of the first channel but the respective portions are separated by an intervening region of the material, , since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Tullis.
Claim(s) 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tullius et al (US 2023/0003325) in view of Matsubara et al (JP 6853409) as applied to claim 16, in view of Kleppen et al (US 4,788,401).
Regarding claim 17, Tullius in view of Matsubara teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 16), but does not teach wherein the material is a conductive material.
Nonetheless, Kleppen in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches wherein the body comprises a conductive material (Col. 33 lines 48-50 ---" These three lines are typically brazed or hard-soldered into a copper or brass header, not shown, for connection to a power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tullius in view of Matsubara by incorporating the body made of a conductive material as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of connecting the electrode to a power source.
Regarding claim 19, Tullius in view of Matsubara and Kleppen teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 17), and Kleppen teaches wherein the conductive material comprises metal (Col. 33 lines 48-50 ---" These three lines are typically brazed or hard-soldered into a copper or brass header, not shown, for connection to a power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tullius in view of Matsubara and Kleppen by incorporating the body made of a conductive material made of a metal as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of connecting the electrode to a power source.
Regarding claim 20, Tullius in view of Kleppen teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 19), and Kleppen teaches wherein the conductive material comprises copper (Col. 33 lines 48-50 ---" These three lines are typically brazed or hard-soldered into a copper or brass header, not shown, for connection to a power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tullius in view of Kleppen by incorporating the body made of a conductive material made of copper as taught by Kleppen for the benefit of connecting the electrode to a power source.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tullius et al (US 2023/0003325) in view of Matsubara et al (JP 6853409) and Kleppen et al (US 4,788,401) as applied to claim 17, further in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798).
Regarding claim 18, Tullius in view of Matsubara and Kleppen teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 17), and Tullius teaches wherein printing the successive layers of the material to form the three-dimensional body further comprises forming an input port and an output port on the body ([0023] lines 18-22 ---" More specifically, layer by layer manifold 10 is manufactured using an SLA additive manufacturing process with each layer being added (or grown) in a direction that is parallel with a central axis of each of orifice 18, 20, 22, and 24.”),
However, Tullius in view of Matsubara and Kleppen does not teach the plurality of layers further comprising: a third subset of adjoining layers each having respective third spaces for defining a third channel extending through the body between the input port and the output port, the third channel configured for housing an electrically insulated power line.
Nonetheless, Enyedy in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches the plurality of layers further comprising:
a third subset of adjoining layers each having respective third spaces for defining a third channel (Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) extending through the body between the input port (Top opening of Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) and the output port (Bottom opening of Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber), the third channel (Fig. 3 #100 inner chamber) configured for housing an electrically insulated power line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tullius in view of Matsubara and Kleppen by incorporating forming of the inlet port, outlet port, and channel as taught by Enyedy for the benefit of providing a passage for the welding electrode.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabi et al (US 2006/0076320) in view of Raj et al (US 10,662,529) and Matsubara et al (JP 6853409).
Regarding claim 21, Watanabi discloses a welding device, comprising:
a body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) configured to route power;
a first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) and a first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12) formed on the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body, the first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) configured to receive a shielding gas;
a first channel (Fig. 1 #10 gas supply path) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) and connecting the first inlet (Fig. 1 #8 gas hose joint) and the first outlet (Fig. 1 #12a openings of the inner gas space 12);
a second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) and a second outlet (Fig. 1 #7 cooling power cable joint) formed on the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body), the second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) configured to receive a coolant;
a second channel (Fig. 1 #9 water path) extending through the body (Fig. 1 #1 torch body) and connecting the second inlet (Fig. 1 #6 cooling power cable joint) with the second outlet (Fig. 1 #7 cooling power cable joint).
However, Watanabi does not disclose the first channel having a first portion extending from the first inlet in a first direction and a second portion extending from the first portion to the first outlet in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction; the second channel having a first U-shaped portion that extends around the second portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet, wherein the second portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet extends perpendicular to a plane of the first U-shaped portion.
Nonetheless, Raj which solves the same problem of minimizing heat within a processing block using cooling channels teaches the first channel having a first portion (Fig. 3 #324 first portion) extending from the first inlet (Fig. 3 #332 side coolant port) in a first direction and a second portion (Fig. 3 #322 second portion) extending from the first portion (Fig. 3 #324 first portion) to the first outlet (Shown in the figure below) in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first channel of Watanabi by incorporating the first channel having a first portion extending from the first inlet in a first direction and a second portion extending from the first portion to the first outlet in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction, , since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Watanabi.
Furthermore, Matsubara in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches that the cross-sectional shape, meandering shape, and the like of the cooling water flow path can be altered based on the need for cooling capacity (Page 4 para. 3 and Page 5 para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second channel of Watanabi to incorporate a first U-shaped portion that extends around the second portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet, wherein the second portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet extends perpendicular to a plane of the first U-shaped portion, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Matsubara.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabi et al (US 2006/0076320) in view of Raj et al (US 10,662,529) and Matsubara et al (JP 6853409) as applied to claim 21, further in view of Falla et al (US 10,709,006).
Regarding claim 22, Watanabi in view of Raj and Matsubara teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 21), but does not teach wherein the second channel further comprises a second U-shaped portion and a third U-shaped portion.
Nonetheless, Falla in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches wherein the second channel further comprises a second U-shaped portion and a third U-shaped portion (See the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second channel of Watanabi in view of Raj and Matsubara by incorporating the second and third U-shaped portions as taught by Falla for the benefit of extending the cooling channel throughout the welding device to capture more excess heat during operation.
Regarding claim 23, Watanabi in view of Raj, Matsubara, and Falla teaches the welding device as appears above (see the rejection of claim 22), but does not teach wherein the second U-shaped portion lies in a plane perpendicular to the plane of the first U-shaped portion and the third U-shaped portion lies in a plane parallel to the plane of the first U-shaped portion.
Nonetheless, Matsubara in the same field of endeavor being welding devices, teaches that the cross-sectional shape, meandering shape, and the like of the cooling water flow path can be altered based on the need for cooling capacity (Page 4 para. 3 and Page 5 para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second channel of Watanabi in view of Raj, Matsubara, and Falla to incorporate the second U-shaped portion laying in a plane perpendicular to the plane of the first U-shaped portion and the third U-shaped portion laying in a plane parallel to the plane of the first U-shaped portion, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Matsubara.
Response to Arguments
For claim 7:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 03/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach wherein a first segment lies in a first plane parallel to a bottom surface of the body and a second segment lies in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane, thus being configured to maximize the proportion of the second channel relative to the body. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, prior art reference Enyedy teaches wherein a first segment lies in a first plane parallel to a bottom surface of the body and a second segment lies in a second plane perpendicular to the first plane, thus being configured to maximize the proportion of the second channel relative to the body. See the rejection of claim 7.
For claim 1:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 03/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Enyedy et al (US 6,495,798).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the plurality of segments includes a plurality of linear segments and a plurality of arcuate segments, at least one of the arcuate segments encircling at least a portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet and at least one of the arcuate segments being spaced from and not encircling any portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, prior art reference Enyedy teaches the plurality of segments includes a plurality of linear segments and a plurality of arcuate segments, at least one of the arcuate segments encircling at least a portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet and at least one of the arcuate segments being spaced from and not encircling any portion of the first channel adjacent the first outlet. See the rejection of claim 1.
For claim 16:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 03/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matsubara et al (JP 6853409).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach at least one portion of the second channel overlies at least one portion of the first channel but the respective portions are separated by an intervening region of the material. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, Matsubara teaches at least one portion of the second channel overlies at least one portion of the first channel but the respective portions are separated by an intervening region of the material. See the rejection of claim 16.
For claim 21:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 21-22, filed 03/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Raj et al (US 10,662,529).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the first channel having a first portion extending from the first inlet in a first direction and a second portion extending from the first portion to the first outlet in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, Raj teaches the first channel having a first portion extending from the first inlet in a first direction and a second portion extending from the first portion to the first outlet in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction. See the rejection of claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761