DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/26/2025 has been received and claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 13 of Claim 1, insert --of-- after “size”;
in line 10 of Claim 8, insert --of-- after “size”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “structural components” and “lighting components” in claim 1; “structural components” and “lighting components” in claim 8; “structural components” and both instances of “lighting component” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 3, it is not clear what “a second size” and “a second type” of the one or more lighting components are attempting to set forth or indicate.
In Claim 10, it is not clear what “a second size” and “a second type” of the plurality of lighting components are attempting to set forth or indicate.
The effective filing date of the claimed inventions are 1/11/2022 with respect to the parent application 17/573,617.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 21-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benin (11116857) in view of He (CN209790439U).
As to Claim 1, Benin (‘857) discloses a device (100; 400) configured to sanitize an object (122; 422) (see Figures 1A-1H and 3A-4H) , comprising:
a housing (i.e. body of 100) including a first door (106) and a second door (106) that is adjacent to the first door (106), that are disposed on a same side (i.e. on 104) of the housing (see (see Figures 1A and 1D-1E)), and that, when in an open configuration, provide access to an interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) of the device (100) (see Figures 1D-1E), the first door (106) and the second door (106), when in a closed configuration, causing the housing to enclose an entirety of the object (122) within the interior cavity (see Figures 1A and 1F-1G);
one or more structural components (116, 120), disposed within the interior cavity (see Figures 1A-1B and 1F-1G), that are in contact with, or that support, the object (122) such that the object (122) remains in a fixed position while the object (122) is within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1F-1G, Col. 6 lines 61-64);
one or more lighting components (118), disposed within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) (see Figures 1B and 1H), that emit light toward the object (122) to sanitize the object (122), the first door (106) and the second door (106) being a non-opaque material that prevents the light from exiting the housing when the first door (106) and the second door (106) are in the closed configuration (see Figures 1F-1G) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 66-67, Col. 7 lines 5-8);
a reflective surface disposed directly on multiple interior surfaces of multiple interior walls, including a first interior surface of the first door and a second interior surface of the second door, an interior floor, and an interior ceiling within the interior cavity of the housing of the device (100) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30. Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64), the reflective surface reflecting the light emitted by the one or more lighting components (118) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30, Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64); and
a power source configured to supply electric power to the one or more lighting components (118) (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 58-63).
Benin (‘857) does not appear to specifically teach that the one or more lighting components (118) are rotatable, to adjust a direction in which the light is emitted towards the object, based at least in part on at least one of a size of the object, a shape of the object, or a type of the object.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more lighting components that are in a device configured to sanitize an object. He (‘439) discloses a device configured to sanitize an object (see Figures 1-3), comprising:
a housing (4, 6, 25) includes one or more doors (see Figure 2) that, when in an open configuration, provide access to an interior cavity of the device (see entire document, particularly Figure 1);
one or more structural components (9, 19), disposed within the interior cavity, that are in contact with, or that support, the object (see Figure 1);
one or more lighting components (7, 8, 18, 29-34), disposed within the interior cavity (i.e. within 6), that emit light toward the object to sanitize the object, the one or more lighting components (18) being rotatable (via 29-34), to adjust a direction in which the light is emitted towards the object (see entire document, particularly Figure 3), based at least in part on at least one of a size the object, a shape of the object, or a type of the object, or a distance between the one or more lighting components (7, 8, 18, 29-34) and the object; and
a power source configured to supply electric power to the one or more lighting components (18, 29-34) (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 – 5th – 6th lines from the bottom),
in order to adjust the irradiation position of the one or more lighting components (see English translation, p. 5 lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more lighting components that are rotatable in the device of Benin as known components of a sanitizing device in order to adjust irradiation position of the one or more lighting components for radiation sterilizing process/treatment as shown by He.
As to Claim 2, Benin (‘857) discloses that the device further comprises a control means disposed on one of the surfaces of the device (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 lines 24-26). He (‘439) also discloses that the device further comprises a control panel (28), disposed on an exterior surface (see Figure 2), that is used to control one or more operations associated with the device.
While neither Benin (‘857) or He (‘439) appears to specifically teach that the control panel is disposed on an exterior surface of at least one of the first door or the second door, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control panel at any desired location such as on an exterior surface of the first door or second door in the device of Benin as modified by He as a known alternate configuration/placement as a matter of engineering choice. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 3, the one or more operations in the device of Benin as modified by He is capable of being relate to activating and deactivating the one or more lighting components and specifying a duration of time in which the one or more lighting components emit the light, the duration of time being based at least in part on a second size of the one or more lighting components, a second type of the one or more lighting components, a frequency or wavelength of the light emitted by the one or more lighting components, and a distance between the one or more lighting components and the object.
As to Claim 4, Benin (‘857) discloses that the one or more structural components (116) includes a platform on which the object (122) is placed upon (see Figures 1B-1G).
As to Claim 5, Benin (‘857) discloses that the housing (i.e. body of 100) is made of a rigid material (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A-1G and 3A-4A, Col. 4 lines 52-56).
As to Claim 6, Benin (‘587) discloses that the one or more lighting components (118) include multiple ultraviolet (UV) lamps that emit UV light or multiple ultraviolet-C (UVC) lamps that emit UVC light (see entire document, particularly Figures 1B-1G, Col. 2 lines 10-11 and 63-65, Col. 7 line 4), and wherein the multiple UV lamps or the multiple UVC lamps (118) are affixed to side surfaces within the interior cavity (see Figures 1B-1G and 3A-4G)
As to Claim 7, Benin (‘857) discloses that the reflective surface is disposed on each side surface within the interior cavity (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30, Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64).
As to Claim 8, Benin (‘857) discloses a device (100; 400) configured to sanitize an object (122; 422) (see Figures 1A-1H and 3A-4H) , comprising:
a housing (i.e. body of 100) including one or more doors (106) that, when in an open configuration, provide access to an interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) of the device (100) (see Figures 1D-1E), the one or more doors (106), when in a closed configuration, causing the housing to enclose an entirety of the object (122) within the interior cavity (see Figures 1A and 1F-1G);
one or more structural components (116, 120), disposed within the interior cavity (see Figures 1A-1B and 1F-1G), that support the object (122) such that the object (122) remains in a fixed position while the object (122) is within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1F-1G, Col. 6 lines 61-64);
a plurality of lighting components (118), disposed at different locations within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) (see Figures 1B and 1F-1H), that emit light toward the object (122) to sanitize the object (122) when the one or more doors (106) are in the closed configuration (see Figures 1F-1G) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 66-67, Col. 7 lines 5-8), the one or more doors (106) being a non-opaque material that prevents the light from exiting the housing when the one or more doors (106) are in the closed configuration (see Figures 1F-1G) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 66-67, Col. 7 lines 5-8);
a reflective surface disposed directly on multiple interior surfaces of multiple interior walls, including one or more interior surfaces of the one or more doors (106), within the interior cavity of the housing of the device (100) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30. Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64), the reflective surface reflecting the light emitted by the plurality of lighting components (118) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30, Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64); and
a power source configured to supply electric power to the plurality of lighting components (118) (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 58-63).
Benin (‘857) does not appear to specifically teach that plurality of lighting components (118) are rotatable, to adjust a direction in which the light is emitted towards the object, based at least in part on at least one of a size of the object, a shape of the object, or a type of the object.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more lighting components that are in a device configured to sanitize an object. He (‘439) discloses a device configured to sanitize an object (see Figures 1-3), comprising:
a housing (4, 6, 25) includes one or more doors (see Figure 2) that, when in an open configuration, provide access to an interior cavity of the device (see entire document, particularly Figure 1);
one or more structural components (9, 19), disposed within the interior cavity, that are in contact with, or that support, the object (see Figure 1);
one or more lighting components (7, 8, 18, 29-34), disposed within the interior cavity (i.e. within 6), that emit light toward the object to sanitize the object, the one or more lighting components (18) being rotatable (via 29-34), to adjust a direction in which the light is emitted towards the object (see entire document, particularly Figure 3), based at least in part on at least one of a size the object, a shape of the object, or a type of the object, or a distance between the one or more lighting components (7, 8, 18, 29-34) and the object; and
a power source configured to supply electric power to the one or more lighting components (18, 29-34) (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 – 5th – 6th lines from the bottom),
in order to adjust the irradiation position of the one or more lighting components (see English translation, p. 5 lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more lighting components that are rotatable in the device of Benin as known components of a sanitizing device in order to adjust irradiation position of the one or more lighting components for radiation sterilizing process/treatment as shown by He.
As to Claim 9, Benin (‘857) discloses that the device further comprises a control panel/means disposed on one of exterior surfaces of the housing, that is used to control one or more operations associated with the device (100) (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 lines 24-26).
He (‘439) also discloses that the device further comprises a control panel (28), disposed on an exterior surface (see Figure 2), that is used to control one or more operations associated with the device.
As to Claim 10, the one or more operations in the device of Benin as modified by He is capable of being relate to activating and deactivating the plurality of lighting components and specifying a duration of time in which the plurality of lighting components emit the light, the duration of time being based at least in part on a second size of the plurality of lighting components, a second type of the plurality of lighting components, a frequency or wavelength of the light emitted by the plurality of lighting components, and a distance between the plurality of lighting components and the object.
As to Claim 11, Benin (‘857) discloses that the one or more structural components (116) includes a platform on which the object (122) is placed upon (see Figures 1B-1G).
As to Claim 12, Benin (‘857) discloses that the housing (i.e. body of 100) is made of a rigid material (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A-1G and 3A-4A, Col. 4 lines 52-56).
As to Claim 13, while Benin (‘857) does not appear to specifically teach that the housing (i.e. body of the device 100) is made of a semi-rigid material, as it was well known in the art that any material may be utilized to construct a housing of a device, it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize any suitable material such as a semi-rigid material for producing the housing in the device of Benin as a matter of engineering choice. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 15, Benin (‘857) discloses that the reflective surface is disposed on each side surface within the interior cavity, an interior surface of the one or more doors (106) and a top surface within the interior cavity (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30, Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64).
As to Claim 21, Benin (‘857) discloses a device (100; 400) configured to sanitize an object (122; 422) (see Figures 1A-1H and 3A-4H) , comprising:
a housing (i.e. body of 100) including one or more doors (106) that, when in an open configuration, provide access to an interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) of the device (100) (see Figures 1D-1E), the one or more doors (106), when in a closed configuration, causing the housing to enclose an entirety of the object (122) within the interior cavity (see Figures 1A and 1F-1G);
one or more structural components (116, 120), disposed within the interior cavity (see Figures 1A-1B and 1F-1G), that support the object (122) such that the object (122) remains in a fixed position while the object (122) is within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1F-1G, Col. 6 lines 61-64);
a first lighting component (118), disposed at a first position within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100), that emit first light toward the object (122) to sanitize the object (122) (see Figures 1B and 1F-1H);
a second lighting component (118), disposed at a second position within the interior cavity (i.e. within the body of 100) that is different than the first position, that emit second light toward the object (122) (see Figures 1B and 1F-1H), the one or more doors (106) being a rigid non-opaque material that prevents the first light and the second light from exiting the housing when the one or more doors (106) are in the closed configuration (see Figure 1F-1G) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 66-67, Col. 7 lines 5-8);
a reflective surface disposed directly on multiple interior surfaces of multiple interior walls, including one or more interior surfaces of the one or more doors (106), within the interior cavity of the housing of the device (100) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30. Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64), the reflective surface reflecting the first light emitted by the first lighting components (118) and the second light emitted by the second lighting components (118) (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30, Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64); and
a power source configured to supply electric power to the first lighting component (118) and the second lighting component (118) (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 58-63).
Benin (‘857) does not appear to specifically teach that the first and second lighting components (118) are rotatable, to adjust a direction in which the light is emitted towards the object, based at least in part on at least one of a size of the object, a shape of the object, or a type of the object.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more lighting components that are in a device configured to sanitize an object. He (‘439) discloses a device configured to sanitize an object (see Figures 1-3), comprising:
a housing (4, 6, 25) includes one or more doors (see Figure 2) that, when in an open configuration, provide access to an interior cavity of the device (see entire document, particularly Figure 1);
one or more structural components (9, 19), disposed within the interior cavity, that are in contact with, or that support, the object (see Figure 1);
one or more lighting components (7, 8, 18, 29-34), disposed within the interior cavity (i.e. within 6), that emit light toward the object to sanitize the object, the one or more lighting components (18) being rotatable (via 29-34), to adjust a direction in which the light is emitted towards the object (see entire document, particularly Figure 3), based at least in part on at least one of a size the object, a shape of the object, or a type of the object, or a distance between the one or more lighting components (7, 8, 18, 29-34) and the object; and
a power source configured to supply electric power to the one or more lighting components (18, 29-34) (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 – 5th – 6th lines from the bottom),
in order to adjust the irradiation position of the one or more lighting components (see English translation, p. 5 lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more lighting components that are rotatable in the device of Benin as known components of a sanitizing device in order to adjust irradiation position of the one or more lighting components for radiation sterilizing process/treatment as shown by He.
As to Claim 22, Benin (‘857) discloses that the reflective surface is disposed on each side surface within the interior cavity, an interior surface of the one or more doors (106), and a top surface within the interior cavity (see entire document, particularly Col. 2 lines 64-65, Col. 4 lines 26-30, Col. 5 lines 27-32, Col. 10 lines 46-64).
As to Claim 24, Benin (‘857) discloses that the object (122) is situated at a location within the interior cavity see Figures 1F-1G);
the first position of the first lighting component (118) is to a first side of the location (see Figures 1F-1H); and
the second position of the second lighting component (118) is to a second side of the location that is opposite the first side (see Figures 1F-1H).
As to Claim 25, Benin (‘857) discloses that the first lighting component (118) and the second lighting component (118) emit the first light and the second light only when the one or more doors (106) are in the closed configuration in which access to the interior cavity is restricted (see entire document, particularly Figures 1F-1G, Figure 2 – steps 210 and 212, Figure 5C – steps 536, 537, 539; Col. 2 lines 66-67, Col. 7 lines 5-8).
Thus, Claims 1-13, 15, 21-22 and 24-25 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Benin (‘857) and He (‘439).
Claim(s) 2, 14, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benin (11116857) in view of He (CN209790439U) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 21 above, and further in view of Starkweather (20170340760).
Benin (‘857) and He (‘439) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to Claim 2, Benin (‘857) discloses that the device further comprises a control means disposed on one of the surfaces of the device (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 lines 24-26). He (‘439) also discloses that the device further comprises a control panel (28), disposed on an exterior surface (see Figure 2), that is used to control one or more operations associated with the device.
However, neither Benin (‘857) or He (‘439) appears to specifically teach that the control panel is disposed on an exterior surface of at least one of the first door or the second door,
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an exterior surface of at least one door of a device for sanitizing an object. Starkweather (‘760) discloses a device (100; 200) configured to sanitize an object (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0032] – last 2 lines), comprising:
a housing (110, 112, 114, 116, 117, 118; 210, 212, 214, 216, 219) including one or more doors (117, 118; 219) that, when in an open configuration (see Figures 1A, 1C, 1F-1H and 3A-3B), provide access to an interior cavity (115; 215) of the device (100; 200), the one or more doors (117, 118; 219), when in a closed configuration , causing the housing to enclose an entirety of the object within the interior cavity (115; 215) (see Figures 1B and 3A-3B);
one or more structural components (142, 143), disposed within the interior cavity (115), that are in contact with, or that support, the object (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A, 1C and 1G-1I, p. 6 [0037]);
a plurality of lighting components (122a-d; 222a-c), disposed within the interior cavity (115; 215), that emit light toward the object to sanitize the object, the one or more doors (117, 118; 219) being a non- opaque material that prevents the light from exiting the housing when the one or more doors (117, 118; 219) are in the closed configuration (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0028], p. 5 [0032], p. 7 [0044]);
a reflective surface (120a-d; 220a-c) disposed directly on one or more multiple interior surfaces (110a, 112a, 114a, 116a, 117a, 118a) of one or more multiple interior walls within the interior cavity (115; 215) of the housing of the device (100; 200) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0028], p. 7 [0040] and [0042]-[0043]), the reflective surface (120a-d; 220a-c) reflecting the light emitted by the one or more lighting components (122a-d);
a power source configured to supply electric power to the plurality of lighting components (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0055]-[0056]); and
a control panel (150; 250), disposed on an exterior surface of the one or more doors (117; 219) (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0048] – line 4 where the front wall is the door (see p. 4 [0028] – line 9), that is used to control one or more operations associated with the device (100; 200) (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0048]);
wherein the reflective surface (120a-d; 220a-c) is disposed on each side surface (110a, 112a, 118a) within the interior cavity (115), an interior surface (117a) of the one or more doors (117), and a top surface (114a) within the interior cavity (115) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A-1H and 2B-3B, p. 3 [0012] – 4th – 7th lines from the bottom, p. 4 [0028], p. 5 [0032], p. 6 [0039]),
in order to receive and process user input to control and/or monitor at least one function of the device (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0048] – last 4 lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control panel on an exterior surface of at least one door in the device of Benin as modified by He as a known alternate configuration in order to provide receive and process user input to control/monitor at least one function of the device as shown by Starkweather.
As to Claim 14, Starkweather (‘760) discloses that the plurality of lighting components (122a-d; 222a-c) include multiple ultraviolet (UV) lamps that emit UV light or multiple ultraviolet-C (UVC) lamps that emit UVC light (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A, 1C-1D, and 1F-1I, p. 4 [0030], p. 7 [0041]-[0042]), and wherein the multiple UV lamps or the multiple UVC lamps (122a-d) are affixed to side surfaces (110, 112, 117, 118) and a top interior surface (114) within the interior cavity (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A, 1C-1D, and 1F-1I, p. 4 [0028]).
As to Claim 23, Starkweather (‘760) discloses that:
the object is situated at a location (e.x. on 142, 143) within the interior cavity (115; 215) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1A-1C, 1G and 2F, p. 5 [0032]);
the first position of the first lighting component (122c) is above (i.e. on 114) the location (see entire document, particularly Figures 1D and 1F, p. 4 [0028]); and
the second position of the second lighting component (122d) is below (i.e. on 116) the location (see entire document, particularly Figures 1G-1I, p. 4 [0028]).
Thus, Claims 2, 14 and 23 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Benin (‘857), He (‘439), and Starkweather (‘760).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references relate either to the field of the invention or subject matter of the invention, but are not relied upon in the rejection of record: WO2022069183 (a rotatable lighting component).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758