DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0120019 A1 to Chen et al. (hereinafter referred to as Chen’019) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0034459 A1 to Qiu (hereinafter referred to as Qiu’459) and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0177391 A1 to Qiu (hereinafter referred to as Qiu’391).
As to claim 1, Chen’019 teaches a cross-chain collaborative governance system, for collaborative service and control governance on cross-chain interoperation between application subchains in a cross-chain alliance, the cross-chain alliance comprising a first application subchain (First Subchain 104) arranged in a first blockchain network (First Mechanism 108) and a second application subchain subchain (Second Subchain 106) arranged in a second blockchain network (Second Mechanism 110), the cross-chain collaborative governance system comprising:
a cross-chain access application layer configured to provide the first application subchain and the second application subchain with access to the cross-chain collaborative governance system (Cross-Chain Mechanisms 208/218 paragraphs 0027-0031); and
a credible cross-chain governance layer configured to operate a governance chain comprising a first governance node associated with the first application subchain (Nodes 109) and a second governance node associated with the second application subchain (Nodes 111) and
perform control governance on the cross-chain interoperation between the first application subchain and the second application subchain (Cross-Chain Mechanisms 208/218 paragraphs 0027-0031) (“…The first subchain 104 represents a logical grouping of nodes 109 within the large-scale decentralized network 100. The node grouping may be based on the needs of an application being run on the nodes 109 in the first subchain 104. For example, in FIG. 1, a first mechanism 108 for executing blockchain transactions is deployed among a group of nodes 109 in the first subchain 104. The first mechanism 108 may be a smart contract deployed in the public blockchain system like Bitcoin and Ethereum, and the nodes 109 in the first subchain 104 may be coordinated to perform certain blockchain tasks through, for example, a consensus mechanism or protocol. The consensus protocol typically takes a round-robin or randomized approach, where each node 109 associated with the subchain 104 has equal weight to determine which node will generate the new, next block in the blockchain for the subchain. The nodes 109 associated with the subchain 104 could change over the time, with some nodes leaving the subchain and new ones joining…In addition to executing blockchain transactions, the first mechanism 108 may include other mechanisms that implement a communication protocol between the first subchain 104 and the second subchain 106 that allows the nodes 109 of the first subchain to submit a message to the second subchain. The message may be, for example, a transaction request, a transaction reply, or a conveyer of information. To this end, and with reference to FIG. 2, the first mechanism 108 may include a processing mechanism 202, a construction mechanism 204, a sending mechanism 206, and a cross-chain mechanism 208 with a nodelist mechanism 210…” paragraphs 0024-0025).
Chen’019 is silent with reference to a credible cross-chain collaborative layer configured to deploy a first collaborative service program in the first blockchain network and a second collaborative service program in the second blockchain network, and establish communication connection between the first collaborative service program and the second collaborative service program that facilitates cross-chain interoperation between the first application subchain and the second application subchain, the governance chain comprising a blockchain distinct from the first blockchain network and the second blockchain network, and
establish communication connection between the first collaborative service program and the first governance node and communication connection between the second collaborative service program and the second governance node
Qiu’459 teaches a credible cross-chain collaborative layer configured to deploy a first collaborative service program (Different service nodes provide services for different applications (APPs)/payment application/catering application) and a second collaborative service program i(Different service nodes provide services for different applications (APPs) )/payment application/catering application), and establish communication connection between the first collaborative service program and the second collaborative service program that facilitates cross-chain interoperation between the first application subchain and the second application subchain (communication request), the governance chain comprising a blockchain distinct from the first blockchain network and the second blockchain network (“... …” paragraph 0079) and
establish communication connection between the first collaborative service program and the first governance node and communication connection between the second collaborative service program and the second governance node (communication request) (“…FIG. 1 is an architectural diagram illustrating a consortium blockchain network. As shown in FIG. 1, the solid circles are consensus nodes, and the hollow circles are service nodes. Different service nodes provide services for different applications (APPs). The service node sends service data generated by the APP to the consensus node for consensus verification. Assuming that a service node is a server corresponding to a catering application, and another service node is a server corresponding to a payment application. A user can pay through the payment application after ordering through an APP corresponding to the catering application; the two service nodes participate in a same service and can register a service relationship shown in FIG. 1 with the consortium blockchain network…When both the first blockchain node and the second blockchain node are service nodes, the first blockchain node that receives the communication request verifies the second blockchain node that sends the communication request. If the first blockchain node has a mapping relationship with the second blockchain node, it indicates that the first blockchain node and the second blockchain node participate in a same service, and the first blockchain node can establish a communication connection to the second blockchain node. However, if the first blockchain node does not have a mapping relationship with the second blockchain node, it indicates that the first blockchain node and the second blockchain node participate in different services, and the first blockchain node can refuse to establish a communication connection to the second blockchain node. It should be noted that the previous execution logic can be pre-configured in a communication program installed on each blockchain node…” paragraph 0005/0031/0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen’019 with the teaching of Qiu’459 because the teaching of Qiu’459 would improve the system of Chen’019 by providing a technique establishing communication between varying domains to allows for seamless communication.
Qiu’391 teaches the governance chain comprising a blockchain distinct (third blockchain network/fourth blockchain network) from the first blockchain network and the second blockchain network (“…It can be understood that it is possible that the relay is connected to more than two blockchain networks, for example, it is possible that the relay is further connected to a third blockchain network and a fourth blockchain network. As such, a process in which the relay sends data based on the identifier of the second blockchain network after receiving the first data and the first location information is a process in which the relay addresses a receiving blockchain network based on a receiving blockchain identifier…” paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen’019 and Qiu’459 with the teaching of Qiu’391 because the teaching of Qiu’391 would improve the system of Chen’019 and Qiu’459 by providing a cloud or federated blockchain network that allows for concurrent access to heterogenous services.
As to claim 4, Chen teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the credible cross-chain governance layer further comprises governance service, and is further configured to deploy the governance service in the governance chain in a form of a smart contract (smart contract), open the smart contract to the first governance node and the second governance node (“…A smart contract embodied in at least one of a plurality of nodes associated with a first subchain includes logic that causes each of the plurality of nodes associated with the first subchain to construct a packet including a message intended for a smart contract associated with a second subchain and a node identifier. The messages constructed by each of the plurality of nodes are identical, and may correspond to one of a transaction request or a transaction reply or other information. The node identifier may correspond to a signature signed by the private key of the node. The smart contract causes each of the plurality of nodes to transmit its packet to one or more nodes associated with the second subchain…In an aspect, the smart contract also includes cross-chain logic that monitors packets received by one or more of the plurality of nodes associated with the first subchain to determine if a consensus on request has been reached from another subchain. The other subchain may be the same subchain as the second subchain or it may be a different subchain. The cross-chain logic of the smart contract includes nodelist logic that obtains a nodelist that includes node identifiers for a plurality of nodes associated with the other subchain, and a consensus on request is determined to have been reached when an identical message has been received from a threshold measure of nodes included in the nodelist. For example, in one embodiment, if an identical message is received from 51% of the nodes identified in the nodelist then a consensus on request is determined to have been reached. If a consensus on request is reached, the smart contract processes the identical message (also referred to herein as a consensus message)…” paragraphs 0009/0010).
As to claims 6 and 14, see the rejection of claim 1 above, expect for a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, a computer program, and a processor.
Chen’019 teaches for a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Memory 604), a computer program (Processing Module 610), and a processor (Processor 602).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0120019 A1 to Chen et al. (hereinafter referred to as Chen’019) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0034459 A1 to Qiu and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0177391 A1 to Qiu (hereinafter referred to as Qiu’391) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0322175 A1 to Chen (hereinafter referred to as Chen’175).
As to claim 5, Chen’019 as modified by Qiu’459 and Qiu’391 teaches the system according to claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the cross-chain collaborative governance system further comprises a security support layer configured to provide cross-chain security rules for the credible cross-chain collaborative layer to guide the collaborative service performed at the credible cross-chain collaborative layer, and to provide the cross-chain security rules for the credible cross-chain governance layer to guide the control governance performed at the credible cross-chain governance layer.
Chen’175 teaches wherein the cross-chain collaborative governance system further comprises a security support layer configured to provide cross-chain security rules for the credible cross-chain collaborative layer to guide the collaborative service performed at the credible cross-chain collaborative layer, and to provide the cross-chain security rules for the credible cross-chain governance layer to guide the control governance performed at the credible cross-chain governance layer (validation criteria) (“…The message may then be sent from the cross-chain messaging mechanism of the first subchain to a second subchain. FIG. 3 shows one example of a method 300 for validating a message, such as the message discussed above in reference to FIG. 2, received at a second subchain from a first subchain. Within the second subchain, a transaction may be executed based on the message only if the message meets one or more validation criteria based on, in at least one example, a plurality of public-key-shares included in the message matching with public-key-shares contained within a public-key-share list of the first subchain stored in the second subchain. Or in a second example, the validation criteria may be based on a threshold sig. included within the message being validated by a group public key, derived from m of n public key shares of the public key shares list of the first subchain stored in the second subchain…” paragraph 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen’019, Qiu’459 and Qiu’391 with the teaching of Chen’175 because the teaching of Chen’175 would improve the system of Chen’019, Qiu’459 and Qiu’391 by providing a cross-chain messaging mechanism of the first subchain to a second subchain for processing transaction based on validation criteria to allow for secure transaction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-6 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on additional reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7-13 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of records, (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0120019 A1 to Chen et al. and U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0034459 A1 to Qiu), taken alone or in combination do not specifically disclose or suggest the claimed recitations (claims 2, 3, 7-13 and 15-20), when taken in the context of claims as a whole.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
W.O. No. 2019/120336 A2 to Yanpeng and directed to methods and devices for establishing communication between blockchain networks.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194