Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected for lack of clarity in regards to the following limitation: “wherein the heuristic grow data platform automatically collects and indexes information from one or more growers and supplements the information with specific plant information, heuristic data, lighting information, energy information, fertigation information, environmental information, alarm information, and harvest information to create heuristically optimized recipes.” According to Applicant’s specification, paragraph 0141, the “grower” may be an individual or a team of individuals. It is unclear how the grow data platform can automatically collect and index information from a person. Does the grow platform automatically index information once the grower enters it into their user interface? The specification does not provide further detail on how the grow platform collects or indexes data from the grower. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added. Claims 2-17 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Readick (US-20210315168-A1) in view of Ray (US-11617316-B2), Reynoso (US-8847514-B1), and Berinsky (US-10292340-B2).
Regarding claim 1, Readick discloses a method for growing plants, comprising:
measuring one or more lighting conditions (sensors for light conditions, see para 0054) during cultivation of one or more first plants, said lighting conditions comprising an intensity of light over a first period of time (real time sensor data for growth conditions (includes light intensity, see para 0033), along with lighting adjustment 0038, has short & long term changes, i.e. first and second times, see para 0041);
gathering results of a harvest of the one or more first plants (processor receives data about harvest, see para 0041), said results comprising a measure of a quality of the harvested one or more first plants (quality data including size, weight, fruit chemistry, see para 0051) and a measure of a yield of the harvested one or more first plants (crop yield data, see para 0051);
associating the measured one or more lighting conditions with the results of the harvest of the one or more first plants (processor receives yield data and reflector (i.e. lighting) data, see para 0041);
analyzing the results of the harvest and the measured one or more lighting conditions using a heuristic grow data platform (see para 0007 and 0015) that provides insights and analytics (light sensor, sensor about growing conditions, see para 0015 and has a processor with an algorithm to analyze the sensor data with heuristic grow data – current and real time, see para 041), wherein the heuristic grow data platform automatically collects and indexes information (automated farming with IoT and machine learning, see paras 0009, 0051, 0059, and 0065), and supplements the information with specific plant information (plant size, shape, condition, see para 0009), heuristic data (historical information, climate info, 0015), lighting information (para 0054), energy information (growth speed, plant height, plant mass, see para 0009), environmental information (soil condition and moisture levels and sunlight, see para 0009), and harvest information (yield data, see para 0051) to create heuristically optimized recipes (AI algorithm for optimizing recipes, see para 0051, 0063, and 0067);
aggregating data from multiple grows to create heuristically optimized recipes that include specific plant and environmental details (see paras 0014 and 0041 – uses the data from multiple grows to change the recipe);
based on the results of the harvest of the one or more first plants and the measured one or more lighting conditions associated with the results of the harvest of the one or more first plants (uses crop data to adjust optical characteristics, i.e. lighting data, see para 0008, 0041),
controlling operation of the lighting system to form a recipe of the one or more lighting conditions over a second period of time to apply during cultivation of one or more second plants (uses crop data to adjust optical characteristics, i.e. lighting data, see para 0008, 0041).
Readick fails to explicitly disclose measuring one or more lighting conditions during cultivation of one or more first plants, said lighting conditions comprising an intensity of light and a spectrum of light over a first period of time, wherein the heuristic grow data platform automatically collects and indexes information from one or more growers and supplements the information with specific fertigation information and alarm information to create heuristically optimized recipes, merging and analyzing data captured by the heuristic grow data platform with outside sources to improve previous recipes.
Ray teaches measuring one or more lighting conditions during cultivation of one or more first plants (sensors for lighting parameters, see col 5, lines 66-67 and col 6, lines 24-25), said lighting conditions comprising an intensity of light and a spectrum of light over a first period of time (measuring light intensity and spectrum, see col 6, lines 24-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Readick with the spectrum and intensity lighting during cultivation with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow data from previous cultivations to be used in the formation of lighting and growth recipes for later cultivation runs to optimize conditions based on growing history.
Reynoso teaches merging and analyzing data captured by the heuristic grow data platform with outside sources to improve previous recipes (outside sources – has crowdsourcing website, users can upload & download and modify light maps to optimize lighting for maximum yield, see col 5, lines 1-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the data from outside sources as taught by Reynoso with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide more data from which to create and optimize lighting recipes for different plants for ideal growth.
Berinsky teaches wherein the heuristic grow data platform (grower user interface data, see col 9, lines 40-47) automatically collects and indexes information from one or more growers (grower user interface data, see col 9, lines 40-47, see also 112(b) rejection above) and supplements the information with specific fertigation information (fertilizing time and quantities, see col 9, lines 25-39) and alarm information (alerts for values above threshold, see col 6, lines 47-50) to create heuristically optimized recipes (optimized/altered recipes, see col 10, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the plant growing method with the collection of information from the growers of Berinsky with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow growers and users to provide hands on care to the plants, while utilizing the benefits of a computerized system for optimizing plant nutrients and environmental conditions to increase growth.
Regarding claim 2, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1, and Readick further discloses wherein the lighting system comprises a light emitting diode (LED) light system (LED light, see para 0009).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the LED light system includes colored LEDs.
Ray teaches wherein the LED light system includes colored LEDs (color LEDs, see col 7, lines 1-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method with the color LEDs of Ray with a reasonable expectation of success because it is known that certain colors of light are beneficial to growing plants.
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the LED light system includes white LEDs.
Ray teaches wherein the LED light system includes white LEDs (white light, see col 6, lines 64-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LED system with the white LEDs of Ray with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure plants receive full spectrum lighting.
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the lighting system includes a light system driver.
Ray teaches wherein the lighting system includes a light system driver configured to control the intensity of light and the spectrum of light (led drivers 108 and 225, see col 4, lines 27-34, col 6, lines 11-14, and led drivers control the LEDs, see col 3, lines 12-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LED system with the driver of Ray with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure the LED system is appropriately and efficiently powered.
Regarding claim 9, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1, and Readick further discloses controlling the spectrum of light of the one or more lighting conditions over the second period of time applied during the cultivation of the one or more second plants (uses crop data from sensors to adjust and control lighting characteristics, see para 0008, 0014, and 0041).
Regarding claim 14, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the lighting system comprises one or more light fixtures and one or more light sensors, the method further comprising: using at least one of the light sensors to measure the amount of light emitted from at least one of the light fixtures; and adjusting the brightness of the at least one light fixture based on the measured light to meet a desired intensity.
Ray teaches wherein the lighting system comprises one or more light fixtures (LEDs 112) and one or more light sensors (115), the method further comprising: using at least one of the light sensors to measure the amount of light emitted from at least one of the light fixtures (light sensor 115 for measuring light intensity, see col 5, lines 64-67 and col 6, lines 1-7); and adjusting the brightness of the at least one light fixture based on the measured light to meet a desired intensity (light sensor 115 measures light intensity, controller 250 adjusts light intensity based on sensor measurements to keep it in a preferred range, see col 5, lines 64-67 and col 6, lines 1-7, see also controller used measurements to then adjust light intensity at the light source, see col 6, lines 13-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system with the lights and sensors of Ray with a reasonable expectation of success because this will provide easily lighting adjustment to ensure the lighting intensity remains at the scheduled values to promote plant growth and health.
Claim(s) 7-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Readick (US-20210315168-A1) in view of Ray (US-11617316-B2), Reynoso (US-8847514-B1) and Berinsky (US-10292340-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maxik (US 9220202 B2).
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the recipe of the one or more lighting conditions over a second period of time is formed to correspond to a circadian rhythm is of the Sun.
Maxik teaches wherein the recipe of the one or more lighting conditions over a second period of time is formed to correspond to a circadian rhythm of the Sun based on heuristic information from prior harvest results to optimize light conditions for a particular type of plant (day/night circadian rhythm data based on species/variety of the plant & database of those plants & associated circadian rhythms, see col 8, lines 40-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method with the circadian rhythms corresponding with the Sun based on prior harvest lighting data as taught by Maxik with a reasonable expectation of success because this will provide the plants with natural lighting cycles to properly mimic their natural habitat.
Regarding claim 8, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the recipe of the one or more lighting conditions over a second period of time is formed to correspond to a circadian rhythm is of at least one of the second plants.
Maxik teaches wherein the recipe of the one or more lighting conditions over a second period of time is formed to correspond to a circadian rhythm is of at least one of the second plants (agricultural product with associated circadian rhythms, circadian rhythm matched to plant, see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method with the lighting conditions matching the circadian rhythms of the second plant as taught by Maxik with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure the lighting conditions are being controlled to optimally match and mimic the circadian rhythms of the plants, thereby providing a natural growing environment.
Regarding claim 10, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 9.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the controlling the spectrum of light includes controlling the spectrum of light during a portion of the second period of time corresponding to the morning.
Maxik teaches wherein the controlling the spectrum of light includes controlling the spectrum of light during a portion of the second period of time corresponding to the morning (includes controlling lighting based on day vs night, see col 8, lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method with the controlling the lighting in the morning as taught by Maxik with a reasonable expectation of success because properly controlling lighting conditions in the morning is important for setting and maintaining lighting cycles based on circadian rhythms to ensure plants receive accurate lighting cycles.
Regarding claim 12, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 9.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the modifying of the light spectrum includes modifying the light spectrum in the evening of the light schedule.
Maxik teaches wherein the modifying of the light spectrum includes modifying the light spectrum in the evening of the light schedule (day vs night lighting on schedule, see col 8, lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controlling the lighting in the morning as taught by Maxik with a reasonable expectation of success because properly controlling lighting conditions in the evening is important for setting and maintaining lighting cycles based on circadian rhythms to ensure plants receive accurate lighting cycles.
Regarding claim 13, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 12.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein modifying the light spectrum includes adding more blues to the light spectrum in the evening.
Reynoso teaches wherein modifying the light spectrum includes adding more blues to the light spectrum in the evening (adds blue light in evening to simulate moonlight, see col 15, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light spectrum to include adding blues in the evening as taught by Reynoso with a reasonable expectation of success because this will simulate moonlight and properly mimic natural lighting for circadian rhythms.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Readick (US-20210315168-A1) in view of Ray (US-11617316-B2), Reynoso (US-8847514-B1) and Berinsky (US-10292340-B2) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Bohnel (US-11812534-B2).
Regarding claim 6, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 5.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the light system driver is DALI-2 compliant.
Bohnel teaches wherein the light system driver is DALI-2 compliant (DALI-2 driver, see col 23, lines 55-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light driver system with the DALI-2 compliant driver as taught by Bohnel with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure the lighting system is up to industry standard.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Readick (US-20210315168-A1) in view of Ray (US-11617316-B2), Reynoso (US-8847514-B1), Berinsky (US-10292340-B2) and Maxik (US 9220202 B2) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Quazi (US-11297775-B1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 10.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein modifying the light spectrum includes adding more reds to the light spectrum in the morning.
Quazi teaches wherein modifying the light spectrum includes adding more reds to the light spectrum in the morning (Red late morning, see col 23, lines 39-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light spectrum with more reds in the morning as taught by Quazi with a reasonable expectation of success because this will mimic natural lighting conditions to provide plants with a natural circadian rhythm to optimize growth.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Readick (US-20210315168-A1) in view of Ray (US-11617316-B2), Reynoso (US-8847514-B1) and Berinsky (US-10292340-B2) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Zentr Luft Raumfahrt, i.e. Center Air Space (DE 202018101349 U).
Regarding claim 15, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 14 and Readick further discloses the light sensor determining the lighting of the system during a predetermined time within the second period of time (real time sensor data for growth conditions, includes light intensity, see para 0033, along with lighting adjustment 0038, has short & long term changes, i.e. first and second times, see para 0041).
The modified reference fails to explicitly teach determining further comprising: determining, by the grow data platform using the light sensor measurements, whether the lighting system is turned on at a predetermined time within the second period of time to physically verify lights are powered on at times that have been predefined by the grow data platform.
Center Air Space teaches further comprising: determining, by the grow data platform (control unit 6) using the light sensor (light sensor 23) measurements, whether the lighting system is turned on to physically verify lights are powered on at times that have been predefined by the grow data platform (data from light sensor 23 is used by the control unit 6 to check whether the light spectrum is actually switched on/off when desired, see page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with sensor used to verify the lights are on as set as taught by Center Air Space with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow for easy verification that the lighting system is set up and maintaining the specific lighting conditions as programmed to ensure the plants receive optimal growing conditions based on their specific needs.
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Readick (US-20210315168-A1) in view of Ray (US-11617316-B2), Reynoso (US-8847514-B1) and Berinsky (US-10292340-B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eisele (US-10863598-B2).
Regarding claim 16, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the lighting system comprises one or more light fixtures and one or more light sensors in a greenhouse, the method further comprising: using at least one of the light sensors in a greenhouse to measure an amount of light received by at least one of the one or more first plants or the one or more second plants from sunlight; and adjusting an intensity of the lighting system, based on the measured light, to meet a predetermined amount of light.
Eisele teaches wherein the lighting system comprises one or more light fixtures and one or more light sensors in a greenhouse, (light sensors, see col 22, lines 49-67) the method further comprising: using at least one of the light sensors in a greenhouse to measure an amount of light received by at least one of the one or more first plants or the one or more second plants from sunlight (sensors for measuring the irradiance, see col 8, lines 5-21); and adjusting an intensity of the lighting system, based on the measured light, to meet a predetermined amount of light (adjusts lighting intensity to keep PPFD within predetermined levels, see col 18, lines 65-67 and col 19,lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system with the lights and sensors of Eisele with a reasonable expectation of success because this will provide easily lighting adjustment to ensure the lighting intensity remains at the scheduled values to promote plant growth and health.
Regarding claim 17, the modified reference teaches the method of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach further comprising: wirelessly controlling the lighting system to adjust an intensity of light emitted by the lighting system, as at least one of the one or more first plants or the one or more second plants grows taller, to maintain a constant amount of light at a canopy of the at least one plant.
Eisele teaches wirelessly controlling the lighting system to adjust an intensity of light emitted by the lighting system (wireless communication network for central controller 31, see col 15,lines 39-60), as at least one of the one or more first plants or the one or more second plants grows taller, to maintain a constant amount of light at a canopy of the at least one plant (height sensor, compares lighting to light formula & PAR and then lighting devices adjust to match intensity directives, see col 33, lines 49-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system with the lights and sensors of Eisele with a reasonable expectation of success because this will provide easily lighting adjustment to ensure the lighting intensity remains at the scheduled values as the plants grow without requiring user intervention to provide an autonomous system for promoting plant growth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Applicant argues that Readick does not disclose growers, which is moot as a new reference has been brought in to teach this limitation. However, it is also noted that the limitation Applicant argues “wherein the heuristic grow data platform automatically collects and indexes information from one or more growers and supplements the information with specific plant information, heuristic data, lighting information, energy information, fertigation information, environmental information, alarm information, and harvest information to create heuristically optimized recipes” is rejected above under 112(b) for lack of clarity or details in regards to the how the data platform automatically collects and indexes information from an individual (the grower).
In regards to Applicant’s argument that Readick fails to disclose “a heuristic grow data platform,” the Office respectfully disagrees. Applicant does not provide a special definition in their specification for a heuristic grow data platform, and therefore, based on the common definition of heuristic, any computer or machine learning platform that can intake and analyze current and historical data to optimize plant growing conditions reads on “a heuristic grow data platform.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642