DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12, 14 of 4/2/2026 acknowledged and entered.
Cancellation of claims 16-21 of 4/2/2026 acknowledged and entered.
New claims 22-30 of 4/2/2026 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 objected to because of the following informalities: “the the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22, 24, 25 recites “wherein the steering wire comprises a first longitudinal segment and a second longitudinal segment connected to the first longitudinal segment by the distal segment of the steering wire”. It is unclear to the examiner what is meant, as the claim recites two segments of a steering wire connected by the steering wire.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the cable" in ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-15, 22-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen (EP 3708061 A1) in view of Ide (US 20190254504 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sorensen teaches An endoscope extending along a proximal-distal axis, the endoscope comprising:
a handle (fig. 1a, element 2, [0088], operating handle 2) comprising a control device (fig. 1a, element 21, [0088], control lever 21);
an insertion tube (fig. 1a, element 3, [0088], insertion tube 3) extending from the handle;
a bending section (fig. 2a, element 4, [0090] bending section 4) extending from the insertion tube and including segments, the segments including a proximal end segment (fig. 2a, element 43, [0090], proximal end segment 43), a distal end segment (fig. 2a, element 4a, [0090], distal end segment 41), and intermediate segments (fig. 2a, element 42, [0090], intermediate segments 42) arranged between the proximal end segment and the distal end segment, the bending section being a prefabricated component;
a distal tip part (fig. 2a, element 3b, [0090], distal end 3b) including:
an exterior housing (fig. 2a, element 6, [0090], exterior housing part 6) including a circumferentially extending side wall (fig. 2b, element 6a, [0091], circumferentially extending side wall 6a) with a proximal opening (fig. 3b, element 6d, [0091], proximal opening 6d), the circumferentially extending side wall defining an interior cavity (fig. 3b, element 6h, [0091], interior space 6h), and
a camera assembly (fig. 2b, element 8, [0091], camera assembly 8) including an image sensor (fig. 2b, element 83, [0092], image sensor 83), the camera assembly being positioned in the interior cavity of the exterior housing ([0091], interior space 6h for accommodating the camera assembly 8),
an interior housing part (fig. 2b, element 7, [0093], interior housing part 7) being a prefabricated component formed separately from the exterior housing and the bending section, the interior housing part including:
a distal portion with a circumferentially extending closure surface (fig. 3b, element 71, [0093], closure surface 71), the distal portion being positioned in the proximal opening of the exterior housing and closing the interior cavity of the exterior housing,
a proximal portion with a circumferentially extending attachment surface (fig. 3b/c, element 72, [0094], attachment surface 72), the proximal portion being distanced in a proximal direction from the exterior housing, the distal end segment being attached to the attachment surface ([0102], attachment surface 72 mates with distal end segment 41), an
a wire portion (fig. 1a, element 9) comprising a channel ([0088], steering wire 31a runs through a flexible tube 9); and
a steering wire ([0088], control lever 21 maneuvers the distal tip by means of steering wire 31a) attached to the control device of the handle and running through the bending section and the insertion tube and having a distal segment,
Sorensen does not explicitly teach wherein the distal segment of the steering wire is accommodated in the channel so that manipulation of the control device causes bending of the bending section.
However, Ide teaches wherein the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 4, element 27, [0045], bending operation wires 27) is accommodated in the channel of the proximal portion of the internal housing part (fig. 4, element 22c, [0045], insertion holes 22c) so that manipulation of the control device causes bending of the bending section.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire of Sorensen to include a locking member as taught in Ide in order to prevent deformation of the tube and increase accuracy of movement (Ide [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Further, Sorensen teaches wherein the wire portion of the interior housing part is configured to bend the distal segment of the steering wire away from the proximal- distal axis by an angle ([0031], steering wires accommodated in passages articulate the bending portion by tensioning/slacking in the desired direction. A bend of less than 2 degrees would be so insignificant of bending that it would be unable to be considered desired if bending at all), the angle being at least 2 degrees.
Regarding claim 4, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Sorensen teaches further comprising a separately formed planar element comprising at least one through-hole ([0031], each segment of the tip part comprises a through hole through which a steering wire passes) and being arranged between the interior housing part and the bending section, wherein the steering wire extends through the at least one through-hole.
Regarding claim 5, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 4,
Further, Sorensen teaches wherein the at least one through-hole of the planar element is configured to bend the distal segment of the steering wire away from the proximal- distal axis by an angle ([0031], steering wires accommodated in passages articulate the bending portion by tensioning/slacking in the desired direction. A bend of less than 2 degrees would be so insignificant of bending that it would be unable to be considered desired if bending at all) at the respective through-hole, the angle being at least 20.
Regarding claim 6, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 5,
Further, Sorensen teaches wherein a portion of the distal segment of the steering wire is located in the respective through-hole, wherein an angle between the portion of the distal segment and a center line of the respective through-hole is at least 20 ([0031], steering wires accommodated in passages articulate the bending portion by tensioning/slacking in the desired direction. A bend of less than 2 degrees would be so insignificant of bending that it would be unable to be considered desired if bending at all).
Regarding claim 7, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Further, Sorensen teaches wherein the distal tip part comprises a cured first adhesive ([0100], UV curable adhesive in gap 52 between closure surface 71 and interior surface 6g) adhering the circumferentially extending closure surface to an interior surface (fig. 3b, element 6g, [0100], interior surface 6g) of the circumferentially extending side wall of the exterior housing, thereby closing the interior cavity of the exterior housing and liquid-sealing the interior cavity.
Regarding claim 8, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 7,
Sorensen teaches further comprising a gap between the circumferentially extending closure surface and the interior surface of the circumferentially extending side wall of the exterior housing, the gap being narrower proximally than distally and being configured to draw the first adhesive, prior to curing, into the gap by capillary forces ([0100], a capillary force draws the adhesive into gap 52).
Regarding claim 10, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Further, Sorensen teaches wherein the distal end segment of the bending section comprises a circumferentially extending outer wall (fig. 2b, element 41, distal end segment is composed of a hollow member with an outer wall) with a proximal-distal extending cut-out (fig. 2b, element 41, distal end segment has a cutout in the outer wall portion), wherein the proximal portion of the interior housing part comprises one or more locking protrusion(s) (fig. 2b, element 72a, [0094], grooves are formed in the attachment surface 72 of the interior housing part, which forms protrusions between the grooves and are designed to aid in the mechanical connection between distal end segment 41 and attachment surface 72) extending radially into the cut-out of the outer wall of the bending section so as to lock the rotation of the interior housing part with respect to the distal end segment of the bending section about the proximal-distal axis.
Regarding claim 11, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Further, Sorensen teaches wherein the interior housing part includes:
an intermediate portion (fig. 2b, element 73/74, [0093], compensating members separate the distal seats 73/74b from the proximal connector 72) arranged between and separating the distal portion of the interior housing part and the proximal portion of the interior housing part; and
a cured adhesive surface ([0100], UV curable adhesive in gap 52 between closure surface 71 and interior surface 6g) extending circumferentially and between the proximal opening of the exterior housing and the proximal portion of the interior housing part,
wherein the endoscope further comprises a bending cover (fig. 2b, element 41, distal end segment is composed of a hollow member with an outer wall) arranged exteriorly of and covering the bending section, a distal portion of bending cover being adhered to the circumferentially extending cured adhesive surface (fig. 2b, element 72a, [0094], grooves are formed in the attachment surface 72 of the interior housing part, which forms protrusions between the grooves and are designed to aid in the mechanical connection between distal end segment 41 and attachment surface 72, [0100], adhesive injected through holes 41g to fill grooves 72a) of the interior housing part.
Regarding claim 12, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Sorensen teaches further comprising an electrical cable (fig. 3b, element 87, [0092], cables 87) extending from the handle and passing through the insertion tube and the bending section,
the proximal portion of the interior housing part having a first pair of locking protrusions (fig. 2b, element 72a, [0094], grooves are formed in the attachment surface 72 of the interior housing part, which forms protrusions between the grooves and are designed to aid in the mechanical connection between distal end segment 41 and attachment surface 72),
a second pair of locking protrusions opposite the first pair (fig. 3c, element 72, multiple grooves are shown),
a longitudinal cable passage between the first pair and the second pair (fig. 3b, element 75, [0093], cable tube hole 75),
wherein the distal portion of the interior housing part is affixed to the exterior housing ([0100], UV curable adhesive in gap 52 between closure surface 71 and interior surface 6g),
the electrical cable extends through the longitudinal cable passage radially between the proximal-distal axis and the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 3b, element 75, [0093], cable tube hole 75), and the distal segment of the steering wire traverses the first steering wire channel and the second steering wire channel ([0031], each segment of the tip part comprises a through hole through which a steering wire passes).
Further, Ide teaches wherein the channel of the wire portion of the internal housing part comprises a first steering wire channel intermediate locking protrusions of the first pair (fig. 4, element 25c, [0048], wire retaining member 25, hole portions 25c), and
a second steering wire channel intermediate locking protrusions of the second pair (fig. 4, element 25c, [0048], wire retaining member 25, hole portions 25c),
the first steering wire channel being angularly spaced from the second steering wire channel about the proximal-distal axis and facing the second steering wire channel (fig. 4 element 25c, wire cutout portions 25c are disposed at opposite ends of the retaining member 25),
wherein the distal end segment of the bending section comprises a longitudinal cut-out (fig. 4, element 25c, hole portions 25c are formed of holes cut out of the retaining member that extend longitudinally), and
wherein the first pair of locking protrusions and the second pair of locking protrusions traverse radially and extend into the longitudinal cut-out of the distal end segment ([0048], hole portions 25c serving as opening portions from which the bending operation wires 27 are drawn out),
Regarding claim 13, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 12,
Sorensen teaches further comprising a planar element positioned between the interior housing part and the bending section, the planar element comprising opposing surfaces, a first through-hole and a second through-hole extending between the opposing surfaces, wherein the steering wire includes a first segment extending from the distal segment to the handle and a second segment extending from the distal segment to the handle, the first segment and the segment passing, respectively, through the first through-hole and the second through-hole ([0031], each segment of the tip part comprises a through hole through which a steering wire passes).
Regarding claim 14, Sorensen teaches An endoscope comprising:
a handle (fig. 1a, element 2, [0088], operating handle 2);
an insertion tube attached to and extending distally from the handle (fig. 1a, element 3, [0088], insertion tube 3);
a bending section (fig. 2a, element 4, [0090] bending section 4) attached to and extending distally from the insertion tube, the bending section including segments including a distal end segment (fig. 2a, element 4a, [0090], distal end segment 41), the distal end segment having a circumferential wall (fig. 2b, element 41, distal end segment is composed of a hollow member with an outer wall) with a longitudinal cut-out at a distal end thereof (fig. 2b, element 41, distal end segment has a cutout in the outer wall portion);
a distal tip part including an exterior housing (fig. 2a, element 6, [0090], exterior housing part 6) and an image sensor (fig. 2b, element 83, [0092], image sensor 83), the exterior housing having a circumferentially extending side wall with a proximal opening, the circumferentially extending side wall (fig. 2b, element 6a, [0091], circumferentially extending side wall 6a) defining an interior cavity (fig. 3b, element 6h, [0091], interior space 6h), and the image sensor positioned in the interior cavity ([0091], interior space 6h for accommodating the camera assembly 8);
a steering wire ([0088], control lever 21 maneuvers the distal tip by means of steering wire 31a) extending from the handle and passing through the insertion tube and the bending section, the steering wire having a distal segment;
an electrical cable (fig. 3b, element 87, [0092], cables 87) extending from the handle and passing through the insertion tube and the bending section; and
wherein the distal portion of the interior housing part is affixed to the exterior housing ([0100], UV curable adhesive in gap 52 between closure surface 71 and interior surface 6g), wherein the proximal portion of the interior housing part is affixed to the distal end segment of the bending section (fig. 2b, element 72a, [0094], grooves are formed in the attachment surface 72 of the interior housing part, which forms protrusions between the grooves and are designed to aid in the mechanical connection between distal end segment 41 and attachment surface 72, [0100], adhesive injected through holes 41g to fill grooves 72a), and
Sorensen does not explicitly teach an interior housing part including a distal portion and a proximal portion, the proximal portion having a first pair of locking protrusions consisting of a first proximal protrusion and a first distal protrusion distal of the first proximal protrusion, a second pair of locking protrusions angularly opposite the first pair and consisting of a second proximal protrusion and a second distal protrusion distal of the second proximal protrusion, a longitudinal cable passage between the first pair and the second pair, a first steering wire channel intermediate the first proximal protrusion and the first distal protrusion, and a second steering wire channel intermediate the second proximal protrusion and the second distal protrusion,
wherein the first pair of locking protrusions and the second pair of locking protrusions traverse and extend into the longitudinal cut-out of the distal end segment, the electrical cable extends through the longitudinal cable passage, and the distal segment of the steering wire is accommodated the first steering wire channel and the second steering wire channel of the internal housing part,
the electrical cable extends through the longitudinal cable passage, and the distal segment of the steering wire is accommodated the first steering wire channel and the second steering wire channel of the internal housing part ([0031], each segment of the tip part comprises a through hole through which a steering wire passes).
However, Ide teaches an interior housing part including a distal portion and a proximal portion, the proximal portion having a first pair of locking protrusions consisting of a first proximal protrusion (fig. 4, element 25c, [0048], hole portions 25c of wire retaining member 25) and a first distal protrusion (fig. 4, element 26, [0060], pressing members 26 which serve as wire stopping member are fixed) distal of the first proximal protrusion, a second pair of locking protrusions angularly opposite the first pair (fig. 4, wire retaining members come in pairs) and consisting of a second proximal protrusion and a second distal protrusion distal of the second proximal protrusion, a longitudinal cable passage between the first pair and the second pair, a first steering wire channel intermediate the first proximal protrusion and the first distal protrusion, and a second steering wire channel intermediate the second proximal protrusion and the second distal protrusion (fig. 5, the wire passes between the holes 25c and the locking member 26),
wherein the first pair of locking protrusions and the second pair of locking protrusions traverse and extend into the longitudinal cut-out of the distal end segment ([0048], hole portions 25c serving as opening portions from which the bending operation wires 27 are drawn out).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire of Sorensen to include a locking member as taught in Ide in order to prevent deformation of the tube and increase accuracy of movement (Ide [0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 14,
Further, Sorensen teaches further comprising a planar element positioned between the interior housing part and the bending section, the planar element comprising opposing surfaces, a first through-hole and a second through-hole extending between the opposing surfaces, wherein the steering wire includes a first segment extending from the distal segment to the handle and a second segment extending from the distal segment to the handle, the first segment and the segment passing, respectively, through the first through-hole and the second through-hole ([0031], each segment of the tip part comprises a through hole through which a steering wire passes).
Regarding claim 22, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 14,
Further, Ide teaches wherein the steering wire comprises a first longitudinal segment and a second longitudinal segment connected to the first longitudinal segment by the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 5, element 27, [0069], bending operation wires 27, any wire may be divided into two segments that are connected to each other integrally), the first longitudinal segment and the second longitudinal segment connected to the control device of the handle ([0006], bending operation wires by a predetermined operation of an operation member provided at an operation portion) and running through the insertion tube and the bending section, wherein the distal segment of the steering wire is positioned distally of the first proximal protrusion and the second proximal protrusion ([0061], pressing members 26 are fixed to the distal ends of the bending operation wires 27), and wherein the electrical cable passes radially between a proximal-distal axis of the bending section and the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 4, element 22b, image pickup signal cable may be disposed in wire insertion holes 22b).
Regarding claim 23, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 14,
Further, Ide teaches wherein the cable passes radially between a proximal-distal axis of the bending section and the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 4, element 22b, image pickup signal cable may be disposed in wire insertion holes 22b).
Regarding claim 24, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 14,
wherein the steering wire comprises a first longitudinal segment and a second longitudinal segment connected to the first longitudinal segment by the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 5, element 27, [0069], bending operation wires 27, any wire may be divided into two segments that are connected to each other integrally), the first longitudinal segment and the second longitudinal segment connected to the control device of the handle and running through the insertion tube and the bending section, and wherein the distal segment of the steering wire is positioned distally of the first proximal protrusion and the second proximal protrusion ([0006], bending operation wires by a predetermined operation of an operation member provided at an operation portion).
Regarding claim 25, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 14,
Further, Ide teaches wherein the steering wire comprises a first longitudinal segment and a second longitudinal segment connected to the first longitudinal segment by the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 5, element 27, [0069], bending operation wires 27, any wire may be divided into two segments that are connected to each other integrally), the first longitudinal segment and the second longitudinal segment connected to the control device of the handle and running through the insertion tube and the bending section ([0006], bending operation wires by a predetermined operation of an operation member provided at an operation portion), wherein the distal segment of the steering wire is positioned distally of the first proximal protrusion and the second proximal protrusion ([0061], pressing members 26 are fixed to the distal ends of the bending operation wires 27), wherein the electrical cable passes radially between a proximal-distal axis of the bending section and the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 4, element 22b, image pickup signal cable may be disposed in wire insertion holes 22b), wherein the endoscope further comprises a plate (fig. 4, element 25, [0048], retaining member 25 appears to be a flat plate) positioned proximally of and adjacent to the proximal portion of the interior housing part, the plate comprising opposing surfaces, a first through-hole (fig. 4, element 25c, wire retaining member 25c) extending between the opposing surfaces and a second through-hole (fig. 4, element 25c, wire retaining member 25c) extending between the opposing surfaces, wherein the first longitudinal segment of the the steering wire extends through the first through-hole, and wherein the second longitudinal segment of the the steering wire extends through the second through- hole.
Regarding claim 26, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Further, Ide teaches wherein the distal end segment of the bending section comprises a circumferentially extending outer wall (fig. 2, element 21, [0040], distal end rigid member 21), wherein the circumferentially extending outer wall of the bending section comprises a distal transverse surface (fig. 2, element 21, distal end member has a flat distal face, which is transverse to the longitudinal axis) and a proximal-distal extending cut-out extending proximally from the distal transverse surface (fig. 2, element 21, distal end rigid member 21 is a hollow cap with through holes 21a/b), and
wherein the proximal portion of the internal housing part comprises:
a first longitudinal wall (fig. 3, element 25, [0048], wire retaining member 25) extending radially outwardly into the proximal-distal extending cut-out of the distal end segment of the bending section, the first longitudinal wall comprising a first open slot forming a proximal locking protrusion proximally of the first open slot (fig. 4, element 25c, [0048], wire retaining member 25) and a distal locking protrusion distally of the first open slot (fig. 4, element 26, [0060] pressing members 26),
a second longitudinal wall (fig. 3, element 25, [0048], wire retaining member 25, left/right halves of the member comprising 2 walls) facing the first longitudinal wall and extending radially outwardly into the proximal-distal extending cut-out of the distal end segment of the bending section, the second longitudinal wall comprising a second open slot forming a proximal locking protrusion (fig. 4, element 25c, [0048], wire retaining member 25) proximally of the second open slot and a distal locking protrusion distally of the second open slot (fig. 4, element 26, [0060] pressing members 26), and
a cable passage extending longitudinally between the first longitudinal wall and the second longitudinal wall (fig. 4, element 22b, image pickup signal cable may be disposed in wire insertion holes 22b),
wherein the first longitudinal wall and the second longitudinal wall extend radially outwardly into the proximal-distal extending cut-out of the distal end segment of the bending section to prevent rotation of the internal housing part relative to the bending section about a proximal-distal axis of the bending section ([0071], deformation reduced),
wherein the steering wire comprises:
a first longitudinal segment connected to the control device of the handle and running through the insertion tube and the bending section, and
a second longitudinal segment connected to the control device of the handle and running through the insertion tube and the bending section,
wherein the distal segment of the steering wire connects the first longitudinal segment of the steering wire to the second longitudinal segment of the steering wire (fig. 5, element 27, [0069], bending operation wires 27, any wire may be divided into two segments that are connected to each other integrally),
wherein the channel of the wire portion of the proximal portion of the internal housing part extends from the first open slot to the second open slot (fig. 5, the wire passes between the holes 25c and the locking member 26), and
wherein the distal segment of the steering wire traverses, and is accommodated in, the first open slot and the second open slot (fig. 5, the wire passes between the holes 25c and the locking member 26).
Regarding claim 27, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1, wherein:
the proximal portion of the internal housing part comprises a first proximal locking protrusion and a second proximal locking protrusion, the first proximal locking protrusion (fig. 4, element 25c, [0048], wire retaining member 25) and the second proximal locking protrusion (fig. 4, element 26, [0060] pressing members 26) extending radially outwardly and located proximally of the channel of the wire portion of the internal housing part, the first proximal locking protrusion facing the second proximal locking protrusion,
the steering wire comprises a first longitudinal segment and a second longitudinal segment connected to the first longitudinal segment by the distal segment of the steering wire, the first longitudinal segment and the second longitudinal segment connected to the control device of the handle and running through the insertion tube and the bending section (fig. 5, element 27, [0069], bending operation wires 27, any wire may be divided into two segments that are connected to each other integrally), and
the distal segment of the steering wire is positioned distally of, and extends between, the first proximal locking protrusion and the second proximal locking protrusion (fig. 5, the wire passes between the holes 25c and the locking member 26).
Regarding claim 28, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 27,
wherein the proximal portion of the internal housing part comprises:
a first longitudinal wall extending radially outwardly and comprising a first open slot, the first proximal locking protrusion and a first distal locking protrusion, and
a second longitudinal wall extending radially outwardly and comprising a second open slot, the second proximal locking protrusion and a second distal locking protrusion (fig. 3, element 25, [0048], wire retaining member 25, left/right halves of the member comprising 2 walls),
wherein the first proximal locking protrusion and the second proximal locking protrusion are located proximally of the first open slot and of the second open slot, and
wherein the first distal locking protrusion and the second distal locking protrusion are located distally of the first open slot and of the second open slot.
Regarding claim 29, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 27,
wherein the endoscope comprises an electrical cable extending from the handle to the exterior housing, the cable passing radially between the proximal-distal axis and the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 4, element 22b, image pickup signal cable may be disposed in wire insertion holes 22b).
Regarding claim 30, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 27,
wherein the distal end segment of the bending section comprises a circumferentially extending outer wall(fig. 2, element 21, [0040], distal end rigid member 21),
wherein the circumferentially extending outer wall of the bending section comprises a distal transverse surface (fig. 2, element 21, distal end member has a flat distal face, which is transverse to the longitudinal axis) and the proximal-distal extending cut-out extending proximally from the distal transverse surface (fig. 2, element 21, distal end rigid member 21 is a hollow cap with through holes 21a/b),
wherein the first proximal locking protrusion and the second proximal locking protrusion extend radially outwardly into the proximal-distal extending cut-out of the distal end segment of the bending section (fig. 3, element 25, [0048], wire retaining member 25 is disposed in the distal rigid end member), and wherein the endoscope comprises an electrical cable passing radially between a proximal-distal axis of the bending section and the distal segment of the steering wire (fig. 4, element 22b, image pickup signal cable may be disposed in wire insertion holes 22b).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen in view of Ide as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson (US 20220040453 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 1,
Sorensen in view of Ide does not explicitly teach the device wherein the distal segment of the steering wire passes one or more friction-inducing section(s) of the wire portion configured to frictionally retain the steering wire in the wire portion.
However, Johnson teaches the device wherein the distal segment of the steering wire passes one or more friction-inducing section(s) of the wire portion configured to frictionally retain the steering wire in the wire portion ([0024], friction in selected areas between pull wires and lumen causes retention of form in the catheter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire channels of Sorensen to include frictional elements as taught in Johnson in order to retain curved shapes in the device (Johnson [0024]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen in view of Ide as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Melsheimer (US 20190091444 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Sorensen in view of Ide teaches The endoscope of claim 7,
Sorensen in view of Ide does not explicitly teach the device wherein the distal tip part comprises a cured second adhesive adhering the steering wire to the wire portion of the interior housing part.
However, Melsheimer teaches the device wherein the distal tip part comprises a cured second adhesive adhering the steering wire to the wire portion of the interior housing part ([0054], distal opening of tension channel 32 is filled with adhesive bonding and fixing distal end 34b of tension member within the channel 32).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire channels of Sorensen to include adhesive fixing elements as taught in Melsheimer in order to attach the wire within the catheter channel securely (Melsheimer [0054]).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795