DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The instant claims are a CIP, the first disclosure of applicant’s claim additive latex for instance appears to be in 63/270819. Thus, the instant claims have priority to 10/22/21.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s claims are directed to an antimicrobial and odor-reducing animal litter. Applicants have not defined animal, and as such the examiner is interpreting it to include all animals including humans. Applicants also have not defined litter. Thus, the examiner is using a general definition of litter from Merriam-Webster, specifically wherein litter means: material used to absorb the urine and feces of animals. Thus, any material used to absorb the urine and feces of an animal reads on the claimed animal litter.
Applicant’s claim the compound N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide which according to IUPAC naming would have the following structure:
.
Applicants are allowed to be their own lexicographer. At [0055] in the specification applicants disclose their structure for N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide which is formula (III):
. Thus, the structure applicants define as N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide is different from the IUPAC definition of this compound. The examiner is interpreting N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide to be applicant’s structure based on the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US20060075975) “Schneider”, and further in view of Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, US5196473, US20040112297, Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), and US4009684.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Schneider teaches and claims animal litter treated with chloramine-T which is a compound of applicant’s instant formula (I), and Schneider teaches wherein 0.01 to 5 wt% of the chloramine T/compound of instant formula I is applied to the litter based on the weight of the cat litter substrate (Claims 1-19; [0029-0033]; [0025]; [0020-0021]).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Schneider teaches that their cat litter has been found to be very effective in that the resulting used litter boxes are essentially odor-free and the used litter boxes have been found to be “cat friendly” in that cats have been observed returning to the litter box after defecating or urinating, which read on the claimed method for treating animal waste in that Schneider teaches the step of providing a container containing an animal litter, and the step of permitting an animal to excrete waste into the animal litter; and Schneider expressly teaches that naturally occurring clays have been found to be useful as litter substrates because of their ability to absorb large volumes of liquids and they specifically claim treating natural clay litter material which chloramine T and/or other compounds applicant’s formula I, which read on wherein the animal litter comprises an absorbent base material and a halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed in claim 8, and they claim wherein the effective amount of the halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed is from about 0.01 to about 5 wt% which reads on the claimed range of about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% claimed in claim 10 ([0035]; [0022-0023]; claims 1-19).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 15, Schneider broadly teaches wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound can be in the instantly claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide (Claims 1-4, wherein R3 is COOM, X is halogen and M is alkali or alkaline earth metal, and R1-R2, R4-R5 are all H; [0030-0033]).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12, and 14-15, Schneider does not specifically teach examples or expressly prefer the claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide as the halo active aromatic sulfonamide compound of formula (I) and Schneider does not teach wherein their litter comprises the new/revised scope of additives and Schneider does not teach the claimed amounts of the additives. Schneider also does not teach wherein the absorbent base material has the claimed particle size. However, these deficiencies in Schneider are addressed by Schneider II, US5196473, Bracilovic, US20040112297 and US4009684.
Schneider II teaches bodily fluid absorbers which are odor-controlling and wherein the absorbers can be granules and as such read on animal litter, and wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound can be the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide and wherein the compound is safe for contact with animals, including humans (see entire document; claims; [0067]; [0081]; [0011-0016]; [0022-0027]).
Schneider II teaches that the absorbent materials may be treated/pre-treated with surfactants, wetting agents, antimicrobial agents, pigments, and/or the active halosulfonamide compounds can be mixed with other additives such as buffering agent(s), binder(s), etc.
US5196473 teaches animal litters which are treated with polyvinyl acetate in amounts of 0.05 to about 0.15 wt% which helps to keep down dust from the litter substrate (see claims 6-8).
US20040112297 teaches animal litters which comprise polyacrylate and/or acrylics as a binder which reads on the instantly claimed acrylic additive (see abstract; [0012]; [0013]; claims; [0017]; [00020]; [0025-0026]; [0035-0036]).
Bracilovic teaches using latexes on animal litters as paints to color a small portion of the litter granules to help see litter that is tracked out the litter box, these latex paints are typically used in amounts of 0.1 to 20 wt% of the animal litter or more (see [0022]). Bracilovic also teaches that animal litter absorbent particles, e.g. clay particles, are typically/suitably from about 25 microns to about 3350 microns in diameter for use as animal litter which read on the claimed average particle size of 100 micrometers to about 2000 micrometers (See [0012]).
US4009684 teaches using coatings on animal litters to provide sustained release of fragrances/deodorants to the litter, the coatings in US4009684 read on the claimed sealers (see entire document; abstract; claims; examples 4-5; etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Schneider also does not specifically teach the claimed step of drying the animal litter or bedding after treatment with the active composition. This deficiency in Schneider is addressed by Schneider II. Schneider II teaches that it is known to spray compositions comprising the claimed active halo sulfonamide compounds onto absorbent substrates to control odors which are later absorbed into the absorbent substrates and wherein the composition is allowed to evaporate, i.e. dry after application of the active composition to the absorbent substrates, which reads on the claimed step of drying, as evaporating the solvents, dries the absorbent substrate to which the active halo sulfonamide compounds were applied and leaves behind the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0076]).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to form the claimed animal litter when looking to Schneider and Schneider II because Schneider teaches forming animal litters wherein the claimed compounds are useful as active agents for controlling odors. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide as the active compound for used in the animal litters of Schneider because firstly Schneider also broadly teaches and broadly claims the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide as part of their structures of formula (I) for treating animal litter/forming animal litter. However, it would have been obvious to select the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide because Schneider II clearly teaches it is a very effective anti-odor compound which is useful for treating absorbent articles which are useful for absorbing bodily fluids/odorous bodily fluids. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide to use for treating animal litters based on the teachings of Schneider II as discussed above.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected at least one of and/or particularly the claimed blend of additives as the claimed additional additive(s) for use in the animal litter of Schneider (and methods of treating animal waste with the claimed litters and/or methods of making the claimed litters) in order to develop the instantly claimed litter (which is an absorbent material) because Schneider II teaches that it was known to treat absorbent materials with binders and/or other additives and US5196473, US20040112297, Bracilovic, and US4009684 together teach that each of the claimed additives, e.g. acrylic, latex, polyvinyl acetate, and sealers were known in the art to be used as additives in/on animal litters in the claimed amounts which were expressly taught by US5196473 for instance. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have added the claimed additives in the claimed amount(s) to the litter of Schneider in order to afford the claimed litter/methods of using or making the litter because it was known to add the claimed additives to animal litters and absorbent materials to provide beneficial effects, e.g. as a coating/sealer for sustained release of fragrances/deodorants, as binders, to reduce dust associated with the granules, and as a paint colorant/sealer to make tracked litter easier to find and remove, etc. and it would be obvious to optimize the amounts of the additives to be/read on the claimed amounts because the additives were known for use with animal litters and it is known, that “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), especially since US5196473 teaches using overlapping amounts of the claimed polyvinyl acetate for keeping dust down in animal litters.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the litter of Schneider to dry after application of the active halo sulfonamide containing compositions as it was known in the art to apply compositions comprising these same active compounds via spraying onto absorbent substrates and allow the solvent to evaporate thereby drying the animal litter or bedding after treatment with the active composition as claimed and leaving behind the active halosulfonamide. One would want to let the substrates dry prior to packaging, etc. so as to provide dry absorbent substrates which can more readily absorb animal waste/odors, etc. e.g. dry animal litter will absorb more waste products, etc. than a wet litter product and the animals, e.g. cats would likely not use a “wet”/damp litter.
It also would have been obvious to optimize the average particle size of the absorbent base material of the animal litter of Schneider and the combined references in order to develop the claimed animal litter particles because the claimed particle sizes were already known in the art to be effective for animal litters as is taught by Bracilovic and as such it would have been obvious to optimize the size of the litter granules/particles of Schneider and the combined references to fall within the claimed range, because as per MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US20060075975) “Schneider” in view of Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, US5196473, US20040112297, Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), and US4009684, as applied to claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12, and 14-15 above, and further in view of Jollez (WO2015031998).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
The combined references together teach the animal litter and methods of claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12, and 14-15 as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Schneider does teach wherein their active halo sulfonamide compound is in dry powder form ([0023]; Claims; [0029-0033]; [0025]; [0020-0021]).
As discussed above, Bracilovic teaches that animal litter absorbent particles, e.g. clay particles, are typically/suitably from about 25 microns to about 3350 microns in diameter for use as animal litter which read on the claimed average particle size of 100 micrometers to about 2000 micrometers (See [0012]).
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claim 5, Schneider does not teach wherein the average particle size of their powdered halo active sulfonamide compound is 50 microns or less.
Regarding claim 11, Schneider and the combined references do not teach wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound is in the form of a powder having an average particle size of 50 microns or less.
These deficiencies in the combined references are addressed by Jollez.
Jollez teaches that it was known to form powders of the claimed halo sulfonamide active agents, e.g. chloramine-T as powders having particle size of 12 to 300 mesh which reads on the claimed 50 microns or less, because 300 mesh is 50 microns, specifically Jollez teaches using powdered anti-odor compounds to coat animal litter granules (Abstract; pg. 10, ln. 8-11).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have used the active halosulfonamide powder of Schneider having the claimed average particle size in the animal litter of Schneider and the combined references because Jollez teaches this is the powder particle size for anti-odor compounds is known to be useful for effectively coating/treating litter granules.
It also would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have used animal litter particles/granules having the claimed size because as is taught by Bracilovic absorbent litter particles for animals, e.g. clay particles are typically/suitably from about 25 microns to about 3350 microns in diameter which read on the claimed average particle size of 100 micrometers to about 2000 micrometers. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the average particle size of the active halo sulfonamide powder of Schneider and the combined references to fall within the claimed range because it was already known to use anti-odor powders having the overlapping/claimed particle size to coat litter granules and because it is known, as per MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It also would have been obvious to optimize the average particle size of the absorbent base material of the animal litter of Schneider and the combined references in order to develop the claimed animal litter particles because the claimed particle sizes were already known in the art to be effective for animal litters as is taught by Bracilovic and Jollez and as such it would have been obvious to optimize the size of the litter granules/particles of Schneider and the combined references to fall within the claimed range, because as per MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III” and CA2238154A1.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 16-17, Schneider III teaches textile materials, specifically a dog bed which is pet bedding, treated with the claimed halosulfonamide compounds, specifically the claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide (compound 6/[0038]; Example 17).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Schneider III also teaches applying amounts of about 8.5 g of the formulation to a 30” dog bed and while the dog bed weight is not given it would have been obvious that the animal bedding material which is treated comprises from about 50 wt% to about 99.99 wt% of the textile base material.
Ascertainment of the difference between prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Regarding claims 16-18, and 20, Schneider III does not teach wherein their pet bedding/dog bed comprises the newly claimed additives. However, this deficiency in Schneider III is addressed by CA2238154A1.
CA2238154A1 teaches bedding compositions for domestic animals which are/can be made of acrylics as part of the textile base of the bedding article which reads on the claimed acrylic additive, and which are coated/treated with coating/laminate/sealer which contains latex and a microbicidal agent to coat/seal the fibers of the textile from microbes thereby inhibiting microbes from passing through the textile/fibers, and wherein the fibers have flame-resistant modacrylic polymer in the outer textile and/or the inner filling of the textile bed (See entire document; claims; pg. 2, ln. 10-19; pg. 3, ln. 1-6; 13-pg. 4, ln. 7; pg. 3, ln. 8-12, 22-pg. 5, ln. 19; pg. 7, ln. 23-31 (coating/sealer which prevent microbe penetration into the fibers); pg. 14, ln. 1-6 (acrylic fabric/textile); pg. 14, ln. 16-22; pg. 17, ln. 29-pg. 18, ln. 2; pg. 24, ln. 26-pg. 25, ln. 8; pg. 41, ln. 17-28).
Regarding claim 18, Schneider III does not teach wherein the animal bedding comprises from about 1 wt% to about 99.9 wt% of the haloactive sulfonamide compound. However, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of halo active sulfonamide compound added to the animal bedding textile in order to afford the claimed weight percent because Schneider III does teach applying ~8.5 g of a composition which is ~1% weight of active halosulfonamide compounds to pet bedding.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant filing to have optimized the amount/concentration of the halo active sulfonamide compound added to the animal bedding textile in order to afford the claimed weight percentage of halo sulfonamide compounds on the pet bedding because it is known, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use at least one of the claimed additives in forming the textile pet bed of Schneider III in order to develop the instantly claimed pet bed/pet bedding. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this because CA2238154A1 teaches textiles for pets which have a long lasting anti-odor agent and which further comprises a latex/coating sealer which is used to coat the textile fabric with the anti-odor and/or antimicrobial agent and seal the fibers from microbe entry and it would increase the life of the pet bedding by allowing long term antimicrobial and anti-odor coatings/sealing of the textile fibers and/or it would be obvious to incorporate the claimed acrylics within the fibers for fire resistance as taught by CA2238154A1 these treatments would better allow the claimed halosulfonamide active which is taught by Schneider to remain on/within the textile since the latex coating will allow for a higher viscosity of the formulation being applied to the bedding thereby leading to long lasting anti-odor effects of the treated pet bed/pet bedding which would be beneficial since these anti-odor and antimicrobial effects will allow for the bedding not to have to be washed as frequently thereby leading to a longer use life for the bedding.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the above claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-12,14-18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending 17971233 (‘233), in view of Schneider (US20060075975), US5196473, US20040112297, Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), US4009684.
‘233 claims and antimicrobial animal bedding and/or litter product comprising a textile base material and the claimed haloactive aromatic sulfonamide compounds of the instantly claimed formula (I), specifically the claimed n-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide, and ‘233 claims using their haloactive aromatic sulfonamide compounds, which are the same as instantly claimed, in overlapping amounts to those instantly claimed, and wherein the haloactive aromatic sulfonamide compound is in the form of a powder having the claimed particle size, and wherein the composition comprises the claimed additional additives (latex, etc.) in the claimed amounts, and teaches methods of treating the animal bedding comprising treating the bedding/litter with the haloactive aromatic sulfonamide compounds instantly claimed via spraying, coating, tumbling, etc. which are the same as instantly claimed.
‘233 does not teach that their bedding, has the claimed particle size. ‘233 also does not claim the method of treating animal waste by letting an animal excrete waste onto the animal litter treated with the claimed halosulfonamide active compounds or specific animal litter comprising the claimed additives. However, these deficiencies in ‘233 are addressed by Schneider, US5196473, US20040112297, Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), US4009684.
Schneider teaches and claims animal litter treated with chloramine-T which is a compound of applicant’s instant formula (I), and Schneider teaches wherein 0.01 to 5 wt% of the chloramine T/compound of instant formula I is applied to the litter based on the weight of the cat litter substrate (Claims 1-19; [0029-0033]; [0025]; [0020-0021]). Schneider teaches that their cat litter has been found to be very effective in that the resulting used litter boxes are essentially odor-free and the used litter boxes have been found to be “cat friendly” in that cats have been observed returning to the litter box after defecating or urinating, which reads on the claimed method for treating animal waste in that Schneider teaches the step of providing a container containing an animal litter, and the step of permitting an animal to excrete waste into the animal litter; and Schneider expressly teaches that naturally occurring clays have been found to be useful as litter substrates because of their ability to absorb large volumes of liquids and they specifically claim treating natural clay litter material which chloramine T and/or other compounds applicant’s formula I, which reads on wherein the animal litter comprises an absorbent base material and a halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed in claim 8, and they claim wherein the effective amount of the halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed is from about 0.01 to about 5 wt% which reads on the claimed range of about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% claimed in claim 10 ([0035]; [0022-0023]; claims 1-19).
Schneider teaches methods of preparing animal litter the method comprising treating the animal litter or bedding with an active composition comprising the claimed halo active sulfonamide compound(s) of formula (I), specifically chloramine-T by tumbling as claimed in claim 13, Schneider does not specifically teach that the bedding has extended antimicrobial killing performance. However, Schneider teaches treating the same absorbent animal litter with the same composition comprising the same halo active sulfonamide compound(s) of formula I instantly claimed in the same/overlapping amounts that are instantly claimed as discussed above. It is known, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
US5196473 teaches animal litters which are treated with polyvinyl acetate in amounts of 0.05 to about 0.15 wt% which helps to keep down dust from the litter substrate (see claims 6-8).
US20040112297 teaches animal litters which comprise polyacrylate and/or acrylics as a binder which reads on the instantly claimed acrylic additive (see abstract; [0012]; [0013]; claims; [0017]; [00020]; [0025-0026]; [0035-0036]).
Bracilovic teaches using latexes on animal litters as paints to color a small portion of the litter granules to help see litter that is tracked out the litter box, these latex paints are typically used in amounts of 0.1 to 20 wt% of the animal litter or more (see [0022]). Bracilovic also teaches that animal litter absorbent particles, e.g. clay particles, are typically/suitably from about 25 microns to about 3350 microns in diameter for use as animal litter which read on the claimed average particle size of 100 micrometers to about 2000 micrometers (See [0012]).
US4009684 teaches using coatings on animal litters to provide sustained release of fragrances/deodorants to the litter, the coatings in US4009684 read on the claimed sealers (see entire document; abstract; claims; examples 4-5; etc.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to have formed the claimed animal litter treated with the claimed active agents in the claimed amounts and with the claimed additional active agents because ‘233 teaches that animal bedding can be treated with the same active agents in the same powdered form having the same particle size as claimed and in the same amounts as claimed. Thus, it would be obvious to treat litter having the claimed particle sizes with the claimed active agents in the claimed amounts because these active agents are known in the art to be safe for use with animals in their bedding and as such would be safe for litter use and are known to control odors and exhibit antimicrobial activity as this is a property of the claimed active agents in the claimed amounts and as such the claimed methods and composition are obvious when taken in view of copending 17971233 (‘233), in view of the combined references above.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, and 16 of US9987389 (‘389) in view of in view of Schneider (US20060075975) “Schneider”, Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, Jollez (WO2015031998), Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III”, US5196473, US20040112297, US4009684, and CA2238154A1.
‘389 teaches absorbent articles/substrates which are treated with halosulfonamides of applicant’s formula I, specifically the claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide, and methods of applying the halosulfonamides to the absorbent substrates in amounts/concentrations which overlap those instantly claimed and wherein the halosulfonamide composition applied to the substrate includes additives in amounts which overlap those instantly claimed. ‘389 teaches wherein the absorptive substrates can be a pet pad which reads on the claimed pet litter. However, ‘389 does not teach wherein the absorptive substrate is in the form of granule/particles of the claimed particle size or wherein the halosulfonamide is in the form of a powder of the claimed particle size or wherein the treating of the absorptive substrate/litter is done by spraying or tumbling, etc. and drying the animal litter after treatment with the active composition or wherein the additives are the newly specifically claimed additives. However, these deficiencies in ‘389 are addressed by the secondary references cited above.
Schneider teaches and claims animal litter treated with chloramine-T which is a compound of applicant’s instant formula (I), and Schneider teaches wherein 0.01 to 5 wt% of the chloramine T/compound of instant formula I is applied to the litter based on the weight of the cat litter substrate (Claims 1-19; [0029-0033]; [0025]; [0020-0021]). Schneider broadly teaches wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound can be in the instantly claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide (Claims 1-4, wherein R3 is COOM, X is halogen and M is alkali or alkaline earth metal, and R1-R2, R4-R5 are all H; [0030-0033]).
Schneider teaches that their cat litter has been found to be very effective in that the resulting used litter boxes are essentially odor-free and the used litter boxes have been found to be “cat friendly” in that cats have been observed returning to the litter box after defecating or urinating, which reads on the claimed method for treating animal waste in that Schneider teaches the step of providing a container containing an animal litter, and the step of permitting an animal to excrete waste into the animal litter; and Schneider expressly teaches that naturally occurring clays have been found to be useful as litter substrates because of their ability to absorb large volumes of liquids and they specifically claim treating natural clay litter material which chloramine T and/or other compounds applicant’s formula I, which read on wherein the animal litter comprises an absorbent base material and a halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed in claim 8, and they claim wherein the effective amount of the halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed is from about 0.01 to about 5 wt% which read on the claimed range of about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% claimed in claim 10 ([0035]; [0022-0023]; claims 1-19).
Schneider teaches methods of preparing animal litter the method comprising treating the animal litter or bedding with an active composition comprising the claimed halo active sulfonamide compound(s) of formula (I), specifically chloramine-T by tumbling as claimed in claim 13, Schneider does not specifically teach that the bedding has extended antimicrobial killing performance. However, Schneider teaches treating the same absorbent animal litter with the same composition comprising the same halo active sulfonamide compound(s) of formula I instantly claimed in the same/overlapping amounts that are instantly claimed as discussed above. It is known, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Schneider II teaches bodily fluid absorbers which are odor-controlling and wherein the absorbers can be granules and as such read on animal litter, and wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound can be the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide and wherein the compound is safe for contact with animals, including humans (see entire document; claims; [0067]; [0081]; [0011-0016]; [0022-0027]).
Schneider II teaches that the absorbent materials may be treated/pre-treated with surfactants, wetting agents, antimicrobial agents, pigments, and/or the active halosulfonamide compounds can be mixed with other additives such as buffering agent(s), binder, trace amounts of compatible perfume, and/or an alcohol. Specifically, Schneider II teaches wherein their composition comprise alcohols in amounts of about 0.1 to about 2.0 wt% which reads on the about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% of an additional additive (see [0072-0073]). Schneider II teaches wherein the low molecular weight alcohol, e.g. t-butanol can be added to enhance the activity of the active halo sulfonamide compound, specifically the alcohol enhances the odor removal activity of the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0072-0073]).
Schneider also does not specifically teach the claimed step of drying the animal litter or bedding after treatment with the active composition. This deficiency in Schneider is addressed by Schneider II. Schneider II teaches that it is known to spray compositions comprising the claimed active halo sulfonamide compounds onto absorbent substrates to control odors which are later absorbed into the absorbent substrates and wherein the composition is allowed to evaporate, i.e. dry after application of the active composition to the absorbent substrates, which reads on the claimed step of drying, as evaporating the solvents, dries the absorbent substrate to which the active halo sulfonamide compounds were applied and leaves behind the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0076]).
Schneider II teaches that it is known to spray compositions comprising the claimed active halo sulfonamide compounds onto absorbent substrates to control odors which are later absorbed into the absorbent substrates and wherein the composition is allowed to evaporate, i.e. dry after application of the active composition to the absorbent substrates, which reads on the claimed step of drying, as evaporating the solvents, dries the absorbent substrate to which the active halo sulfonamide compounds were applied and leaves behind the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0076]).
US5196473 teaches animal litters which are treated with polyvinyl acetate in amounts of 0.05 to about 0.15 wt% which helps to keep down dust from the litter substrate (see claims 6-8).
US20040112297 teaches animal litters which comprise polyacrylate and/or acrylics as a binder which reads on the instantly claimed acrylic additive (see abstract; [0012]; [0013]; claims; [0017]; [00020]; [0025-0026]; [0035-0036]).
Bracilovic teaches using latexes on animal litters as paints to color a small portion of the litter granules to help see litter that is tracked out the litter box, these latex paints are typically used in amounts of 0.1 to 20 wt% of the animal litter or more (see [0022]). Bracilovic also teaches that animal litter absorbent particles, e.g. clay particles, are typically/suitably from about 25 microns to about 3350 microns in diameter for use as animal litter which read on the claimed average particle size of 100 micrometers to about 2000 micrometers (See [0012]).
US4009684 teaches using coatings on animal litters to provide sustained release of fragrances/deodorants to the litter, the coatings in US4009684 read on the claimed sealers (see entire document; abstract; claims; examples 4-5; etc.).
Jollez teaches that it was known to form powders of the claimed halo sulfonamide active agents, e.g. chloramine-T as powders having particle size of 12 to 300 mesh which reads on the claimed 50 microns or less, because 300 mesh is 50 microns, specifically Jollez teaches using powdered anti-odor compounds to coat animal litter granules (Abstract; pg. 10, ln. 8-11).
Schneider III teaches textile materials, specifically a dog bed which is pet bedding, treated with the claimed halosulfonamide compounds, specifically the claimed N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide (compound 6/[0038]; Example 17) and wherein the treated textile further comprises one or more additional additives, e.g. an alcohol, e.g. t-butanol or a fragrance which are used on the bedding when applying the composition with the N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide as is instantly claimed (Example 17).
Schneider III also teaches applying amounts of about 8.5 g of the formulation to a 30” dog bed and while the dog bed weight is not given it would have been obvious that the animal bedding material which is treated comprises from about 50 wt% to about 99.99 wt% of the textile base material.
CA2238154A1 teaches bedding compositions for domestic animals which are/can be made of acrylics as part of the textile base of the bedding article which reads on the claimed acrylic additive, and which are coated/treated with coating/laminate/sealer which contains latex and a microbicidal agent to coat/seal the fibers of the textile from microbes thereby inhibiting microbes from passing through the textile/fibers, and wherein the fibers have flame-resistant modacrylic polymer in the outer textile and/or the inner filling of the textile bed (See entire document; claims; pg. 2, ln. 10-19; pg. 3, ln. 1-6; 13-pg. 4, ln. 7; pg. 3, ln. 8-12, 22-pg. 5, ln. 19; pg. 7, ln. 23-31 (coating/sealer which prevent microbe penetration into the fibers); pg. 14, ln. 1-6 (acrylic fabric/textile); pg. 14, ln. 16-22; pg. 17, ln. 29-pg. 18, ln. 2; pg. 24, ln. 26-pg. 25, ln. 8; pg. 41, ln. 17-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the claimed composition, litter, bedding, and methods instantly claimed because ‘389 in view of the combined references above teach that it was known to apply the claimed active halosulfonamide compounds to various substrates including animal litters, and pet bedding and the claimed particle sizes were known to be effective sizes for animal litters and the claimed particle sizes of the active halosulfonamide compounds were known to be effective particle sizes for treating animal litter particles/granules and it was known to use the claimed compounds via the claimed application methods to treat animal litters and/other substrates in the claimed amounts. It also would have been obvious to add the claimed additional adjuvants because for instance latex sealers/coatings are known to be used when applying the claimed compounds to both animal litters in the claimed amounts and pet bedding as discussed above. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the claimed composition and methods are obvious when taken in view of ‘389 in view of the combined references for the reasons discussed above.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of US10653811 (‘811) in view of in view of Schneider (US20060075975) “Schneider”, Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, Jollez (WO2015031998), Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III”, US5196473, US20040112297, US4009684, and CA2238154A1 for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to US9987389 (‘389) in view of in view of Schneider (US20060075975) “Schneider”, Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, Jollez (WO2015031998), Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III”, US5196473, US20040112297, US4009684, and CA2238154A1.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US8425890 (‘890) in view of in view of Schneider (US20060075975) “Schneider”, Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, Jollez (WO2015031998), Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III”, US5196473, US20040112297, US4009684, and CA2238154A1.
‘890 teaches absorbent articles/substrates which are treated with halosulfonamides of applicant’s formula I, specifically the claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide, and methods of applying the halosulfonamides to the absorbent substrates in amounts/concentrations which overlap those instantly claimed and wherein the halosulfonamide composition applied to the substrate can include additives/additional components. ‘890 does not teach wherein the absorptive substrate is in the form of granule/particles of the claimed particle size or wherein the halosulfonamide is in the form of a powder of the claimed particle size or wherein the treating of the absorptive substrate/litter is done by spraying or tumbling, etc. and drying the animal litter after treatment with the active composition. However, these deficiencies in ‘890 are addressed by Schneider, Schneider II, Venezio, Jollez, and Bracilovic.
Schneider teaches and claims animal litter treated with chloramine-T which is a compound of applicant’s instant formula (I), and Schneider teaches wherein 0.01 to 5 wt% of the chloramine T/compound of instant formula I is applied to the litter based on the weight of the cat litter substrate (Claims 1-19; [0029-0033]; [0025]; [0020-0021]). Schneider broadly teaches wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound can be in the instantly claimed N-chloro-4-carboxybenzenesulfonamide (Claims 1-4, wherein R3 is COOM, X is halogen and M is alkali or alkaline earth metal, and R1-R2, R4-R5 are all H; [0030-0033]).
Schneider teaches that their cat litter has been found to be very effective in that the resulting used litter boxes are essentially odor-free and the used litter boxes have been found to be “cat friendly” in that cats have been observed returning to the litter box after defecating or urinating, which reads on the claimed method for treating animal waste in that Schneider teaches the step of providing a container containing an animal litter, and the step of permitting an animal to excrete waste into the animal litter; and Schneider expressly teaches that naturally occurring clays have been found to be useful as litter substrates because of their ability to absorb large volumes of liquids and they specifically claim treating natural clay litter material which chloramine T and/or other compounds applicant’s formula I, which read on wherein the animal litter comprises an absorbent base material and a halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed in claim 8, and they claim wherein the effective amount of the halo active sulfonamide compound of instant formula (I) as claimed is from about 0.01 to about 5 wt% which reads on the claimed range of about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% claimed in claim 10 ([0035]; [0022-0023]; claims 1-19).
Schneider teaches methods of preparing animal litter the method comprising treating the animal litter or bedding with an active composition comprising the claimed halo active sulfonamide compound(s) of formula (I), specifically chloramine-T by tumbling as claimed in claim 13, Schneider does not specifically teach that the bedding has extended antimicrobial killing performance. However, Schneider teaches treating the same absorbent animal litter with the same composition comprising the same halo active sulfonamide compound(s) of formula I instantly claimed in the same/overlapping amounts that are instantly claimed as discussed above. It is known, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Schneider II teaches bodily fluid absorbers which are odor-controlling and wherein the absorbers can be granules and as such read on animal litter, and wherein the halo active sulfonamide compound can be the claimed N-chloro-p-carboxysulfonamide/N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide and wherein the compound is safe for contact with animals, including humans (see entire document; claims; [0067]; [0081]; [0011-0016]; [0022-0027]).
Schneider II teaches that the absorbent materials may be treated/pre-treated with surfactants, wetting agents, antimicrobial agents, pigments, and/or the active halosulfonamide compounds can be mixed with other additives such as buffering agent(s), binder, trace amounts of compatible perfume, and/or an alcohol. Specifically, Schneider II teaches wherein their composition comprise alcohols in amounts of about 0.1 to about 2.0 wt% which reads on the about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% of an additional additive (see [0072-0073]). Schneider II teaches wherein the low molecular weight alcohol, e.g. t-butanol can be added to enhance the activity of the active halo sulfonamide compound, specifically the alcohol enhances the odor removal activity of the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0072-0073]).
US5196473 teaches animal litters which are treated with polyvinyl acetate in amounts of 0.05 to about 0.15 wt% which helps to keep down dust from the litter substrate (see claims 6-8).
US20040112297 teaches animal litters which comprise polyacrylate and/or acrylics as a binder which reads on the instantly claimed acrylic additive (see abstract; [0012]; [0013]; claims; [0017]; [00020]; [0025-0026]; [0035-0036]).
Bracilovic teaches using latexes on animal litters as paints to color a small portion of the litter granules to help see litter that is tracked out the litter box, these latex paints are typically used in amounts of 0.1 to 20 wt% of the animal litter or more (see [0022]). Bracilovic also teaches that animal litter absorbent particles, e.g. clay particles, are typically/suitably from about 25 microns to about 3350 microns in diameter for use as animal litter which read on the claimed average particle size of 100 micrometers to about 2000 micrometers (See [0012]).
US4009684 teaches using coatings on animal litters to provide sustained release of fragrances/deodorants to the litter, the coatings in US4009684 read on the claimed sealers (see entire document; abstract; claims; examples 4-5; etc.).
Schneider also does not specifically teach the claimed step of drying the animal litter or bedding after treatment with the active composition. This deficiency in Schneider is addressed by Schneider II. Schneider II teaches that it is known to spray compositions comprising the claimed active halo sulfonamide compounds onto absorbent substrates to control odors which are later absorbed into the absorbent substrates and wherein the composition is allowed to evaporate, i.e. dry after application of the active composition to the absorbent substrates, which reads on the claimed step of drying, as evaporating the solvents, dries the absorbent substrate to which the active halo sulfonamide compounds were applied and leaves behind the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0076]).
Schneider II teaches that it is known to spray compositions comprising the claimed active halo sulfonamide compounds onto absorbent substrates to control odors which are later absorbed into the absorbent substrates and wherein the composition is allowed to evaporate, i.e. dry after application of the active composition to the absorbent substrates, which reads on the claimed step of drying, as evaporating the solvents, dries the absorbent substrate to which the active halo sulfonamide compounds were applied and leaves behind the active halo sulfonamide compound ([0076]).
Jollez teaches that it was known to form powders of the claimed halo sulfonamide active agents, e.g. chloramine-T as powders having particle size of 12 to 300 mesh which reads on the claimed 50 microns or less, because 300 mesh is 50 microns, specifically Jollez teaches using powdered anti-odor compounds to coat animal litter granules (Abstract; pg. 10, ln. 8-11).
Schneider III teaches textile materials, specifically a dog bed which is pet bedding, treated with the claimed halosulfonamide compounds, specifically the claimed N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide (compound 6/[0038]; Example 17) and wherein the treated textile further comprises one or more additional additives which are used on the bedding when applying the composition with the N-chloro-4-carboxysulfonamide as is instantly claimed (Example 17).
Schneider III also teaches applying amounts of about 8.5 g of the formulation to a 30” dog bed and while the dog bed weight is not given it would have been obvious that the animal bedding material which is treated comprises from about 50 wt% to about 99.99 wt% of the textile base material.
CA2238154A1 teaches bedding compositions for domestic animals which are/can be made of acrylics as part of the textile base of the bedding article which reads on the claimed acrylic additive, and which are coated/treated with coating/laminate/sealer which contains latex and a microbicidal agent to coat/seal the fibers of the textile from microbes thereby inhibiting microbes from passing through the textile/fibers, and wherein the fibers have flame-resistant modacrylic polymer in the outer textile and/or the inner filling of the textile bed (See entire document; claims; pg. 2, ln. 10-19; pg. 3, ln. 1-6; 13-pg. 4, ln. 7; pg. 3, ln. 8-12, 22-pg. 5, ln. 19; pg. 7, ln. 23-31 (coating/sealer which prevent microbe penetration into the fibers); pg. 14, ln. 1-6 (acrylic fabric/textile); pg. 14, ln. 16-22; pg. 17, ln. 29-pg. 18, ln. 2; pg. 24, ln. 26-pg. 25, ln. 8; pg. 41, ln. 17-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the claimed composition, litter, bedding, and methods instantly claimed because ‘890 in view of the combined references teach that it was known to apply the claimed active halosulfonamide compounds to various substrates including animal litters, and pet bedding and the claimed particle sizes were known to be effective sizes for animal litters and the claimed particle sizes of the active halosulfonamide compounds were known to be effective particle sizes for treating animal litter particles/granules and it was known to use the claimed compounds via the claimed application methods to treat animal litters and/other substrates in the claimed amounts. It also would have been obvious to add the newly claimed adjuvants in the claimed amounts because each of the claimed additives are known in the art to be used in formulating animal litters and on animal/dog bedding and it would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of the additives in order to provide the most effective litter and/or animal bedding as this something one of ordinary skill in the art routinely does when forming these products. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the claimed composition and methods are obvious when taken in view of ‘890 in view of the combined references.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of US9408940 (‘940) in view of in view of Schneider (US20060075975) “Schneider”, Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, Jollez (WO2015031998), Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III”, US5196473, US20040112297, US4009684, and CA2238154A1 for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to US8425890 (‘890) in view of in view Schneider (US20060075975) “Schneider”, Schneider et al. (US20100215612) “Schneider II”, Jollez (WO2015031998), Bracilovic et al. (US20130199456), Schneider et al. (US20050287109) “Schneider III”, US5196473, US20040112297, US4009684, and CA2238154A1.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have prompted the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Applicants first state that they will submit a terminal disclaimer over copending 17971233 when it is the only remaining rejection. Applicant’s request for the double patenting rejections to be held in abeyance is acknowledged. However, a request to hold a rejection in abeyance until it is the only remaining rejection is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an objection or requirements as to form (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.111(b) and 714.02). Accordingly, the rejection will be maintained until a terminal disclaimer is filed or the claims are amended to obviate the rejection.
Applicants then argue the other double patenting rejections and they traverse them together. Applicants argue that the claims are amended to include additives not taught by the combined prior art of record. The examiner agrees and has withdrawn the previous grounds of rejection. However, applicant’s amendments have prompted the new grounds of rejection under double patenting presented herein.
Applicants then argue the 103 rejections and they argue that these rejections are overcome for the same reasons above. The examiner respectfully disagrees that applicants have actually excluded anything from their claim scope because the claims still use comprising language. However, the examiner does agree that the amendments to the specifically claimed additive scope have overcome the 103 rejection(s) of record but these amendments have prompted the new grounds of rejection under 103 presented herein.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616