Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9, 14, 21, 27-28, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0144637 A1), hereinafter, Kwon.
Regarding Claim 1, Kwon teaches,
An access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, -Paragraph [0072] ([0072] recites, “As examples, the Specification describes and/or illustrates aspects useful for implementing the aspects of the present disclosure by way of operations by various circuits or circuitry which may not have been expressly illustrated but understood as being present (e.g., a data router, modem, CPU, and/or other types of data routing devices). Such circuits or circuitry are used together with other elements to exemplify how certain embodiments may be carried out in the form or system-level structures, steps, functions, operations, activities, etc. For example, in certain of the above-discussed embodiments, one or more of the aspects involved are implemented using programmable logic circuitry configured for implementing these operations/activities, as may be carried out in the approaches as shown and discussed above. In certain embodiments, such a programmable circuit is one or more computer circuits, including memory circuitry for storing and accessing a program to be executed as a set (or sets) of instructions…”)
cause the AP MLD to: transmit, to a non-AP MLD, a first frame indicating configuration of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) of a first link of a plurality of links between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD; -Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0009, 0033, 0050] ([0009] recites, “a method for a first MLD (multi-link device) to setup a first TWT agreement with a second MLD on a set of links. The method comprises: transmitting, by the first MLD, a first request frame to the second MLD, wherein the first request frame includes a first subfield set to a value indicating that the first frame requests a first TWT agreement;” [0033] recites, “..method using one TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or one Broadcast TWT ID subfield). In this example the above subfield may be used for one multi-link TWT agreement between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD. Also, the above subfield may be used for a station affiliated with a non-AP MLD and an AP affiliated with a AP MLD for each link.” The first MLD can be AP MLD and the second MLD can be non-AP MLD. [0050] recites, “when an individual TWT agreement is setup on more than one link between a TWT requesting STA MLD and a TWT responding STA MLD, wherein the individual TWT agreement is a trigger-enabled TWT agreement, the TWT responding STA MLD of the trigger-enabled TWT agreement schedules for transmission of Trigger frames for the TWT requesting STA MLD on at least one link among the setup links, within each TWT SP for that TWT agreement.”
and receive, from the non-AP MLD via a second link of the plurality of links, a second frame indicating rescheduling of the TWT SP of the first link, -Paragraph [0061] ([0061] recites, “a frame conveying the TWT information field includes multi-link information, wherein update of the multi-link information indicates that the multi-link configuration is updated. In this regard, in one embodiment a management frame including TWT Information field includes a MAC header, wherein at least one field of the MAC header indicates the links that the TWT agreement keeps going. In one embodiment, an A-Control field is present for the management frame, and the A-Control field includes a bitmap on which link(s) the TWT agreement keeps going. In one embodiment, one variant of an A-Control field may be defined to be used for multi-link indication. In one embodiment, if the on-going schedule for the next TWT SP is not to be updated, the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 1, and the Next TWT subfield value is set to the next expected TWT time.” As explained above, the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0/1 indicating whether rescheduling of the TWT SP of the link is requested. Also, the bitmap indicates to what link it is applies.)
wherein the second frame comprises: link identifier (ID) information of the first link; and timing information for the TWT SP of the first link. -Paragraph [0035, 0045] ([0035] recites, “In one embodiment, each multi-link TWT agreement is uniquely identified by a single identification (ID) for application across all the links that multi-link TWT is setup, and a single MAC address of a MLD that represents all the STAs affiliated with the MLD for which the multi-link TWT is setup……the MAC address of the MLD is a MAC address of a STA affiliated with the MLD on a link for which the multi-link TWT agreement is made, and in another, the MAC address of the MLD is a MAC address of a specific STA affiliated with the MLD such as a STA in the lowest link ID within all links, or the highest link ID within all links, or a STA in a predefined group of links.” Timing information of the TWT SP is part of TWT setup.)
Regarding Claim 6, Kwon teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 1, wherein: the link ID information comprises an indication of the first link; and the timing information comprises a start time of the TWT SP of the first link. -Paragraph [0031-0035] ([0031] recites, “ FIG. 3 illustrates a method in which the standard Individual TWT Parameter Set 310 is used to include a multi-link indication field. In this example the link bitmap may reuse the TWT Channel field 320 of the Individual TWT Parameter Set 310. This field is in the form of a link bitmap 320 which may indicate which links are to be applied to the TWT agreement.” Timing information including start time and duration is conveyed in the individual TWT parameter set (Fig. 3) for the link in the link bitmap. [0035] recites, “…the MAC address of the MLD is a MAC address of a STA affiliated with the MLD on a link for which the multi-link TWT agreement is made, and in another, the MAC address of the MLD is a MAC address of a specific STA affiliated with the MLD such as a STA in the lowest link ID within all links” i.e., first link.)
Claim 9 is essentially the same apparatus claim as claim 1 except in the exchange process (i.e., the flow is in reverse direction) and claim 1 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Claim 14 is essentially the same as claim 6 (except for Claim 14 is dependent claim of independent Claim 9, whereas, Claim 6 is dependent claim of independent claim 1) and claim 6 has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 21, Kwon teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the second frame comprises a link ID bitmap comprising a plurality of bits corresponding to the plurality of links, and wherein a value of a first bit, of the plurality of bits, corresponding to the first link is equal to 1 to indicate the first link. -Paragraph [0015, 0027] ([0015] teaches, “FIG. 1C is a system-level diagram illustrating an example of a wireless multi-link communications system in which a link bitmap carries information on which links the TWT agreement is applied” [0027] recites, “FIG. 1C illustrates an example of a wireless communications system configured to operate in a multi-link device (MLD) manner. In this example, two communication devices 110 and 120 are illustrated with data communications between them taking place over three links 130, 132, and 134. The TWT agreements are negotiated in one or more frames and the TWT agreements will carry information on the TWT schedule (140, 142, 144, 150, 152, 154) for each of the links. In this example the TWT negotiation information may be communicated at least in part using a link bitmap (170, 172) field of either the Broadcast TWT Parameter Set or the Individual TWT Parameter Set. In certain more specific examples, the link bitmap is used only to indicate which links are involved for the TWT negotiation, and frame bodies of the one or more frames are used to deliver other part(s) of the TWT negotiation information.” The first bit of the bitmap corresponds to Link 1 and as it is involved in the TWT negotiation, it is set to 1)
Regarding Claim 27, Kwon teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to transmit to the non-AP MLD a third frame in response to the second frame, wherein the third frame comprises an acknowledgment frame. -Paragraph [0071] ([0071] recites, “In one such embodiment, if the first STA receives a valid acknowledgement frame to the TWT Information frame on the first link, TWT is suspended until the time in accordance with the information on the TSF value on the first link. In this embodiment, current TWT schedule may be maintained on links that is not the first link in the first set of links, and in another embodiment, if the first STA receives a valid acknowledgement frame to the TWT Information frame on the first link, the information on the TSF value indicates the earliest TWT at which the TWT schedule of the first TWT agreement on the first link is resumed. In this latter embodiment, a current TWT schedule may be maintained on links that is not the first link in the first set of links. In another embodiment, if the first STA receives a valid acknowledgement frame to the TWT Information frame on the first link, ongoing TWT is suspended on the first link if the TWT Information frame does not include the information on the TSF value. In this embodiment, current TWT schedule may be maintained on links that is not the first link in the first set of links.”)
Claim 28 is essentially the same apparatus claim as 21, and the only exception is Claim 28 is viewed from non-AP side while Claim 21 is viewed from AP side. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 21 above. Claim 28 is rejected under the same rational as claim 21.
Regarding Claim 33, Kwon teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Kwon further teaches,
The non-AP MLD of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the non-AP MLD to: receive from the AP MLD a third frame in response to the second frame, wherein the third frame comprises an acknowledgment frame; -Paragraph [0071] ([0071] recites, “In one such embodiment, if the first STA receives a valid acknowledgement frame to the TWT Information frame on the first link, TWT is suspended until the time in accordance with the information on the TSF value on the first link. In this embodiment, current TWT schedule may be maintained on links that is not the first link in the first set of links, and in another embodiment, if the first STA receives a valid acknowledgement frame to the TWT Information frame on the first link, the information on the TSF value indicates the earliest TWT at which the TWT schedule of the first TWT agreement on the first link is resumed….”)
and replace, based on receiving the third frame, a next start time of the TWT SP of the first link with the timing information indicated in the second frame -Paragraph [0071] ([0071] recites, “In this latter embodiment, a current TWT schedule may be maintained on links that is not the first link in the first set of links. In another embodiment, if the first STA receives a valid acknowledgement frame to the TWT Information frame on the first link, ongoing TWT is suspended on the first link if the TWT Information frame does not include the information on the TSF value. In this embodiment, current TWT schedule may be maintained on links that is not the first link in the first set of links.”)
Claim 34 is essentially the similar apparatus claim as claim 1 but different implementation using computer readable medium providing instruction to execute. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above. Claim 34 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Kwon further teaches,
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors -Paragraph [0072] ([0072] recites, “…In certain embodiments, such a programmable circuit is one or more computer circuits, including memory circuitry for storing and accessing a program to be executed as a set (or sets) of instructions (and/or to be used as configuration data to define how the programmable circuit is to perform), and an algorithm or process as described as implemented the actions…”)
Claim 35 is essentially the similar apparatus claim as claim 21 but different implementation using computer readable medium providing instruction to execute. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 21 above. Claim 35 is rejected under the same rational as claim 21.
Regarding Claim 36, Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 34.
Kwon further teaches,
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 34, wherein the second frame comprises a TWT information frame indicating a flexible TWT and comprising: a 'next TWT' subfield indicating a value for a next start time of the TWT SP of the first link; -Paragraph [0061-0062] ([0061-0062] recites, “In one embodiment, if the on-going schedule for the next TWT SP is not to be updated, the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 1, and the Next TWT subfield value is set to the next expected TWT time. In this regard, in one embodiment contents of the TWT Information field are modified to include the multi-link information. In one embodiment, the Next TWT subfield indicates both the multi-link information and the Next TWT time if the TWT identified by the TWT Flow Identifier between the AP MLLE and the non-AP MLLE is a multi-link TWT. For an example, K most-significant bits (or MSB, where K is a positive integer) of the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap that indicates the links on which the TWT agreement keeps going, and the rest of the Next TWT subfield bits indicates the next expected TWT time. In another embodiment, the Next TWT Request subfield in the TWT Information field is set to 0, and the Next TWT subfield is reused to indicate the multi-link information. For an example, if the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0 and the Next TWT Subfield Size subfield is not set to zero, the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap which indicates the links that the TWT agreement keeps going. For another example, if the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0 and the Next TWT Subfield Size subfield is not set to zero, the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap which indicates the links that the TWT agreement is suspended.”)
and a TWT Flow Identifier (ID) subfield that identifies the TWT SP of the first link. -Paragraph [0033] ([0033] recites, “embodiments involve a method using one TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or one Broadcast TWT ID subfield). In this example the above subfield may be used for one multi-link TWT agreement between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD. Also, the above subfield may be used for a station affiliated with a non-AP MLD and an AP affiliated with a AP MLD for each link...”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23, 25-26, 29-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon
in view of CHITRAKAR et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0032089 A1), hereinafter, CHITRAKAR.
Regarding Claim 22, Kwon teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit Kwon does not explicitly mention,
The AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the second frame comprises a TWT information frame indicating a flexible TWT.
However, in an analogous invention CHITRAKAR teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the second frame comprises a TWT information frame indicating a flexible TWT. -Table 1, Paragraph [0100] ([0100] recites, “TWT Recommendation field of a TWT Element may indicate constraints on frames transmitted during a broadcast TWT SP. Table 1 summarizes the constraints on frames transmitted during a broadcast TWT SP.” With Broadcast TWT Recommendation field value of “0” means no constraint, i.e., flexible TWT. Also, as explained by Kwon, manipulating ‘next TWT’ parameter, the TWT SP can be made flexible)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TARGET WAKE TIME NEGOTIATION IN A MULTI-LINK WIRELESS LAN SYSTEM” proposed by Kwon to include the concept of “second frame comprises a TWT information frame indicating a flexible TWT” of CHITRAKAR. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve channel access probability for designated traffic within a BSS [0113].
Regarding Claim 23, Kwon and CHITRAKAR combination teach the limitations of Claim 22.
Kwon further teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 22, wherein the TWT information frame comprises a 'next TWT' subfield indicating a value for a next start time of the TWT SP of the first link. -Paragraph [0061-0062] ([0061-0062] recites, “In one embodiment, if the on-going schedule for the next TWT SP is not to be updated, the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 1, and the Next TWT subfield value is set to the next expected TWT time. In this regard, in one embodiment contents of the TWT Information field are modified to include the multi-link information. In one embodiment, the Next TWT subfield indicates both the multi-link information and the Next TWT time if the TWT identified by the TWT Flow Identifier between the AP MLLE and the non-AP MLLE is a multi-link TWT. For an example, K most-significant bits (or MSB, where K is a positive integer) of the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap that indicates the links on which the TWT agreement keeps going, and the rest of the Next TWT subfield bits indicates the next expected TWT time. In another embodiment, the Next TWT Request subfield in the TWT Information field is set to 0, and the Next TWT subfield is reused to indicate the multi-link information. For an example, if the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0 and the Next TWT Subfield Size subfield is not set to zero, the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap which indicates the links that the TWT agreement keeps going. For another example, if the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0 and the Next TWT Subfield Size subfield is not set to zero, the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap which indicates the links that the TWT agreement is suspended.”)
Regarding Claim 25, Kwon and CHITRAKAR combination teach the limitations of Claim 23.
Know further teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 23, wherein the TWT information frame comprises a TWT Flow Identifier (ID) subfield that identifies the TWT SP of the first link. -Paragraph [0033] ([0033] recites, “embodiments involve a method using one TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or one Broadcast TWT ID subfield). In this example the above subfield may be used for one multi-link TWT agreement between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD. Also, the above subfield may be used for a station affiliated with a non-AP MLD and an AP affiliated with a AP MLD for each link...”)
Regarding Claim 26, Kwon and CHITRAKAR combination teach the limitations of Claim 25.
Know further teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 25, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AP MLD to replace the next start time of the TWT SP of the first link with the value indicated in the 'next TWT' subfield of the TWT information frame based on: -Paragraph [0062][0033] ([0062] recites, “For an example, K most-significant bits (or MSB, where K is a positive integer) of the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap that indicates the links on which the TWT agreement keeps going, and the rest of the Next TWT subfield bits indicates the next expected TWT time. In another embodiment, the Next TWT Request subfield in the TWT Information field is set to 0, and the Next TWT subfield is reused to indicate the multi-link information. For an example, if the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0 and the Next TWT Subfield Size subfield is not set to zero, the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap which indicates the links that the TWT agreement keeps going. For another example, if the Next TWT Request subfield is set to 0 and the Next TWT Subfield Size subfield is not set to zero, the Next TWT subfield represents a link-bitmap which indicates the links that the TWT agreement is suspended.” [0033] recites, “a method using one TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or one Broadcast TWT ID subfield). In this example the above subfield may be used for one multi-link TWT agreement between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD. Also, the above subfield may be used for a station affiliated with a non-AP MLD and an AP affiliated with a AP MLD for each link. In another related embodiment, one TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or Broadcast TWT ID subfield) is used for a multi-link TWT agreement that is set up on more than one link. In one embodiment, the TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or Broadcast TWT ID subfield) on a link is different from the TWT Flow Identifier subfield (or Broadcast TWT ID subfield) on another link.”)
Although implicit, Kwon does not explicitly mention
TWT information frame indicating the flexible TWT.
However, in an analogous invention CHITRAKAR teaches,
TWT information frame indicating the flexible TWT. -Table 1, Paragraph [0100] ([0100] recites, “Further, a Broadcast TWT Recommendation field of a TWT Element may indicate constraints on frames transmitted during a broadcast TWT SP. Table 1 summarizes the constraints on frames transmitted during a broadcast TWT SP.” As shown in Table 1, when the Broadcast TWT Recommendation field value is “0”, there is no constraint, i.e., flexible. Also, as explained by Kwon, manipulating ‘next TWT’ parameter, the TWT SP can be made flexible.)
Claim 29 is essentially the same apparatus claim as 22, and the only exception is Claim 29 is viewed from non-AP side while Claim 22 is viewed from AP side. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 22 above. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as claim 22.
Claim 30 is essentially the same apparatus claim as 23, and the only exception is Claim 30 is viewed from non-AP side while Claim 23 is viewed from AP side. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 23 above. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as claim 23.
Claim 32 is essentially the same apparatus claim as 25, and the only exception is Claim 32 is viewed from non-AP side while Claim 25 is viewed from AP side. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 25 above. Claim 32 is rejected under the same rational as claim 25.
Claims 24, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon
in view of CHITRAKAR and further in view of BAEK et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0244656 A1), hereinafter, BAEK.
Regarding Claim 24, Kwon and CHITRAKAR combination teach the limitations of Claim 23.
Although implicit, Kwon does not explicitly mention,
The AP MLD of claim 23, wherein the TWT information frame comprises an 'All TWT' subfield set to zero.
However, in an analogous invention, BEAK teaches,
The AP MLD of claim 23, wherein the TWT information frame comprises an 'All TWT' subfield set to zero. -Paragraph [0199, 0203] ([0203] recites, “When all TWT subfields are configured as 1, it may indicate that a TWT information frame reschedules all TWTs. Otherwise, all TWT subfields may be configured as 0.” As the AP MLD of claim 23 is not re-scheduling all TWTs, the ‘All TWT’ subfield is set to zero.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “TARGET WAKE TIME NEGOTIATION IN A MULTI-LINK WIRELESS LAN SYSTEM” proposed by Kwon to include the concept of “TWT information frame comprises an 'All TWT' subfield set to zero.” of BAEK. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve energy efficiency of non-AP STAs [0191].
Claim 31 is essentially the same apparatus claim as 24, and the only exception is Claim 31 is viewed from non-AP side while Claim 24 is viewed from AP side. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 24 above. Claim 31 is rejected under the same rational as claim 24.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475