DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RATH et al (US 2020/0275096, RATH) in view of LEE et al (US 2019/0281290, hereafter LEE) in further view of Park et al (US 2018/0048896, hereafter Park) in further view of Ko et al (US 2019/0191155, hereafter Ko).
As per claim 16, RATH discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
obtaining a first prediction sample of a current block by performing a first prediction for the current block (¶ 66);
obtaining a second prediction sample of the current block by performing a second prediction for the current block (¶ 66); and
wherein only a non-directional intra prediction mode of Planar mode is determined as the intra prediction mode for the first prediction (¶ 83 - 86), and wherein the second prediction is performed based on a prediction mode which is not based on the non-directional intra prediction mode of the Planar mode.
However, RATH does not explicitly teach obtaining a final prediction sample of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction sample and the second prediction sample.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses obtaining a final prediction sample of the current block based on a weighted sum of the first prediction sample and the second prediction sample (¶ 448).
However, RATH or LEE does not explicitly teach wherein an intra prediction mode for the first prediction is pre-defined in the decoding apparatus so information for determining the intra prediction mode for the first prediction is not present in a bitstream.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein an intra prediction mode for the first prediction is pre-defined in the decoding apparatus so information for determining the intra prediction mode for the first prediction is not present in a bitstream (¶ 172; the prediction mode has not been coded and provided from the encoder, the decoder performs prediction in an intra-prediction mode predefined to be the same as that of the encoder, e.g., in the planar or DC mode.).
However, RATH or LEE or Park does not explicitly teach wherein, weights for the weighted sum of the first prediction sample and the second prediction sample is determined by referring to a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the neighboring block comprising at least one of a top neighboring block or a left neighboring block adjacent to the current block.
In the same field of endeavor, Ko teaches teach wherein, weights for the weighted sum of the first prediction sample and the second prediction sample is determined by referring to a neighboring block adjacent to the current block, the neighboring block comprising at least one of a top neighboring block or a left neighboring block adjacent to the current block (¶ 446).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of RATH in view of LEE in further view of Park in further view of Ko. The advantage is improved rate distortion in video coding.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 16 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 16 are applicable for claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487