DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on March 26, 2026 for the application filed October 21, 2022. Claims 10 and 18 have been amended; claim 23 has been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13, and 15-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2017/0265167A1) in view of Han (US2016/0021516A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches a data transmission method, comprising: determining, by a first device, configuration information of a first resource, wherein the configuration information of the first resource comprises: period information of the first resource and information of the first resource; sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices; and multicasting, by the first device, first information to the plurality of second devices through the first resource (Abstract: Methods and apparatuses for multicasting data to a group in a wireless communication system are disclosed herein. According to one exemplary method for a base station for multicasting data to a group in a wireless communication system. The base station configures each UE in the group with same periodic downlink resource via a dedicated signaling per UE. Paragraph [0133]: FIG. 16 is a flow chart 1600 according to one exemplary method from the perspective of a base station. In step 1605, the base station receives one or multiple messages to indicate UE(s) in a group. In step 1610, the base station configures each UE in the group with a same periodic downlink resource via a dedicated signaling per UE. In step 1615, the base station receives a packet associated with the group. In step 1620, the base station multicasts the packet to the UEs in the group via the same periodic downlink resource. Paragraph [0142]: In various methods, the periodic downlink resource is a downlink SPS resource. In other methods, the periodic downlink resource is a time/frequency radio resource, a physical resource block, or a set of a physical resource block. In one or more methods, the periodic downlink resource is reserved periodically for at least for each UE in the group.)
wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises information of a number of transmissions of the first information (Paragraph [0064]: After performing steps of registration to factory network, the use case of periodic instruction has the following steps as shown in FIG. 8: Paragraph [0066]: The set of UEs should reliably receive the instruction from the controller based on the received parameters. Paragraph [0067]: Diversity technique, e.g. repetitions, HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) retransmissions, or etc., is applied to the transmissions. For example, HARQ retransmission may occur if base station receives any HARQ NACK (Negative acknowledgement). Only UEs unsuccessfully receiving the instruction need to receive repetition, retransmission. Paragraph [0072]: In order to achieve periodic transmission and its response within cycle time, a scheduling mechanism is needed to provide radio resources for periodic transmissions from controller and associated responses from UEs within cycle time.)
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices.
However, Han teaches wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices (Paragraph: [0017]: configuring, by the base station, a transmission manner of an MBMS service according to the quantity of UEs. Paragraph [0061]: receiving, by the UE, MBMS configuration information and MBMS service data that are sent by the base station. Paragraph [0354]: The identifier information of an MBMS service includes: identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service, a group identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service, an MBMS service type, an MBMS service identifier, an MBMS service group identifier, an MBMS service session identifier, a single frequency network area identifier of an MBMS service, a service area identifier of an MBMS service, and the like. Specifically, the identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service may include an identifier of a UE that currently needs to receive an MBMS service, or an identifier list of UEs that currently need to receive an MBMS service. The group identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service may include a group identifier of a UE that currently needs to receive an MBMS service, or a group identifier list of UEs that currently need to receive an MBMS service.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices, as taught by Han in the system of Guo, so that the UE can establish a connection with the base station and get prepared to receive the MBMS service (Han: Paragraphs [0354], [0393]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1 wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
Guo further teaches information of a time-domain range corresponding to the first resource (Paragraph [0141]: According to one method, the dedicated signaling may include: (4) downlink SPS configuration related to downlink reception of data associated with the group. Paragraph [0142]: In various methods, the periodic downlink resource is a downlink SPS resource. In other methods, the periodic downlink resource is a time/frequency radio resource, a physical resource block, or a set of a physical resource block. In one or more methods, the periodic downlink resource is reserved periodically for at least for each UE in the group.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Guo further teaches wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises activation indication information; and the activation indication information is configured to indicate whether the first resource is activated; or the activation indication information is configured to indicate identifier information of an activated first resource in response to more than one sets of first resources being available (Paragraph [0083]: Current LTE SPS is per-UE scheduling. To schedule the same instruction transmission to the set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, evolved Node B (eNB) needs to indicate SPS activation via Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) individually to every UE in the set. Paragraph [0084]: If the same instruction is to be transmitted to the set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, all UEs in the set need to start the DL reception at the same time in order to receive the same instruction. To ensure every UE has received the SPS activation successfully, a period of time before transmitting instruction (e.g. activation period) may be necessary for base station to activate SPS for every UE in the set. Paragraph [0095]: To ensure every UE in the set to start DL reception at the same time, the time to start DL reception may need to be indicated. It can be represented by a start offset, activation time, or the combination of them. SPS occasions could be defined by a start offset and an SPS interval. SPS resources may occur at each SPS occasion once they are activated and an additional activation time could be used to indicate the time when the SPS resources will be activated as illustrated in FIG. 9. Paragraph [0124]: The information could be indicated to the base station from factory network. For example, the information could be indicated via a dedicated Evolved Packet System (EPS) bearer activation procedure, as illustrated in FIG. 12. For factory automation, this procedure could be used to provide BS necessary information to configure SPS resources to a UE. Paragraph [0125]: When a base station receives the necessary information from factory network, it can configure SPS resources to the UE in RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure which configures default EPS bearer to the UE.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices, comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
Guo further teaches sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through at least one of: downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a broadcasting (Abstract: Methods and apparatuses for multicasting data to a group in a wireless communication system are disclosed herein. According to one exemplary method for a base station for multicasting data to a group in a wireless communication system. The base station configures each UE in the group with same periodic downlink resource via a dedicated signaling per UE. Paragraph [0087]: To handle the same instruction transmitted to a set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, multicast transmission is utilized for the same downlink instruction. Using multicast can reduce PDCCH resource and scheduling complexity. Paragraph [0088]: Instead, dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling is used to indicate the time to start SPS transmission/reception. Every UE in the set can have the same understanding on when to start SPS transmission/reception. Paragraph [0125]: When a base station receives the necessary information from factory network, it can configure SPS resources to the UE in RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure which configures default EPS bearer to the UE. Paragraph [0133]: FIG. 16 is a flow chart 1600 according to one exemplary method from the perspective of a base station. In step 1605, the base station receives one or multiple messages to indicate UE(s) in a group. In step 1610, the base station configures each UE in the group with a same periodic downlink resource via a dedicated signaling per UE.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the sending the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices, comprises (see rejection for claim 5);
Guo further teaches sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through public DCI (Paragraph [0087]: To handle the same instruction transmitted to a set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, multicast transmission is utilized for the same downlink instruction. Using multicast can reduce PDCCH resource and scheduling complexity. Paragraph [0090]: Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI). Paragraph [0091]: Used for scrambling of data, if needed. It may be optional. Paragraph [0113]: A group identity (ID) associated with UE(s) should be indicated to the BS. The UE may be represented by its device ID or temporary ID. If group RNTI is needed, the BS associates the UE with a group for the group ID by mapping the UE ID (e.g. device ID) and/or group ID to a group RNTI. In other words, BS needs to maintain a mapping between a group ID and a group RNTI for a set of UEs. Paragraph [0114]: And the group ID may be provided together with each instruction. So BS can understand which set of UEs that an instruction is transmitted to.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the sending the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices, comprises (see rejection for claim 5);
Guo further teaches sending, by the first device, the period information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through the radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Abstract: Methods and apparatuses for multicasting data to a group in a wireless communication system are disclosed herein. According to one exemplary method for a base station for multicasting data to a group in a wireless communication system. The base station configures each UE in the group with same periodic downlink resource via a dedicated signaling per UE. Paragraph [0088]: Instead, dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling is used to indicate the time to start SPS transmission/reception. Every UE in the set can have the same understanding on when to start SPS transmission/reception. Paragraph [0125]: When a base station receives the necessary information from factory network, it can configure SPS resources to the UE in RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure which configures default EPS bearer to the UE. Paragraph [0133]: FIG. 16 is a flow chart 1600 according to one exemplary method from the perspective of a base station. In step 1605, the base station receives one or multiple messages to indicate UE(s) in a group. In step 1610, the base station configures each UE in the group with a same periodic downlink resource via a dedicated signaling per UE.)
and sending, by the first device, other information in the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through at least one of the DCI, and the broadcasting Paragraph [0087]: To handle the same instruction transmitted to a set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, multicast transmission is utilized for the same downlink instruction. Using multicast can reduce PDCCH resource and scheduling complexity. Paragraph [0090]: Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI). Paragraph [0091]: Used for scrambling of data, if needed. It may be optional. Paragraph [0113]: A group identity (ID) associated with UE(s) should be indicated to the BS. The UE may be represented by its device ID or temporary ID. If group RNTI is needed, the BS associates the UE with a group for the group ID by mapping the UE ID (e.g. device ID) and/or group ID to a group RNTI. In other words, BS needs to maintain a mapping between a group ID and a group RNTI for a set of UEs. Paragraph [0114]: And the group ID may be provided together with each instruction. So BS can understand which set of UEs that an instruction is transmitted to.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Guo further teaches sending, by the first device, an activation signaling to the plurality of second devices, wherein, the activation signaling is configured to activate the first resource; or the activation signaling is configured to indicate identifier information of an activated first resource in response to more than one sets of first resources being available (Paragraph [0075]: The information can assist the base station to decide when to start a downlink transmission to UE(s) and provide a configuration to the UE(s) about when to start downlink reception. For example, activation time and/or start offset could be used to indicate a UE the time to start downlink reception. Paragraph [0083]: Current LTE SPS is per-UE scheduling. To schedule the same instruction transmission to the set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, evolved Node B (eNB) needs to indicate SPS activation via Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) individually to every UE in the set. Paragraph [0084]: If the same instruction is to be transmitted to the set of UEs that may have more than one UE in the set, all UEs in the set need to start the DL reception at the same time in order to receive the same instruction. To ensure every UE has received the SPS activation successfully, a period of time before transmitting instruction (e.g. activation period) may be necessary for base station to activate SPS for every UE in the set so that the UE losing the SPS activation signaling can still have time to recover (due to loss rate of lower layer signaling). Paragraph [0095]: To ensure every UE in the set to start DL reception at the same time, the time to start DL reception may need to be indicated. It can be represented by a start offset, activation time, or the combination of them. SPS occasions could be defined by a start offset and an SPS interval. SPS resources may occur at each SPS occasion once they are activated and an additional activation time could be used to indicate the time when the SPS resources will be activated as illustrated in FIG. 9. Paragraph [0124]: The information could be indicated to the base station from factory network. For example, the information could be indicated via a dedicated Evolved Packet System (EPS) bearer activation procedure, as illustrated in FIG. 12. For factory automation, this procedure could be used to provide BS necessary information to configure SPS resources to a UE. Paragraph [0125]: When a base station receives the necessary information from factory network, it can configure SPS resources to the UE in RRC Connection Reconfiguration procedure which configures default EPS bearer to the UE.)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Guo further teaches sending, by the first device, a deactivation signaling to the plurality of second devices, wherein the deactivation signaling is configured to deactivate the first resource (Paragraph [0100]: Possibly, the factory network may provide the information in which the time to stop periodic instruction is included. Based on the information, BS can indicate each UE in the same set about the time to stop DL reception beforehand. With this way, the signalling for each UE in the same set to deactivate DL SPS or release DL SPS resource can be saved significantly. The time to stop periodic instruction can be represented by a duration followed by the start of periodic instruction. Paragraph [0101]: If the UEs are not indicated about the time to stop periodic instruction, i.e. it is not provided in the required UE dedicated configurations, the UEs may be explicitly indicated by BS to deactivate DL SPS or release DL SPS resource via dedicated signalling. Alternatively, the UEs may be explicitly indicated by BS to deactivate DL SPS or release DL SPS resource via common signalling addressed to the Group RNTI if provided. More specifically, the signalling could be a lower layer signalling, e.g. PDCCH.)
Claims 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2017/0265167A1) in view of Han (US2016/0021516A1) and further in view of Liang et al. (US2016/0249337A1).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices comprises: sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Guo and Han does not explicitly teach sending, by the first device, through one public DCI.
However, Liang teaches sending, by the first device, through one public DCI (Paragraph [0015]: the base station sends the DCI format bearing the uplink and downlink configuration information through a PDCCH, and sends a search space of the PDCCH including a common search space and/or a UE group common search space. Paragraph [0016]: Here, the UE group common search space may be a search space determined according to a common RNTI of a UE group, or a search space configured for the UE group by high-layer signalling, or a predefined UE group search space.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, by the first device, through one public DCI, as taught by Liang in the system of Guo and Han, so that the uplink/downlink configuration information can be sent dynamically by the base station on a common search space via public DCI (Liang: Paragraphs [0011], [0015], [0016])
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Guo and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Guo and Han does not explicitly teach sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through a first DCI, wherein the data transmission method further comprises: sending, by the first device, the first DCI to the plurality of second devices through a second resource, wherein the second resource is configured by the first device for the plurality of second devices.
However, Liang teaches sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through a first DCI, wherein the data transmission method further comprises: sending, by the first device, the first DCI to the plurality of second devices through a second resource, wherein the second resource is configured by the first device for the plurality of second devices (Paragraph [0015]: the base station sends the DCI format bearing the uplink and downlink configuration information through a PDCCH, and sends a search space of the PDCCH including a common search space and/or a UE group common search space. Paragraph [0016]: Here, the UE group common search space may be a search space determined according to a common RNTI of a UE group, or a search space configured for the UE group by high-layer signalling, or a predefined UE group search space.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, by the first device, the configuration information of the first resource to the plurality of second devices through a first DCI, wherein the data transmission method further comprises: sending, by the first device, the first DCI to the plurality of second devices through a second resource, wherein the second resource is configured by the first device for the plurality of second devices, as taught by Liang in the combined system of Guo and Han, so that the uplink/downlink configuration information can be sent dynamically by the base station on a common search space via public DCI (Liang: Paragraphs [0011], [0015], [0016])
Claims 10-11, 13, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2017/0265167A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US2020/0322921A1), Chen et al. (US2021/0385851A1), and Nam et al. (US2019/0222360A1).
Regarding claim 10, Guo teaches a retransmission method, comprising: receiving, by a first device, feedback information sent by at least one second device (Paragraph [0066]: The set of UEs should reliably receive the instruction from the controller based on the received parameters. Other UEs don't need to receive or even wake up. Paragraph [0067]: Diversity technique, e.g. repetitions, HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) retransmissions, or etc., is applied to the transmissions. For example, HARQ retransmission may occur if base station receives any HARQ NACK (Negative acknowledgement). Only UEs unsuccessfully receiving the instruction need to receive repetition, retransmission, or even wake up. Paragraph [0069]: The set of UEs should reliably transmit the response(s) to the controller based on the received parameters. Paragraph [0070]: Diversity technique, e.g. repetitions, HARQ retransmissions, or etc., is applied to the responses.)
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information; and multicasting, by the first device, the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource; wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; and multicasting, by the first device, the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource (Paragraph [0042]: In some aspects, base station 110 may include means for transmitting, to a UE information identifying an SPS configuration for a broadcast/multicast communication; means for transmitting the broadcast/multicast communication in accordance with the SPS configuration; means for transmitting broadcast/multicast signaling regarding the SPS configuration, wherein the broadcast/multicast signaling indicates to activate, deactivate, or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast communication; means for receiving feedback regarding the broadcast/multicast communication; means for retransmitting the broadcast/multicast communication based at least in part on the feedback. Paragraph [0045]: In some aspects, configuration parameters for receiving broadcast/multicast transmissions at different UEs may be identical across the different UEs, thus simplifying operation of the BS and improving performance of the broadcast/multicast transmission. In some aspects, the UEs may provide feedback regarding the broadcast/multicast transmission, thereby enabling the base station to selectively retransmit or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast transmission. Paragraph [0051]: In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a common DCI or a common MAC-CE (e.g., common to UEs of the BS's cell) for broadcast activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the SPS communication.)
notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information (Paragraph [0045]: In some aspects, configuration parameters for receiving broadcast/multicast transmissions at different UEs may be identical across the different UEs, thus simplifying operation of the BS and improving performance of the broadcast/multicast transmission. In some aspects, the UEs may provide feedback regarding the broadcast/multicast transmission, thereby enabling the base station to selectively retransmit or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast transmission. Paragraph [0051]: In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a common DCI or a common MAC-CE (e.g., common to UEs of the BS's cell) for broadcast activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the SPS communication. Paragraph [0054]: As shown by reference number 350, the BS may determine whether the broadcast/multicast communication should be retransmitted based at least in part on the feedback. Paragraph [0055]: In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a next SPS occasion of the SPS configuration, which may conserve resources that would otherwise be used to schedule the broadcast/multicast communication on a different resource. In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a dynamically scheduled resource. For example, the BS may schedule the retransmission for only UEs that reported a NACK for the broadcast/multicast communication, thereby conserving resources of UEs that reported an ACK for the broadcast/multicast communication. As another example, the BS may schedule the retransmission using a common DCI (e.g., common to UEs covered by the BS) on a common search space or CORESET. In the dynamic scheduling cases described above, the scheduling information may schedule a feedback resource for the retransmission so that recipients of the retransmission can provide feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback, NACK-only feedback, and/or the like) for the retransmission. Paragraph [0065]: In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the SPS configuration indicates a common downlink control information (DCI) or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the broadcast/multicast communication.)
wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI) (Paragraph [0051]: In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a common DCI or a common MAC-CE (e.g., common to UEs of the BS's cell) for broadcast activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the SPS communication. Paragraph [0054]: As shown by reference number 350, the BS may determine whether the broadcast/multicast communication should be retransmitted based at least in part on the feedback. Paragraph [0055]: In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a next SPS occasion of the SPS configuration, which may conserve resources that would otherwise be used to schedule the broadcast/multicast communication on a different resource. In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a dynamically scheduled resource. For example, the BS may schedule the retransmission for only UEs that reported a NACK for the broadcast/multicast communication, thereby conserving resources of UEs that reported an ACK for the broadcast/multicast communication. As another example, the BS may schedule the retransmission using a common DCI (e.g., common to UEs covered by the BS) on a common search space or CORESET. In the dynamic scheduling cases described above, the scheduling information may schedule a feedback resource for the retransmission so that recipients of the retransmission can provide feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback, NACK-only feedback, and/or the like) for the retransmission. Paragraph [0065]: In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the SPS configuration indicates a common downlink control information (DCI) or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the broadcast/multicast communication. Paragraph [0068]: In an eighth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through seventh aspects, the SPS configuration is communicated using radio resource control (RRC) messaging or a system information block (SIB) broadcast.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information; and multicasting, by the first device, the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource; sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI), as taught by Zhou in the system of Guo so that scheduling efficiency and performance of multicast transmissions can be improved, and the wireless device can monitor the retransmission resource for receiving the retransmission of the information by multicasting, which can improve performance of multicast transmissions and also conserve resource, and configuration of retransmission sent through DCI can be communicated to each UE or via common DCI to all the UEs (Zhou: Paragraph [0045], [0055], [0065], [0068]).
The combination of Guo and Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the first indication information comprises activation information of the retransmission resource.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first indication information comprises activation information of the retransmission resource (Paragraph [0028]: Optionally, the first retransmission resource which is allocated is deactivated, the retransmission configuration includes a period indication, or the retransmission configuration includes a period indication and a time-frequency resource indication; the first retransmission resource is activated or deactivated in any one of the following modes. Paragraph [0030]: the first retransmission resource is indicated to be activated or deactivated, through indication information in an initial transmission scheduling command. Paragraph [0132]: according to a protocol agreement, the first retransmission resource is activated when the first retransmission resource is scheduled for the initial transmission, and a time point of activating the first retransmission resource is spaced from a time point of the initial transmission by a preset time interval; Paragraph [0171]: indicating the activation/deactivation of the pre-allocated retransmission resource in the initial transmission scheduling command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, by the first device, second indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information comprises activation information of the retransmission resource, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Guo and Zhou, so that feedback resources of retransmissions can be reduced (Chen: Paragraph [0015]).
The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI.
However, Nam teaches wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI (Paragraph [0102]: At 605, following a determination at the base station 105-d that the first downlink transmission is to be retransmitted, the base station 105-d may transmit first downlink retransmission 605, which may have an associated second DCI. Paragraph [0107]: At 635, the base station 105-d may configure a third DCI that indicates TBS information for the first downlink retransmission 605. The third DCI, in some cases, may include information that may be used to derive the TBS for the first downlink retransmission (e.g., MCS and allocated RBs/REs within a TTI for the downlink retransmission to the UE 115-b). In some cases, the third DCI may include an explicit indication of the TBS for the downlink retransmissions, such as in an information element within the third DCI. Paragraph [0110]: the base station 105-d, at 660 may allocate resources for a second downlink retransmission. Paragraph [0111]: At 665, the base station 105-d may configure a fourth DCI for the second downlink retransmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI, as taught by Nam in the combined system of Guo, Zhou, and Chen, so that the configuration information and indication for retransmitting can be carried via different downlink control information (Nam: Paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0102], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the method according to claim 10, further comprising (see rejection for claim 10);
Guo does not explicitly teach determining, by the first device, a corresponding retransmission resource for each of the at least one second device; and notifying information of the corresponding retransmission resource to the each of the at least one second device; wherein sending the first information to the at least one second device through the retransmission resource, comprises: retransmitting, by the first device, the first information to each of the at least one second device through the corresponding retransmission resource.
However, Zhou teaches determining, by the first device, a corresponding retransmission resource for each of the at least one second device; and notifying information of the corresponding retransmission resource to the each of the at least one second device; wherein sending the first information to the at least one second device through the retransmission resource respectively, comprises: retransmitting, by the first device, the first information to each of the at least one second device through the corresponding retransmission resource (Paragraph [0042]: In some aspects, base station 110 may include means for transmitting, to a UE information identifying an SPS configuration for a broadcast/multicast communication; means for transmitting the broadcast/multicast communication in accordance with the SPS configuration; means for transmitting broadcast/multicast signaling regarding the SPS configuration, wherein the broadcast/multicast signaling indicates to activate, deactivate, or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast communication; means for receiving feedback regarding the broadcast/multicast communication; means for retransmitting the broadcast/multicast communication based at least in part on the feedback. Paragraph [0045]: In some aspects, configuration parameters for receiving broadcast/multicast transmissions at different UEs may be identical across the different UEs, thus simplifying operation of the BS and improving performance of the broadcast/multicast transmission. In some aspects, the UEs may provide feedback regarding the broadcast/multicast transmission, thereby enabling the base station to selectively retransmit or reconfigure the broadcast/multicast transmission. Paragraph [0051]: In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a common DCI or a common MAC-CE (e.g., common to UEs of the BS's cell) for broadcast activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the SPS communication. Paragraph [0054]: As shown by reference number 350, the BS may determine whether the broadcast/multicast communication should be retransmitted based at least in part on the feedback. Paragraph [0055]: In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a next SPS occasion of the SPS configuration, which may conserve resources that would otherwise be used to schedule the broadcast/multicast communication on a different resource. In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a dynamically scheduled resource. For example, the BS may schedule the retransmission for only UEs that reported a NACK for the broadcast/multicast communication, thereby conserving resources of UEs that reported an ACK for the broadcast/multicast communication. As another example, the BS may schedule the retransmission using a common DCI (e.g., common to UEs covered by the BS) on a common search space or CORESET. In the dynamic scheduling cases described above, the scheduling information may schedule a feedback resource for the retransmission so that recipients of the retransmission can provide feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback, NACK-only feedback, and/or the like) for the retransmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining, by the first device, a corresponding retransmission resource for each of the at least one second device; and notifying information of the corresponding retransmission resource to the each of the at least one second device; wherein sending the first information to the at least one second device through the retransmission resource respectively, comprises: retransmitting, by the first device, the first information to each of the at least one second device through the corresponding retransmission resource, as taught by Zhou in the system of Guo, so that the wireless device can monitor the retransmission resource to receive the information successfully, thus improving scheduling efficiency and performance of multicast transmissions (Zhou: Paragraphs [0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the method according to claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the first indication information is carried by downlink control information (DCI), a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first indication information is carried by downlink control information (DCI), a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Paragraph [0051]: In some aspects, the information identifying the SPS configuration may identify a common DCI or a common MAC-CE (e.g., common to UEs of the BS's cell) for broadcast activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the SPS communication. Paragraph [0054]: As shown by reference number 350, the BS may determine whether the broadcast/multicast communication should be retransmitted based at least in part on the feedback. Paragraph [0055]: In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a next SPS occasion of the SPS configuration, which may conserve resources that would otherwise be used to schedule the broadcast/multicast communication on a different resource. In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a dynamically scheduled resource. For example, the BS may schedule the retransmission for only UEs that reported a NACK for the broadcast/multicast communication, thereby conserving resources of UEs that reported an ACK for the broadcast/multicast communication. As another example, the BS may schedule the retransmission using a common DCI (e.g., common to UEs covered by the BS) on a common search space or CORESET. In the dynamic scheduling cases described above, the scheduling information may schedule a feedback resource for the retransmission so that recipients of the retransmission can provide feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback, NACK-only feedback, and/or the like) for the retransmission. Paragraph [0065]: In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the SPS configuration indicates a common downlink control information (DCI) or media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activation, deactivation, reconfiguration, or retransmission of the broadcast/multicast communication. Paragraph [0068]: In an eighth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through seventh aspects, the SPS configuration is communicated using radio resource control (RRC) messaging or a system information block (SIB) broadcast.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first indication information is carried by downlink control information (DCI), a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, as taught by Zhou in the system of Guo, so that the wireless device can monitor the retransmission resource for the indication to receive the retransmission of the information as well as the type of retransmission (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the method according to claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the first indication information comprises: information of a plurality of retransmission resource in response to the plurality of resources being available for retransmission.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first indication information comprises: information of a plurality of retransmission resource in response to the plurality of resources being available for retransmission (Paragraph [0055]: In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a next SPS occasion of the SPS configuration, which may conserve resources that would otherwise be used to schedule the broadcast/multicast communication on a different resource. In some aspects, the BS may retransmit the broadcast/multicast communication using a dynamically scheduled resource. For example, the BS may schedule the retransmission for only UEs that reported a NACK for the broadcast/multicast communication, thereby conserving resources of UEs that reported an ACK for the broadcast/multicast communication. As another example, the BS may schedule the retransmission using a common DCI (e.g., common to UEs covered by the BS) on a common search space or CORESET. In the dynamic scheduling cases described above, the scheduling information may schedule a feedback resource for the retransmission so that recipients of the retransmission can provide feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK feedback, NACK-only feedback, and/or the like) for the retransmission. Paragraph [0101]: In a seventeenth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through sixteenth aspects, the feedback includes negative feedback from one or more UEs, wherein the broadcast/multicast communication is retransmitted for the one or more UEs using a dynamically scheduled resource that is scheduled using dedicated downlink control information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first indication information comprises: information of a plurality of retransmission resource in response to the plurality of resources being available for retransmission, as taught by Zhou in the system of Guo, so that the first device can perform the retransmissions to at least one second device based on the feedback from the second device and the available resources (Zhou: Paragraphs [0055], [0101]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the method according to claim 10, further comprising (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Guo, Zhou, and Nam does not explicitly teach sending, by the first device, second indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate deactivating the retransmission resource.
However, Chen teaches sending, by the first device, second indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate deactivating the retransmission resource (Paragraph [0028]: Optionally, the first retransmission resource which is allocated is deactivated, the retransmission configuration includes a period indication, or the retransmission configuration includes a period indication and a time-frequency resource indication; the first retransmission resource is activated or deactivated in any one of the following modes. Paragraph [0030]: the first retransmission resource is indicated to be activated or deactivated, through indication information in an initial transmission scheduling command. Paragraph [0171]: indicating the activation/deactivation of the pre-allocated retransmission resource in the initial transmission scheduling command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, by the first device, second indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate deactivating the retransmission resource, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Guo, Zhou, and Nam, so that feedback resources of retransmissions can be reduced (Chen: Paragraph [0015]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US20170265167A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US20200322921A1), Chen et al. (US20210385851A1), Nam et al. (US2019/0222360A1), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US20210266952A1) hereinafter Zhou2.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the method according to claim 10; and multicasting the first information to the at least one second device through the retransmission resource, comprises (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam does not explicitly teach wherein the retransmission resource is pre-configured by the first device to the at least one second device; being triggered by the feedback information sent by the at least one second device.
However, Zhou2 teaches wherein the retransmission resource is pre- configured by the first device to the at least one second device; being triggered by the feedback information sent by the at least one second device (Paragraph [0007]: In some aspects, a method of wireless communication, performed by a UE, may include transmitting uplink feedback responsive to an attempt to receive a downlink transmission; activating a semi-persistent scheduling occasion or a pre-configured resource for a retransmission based at least in part on transmitting the uplink feedback; and communicating in the semi-persistent scheduling occasion or using the pre-configured resource for the retransmission. Paragraph [0050]: Additionally, or alternatively, a semi-persistent transmission procedure (e.g., an SPS/CG state) may be automatically activated based at least in part on transmission of uplink feedback. For example, rather than waiting for a DCI to activate resources for retransmission of a failed communication, a UE may transmit, to a BS, uplink feedback indicating the failed communication, which may automatically activate a retransmission using SPS resources or pre-configured retransmission resources (e.g., CG resources).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the retransmission resource is pre- configured by the first device to the at least one second device; being triggered by the feedback information sent by the at least one second device, as taught by Zhou2 in the combined system of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam, so that the first device and second device can conserve network resources by avoiding other techniques such as DCI based activation of retransmission (Zhou2: Paragraph [0050]).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2017/0265167A1) in view of Han (US2016/0021516A1), Zhou et al. (US2020/0322921A1), Chen et al. (US2021/0385851A1), and Nam et al. (US2019/0222360A1).
Regarding claim 18, Guo teaches a first device, comprising: a processor, a memory and a communication interface, wherein the processor is configured to invoke programs stored in the memory to execute a data transmission method comprising operations of (Paragraph [0153]: A sample storage medium may be coupled to a machine such as, for example, a computer/processor (which may be referred to herein, for convenience, as a “processor”) such the processor can read information (e.g., code) from and write information to the storage medium.)
determining configuration information of a first resource, wherein the configuration information of the first resource comprises: period information of the first resource and information of the first resource; sending the configuration information of the first resource to a plurality of second devices; and multicasting first information to the plurality of second devices through the first resource; wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises information of a number of transmissions of the first information (see rejection for claim 1);
a retransmission method comprising operations of: receiving feedback information sent by at least one second device (see rejection for claim 10);
Guo does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices; wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information; and multicasting the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource; wherein the first indication information comprises activation information of the retransmission resource; wherein the retransmission method further comprises: sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI.
However, Han teaches wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices, as taught by Han in the system of Guo, so that the UE can establish a connection with the base station and get prepared to receive the MBMS service (Han: Paragraphs [0354], [0393]).
The combination of Guo and Han does not explicitly teach wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information; and multicasting the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource; wherein the retransmission method further comprises: sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI).
However, Zhou teaches wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information; and multicasting the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource; wherein the retransmission method further comprises: sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI) (see rejection for claim 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the feedback information is configured to indicate that the at least one second device fails to receive first information; notifying, by the first device, first indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate retransmitting the first information; and multicasting the first information to the at least one second device through a retransmission resource, sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI), as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Guo and Han, so that scheduling efficiency and performance of multicast transmissions can be improved, and the wireless device can monitor the retransmission resource for receiving the retransmission of the information by multicasting, which can improve performance of multicast transmissions and also conserve resource, and configuration of retransmission sent through DCI can be communicated to each UE or via common DCI to all the UEs (Zhou: Paragraph [0045], [0055], [0065], [0068]).
The combination of Guo, Han, and Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the first indication information comprises activation information of the retransmission resource.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first indication information comprises activation information of the retransmission resource (see rejection for claim 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending, by the first device, second indication information to the at least one second device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate deactivating the retransmission resource, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Guo, Han, and Zhou, so that feedback resources of retransmissions can be reduced (Chen: Paragraph [0015]).
The combination of Guo, Han, Zhou, and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI.
However, Nam teaches wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI, as taught by Nam in the combined system of Guo, Han, Zhou, and Chen, so that the configuration information and indication for retransmitting can be carried via different downlink control information (Nam: Paragraphs [0036], [0039], [0102], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Guo, Han, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the first device according to claim 18 (see rejection for claim 18);
Guo further teaches wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises: information of a time-domain range corresponding to the first resource (see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Guo, Han, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches the first device according to claim 18 (see rejection for claim 18);
Guo further teaches wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises activation indication information; and the activation indication information is configured to indicate whether the first resource is activated; or the activation indication information is configured to indicate identifier information of an activated first resource in response to more than one sets of first resources being available (see rejection for claim 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 26, 2026 with respect to claims 1-2, and 4-9 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2017/0265167A1) in view of Han (US2016/0021516A1); claims 10-11, 13, 15, and 17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Zhou et al. (US2020/0322921A1), and Chen et al. (US2021/0385851A1); claim 16 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Zhou and Chen, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US2021/0266952A1) hereinafter Zhou2; claims 18-20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Han, Zhou and Chen; claims 21-22 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Han, and further in view of Liang et al. (US2016/0249337A1), claim 23 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Zhou, Chen, and Nam et al. (US2019/0222360A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, applicant submits that Han fails to disclose the features of amended claim 1 which recites “wherein the configuration information of the first resource further comprises identifier information of a device group, wherein the device group comprises the plurality of second devices; or identifier information of the plurality of second devices”. However, Han teaches that the configuring by the base station includes the MBMS service data. The base station sends the multicast MBMS configuration to the UEs, where the configuration information includes an identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service, a group identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service. The group identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service may include a group identifier of a UE that currently needs to receive an MBMS service, or a group identifier list of UEs that currently need to receive an MBMS service. Han teaches sending by the base station the configuring information and service data, which cumulatively provides identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service, a group identifier information of a UE that receives an MBMS service, an MBMS service type, an MBMS service identifier, an MBMS service group identifier, an identifier of a UE that currently needs to receive an MBMS service, or an identifier list of UEs that currently need to receive an MBMS service, a group identifier of a UE that currently needs to receive an MBMS service, or a group identifier list of UEs that currently need to receive an MBMS service. Thus, the combination of Guo and Han teaches amended independent claim 1, and dependent claims 2, and 4-9.
Regarding amended independent claim 10, applicant argues that Zhou and Nam fail to disclose or otherwise make obvious the features “sending, by the first device, configuration information of the retransmission resource to the at least one second device through downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI”. Zhou teaches that the base station schedules the retransmission using DCI, and sends the retransmission configuration information through the DCI. Nam teaches that “the first indication information for indicating retransmitting the first information is carried in another DCI different from the DCI”. Nam teaches sending another DCI indicating retransmission of the first information, such as a third DCI for a first downlink retransmission, or a fourth DCI for a second downlink transmission, which basically teaches indicating retransmitting the first information in another DCI. Thus, the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, and Nam teaches amended independent claim 10, and dependent claims 11, and 13, 15, and 17.
Amended independent claim 18 which recites above features in amended independent claims 1 and 10, and, dependent claims 19-20 are also taught by the combination of Guo, Han, Zhou, Chen, and Nam.
Dependent claim 16 is taught by the combination of Guo, Zhou, Chen, Nam, and Zhou2.
Dependent claims 21-22 are taught by the combination of Guo, Han, and Liang.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461