Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2021-174380, filed on 10/26/2021.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0005, line 2, "capable of favorably sucking even an object…" should be reworded as "capable of favorably sucking an object…".
in paragraph 0013, line 2, "suction pad capable of favorably sucking: even an object…" should be reworded as "suction pad capable of favorably sucking an object…".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bosboom et al (U.S. Patent No. 9975255).
Regarding claim 1, Bosboom et al teaches a suction pad (30) for sucking and holding an object (Abstract; Fig. 2, element 30), the suction pad (30) comprising:
A pad main body that is made from an elastically deformable member (62) and has a held base end portion (22) (Column 4, lines 41-45; Fig. 7, elements 22, 62);
A hollow that is formed inside the pad main body (62) so as to extend from a base end side to a tip end side (Fig. 7, elements 62); and
A suction hole (52) that is configured to communicate with the hollow and is open to a tip end portion of the pad main body, wherein an opening diameter of the suction hole (52) is smaller than an inner diameter of the hollow (Fig. 2, element 52). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 2, Bosboom et al teaches the tip end portion (52) of the pad main body is elastically deformable (Column 4, lines 41-45).
Regarding claim 3, Bosboom et al teaches the tip portion (52) of the pad main body is thinner than the held base end portion (22) (Fig. 7, elements 52, 22).
Regarding claim 4, Bosboom et al teaches that the elastically deformable member (62) includes a sponge (Column 4, lines 41-45).
Regarding claim 6, Bosboom et al teaches that the pad main body includes, at the tip end portion (52), a tapered portion in which an inner diameter of the hollow decreases from the base end side (22) toward the tip side (52) (Fig. 7, elements 22, 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosboom et al in view of Young et al (WO 2020261013).
Bosboom et al fails to teach a sponge with open cells and closed cells. Young et al teaches the pad main body includes the tip end portion made from a sponge (330) having open cells and the held base end portion made from a sponge (330) having closed cells (Page 4, lines 3-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Young et al to facilitate the creation of a sponge, with open and closed cells, that is permeable and easily deformable as taught by Young et al.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosboom et al in view of Yamamuro (WO 2016056115 A1).
Basboom et al fails to teach a thin tapered portion. Yamamuro teaches a tapered portion (162) that is thinner on the tip side than on the base side (Paragraph 19, lines 5-8; Fig. 3, element 126). Additional features are provided in the figure below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Yamamuro to facilitate the creation of a thin tapered portion that is easily deformable as taught by Yamamuro.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651