Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/22 and 9/2/25 were filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rack and pinion arrangement” Claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
It is pointed out that the recitations of claims 2, 4, 5, 7-16, 18, and 19 confusing and not clearly understood. Applicant is required to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis for “the attachment means” s recited in Claim 2, lines 1-2.
Moreover, the recitations of “a rope, cable, belt and/or chain” as recited in Claims 5, 7, and 18 are vague and indefinite as to whether applicant is claiming “one of the rope, cable, belt and chain” or claiming “a combination of a rope, cable, belt chain.” Note that the use of “and/or” in the claims are also confusing and not clearly understood.
Further, the intensive usages of “and/or” as recited in Claims 4, 5, 10, 13, 14, 15, and 18 are confusing and not clearly understood. It is pointed out that the usage of “and/or” may be acceptable depending on the context of the claims. However, another recitation of “and/or,” which is in the body of the claim or which depend on the previous claim(s), becomes vague and indefinite. The metes and bounds of the body of the claim is unknown and unclear. Applicant fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Similarly, applicant recites “optionally” as recited in Claims 11, 16, 18, and 19. Note that the usage of “optionally” may be acceptable depending on the context of the claims. However, another recitation of “optionally,” which is in the body of the claim or which depend on the previous claim(s), becomes vague and indefinite. The metes and bounds of the body of the claim is unclear. Applicant fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “rotation of the first pulley wheel and/or second pulley wheel (e.g. in a first angular direction) causes movement of the first inner moving arm” whereas Claim 15 recites “the second inner moving arm is coupled to the third pulley (e.g. via a rack and pinion arrangement).”
Note that the phrase “e.g.” which is equivalent of "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 19 recites “the mounting arrangement is configured to permit rotation of the pipe handling attachment about a third axis substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and the second axis.” The claim clearly recites in lines 3-5 that “the mounting arrangement is configured to permit rotation of the pipe handling attachment about a second axis substantially perpendicular to said longitudinal axis.”
However, applicant further recites that “the mounting arrangement is configured to permit rotation of the pipe handling attachment about a third axis,” which appears to be contrary to the previously recited in lines 3-5 that “the mounting arrangement is configured to permit rotation of the pipe handling attachment about a second axis substantially perpendicular to said longitudinal axis.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, and 16-21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishimoto et al. (4,563,031).
RE claim 1, Kishimoto et al. (4,563,031) discloses a pipe handling device or attachment (see Figs. 1-10) for a working machine, the pipe handling attachment configured to support a pipe (30) (see Figs. 5-10) and comprising: a mounting component (see Exhibit A) capable of being coupled the pipe handling attachment to any working machine; a beam (21) or a boom having a first support arrangement (29, 31) for supporting a first portion of a pipe (30) (see Figs. 9 & 10), and a second support arrangement (29, 30) (see Figs. 9 & 10), spaced apart from the first support arrangement, for supporting a second portion of said pipe (see Figs. 1, 9 & 10),, wherein a distance between the first support arrangement and the second support arrangement is variable (See Col. 3, lines 14-54); and an adjusting mechanism (13, 26, 32, and 33) (see Col. 4, lines 5-11) (see Fig. 9), configured to adjust the distance between the first support arrangement and the second support arrangement, and wherein the adjusting mechanism is capable of being operated automatically or manually by an operator (see Col. 4, lines 24-41) by adjusting the rods (27, 27) and the pivotal grippers (29) as shown in Fig. 9.
[AltContent: textbox (Mounting component)]Exhibit A
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Exhibit B
RE claim 2, Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) shows that a longitudinal axis of the boom (21) is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of a pipe supported by the pipe handling attachment.
RE claim 3, Fig. 6 of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) teaches that the first support arrangement is provided at a first end of the boom and the second support arrangement is provided at a second end of the boom, distal the first end.
RE claims 4 and 10, Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) discloses that the boom is a telescopic boom comprising an outer stationary arm (21) (see Figs. 9 and 10) and a first inner moving arm (22) (see Figs. 9 and 10) configured to extend from a first end of the boom, and arranged such that the distance between the first support arrangement and the second support arrangement is varied by extending and retracting the telescopic boom wherein the boom comprises a second inner moving arm (22) (see Figs. 9 and 10) configured to extend from a second end of the boom, such that the boom is configured to extend and/or retract at both the first and second ends.
RE claim 16, Figs. 9 and 10 of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) shows the first support arrangement is provided at a free end of the first inner moving arm and the second support arrangement is provided at a free end of the second inner moving arm. Note that the rest of the claim is optional. However, the prior art does show the first support arrangement and second support arrangement each comprise a support projection (29a) (see Figs. 9 and 10) configured to engage an interior wall of a pipe supported by the pipe handling attachment, wherein at least one of the support projections is pivotally (see Figs. 9 and 10) mounted on the boom and configured.
RE claim 17, Figs. 9 and 10 of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) provides the restricted members (24, 25 34a, 34b), which could be considered as a locking arrangement, capable of preventing an adjustment of the distance between the first support arrangement and the second support arrangement as shown in Fig. 9.
RE claim 18, Figs. 6, 9, and 10 of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) show that the first support arrangement (29) and the second support arrangement (29) comprise a first support structure, and wherein the pipe handling attachment further comprises a second support structure configured to support said pipe at a third portion of said pipe. It is pointed out that the rest of the body of the claim “optionally at a fourth portion of said pipe; optionally, where in the second support structure comprises a third support arrangement for supporting the third portion of said pipe, optionally wherein the secondary support structure also comprises a fourth support arrangement for supporting the fourth portion of said pipe, wherein the third support arrangement, and optionally the fourth support arrangement, are located between the first and second support arrangements; optionally, wherein the second support structure comprises a fourth support arrangement, wherein the adjusting mechanism is a first adjusting mechanism, and wherein the pipe handling attachment comprises a second adjusting mechanism configured to adjust a distance between the third support arrangement and the fourth support arrangement, and wherein the second adjusting mechanism is configured to be operated manually; optionally, where the boom is a first boom and wherein the second support structure comprises a second boom, wherein the second boom is a telescopic boom configured such that the distance between the third support arrangement and fourth support arrangement is variable by extension and/or retraction of the second telescopic boom; optionally, where in the third support arrangement comprises a rope, cable, belt and/or chain for supporting said pipe at said third portion, optionally,” are optionally provided on the device. Fig. 6 teaches a plurality of ropes or cables.
RE claim 19, of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) teaches the pipe handling attachment defines a longitudinal axis along which the first support arrangement and the second support arrangement are provided (see Fig. 6), wherein the mounting arrangement is configured to permit rotation of the pipe handling attachment about a second axis (see Figs. 6 and 10), which is parallel to the surface of the paper, or substantially perpendicular to said longitudinal axis. It is pointed out that the rest of the body of the claim, “optionally, wherein the pipe handling attachment defines a longitudinal axis along which the first support arrangement and the second support arrangement are provided, wherein the mounting arrangement is configured to permit rotation of the pipe handling attachment about a third axis substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and the second axis,” are optionally provided on the device.
RE claim 20, Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) could be used with a working machine such as winch and crane (see Col. 4, lines 24-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 and 11-15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) in view of Bjurling (4,630,855).
Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031), as presented above, does not specifically teach a first pulley arrangement having a pulley wheel and a rope or cable, a second pulley arrangement or a third pulley arrangement. However, Figs. 1-9 of Bjurling (4,630,855) teach a lifting device having a first pulley arrangement (10) having a pulley wheel and a rope or cable (13), a second pulley arrangement (11) or a third pulley arrangement (13) to extend and retract the telescoping beam (5) as shown in Figs. 4-9. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a pulley wheel and a rope or cable (13), a second pulley arrangement (11) or a third pulley arrangement (13), as an alternative means to apply power mechanism, on the main beam (21) and the movable beams (21, 21) of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) as taught by Bjurling (4,630,855). to smoothly extend and retract the telescoping beam.
Claims 5-9 and 11-15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) in view of Foster (3,837,698).
Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031), as presented above, does not specifically teach a first pulley arrangement having a pulley wheel and a rope or cable, a second pulley arrangement or a third pulley arrangement. However, Fig 2 of Foster (3,837,698) teaches a lifting device having a first pulley arrangement (23) having a pulley wheel and a rope or cable (see Fig. 2), a second pulley arrangement (see Fig. 2) or a third pulley arrangement (see Fig. 2) or a fourth pulley (see Fig. 2) to extend and retract the lifting cables. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a pulley wheel and a rope or cable (13), a second pulley arrangement (11) or a third pulley arrangement (13), as an alternative means to apply power mechanism, on the main beam (21) and the movable beams (21, 21) of Kishimoto et al. pipe handling device (4,563,031) as taught by Foster (3,837,698) to smoothly extend and retract the telescoping beam.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
Specification
The title of the invention (“Articulated Clutch”) is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis for “the second gripping portion” as recited in claims 12, 13, and 14. Note that the claims 12 and 13 depend on claim 10, but claim 10 recites only “a first ripping portion.”
Claims 2-10 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacKay Sim (8,172,289) (See IDS).
MacKay Sim (8,172,289) discloses a lifting clutch device for lifting a concrete component, the clutch (see Exhibit A) comprising: a toroidal connector (115) (see Fig. 4A); a latch (115) movable relative to the toroidal connector from a disengaged condition to an engaged condition (See Figs. 4A-4C); and a coupler (101) configured to couple the toroidal connector to a lifting apparatus, wherein the coupler is articulated.
RE claim 7, Fig, 4B of MacKay Sim (8,172,289) teaches the latch (115) is a circular latch (117) passing through an inner circular passage (see Fig. 4C) of the toroidal connector.
Exhibit A
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacKay Sim (8,172,289) (see IDS) in view of Manney et al. (3,373,560).
MacKay Sim (8,172,289), as presented above, shows a lifting clutch device for lifting a concrete component, the clutch (see Exhibit A) comprising: a toroidal connector (115) (see Fig. 4A); a latch (115) movable relative to the toroidal connector from a disengaged condition to an engaged condition (See Figs. 4A-4C); and a coupler (101) configured to couple the toroidal connector to a lifting apparatus, wherein the coupler is articulated,
but does not specifically teach the coupler includes a first part and a second part pivotal relative to the first part about a pin, the first part including a first circular arc and the second part including a second circular arc, and wherein the pin is located such that a longitudinal axis of the pin is perpendicular to a line connecting a center of the first arc to a center of the second arc.
However, Figs. 1-8 of Manney et al. (3,373,560) teaches the coupler configured to couple the toroidal connector (141) to a lifting apparatus, wherein the coupler includes a first part (10) and a second part (12) pivotal relative to the first part about a pin (26), the first part including a first circular arc and the second part (see Exhibit B) including a second circular arc, and wherein the pin is located such that a longitudinal axis of the pin is perpendicular to a line connecting a center of the first arc to a center of the second arc.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide
or replace the single lifting shackle (102) of MacKay Sim (8,172,289) with the pivotal coupler (10 and 12) of Manney et al. (3,373,560) to provide flexibility and pivotal movement to a user.
Exhibit B
RE claims 5 and 6, MacKay Sim (8,172,289) shows that the second loop (10) is capable of directing fitment of a lifting chain while also enabling direct fitment of a lifting hook and the coupler includes an elongated pin (26) (see Figs, 1 and 2) extending about a longitudinal axis of which the second part is pivotal relative to the first part.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacKay Sim (8,172,289) (see IDS) and Manney et al. (3,373,560) and further in view of Lawley (7,562,919).
The modified MacKay Sim (8,172,289), as presented above, shows that the first loop and the second loop appears to be the same size,
but does not specifically show that
the first loop is a different size to the second loop or the first loop is smaller than the second loop.
However, Fig. 2 of Lawley (7,562,919) teaches a plurality of loops (30) having different sizes for lifting.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide
different size on the first and second loop on the MacKay Sim (8,172,289) as taught by
Lawley (7,562,919) to provide flexibility and more room to fit the application to a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651