DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 9/12/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a covering member that covers the pipe in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 depends on claim 4, but claim 4 has been canceled; therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 5 cannot be determined. The examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that claim 5 depends on claim 1 rather than canceled claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,032,283 issued to Scott et al. (“Scott”) in view of U.S. Patent 4,234,427 issued to Boehme (“Boehme”).
As for claim 1, Scott discloses a flow-path member (Fig. 1) which is used in an analysis device and through which a sample flows in the analysis device (col. 4, lines 8-13), comprising:
a pipe (12); and
a covering member (16) that covers the pipe (12), wherein
the pipe (12) has
a first portion (“first portion” circled in annotated Fig. 1 below) including a first direction (down in Fig. 1), which is orthogonal to a direction (right in Fig. 1) in which the flow-path member extends as a whole, as at least an element of a local extending direction,
a second portion (“second portion” circled in annotated Fig. 1 below) including a second direction (up in Fig. 1), which is opposite to the first direction, as at least an element of the local extending direction,
a first bent portion (“first bent portion” at bump between first portion and second portion in annotated Fig. 1 below) in which the local extending direction changes from the first direction to the second direction, and
a second bent portion (“second bent portion” at bump in annotated Fig. 1 below) in which the local extending direction changes from the second direction to the first direction, wherein a part of the flow-path member is installed in a column over (This limitations describes the intended use of the flow-path member and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The flow-path member of Scott is capable of being installed in an oven.) and
a space (between first bent portion and 16 in Fig. 1 and between second bent portion and 16 in Fig. 1) is formed between the covering member (16) and the pipe (12) at least in the first portion, the second portion, the first bend portion and the second bent portion, such that the first portion, second portion, first bent portion and second bent portion are spaced form the covering member (see Fig. 1), and the space forms an air layer that acts as a heat insulating layer against the heat of the column oven (see Fig. 1).
Scott does not disclose that the covering member is constituted by an elastic member
However, Boehme discloses a covering member (20) that is constituted by an elastic member (steel is elastic; col. 4, lines 53-57).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the covering member of Scott to be constituted by an elastic member as disclosed by Boehme because it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07 and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
As for claim 2, the examiner notes that the claim recites the intended use of the flow-path member and that the flow-path member is capable of being used in the recited fashion, therefore the claim does not distinguish itself over the prior art. The flow-path member of Scott and Boehme is capable of connecting an autosampler to a separation column (Scott: see col. 4, lines 8-13).
As for claim 3, the examiner notes that the claim recites the intended use of the flow-path member and that the flow path member is capable of being used in the recited fashion, therefore the claim does not distinguish itself over the prior art of Scott and Boehme.
As for claim 5, Scott as modified by Boehme discloses that a sleeve (Scott: 18) having a diameter larger than diameters of the first portion and the second portion is provided at an end portion of the pipe (Scott: 12), and the covering member (Scott: 16) is provided across the sleeve (Scott: 18) and the first portion (Scott: see Fig. 1), or the sleeve (Scott: 18) and the second portion (Scott: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 8, Scott as modified by Boehme discloses a liquid chromatograph (Scott: col. 4, lines 8-13) comprising the flow-path member which is used in an analysis device according to claim 1.
As for claim 9, Scott as modified by Boehme discloses that the space acts as a heat insulating layer between the covering member and the pipe (Scott: see Fig. 1).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,032,283 issued to Scott et al. (“Scott”) in view of U.S. Patent 4,234,427 issued to Boehme (“Boehme”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0369060 by Aoki et al. (“Aoki”).
As for claim 6, Scott disclose the flow path member of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Scott does not disclose that a filling member for reducing a volume of the space is arranged in the covering member.
However, Aoki discloses a filling member (40; paragraph [0081]) for reducing a volume of the space that is arranged in a covering member (46). Aoki discloses that the filling member functions as a heater (paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the flow path member of Scott by including the filling member as disclosed by Aoki in order to heat the sample, thus improving separation performance (Aoki: paragraph [0074]).
As for claim 7,Scott as modified by Aoki discloses that the filling member (Aoki: 40) is a bar member (Aoki: 40) extending substantially parallel to the direction in which the flow-path member extends as a whole (Aoki: see Fig. 8).
Claims 10, 11, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0274074 by Fujiwara (“Fujiwara”) in view of U.S. Patent 5,032,283 issued to Scott et al. (“Scott”).
As for claim 10, Fujiwara discloses a liquid chromatograph (Fig. 1) comprising
an autosampler (8);
a separation column (10), and
a flow path member (2b) connects the autosampler and the separation column to each other through which a sample flows.
Fujiwara dose not explicitly disclose that the flow path member includes a pipe and covering member as recited.
However, Scott discloses a flow-path member (Fig. 1) that includes:
a pipe (12); and
a covering member (16) that covers the pipe (12), wherein
the pipe (12) has
a first portion (“first portion” circled in annotated Fig. 1 above) including a first direction (down in Fig. 1), which is orthogonal to a direction (right in Fig. 1) in which the flow-path member extends as a whole, as at least an element of a local extending direction,
a second portion (“second portion” circled in annotated Fig. 1 above) including a second direction (up in Fig. 1), which is opposite to the first direction, as at least an element of the local extending direction,
a first bent portion (“first bent portion” at bump between first portion and second portion in annotated Fig. 1 above) in which the local extending direction changes from the first direction to the second direction, and
a second bent portion (“second bent portion” at bump in annotated Fig. 1 above) in which the local extending direction changes from the second direction to the first direction, wherein a part of the flow-path member is installed in a column over (This limitations describes the intended use of the flow-path member and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The flow-path member of Scott is capable of being installed in an oven.) and
a space (between first bent portion and 16 in Fig. 1 and between second bent portion and 16 in Fig. 1) is formed between the covering member (16) and the pipe (12) at least in the first portion, the second portion, the first bend portion and the second bent portion, such that the first portion, second portion, first bent portion and second bent portion are spaced form the covering member (see Fig. 1), and the space forms an air layer that acts as a heat insulating layer against the heat of the column oven (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the flow-path member of Fujiwara to include the pipe and covering member as disclosed by Scott in order to minimize band dispersion (Scott: col. 1, lines 56-58).
As for claim 11, Fujiwara as modified by Scott discloses that an end portion of the flow-path member (Fujiwara: 2b) connected to the separation column (Fujiwara: 10) is arranged in a column oven (Fujiwara: 11).
As for claim 13, Fujiwara as modified by Scott discloses that a sleeve (Scott: 18) having a diameter larger than diameters of the first portion and the second portion is provided at an end portion of the pipe (Scott: 12), and the covering member (Scott: 16) is provided across the sleeve (Scott: 18) and the first portion (Scott: see Fig. 1), or the sleeve (Scott: 18) and the second portion (Scott: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 16, Fujiwara as modified by Scott discloses that the space acts as a heat insulating layer between the covering member and the pipe (Scott: see Fig. 1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0274074 by Fujiwara (“Fujiwara”) in view of U.S. Patent 5,032,283 issued to Scott et al. (“Scott”) as applied to claim 10, further in view of U.S. Patent 4,234,427 issued to Boehme (“Boehme”)
As for claim 12, Fujiwara as modified by Scott discloses the liquid chromatograph according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Fujiwara as modified by Scott does not disclose that the covering member is constituted by an elastic member
However, Boehme discloses a covering member (20) that is constituted by an elastic member (steel is elastic; col. 4, lines 53-57).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the covering member of Fujiwara and Scott to be constituted by an elastic member as disclosed by Boehme because it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07 and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0274074 by Fujiwara (“Fujiwara”) in view of U.S. Patent 5,032,283 issued to Scott et al. (“Scott”) as applied to claim 10, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0369060 by Aoki et al. (“Aoki”).
As for claim 14, Fujiwara as modified by Scott disclose the flow path member of claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Fujiwara as modified by Scott does not disclose that a filling member for reducing a volume of the space is arranged in the covering member.
However, Aoki discloses a filling member (40; paragraph [0081]) for reducing a volume of the space that is arranged in a covering member (46). Aoki discloses that the filling member functions as a heater (paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the flow path member of Fujiwara and Scott by including the filling member as disclosed by Aoki in order to heat the sample, thus improving separation performance (Aoki: paragraph [0074]).
As for claim 15, Fujiwara as modified by Scott and Aoki discloses that the filling member (Aoki: 40) is a bar member (Aoki: 40) extending substantially parallel to the direction in which the flow-path member extends as a whole (Aoki: see Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that one having ordinary skill in the art would not have combined Scott with Boehme. Applicant argues that Scott and Boehme are in different technical fields. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Scott and Boehme are both in the technical field of liquid chromatography; therefore they are analogous art. Applicant argues that the instant invention requires an air layer while Boehme requires a liquid-filled cavity. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that Boehme is not bodily incorporated into Scott.
On pages 10-11 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Aoki’s heater teaches away from the use of insulation to prevent a temperature rise in the instant invention. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner can see no suggestion that the combination wo Scott and Aoki would not function; therefore there is no teaching away from the combination of Scott and Aoki.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853