DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSE (US 2012/0200256) in view of PENG (US 2021/0203177), EROZLU ET AL. (US 2023/0038012) (hereinafter “EROZLU”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, TSE teaches a battery charging station for vehicles and the BRI of:
a charging station (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2) adapted to
deliver a charge to a battery module of a vehicle coupled to the charging station (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2),
wherein
a control unit of the charging station (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2)
receives an available charging time from the vehicle or a user of the vehicle and a battery state of health from a control unit of the vehicle when the control unit of the charging station detects coupling of a connector/coupler of the charging station to the vehicle or when the vehicle is detected within a predetermined proximity of the charging station (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017) and
delivers a determined charging power based on the battery state of health to the battery module for the available charging time such that a battery of the battery module is not damaged (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017),
wherein
the control unit of the charging station
communicates to the user
an expected or resulting charge provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017).
However, TSE is lacking the explicit language of:
the available charging time is user-defined and represents an inputted time period the user has available for charging;
communicates to the user an expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user.
PENG teaches methods, systems, and devices of a charging scheduler are provided for a vehicle that generates a charging schedule based on home power usage, user charging preferences, user schedule, vehicle information, and/or power provider attributes and the BRI of:
the available charging time is user-defined and represents an inputted time period the user has available for charging (See, e.g., ¶ 0137).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TSE to include the available charging time is user-defined and represents an inputted time period the user has available for charging.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TSE because it would be beneficial to user to schedule charging. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
EROZLU teaches systems and methods are provided for suggesting a charging station for an electric vehicle. A partial range of the electric vehicle corresponding to a predetermined percentage of the current state of charge of a battery of the electric vehicle is determined. A location corresponding to the partial range, along a route to a destination, is determined and used to select a suggested charging station based on the location corresponding to the partial range. The suggested charging station is generated for presentation at a display and the BRI of:
communicates to the user an expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TSE to include communicates to the user an expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TSE because it would be beneficial to user to schedule charging. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 8, 15, TSE teaches a battery charging station for vehicles and the BRI of:
receiving an available charging time from a vehicle or a user of the vehicle and a battery state of health from a control unit of the vehicle at a control unit of a charging station when the control unit of the charging station detects coupling of a connector/coupler of the charging station to the vehicle or when the vehicle is detected within a predetermined proximity of the charging station (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017);
at the control unit of the charging station,
determining a charging power to be delivered to a battery module of the vehicle based on the battery state of health (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017); and
delivering a charge at the determined charging power from the charging station to the battery module of the vehicle for the available charging time such that a battery of the battery module is not damaged (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017);
and
communicating to the user an expected or resulting charge provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017).
However, TSE is lacking the explicit language of:
the available charging time is user-defined and represents an inputted time period the user has available for charging;
communicating to the user an expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user.
PENG teaches methods, systems, and devices of a charging scheduler are provided for a vehicle that generates a charging schedule based on home power usage, user charging preferences, user schedule, vehicle information, and/or power provider attributes and the BRI of:
the available charging time is user-defined and represents an inputted time period the user has available for charging (See, e.g., ¶ 0137).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TSE to include the available charging time is user-defined and represents an inputted time period the user has available for charging.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TSE because it would be beneficial to user to schedule charging. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
EROZLU teaches systems and methods are provided for suggesting a charging station for an electric vehicle. A partial range of the electric vehicle corresponding to a predetermined percentage of the current state of charge of a battery of the electric vehicle is determined. A location corresponding to the partial range, along a route to a destination, is determined and used to select a suggested charging station based on the location corresponding to the partial range. The suggested charging station is generated for presentation at a display and the BRI of:
communicating to the user an expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TSE to include communicating to the user an expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TSE because it would be beneficial to user to schedule charging. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 9, 16, TSE, PENG, EROZLU teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TSE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the battery state of health comprises one or more of, for the battery module or the battery of the battery module,
state of charge, impedance, conductance, capacity, internal resistance, self-discharge, charge acceptance, discharge capability, electrolyte mobility, cycle count, and chemistry (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 10, 17, TSE, PENG, EROZLU teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TSE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the determined charging power is set by the control unit given an available charging power delivered to the charging station by an associated power supply (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 11, 18, TSE, PENG, EROZLU teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TSE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the determined charging power is selected by the control unit to maximize a voltage delivered to the battery module in the available charging time given an available charging power delivered to the charging station by an associated power supply (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 12, 19, TSE, PENG, EROZLU teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TSE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the control unit of the charging station
receives a modified available charging time from the user of the vehicle while delivering the charge to the battery module of the vehicle (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017) and
delivers a modified determined charging power to the battery module based on the modified available charging time (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017),
and
wherein
the control unit of the charging station
communicates to the user a modified expected or resulting charge provided by charging the vehicle using the modified determined charging power for the modified available charging time (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4; See also, e.g., ¶ 0017).
EROZLU further teaches the BRI of:
communicating to the user a modified expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TSE to include communicating to the user a modified expected or resulting range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TSE because it would be beneficial to user to schedule charging. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 13, 20, TSE, PENG, EROZLU teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TSE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the control unit of the charging station
receives the available charging time from the user of the vehicle via one of the control unit of the vehicle, a mobile device, and a user interface associated with the charging station (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2), and
wherein
the control unit of the charging station
receives the available charging time from the user of the vehicle via one of a wired connection, a wireless connection, a near field connection, and a cloud network (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, 14, 21, TSE, PENG, EROZLU teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
EROZLU further teaches the BRI of:
the expected or resulting range is provided on the map on the display of the one or more of the charging station, the navigation system of the vehicle, or the mobile device of the user by indicating a furthest destination or charging station that can be reached along a planned route given the expected or resulting range (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 4).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TSE to include the expected or resulting range is provided on the map on the display of the one or more of the charging station, the navigation system of the vehicle, or the mobile device of the user by indicating a furthest destination or charging station that can be reached along a planned route given the expected or resulting range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify TSE because it would be beneficial to user to schedule charging. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 06/30/2025, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the applicant’s amendments changing the scope of the claimed invention, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn or updated. However, upon further consideration, a new or updated ground(s) of rejection(s) have been made, and applicant's argument(s)/remark(s) pertaining to the amended language have been rendered moot.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 8-10, filed 06/30/2025, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“1) Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse (US 2012/0200256) in view of Peng (US 2021/0203177).
Independent Claim 1 is amended to recite:
wherein the control unit of the charging station communicates to the user an expected or resulting charge and range provided by charging the vehicle using the determined charging power for the available charging time, wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on a map on a display of one or more of the charging station, a navigation system of the vehicle, or a mobile device of the user.
Further, dependent Claim 5 is amended to recite:
wherein the control unit of the charging station communicates to the user a modified expected or resulting charge and range provided by charging the vehicle using the modified determined charging power for the modified available charging time, wherein the modified expected or resulting range is provided on a modified map on the display of the one or more of the charging station, the navigation system of the vehicle, or the mobile device of the user.
Still further, dependent Claim 7 is amended to recite:
wherein the expected or resulting range is provided on the map on the display of the one or more of the charging station, the navigation system of the vehicle, or the mobile device of the user by indicating a furthest destination or charging station that can be reached along a planned route given the expected or resulting range.
Claims 8, 12, 14, 15, 19, and 21 are similarly amended. These amendments are fully supported throughout the Application as filed (see [0025], for example).
Thus, the claims now recite that the charging station receives a user-defined time period available for charging, based on the user's schedule, travel plans, stop duration, etc., from the user, as well as battery state of health information from the vehicle. This received information is then used by the charging station to maximize charging in the available time period and given the state of the batteries. A map displaying the expected range in view of this maximized charging in the available time period and given the state of the batteries is provided to the user via the charging station, the vehicle navigation system, and/or a mobile device. When a navigation route is planned, this map may indicate a furthest destination or charging station that can be reached. The map may then be updated based on a modified user-defined time period available for charging received during the charging operation.
FIG. 4 and [0017] of Tse do not address these aspects as preliminarily indicated by Examiner, aside from Tse possibly indicating a charging power or charge that may be provided.
No references cited or known address providing a map displaying an expected range in view of a maximized charging in an available time period and given a state of batteries to a user via a charging station, a vehicle navigation system, and/or a mobile device. When a navigation route is planned, this map may indicate a furthest destination or charging station that can be reached given both the user and battery charging constraints, and this map may be dynamically updated based on changing user inputs during charging.
Therefore, Applicant submits that this rejection has now been overcome and respectfully requests that it be withdrawn, all pending claims being otherwise immediately allowable.”.
The underlined argument(s)/remark(s) are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the previous rejected limitations.
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit