DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number EP21204572.8 dated 10/25/2021. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 7/24/2025 and 10/14/2025 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Response to Arguments
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn in light of the amended claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 16 recite wherein the curable material of the at least one deformable element (15) comprises one of a plaster casting material, fiberglass, and a resin- based casting material”. Specification paragraph [0035] states “The deformable elements 15 to 17 may be cushions filled with malleable durable material as there is plaster cast, fiber glass, reinforced plaster cast, resin-based casts or the like”. Since “or” is disjunctive, any one of the elements found in the prior art is sufficient to reject the claim. While citations have been provided for completeness and rapid prosecution, only one element is required. Applicant’s comments and/or amendments relating to this issue are invited to clarify the claim language and the prosecution history.
B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a patient support device (11) adaptive to a shape of the patient's body” in claim 1,
“at least one tracker element (21) connected to the support device (11) and adapted to indicate a position and orientation of the patient support device” in claim 1,
“Means for capturing data (33) indicating a position and/or orientation of the at least one tracker element (21)” in claim 1,
“a medical imaging system (13) adapted to acquire at least one at least 2- dimensional scan image (29) of a patient's region of interest in relation to the position of the at least one tracker element (21)” in claim 1,
“a detection system (35) for capturing data (36) indicating the at least one tracker element's position during surgery” in claim 1,
“and a processing unit (28, 28a) adapted to register and blend the at least one at least 2-dimensional scan image and the live images (29, 42, 52) according to the data captured during the medical imaging and live imaging” in claim 1;
Claim Objections
Claim 15 recites “registering and blending the at least one at least 2-dimensional scan image and the live images according to the data (36) captured during the medical imaging and live”. “live” should read as “live imaging”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Janssen discloses an arrangement for imaging (10) and surgery (34) on a patient's body (18) (Janssen, paragraph [0037], "FIG. 1 shows schematically and exemplarily a side view of an embodiment of an interventional system comprising a CT system and an interventional instrument in a first situation, in which an object is arranged within a CT imaging region,") comprising:
a patient support device (11) adaptive to a shape of the patient's body (Janssen, paragraph [0044], "In this embodiment the object 5 is a thorax of a patient 31 and the movable support element 9 is a patient table being movable in the longitudinal direction indicated by the double arrow 32", a patient table is adapted to fit the patient),
at least one tracker element (21) connected to the patient support device (11) and adapted to indicate a position and orientation of the patient support device (11) (Janssen, paragraph [0056], "Optical markers 60 are attached to the object 5, wherein the optical image acquisition unit 7 is adapted to acquire motion measurement optical images showing the optical markers 60 at different times, wherein the processing unit 2 further comprises an object motion determination unit 25 for determining object motion relative to the movable support element 9 based on the acquired motion measurement optical images", there is a connection between the markers at different times and the support element in the optical images and they are used to determine a position of the support element),
means for capturing data (33) indicating a position and/or orientation of the at least one tracker element (21) (Janssen, paragraph [0053], "The moving distance determination unit 15 is adapted to detect the positions of the optical markers 14 in the first and second distance measurement optical images and to determine the moving distance based on the detected position"),
a medical imaging system (13) adapted to acquire at least one at least 2- dimensional scan image (29) of a patient's region of interest in relation to the position of the at least one tracker element (21) (Janssen, paragraph [0055], "In the calibration step the calibration plate 22 is arranged in the CT imaging region 6 and in the outside region 8 and the computed tomography image generating unit 4 generates a calibration CT image of the calibration plate 22 in the CT imaging region 6. Moreover, the optical image acquisition unit 7 acquires calibration optical images of the calibration plate 22 within the CT imaging region 6 and within the outside region 8. The spatial relation providing unit 11 then detects the positions of the optical markers 23 in the calibration optical images and the positions of the CT markers 24 in the calibration CT image and determines a spatial relation between the field of view of the computed tomography image generating unit 4 and the field of view of the optical image acquisition unit 7 based on the determined positions.", when taking a CT image, there will be trackers in the image),
a detection system (35) for capturing data (36) indicating the at least one tracker element's position during surgery (Janssen, paragraph [0056], "Optical markers 60 are attached to the object 5, wherein the optical image acquisition unit 7 is adapted to acquire motion measurement optical images showing the optical markers 60 at different times, wherein the processing unit 2 further comprises an object motion determination unit 25 for determining object motion relative to the movable support element 9 based on the acquired motion measurement optical images"),
a live imaging device (39) for acquiring live images (42) of an operation site (Janssen, paragraph [0048], "The optical image acquisition unit 7 is preferentially adapted to acquire an actual time-pendent live optical image of the object 5 within the outside region 8 in the situation illustrated in FIG. 3, when the interventional instrument 26 is placed on and optionally already inserted into the object 5."),
and a processing unit (28, 28a) adapted to register and blend the at least one at least 2- dimensional scan image and the live images (29, 42, 52) according to the data captured during the medical imaging and live imaging (Janssen, paragraph [0047], "The processing unit 2 further comprises a spatial relation providing unit 11 for providing a spatial relation between a field of view of the computed tomography image generating unit 4 and a field of view of the optical image acquisition unit 7 and an image fusion unit 12 for generating a fusion image, in which the CT image and the optical image are fused and which also shows the provided path, based on the CT image, the optical image, the provided path, the provided spatial relation and the moving distance.").
Janssen does not teach “wherein the patient support device (11) comprises at least one deformable element (15) of a malleable material (15a), and wherein the malleable material is a curable material (15a)”.
However, Lavallee teaches wherein the patient support device (11) comprises at least one deformable element (15) of a malleable material (15a), and wherein the malleable material is a curable material (15a) (Lavallee, Col. 11, Lines 38-45, Fig. 5 below, " FIG. 5 schematically illustrates a preferred embodiment of calibration phantom 48 with a support structure 78 shaped like a frame being bended such that its curvature substantially matches that of the back of a patient 50. The principle can be extended to any anatomical part of a body in order to fit its external shape. In this case, the abovementioned attachment fixture may be omitted. Radiopaque markers 80 are attached to support structure 78").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to implement a bended support structure with Janssen’s markers attached to it, as taught by Lavallee.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to distinctly outline a region of interest and prevent residue from contaminating other parts of the body.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses wherein the at least one deformable element (15) is open at one side, so that the patient can be removed from and reinserted into the at least one deformable element (15) (Lavallee, Col. 11, Lines 45-50, "The advantage of this phantom design is the fact that the Region Of Interest (ROI) is surrounded by radiopaque markers while keeping the ROI itself free, thus allowing unobstructed surgical access to the ROI by the surgeon while maximizing the number of markers being close to the ROI and imaged during the scan.", the bendable material is open on one side),
and wherein at least one tracker element (21) is directly connected to the at least one deformable element (15) (Lavallee, Col. 11, Lines 44-45, "Radiopaque markers 80 are attached to support structure 78").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Janssen in view of Lavallee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1, wherein the patient support device (11) includes a movable table (14, 14a) (Janssen, paragraph [0044], "In this embodiment the object 5 is a thorax of a patient 31 and the movable support element 9 is a patient table being movable in the longitudinal direction indicated by the double arrow 32.").
Regarding claim 8, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the at least one deformable element (15, 16, 17) comprises a window (49) for giving access to the patient (Lavalle, Col. 11, Line 38-41, Fig. 5 below, "FIG. 5 schematically illustrates a preferred embodiment of calibration phantom 48 with a support structure 78 shaped like a frame being bended such that its curvature substantially matches that of the back of a patient 50", there is an opening in the middle).
Regarding claim 9, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1, comprising an instrument (44) for treating the patient's body (18) in the region of interest (41) (Janssen, paragraph [0048], "The optical image acquisition unit 7 is preferentially adapted to acquire an actual time-pendent live optical image of the object 5 within the outside region 8 in the situation illustrated in FIG. 3, when the interventional instrument 26 is placed on and optionally already inserted into the object 5").
Regarding claim 12, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1, wherein the detection system comprises at least two cameras (37, 38) for trigonometrically determining the position and the orientation of the at least one tracker element (21) in space (Janssen, paragraph [0052], Fig. 1 below, "In addition, the optical image acquisition unit 7 comprises cameras for acquiring optical images of the object 5 within the CT imaging region 6").
Regarding claim 13, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1, wherein the live imaging device comprises at least one camera (39) (Janssen, paragraph [0052], Fig. 1 below, "In addition, the optical image acquisition unit 7 comprises cameras for acquiring optical images of the object 5 within the CT imaging region 6").
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2) and in further view of Beyers (EP 3278759 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1.
Janssen in view of Lavallee does not teach “wherein the patient support device (11) is adaptive to the shape of the patient's body by 3D-printing at least one element (15) according to a scan of at least a part of an outer shape of the patient's body”.
However, Beyers teaches wherein the patient support device (11) is adaptive to the shape of the patient's body by 3D-printing at least one element (15) according to a scan of at least a part of an outer shape of the patient's body (Beyers, paragraph [0024], Line 14-24, “In some embodiments, custom molded or 3-D printed devices 250 can be created for each patient to be worn during a procedure. To create such devices 250, preoperative scans are taken of a surgical site and custom fit devices 250 would be manufactured to be placed on the patient. In one such non-limiting example, as is shown in FIG. 3, for a brain surgery, a helmet 250 is custom manufactured for patient 200 and includes attachment portions 252 that provide a coupling point for components 112 as well as apertures 254 for performing the procedure,”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to scan Janssen’s (in view of Lavallee) body and create a 3d mold, as taught by Beyers.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide more secure and extra immobilization.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Janssen in view of Lavallee and in further view of Beyers to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2) and in further view of Ahn (US 9433387 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1.
While Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses a deformable element as described in claim 1, they do not teach “wherein the support device comprises at least two deformable elements (15, 16, 17) embracing at least a portion of the patient”.
However, Ahn teaches wherein the support device comprises at least two deformable elements (15, 16, 17) embracing at least a portion of the patient (Ahn, Col. 21-22, Line 64-67, 1-9, “A Vac-Lok, alpha-cradle or other mold 25 may be conformed to the posterior contours of the body. A set of sensor grid(s) 16/18/22 or sensor strips(s) is incorporated into the flexible shell of the mold at time of manufacture or added on by the user prior to use by the patient. Alternatively, a flat sensor grid 16/18 may be placed directly on the table behind the patient without the use of a mold. For additional immobilization, there is the option of wrapping a commercially available, plastic or other flexible material 36 around the patient, with a vacuum seal created that encompasses the anterior part of the body and immobilizes it via compression such as with the BodyFix system,”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to implement a mold that fits Janssen’s (in view of Lavallee) patient’s body, as taught by Ahn.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide more secure and extra immobilization.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Janssen in view of Lavallee and in further view of Ahn to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2) and in further view of Weinstein (US 11707330 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1.
Janssen in view of Lavallee does not teach “wherein the at least one tracker element (21) comprises spaced apart reflector elements detectable by the detection system”.
However, Weinstein teaches at least one tracker element comprises spaced apart reflector elements detectable by the detection system (Weinstein, Col. 5, Line 57-61, “In this embodiment, each tracker 44, 46, 48 has at least three passive tracking elements or markers (e.g., reflectors) for transmitting light signals (e.g., reflecting light emitted from the camera unit 36) to the optical sensors 40,”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to add reflective trackers on Janssen’s (in view of Lavallee) patient’s body, as taught by Weinstein.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow surgeons to visualize and navigate the position of their instruments, thus providing them more information and improving their surgical accuracy.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Janssen in view of Lavallee and in further view of Weinstein to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Claim(s) 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2) and in further view of Ryu (US 20120099012 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 13.
Janssen in view of Lavallee does not teach “wherein the detection system (35) is configured for detecting a location and orientation of the at least one camera (39) of the live imaging device”.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the detection system (35) is configured for detecting a location and orientation of the at least one camera (39) of the live imaging device (Ryu, paragraph [0125], “The controller 401 acquires (receives) an image (e.g., reference image) corresponding to the detected current location (location information) and the capturing direction (S34). For instance, the controller 401 detects current location information through the location detection unit 404 and a capturing direction of the camera 405 when a capturing mode of the camera 405 is selected by a user,”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to detect Janssen (in view of Lavallee) camera’s location and orientation using Ryu’s controller.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been make sure all cameras are properly set so that the surgeon can have a consistent view of the patient.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to Janssen in view of Lavallee and in further view of Ryu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim(s) 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2) and in further view of Cohen (US 10966799 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Janssen discloses a method of image registering (Janssen, paragraph [0005], “It is a further object of the present invention to provide an interventional system comprising the CT system and to provide a fusion image generation method and computer program for generating a fusion image, which allow for a reduction of the number of object movements and of the applied radiation dose during an interventional procedure guided by the CT system”),
adapting a patient support device (11) to a shape of a patient's body (18) (Janssen, paragraph [0044], "In this embodiment the object 5 is a thorax of a patient 31 and the movable support element 9 is a patient table being movable in the longitudinal direction indicated by the double arrow 32", a patient table is adapted to fit the patient),
Janssen does not teach “wherein the patient support device (11) comprises at least one deformable element (15) of a malleable material (15a), and wherein the malleable material is a curable material (15a) and wherein the malleable material is a curable material (15a), wherein the at least one deformable element (15) is open at one side, so that the patient can be removed from and reinserted into the at least one deformable element (15);”.
However, Lavallee teaches wherein the patient support device (11) comprises at least one deformable element (15) of a malleable material (15a), and wherein the malleable material is a curable material (15a) and wherein the malleable material is a curable material (15a), wherein the at least one deformable element (15) is open at one side, so that the patient can be removed from and reinserted into the at least one deformable element (15) (Lavallee, Col. 11, Lines 38-45, Fig. 5 below, " FIG. 5 schematically illustrates a preferred embodiment of calibration phantom 48 with a support structure 78 shaped like a frame being bended such that its curvature substantially matches that of the back of a patient 50. The principle can be extended to any anatomical part of a body in order to fit its external shape. In this case, the abovementioned attachment fixture may be omitted. Radiopaque markers 80 are attached to support structure 78").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to implement a bended support structure with Janssen’s markers attached to it, as taught by Lavallee.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to distinctly outline a region of interest and prevent residue from contaminating other parts of the body.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Janssen in view of Lavallee does not teach “curing the at least one deformable element (15) of the patient support device (11)”.
However, Cohen teaches curing the at least one deformable element (15) of the patient support device (11) (Cohen, Col. 2, Line 50-53, “In certain embodiments, the housing includes arm extensions that are each configured to urge the flowable or malleable material to harden in an undercut of the one or the plurality of teeth to stabilize the system.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to cure the deformable element of Janssen (in view of Lavallee), as taught by Cohen.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the material is hardened, resulting in secure mobilization of the patient.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Janssen in view of Lavallee and Cohen discloses connecting at least one tracker element (21) to the patient support device (11) and capturing data indicating a position and/or orientation of the at least one tracker element (21) (Janssen, paragraph [0056], "Optical markers 60 are attached to the object 5, wherein the optical image acquisition unit 7 is adapted to acquire motion measurement optical images showing the optical markers 60 at different times, wherein the processing unit 2 further comprises an object motion determination unit 25 for determining object motion relative to the movable support element 9 based on the acquired motion measurement optical images", there is a connection between the markers at different times and the support element in the optical images and they are used to determine a position of the support element),
acquiring at least one at least 2-dimensional scan image (29) of a patient's region of interest (41) in relation to the position of the at least one tracker element (21) with a medical imaging system (13) (Janssen, paragraph [0055], "In the calibration step the calibration plate 22 is arranged in the CT imaging region 6 and in the outside region 8 and the computed tomography image generating unit 4 generates a calibration CT image of the calibration plate 22 in the CT imaging region 6. Moreover, the optical image acquisition unit 7 acquires calibration optical images of the calibration plate 22 within the CT imaging region 6 and within the outside region 8. The spatial relation providing unit 11 then detects the positions of the optical markers 23 in the calibration optical images and the positions of the CT markers 24 in the calibration CT image and determines a spatial relation between the field of view of the computed tomography image generating unit 4 and the field of view of the optical image acquisition unit 7 based on the determined positions.", when taking a CT image, there will be trackers in the image),
capturing data (36) indicating the at least one tracker element's position during surgery by means of a detection system (35) (Janssen, paragraph [0056], "Optical markers 60 are attached to the object 5, wherein the optical image acquisition unit 7 is adapted to acquire motion measurement optical images showing the optical markers 60 at different times, wherein the processing unit 2 further comprises an object motion determination unit 25 for determining object motion relative to the movable support element 9 based on the acquired motion measurement optical images"),
acquiring live images (42) of an operation site by a live imaging device (39) (Janssen, paragraph [0048], "The optical image acquisition unit 7 is preferentially adapted to acquire an actual time-pendent live optical image of the object 5 within the outside region 8 in the situation illustrated in FIG. 3, when the interventional instrument 26 is placed on and optionally already inserted into the object 5."),
and registering and blending the at least one at least 2-dimensional scan image and the live images according to the data (36) captured during the medical imaging and live imaging (Janssen, paragraph [0047], "The processing unit 2 further comprises a spatial relation providing unit 11 for providing a spatial relation between a field of view of the computed tomography image generating unit 4 and a field of view of the optical image acquisition unit 7 and an image fusion unit 12 for generating a fusion image, in which the CT image and the optical image are fused and which also shows the provided path, based on the CT image, the optical image, the provided path, the provided spatial relation and the moving distance.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Janssen in view of Lavallee and Cohen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Claim(s) 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen (US 20160249984 A1) in view of Lavallee (US 9610056 B2) and in further view of Sayler (US 20150230871 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Janssen in view of Lavallee discloses the arrangement of claim 1.
Janssen in view of Lavallee does not explicitly teach “wherein the curable material of the at least one deformable element (15) comprises one of a plaster casting material, fiberglass, and a resin- based casting material”.
However, Sayler teaches wherein the curable material of the at least one deformable element (15) comprises one of a plaster casting material, fiberglass, and a resin- based casting material (Sayler, paragraph [0104], “Components of the frame assembly 10 and/or positioning device 200 can be formed from any suitable material, typically a light-weight relatively rigid polymeric material, such as, for example, fiberglass, ceramics, fiber reinforced resins, PEEK, ABS, polycarbonate, KEVLAR, and/or Garolite”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to have Janssen’s (in view of Lavallee) deformable element made from fiberglass, as taught by Sayler.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been because fiberglass is lightweight and durable, allowing for secure mobilization without weighing down the patient.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Janssen in view of Lavallee and in further view of Sayler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Conclusion
/WAYNE ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672