This office action is in response to the claims filed 10/24/22. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "125" and "122" have both been used to designate the soft seal. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 22. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the language “the sensitive material” (line 2-3) is objected to for not maintaining consistency in claim terminology; Examiner suggests amending to read –the pressure sensitive material--.
Regarding claim 4, the language “the color change according the contact state” (line 3) is objected to for a typographical error; Examiner suggests amending to read –the color change according to the contact state--.
Regarding claim 18, the language “the sensitive material” (line 3) is objected to for not maintaining consistency in claim terminology; Examiner suggests amending to read –the pressure sensitive material--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image detecting device” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim sets forth “pressure sensitive materials” (line 1, emphasis added) and then refers to a singular “pressure sensitive material” in line 2 and it is unclear if Applicant is intending to limit the claims to have plural pressure sensitive materials or only a single pressure sensitive material.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “or other material” (line 3) is overly broad to the point of indefiniteness; the disclosure does not provide examples of other materials in addition to a polymer matrix composite that meet the required color changing pressure sensitive material and thus the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation the outer part is attached to an inner side of the earmuffs is unclear in light of the disclosure and claim 10 as the outer part appears to be the earmuffs and it is unclear therefore what other structural element represents the ‘outer part’ if not the earmuffs.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a battle mouth of the container” (line 2-3) is unclear as the examiner cannot ascertain the meaning of this limitation.
The term “quick or slow” in claim 16 line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “quick or slow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being ‘quick’ or ‘slow’.
Regarding claim 18, the claim sets forth “pressure sensitive materials” (line 1, emphasis added) and then refers to a singular “pressure sensitive material” in line 3 and it is unclear if Applicant is intending to limit the claims to have plural pressure sensitive materials or only a single pressure sensitive material.
Regarding claim 18, the language “to come to change” (line 4) is unclear as the examiner cannot ascertain the meaning of this limitation.
Regarding claim 19, the language “simply using eyes” (line 4) is unclear as is not known how the term ‘simply’ further limits the claim, i.e. what limitation does the term ‘simply’ add to the claim.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation that the outer part is “a face mask, an earmuff, a container” (line 2) is unclear as it is not known if Applicant is intending to set forth these types of outer parts in alternative form or to claim that the outer part is each of the listed examples at once, which is unclear how an outer part can be a face mask, an earmuff, and a container at the same time.
Claims 2-10, 12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Falco et al. (2002/0153192).
Regarding claim 1, Falco discloses an apparatus with multipurpose pressure sensitive materials (see abstract and Figs. 1-5 for example) which includes an outer part and a pressure sensitive material which is configured to change colors according to a contact state between the outer part with an object and/or according to the outer part itself (see Fig. 3 showing an outer part in the form of earmuffs worn on an object, i.e. a user, para. 0031-0035; Fig. 4 showing an outer part in the form of a respiratory mask/device and the object being a user, para. 0036-0043; in both cases energy-activated material is provided which changes color to show sealing contact state or leakage; material is pressure sensitive as its temperature can change due to pressing against the outer device and outer part and cause color change thereof).
Regarding claim 10, the Falco device’s outer part is earmuffs (see Fig. 3 and para. 0031-0035).
Regarding claim 11, the Falco device’s pressure sensitive material is attached to an inside part of the earmuffs to contact a user’s head (see Fig. 3 and para. 0031-0035).
Regarding claim 15, the Falco device’s pressure sensitive material is further configured to change color with an outer force and configured to change back to its original color when the outer force disappears (see para. 0035 and 0043 which discloses reversible color changing).
Regarding claim 18, the use of the Falco apparatus includes a method of leak identification of an apparatus with multipurpose pressure sensitive materials including an outer part and a pressure sensitive material configured to change colors according to a contact state between the outer part with an object and/or according to the outer part itself (see Fig. 3 showing an outer part in the form of earmuffs worn on an object, i.e. a user, para. 0031-0035; Fig. 4 showing an outer part in the form of a respiratory mask/device and the object being a user, para. 0036-0043; in both cases energy-activated material is provided which changes color to show sealing contact state or leakage), including step S1 of attaching the pressure sensitive material to the outer part (see Fig. 3 and para. 0033, pressure sensitive material attached to earmuffs; Fig. 4 and para. 0040, pressure sensitive material attached to respirator device); step S2 using the outer part to contact the object (Fig. 3 the user wearing the earmuffs, Fig. 4 the user wearing the respirator device); step S3 observing if a color change of the material occurs and determining leak location according to location of color change (see Fig. 3 and para. 0031-0035, Fig. 4 and para. 0036-0043).
Regarding claim 19, the Falco use method’s determination of leak location according to color change location is performed by scanning the object through an image detecting device or by simply using eyes (see para. 0033-0034 and 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 20, the Falco use method’s outer part is a face mask, an earmuff, or a container (see Fig. 3 which discloses the outer part being earmuffs, Fig. 4 the outer part being a face mask).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN 1919376) (see attached foreign translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses an apparatus with multipurpose pressure sensitive materials (see Fig. 1-9 and translation of abstract) which includes an outer part and a pressure sensitive material which is configured to change colors according to a contact state between the outer part with an object and/or according to the outer part itself (see Fig. 1-9 and translation pg. 2-4, outer part defined by elements 20 and 22 for example, color changing pressure sensitive material 37 as disclosed and shown in 1-6 and 8 for example).
Regarding claim 2, the Zhu apparatus’ pressure sensitive material is a polymer matrix or other material which can change colors with different added pressure (see translation pg. 2-4 and abstract for example).
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanly S., Pressure Sensitive Materials: Paint, Film and Polymers Overview (see attached copy).
Regarding claim 1, Hanly discloses an apparatus with multipurpose pressure sensitive materials (see pg. 1-4 which discloses pressure sensitive material in the form of pressure sensitive paint) which includes an outer part and a pressure sensitive material which is configured to change colors according to a contact state between the outer part with an object and/or according to the outer part itself (see pg. 1-4 which discloses use of pressure sensitive paint on an outer part such as an air foil or other automotive drag testing of objects, see Fig. 2 showing another outer part, the object being airflow around the outer part which causes a drag/aerodynamic force thereon).
Regarding claim 17, the Hanly reference’s pressure sensitive material is made into a pressure sensitive paint that can be used in an aerodynamic field (see pg. 1-4 which discloses use of pressure sensitive paint on an outer part such as an air foil or other automotive drag testing of objects, see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falco in view of Zhu.
Regarding claim 2, the Falco device is silent as to the pressure sensitive material being a polymer matrix composite or other material that can change colors with different added pressure; however, Zhu discloses a similar device which teaches this feature (see translation pg. 2-4 and abstract for example). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Falco device’s material to explicitly be a polymer matrix composite or other material that can change colors with different added pressure, as taught by Zhu, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known energy-activated material type for another and one would expect the modified Falco device to perform equally as well.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Falco device’s pressure sensitive material’s color change is a reversible reaction (see Falco para. 0035 and 0043 which discloses reversible color changing).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Falco device’s pressure sensitive material is configured to indicate if a leak occurs through the color change according to the contact state and/or the outer part itself (see Falco para. 0033-0034 and 0041-0042).
Claim(s) 5, 8, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falco in view of Matich (2013/0180529).
Regarding claim 5, the Falco device is silent as to the outer part being a loose-fitting face mask including a cloth face mask, dust face mask, or a surgical face mask (note Fig. 4 of Falco shows a different type of face mask); however, Matich discloses a loose fitting face mask which provides importance of sealing thereof (see Matich abstract, Fig. 4A-B and also Fig. 1-3 as compared to Fig. 7-8 type respirator, para. 0061 surgical mask). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Falco device’s outer part to be a loose-fitting type mask such as a surgical mask, as taught by Matich, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element/type of respiration mask for another and one would expect the modified Falco device to perform equally as well.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Falco device’s loose-fitting face mask has inner and outer sides with the inner side suitable for contacting a user’s face with the pressure sensitive material located on the inner side of the mask (see Matich Fig. 1-4 for example, providing this type of mask to Falco to provide the color changing material indicative of leak would also provide the material on the inner side where the seal between mask and user occurs).
Regarding claim 6, the Falco device is silent as to the outer part being a tight-fitting mask including one of the claimed list; however, Matich discloses a tight-fitting face mask which provides importance of sealing thereof (see Matich abstract, Fig. 4A-B and also Fig. 1-3 as compared to Fig. 7-8 type respirator, para. 0124 N95 mask). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Falco device’s outer part to be a tight-fitting type mask such as an N95 mask, as taught by Matich, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element/type of respiration mask for another and one would expect the modified Falco device to perform equally as well.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Falco device’s tight-fitting face mask has inner and outer sides with the inner side suitable for contacting a user’s face with the pressure sensitive material located on the inner side of the mask (see Matich Fig. 1-4 for example, providing this type of mask to Falco to provide the color changing material indicative of leak would also provide the material on the inner side where the seal between mask and user occurs).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falco in view of Yin et al. (2017/0176272).
Regarding claim 7, the Falco device is silent as to the pressure sensitive material being a polymer matrix composite including nanoparticles; however, Yin discloses a similar material which is in the form of a polymer matrix composition with nanoparticles (see Yin para. 0005 and 0027 for example). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Falco device’s material to be a polymer matrix composition including nanoparticles, as taught by Yin, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element/type of material for another and one would expect the modified Falco device to perform equally as well.
Regarding claim 16, the Falco device is silent as to the pressure sensitive material to be configured to change color with adjustable time under pressure that is either quick or slow; however, Yin discloses a similar pressure induced color change material which exhibits these properties (see Yin Fig. 1 and 3-4, para. 0016, 0019, 0023, and 0025 for example). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Falco device’s material to be sensitive to time under pressure such as a material taught by Yin, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another and one would expect the modified Falco device to perform equally as well.
Claim(s) 1 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bessho et al. (2015/0360842) in view of Falco.
Regarding claim 1, Bessho discloses an apparatus including an outer part and a material configured to change colors according to a contact state between the outer part and an object (see Bessho Fig. 1-2 and para. 0173, outer part being container 12 and object being the lid/cover 16). Bessho is silent as to the material explicitly being pressure sensitive color changing material; however, Falco teaches a similar device to determine sealing fit/leakage between outer parts and objects which includes this type of material (see Falco Fig. 3 showing an outer part in the form of earmuffs worn on an object, i.e. a user, para. 0031-0035; Fig. 4 showing an outer part in the form of a respiratory mask/device and the object being a user, para. 0036-0043; in both cases energy-activated material is provided which changes color to show sealing contact state or leakage; material is pressure sensitive as its temperature can change due to pressing against the outer device and outer part and cause color change thereof). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Bessho device’s material to be the pressure sensitive color changing material, as taught by Falco, in order to determine sealing fit/leakage as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another and one would expect the modified Bessho device to perform equally as well.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Bessho device’s outer part is a container (see Fig. 1, container 12, see also para. 0173).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Bessho device’s pressure sensitive material is attached to a mouth of the container or an inner side of a lid thereof (see Bessho Fig. 1-2, material provided to determine seal between mouth/opening of container 12 and inner side of lid/cover 16 such as at seal 18, provided with pressure sensitive color changing material in view of modification in view of Falco).
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cinader, JR. et al. (2010/0279243) in view of Falco.
Regarding claim 1, Cinader discloses an apparatus including an outer part and a material configured to change colors according to a contact state between the outer part and an object (see Cinader Fig. 1-2 and para. 0057, 0070, 0071, 0073, and 0074, outer part being 12 or 14 dental bridge device, object being the user’s teeth). Cinader is silent as to the material explicitly being pressure sensitive color changing material; however, Falco teaches a similar device to determine sealing fit/leakage between outer parts and objects which includes this type of material (see Falco Fig. 3 showing an outer part in the form of earmuffs worn on an object, i.e. a user, para. 0031-0035; Fig. 4 showing an outer part in the form of a respiratory mask/device and the object being a user, para. 0036-0043; in both cases energy-activated material is provided which changes color to show sealing contact state or leakage; material is pressure sensitive as its temperature can change due to pressing against the outer device and outer part and cause color change thereof). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cinader device’s material to be the pressure sensitive color changing material, as taught by Falco, in order to determine sealing fit/leakage as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element/material for another and one would expect the modified Bessho device to perform equally as well.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Cinader device’s outer part is a crown, bridge, or partial denture and the pressure sensitive material is a paste coated on an inner side thereof (see Cinader Fig. 1-2 and para. 0057, 0070, 0071, 0073, and 0074, see also para. 0059).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Springett et al. (5,617,849), Shahaf (2003/0075174), and Tushaus et al. (2013/0146061) disclose respiratory devices which utilize color changing materials to show presence of leaks in a seal.
/COLIN W STUART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785