DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cleaning unit, handle unit, and sterilization unit in claim 1. Examiner notes that the terms “tank unit” and “filter unit” are also recited, but the terms “tank” and “filter” represent sufficient structure to obviate a 112(f) interpretation.
The specification at [16] indicates that the “sterilization unit” includes a sterilization tank and ultrasonic sterilization module. At [18] it indicates that “cleaning unit” includes an inclined surface to form a washing groove and a drain. And at [20] it indicates that “handle unit” includes an extending portion and protrusion module for spraying of water. Further, as per the aforementioned 112(f) interpretation, equivalents thereof are also considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 102302456 B1) in view of Zou et al (CN 107320036 B), Iida et al (JP 2021186739 A), and Gao (CN 203112643 U), optionally in view of Corbosiero (US PGPub 2005/0013652 A1).
Machine Translations of Zou, Iida, and Gao are provided with this action.
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches a mobile cleaning device for cleaning an object such as a mop, including a main body with a frame and supporting wheels, a tank unit (300) to be filled with washing water, a cleaning unit (400) attached to the frame which includes an inclined surface for washing the object, as well as a drain line connection (700) for draining water that has been used in washing. There is further provided a filter unit (500) for filtering water which is passing from the cleaning unit drain to return to the tank. See Figures and pgs. 15-17 of the translation provided by applicant.
Lee is silent to the presence of a partition in which the tank is provided on one side, and the cleaning unit on another; Lee is further silent to a handle unit with a protrusion and spray head or the like, instead teaching a water injection hole (430) in the cleaning unit; Lee is further silent to a sterilization unit employing ultrasonic sterilization. Finally, Lee does not specify that the cleaning unit is detachable; however, see MPEP 2144.04 V.C; making parts separable is an obvious engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding the positioning of a tank and cleaning unit relative to a partition, as well as to the structure of a handle unit for spraying water via a projecting feature, see Zou, which teaches an automatic cleaning machine for a mop or the like [Abs]. The mop is cleaning in a cleaning tank (11) positioned on one side of the device, below which are provided spaces for fractions of various purity, and a cleaning fluid tank (19) is provided on the other side of the device via suitable partitions [Fig. 1, 0018, 0028]. Water for cleaning is provided by a water inlet pipe (4) which is provided in a structure similar to a faucet, which is capable of being rotated around a vertical axis [0017] so that it can be rotating into place for filling the cleaning space during cleaning, and can be rotated out of the way when not in use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s taught mobile washing device to feature a partition within the body to separate clean fluid from e.g. lower quality fluid from different cycles, as discussed by Zou, to more efficiently manage cleaning fluid. Similarly, it would have been obvious to modify Lee’s taught device to include a faucet-type water spray element to allow for it to be adjusted as needed to efficiently direct water when in use and to move out of the way when not in use.
Alternatively regarding the claimed handle unit, Lee already teaches a dewatering unit (460) which has substantially the same broad structure as the instant claimed unit in terms of providing a handle, protrusions, etc. which is designed to be used for cleaning and dewatering of the object to allow brushing, scrubbing, and the like to occur when cleaning [Fig. 11, pgs. 26-27] but is silent to the use of this item to also dispense water to spray the mop or otherwise fill the cleaning unit. However, Corbosiero teaches a portable cleaning device with a storage tank for cleaning fluid and a sprayer which is contained within a brush to allow for spraying and scrubbing of the object to be cleaned [Abs]. It would have been obvious to integrate the dewatering unit (460) with the cleaning fluid source in Lee’s taught system to allow for spraying during scrubbing or the like and, in general, greater control of the spraying from the user’s perspective by way of a convenient handle device already present in Lee’s taught system, in a manner similar to that suggested by Corbosiero.
Regarding the provision of a sterilization unit for ultrasonic cleaning of the water being drained from the cleaning unit, see Iida and Gao. Gao teaches wastewater recycling [0002] and teaches that a water storage tank is connected to a disinfection tank, where such disinfection tank is provided with an ultrasonic generator [0006]. Iida teaches a cleaning device for cleaning of surfaces and teaches that ultrasonic cavitation can be used to generate bubbles in the cleaning liquid [0022] for sterilization purposes. It would have been obvious to provided a similar arrangement for sterilization of water streams in Lee’s taught device by employing ultrasonic cavitation in e.g. a disinfection tank to generate bubbles therein and sterilize the water before feeding it to the storage tank, as suggested by Gao and Iida.
The claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art over the proposed combinations.
With respect to claim 2, the filter unit e.g. (500) of Lee is below the cleaning unit to receive drainage by gravity or the like. Providing it below the sterilization unit would have been obvious as a way to ensure that solids or the like removed by the filter are not dropped to subsequent process steps e.g. the disinfection tank; further, see MPEP 2144.04 VI.A and VI.C; reversal or rearrangement of parts are generally obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 3, at least Gao teaches multiple pumps (11) for feeding from the storage tank (10) in multiple manners, and also for connecting to the sterilization tank (9) [Fig. 1]. Providing suitable pumps to move fluid in appropriate would have been an obvious engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, especially (as discussed above) when relative vertical positioning is employed.
With respect to claim 4, as above the provision of a tank and ultrasonic generator for sterilization would have been obvious in view of Iida and Gao, to provide cavitation for sterilization purposes.
With respect to claim 6, as above Lee teaches a cleaning unit with a body having an open upper portion, and inclined surface, and a water drain.
With respect to claim 8, as above the provision of a faucet-style protrusion and handle structure for the spraying element would have been obvious in view of Zou.
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Zou et al, Corbosiero, Iida et al, and Gao.
See the alternative interpretation regarding the handle unit as discussed in claim 1, and the discussion of Corbosiero. Providing Lee’s taught dewatering device which already features cleaning and dehydration protrusions, and connecting it with a suitable hose and providing a suitable holder in the frame, would have been obvious in view of Corbosiero as a way to efficiently combine spraying and scrubbing or the like, or to otherwise conveniently provide control of the spraying via user-handling.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Zou et al (optionally in view of Corbosiero), Iida et al, and Gao, further in view of Lee ‘590 (KR 102195590 B1).
A machine translation of Lee ‘590 is provided with this action.
Lee teaches a filter (500) for receiving drainage from the cleaning unit which may include a filter detachably mounted in an appropriate position, in a manner that may be detachable e.g. to facilitate replacement [pgs. 27-28]. Lee is silent to providing two separate filters in series, where the second filter is finer than the first filter.
However, Lee ‘590 teaches a similar cleaning device for mops or the like [0001] and teaches that water from a receiving unit (300) i.e. water which has been used for washing [0037] may pass through a filter (310) for primary filtering when being received [0097], and that this is preferably in the form of several layers of mesh net which progressively decrease in size from top to bottom [0098] to allow sequential filtration [0099], which may be separately detachable for easy replacement [0101-0102].
It would have been obvious to provide this same multi-mesh structure in Lee’s filter (500) to allow for sequential filtration and removal of substances from the cleaning unit.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777