DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 13, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 19, and 21-28, are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 19, and 21-28 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 11-22 of the response, filed April 13, 2026, with respect to the rejections of the pending claims under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration for the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new reference, please see the rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10-12, 15-16, 19, and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious under NPL submitted in IDS 10-24-2022 – “3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting_104_R2-1817902” (hereinafter “R2”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0309128 (hereinafter “Duan”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0199496 (hereinafter “Qin”)
Regarding claim 1, R2 teaches: A positioning method, comprising: sending, by a location management function (Figure 1 – LMF) device, target configuration information to a target device (Figure 1, step 5; p. 3/27 - The LMF sends an NRPPa PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs determined at step 4 and includes the new PRS configuration determined for that gNB. The request may also include a start time for each new PRS configuration and a duration.), wherein the target configuration information is used to configure at least one of the following for a network device or user equipment (UE) (Figure 1, step 5; p. 3/27 - The LMF sends an NRPPa PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs determined at step 4 and includes the new PRS configuration determined for that gNB. The request may also include a start time for each new PRS configuration and a duration.): a first target signal to be sent or related information for sending the first target signal, wherein the first target signal is used to determine a location of the UE (Figure 1, step 7; p. 3/27 Each of the gNBs which acknowledged support of a new PRS configuration at step 6 changes from an old PRS configuration to a new PRS configuration either after (or just before) sending the acknowledgment at step 6 if no start time was provided or at the start time indicated in step 5. In some cases, the old PRS configuration may correspond to not transmitting a DL PRS.); wherein the TRP-related information comprises at least one of the following: a target identifier corresponding to a TRP or a TRP-related quantity (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.) the target identifier comprises a first TRP identifier, the TRP-related quantity comprises a first TRP quantity; the first TRP identifier is an identifier of a TRP that sends signals in at least one TRP corresponding to the network device; the first TRP quantity is a quantity of TRPs that send signals in the at least one TRP (R2 incorporates TS 36.355 by reference on p. 2/27, which discloses “prsID: This field specifies the PRS-ID as defined in TS 36.211 [16].” on p. 61/226); further comprising: sending, by the location management function device, a first request message to the network device (Figure 1, step 5; p. 3/27 - The LMF sends an NRPPa PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs), and receiving a first response message sent by the network device, wherein the first request message is used to request capability information of the network device, and the first response message comprises the capability information, wherein the capability information is used to indicate whether the network device supports sending the first target signal based on the target configuration information (Figure 1, Step 6; p. 3/27 - Each of the gNBs returns a response to the LMF indicating whether the new PRS configuration can be supported. If some gNBs indicate that a new PRS configuration cannot be supported, the LMF may perform steps 15 and 16 to restore the old PRS configurations in each of the gNBs which indicated a new PRS configuration can be supported in order to avoid interference between gNBs which support the new PRS configuration and gNBs which do not. In this case, the LMF would provide the old PRS configurations to the UE at step 8 instead of the new PRS configurations.); wherein after the sending, by a location management function device, target configuration information to a target device, the method further comprises: sending, by the location management function device, second target information to the target device, wherein the second target information is used to indicate that the target device activates a part or all of configuration information in the target configuration information (Figure 1, Step 9 - The LMF sends an LPP Request Location Information message to the target UE to request the UE to measure DL PRS transmission by the gNBs determined at step 4 (and confirmed at step 6) according to the new PRS configurations. For example, the LMF may request measurements of RSTD if OTDOA is used. The LMF may also indicate whether UE-based positioning is requested whereby the UE determines its own location.).
R2 does not explicitly teach: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a first frequency layer identifier and a first frequency layer quantity; a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier; a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Duan teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a first frequency layer identifier ([0081] Each DL PRS resource set may include an ID) and a first frequency layer quantity ([0081] the number of resource blocks configured for PRS transmission (see 3GPP TS 38.214 release 16).); a first target signal (e.g., UL 334) to be sent at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier ([0081] At stage, 1102 the method includes configuring a first position frequency layer for full duplex operation. A base station 110, or other network server, is a means for configuring a position frequency layer. A UE may be configured with one or more DL PRS Positioning Frequency Layer configuration(s) based on higher layer parameters (e.g., DL-PRS-PositioningFrequencyLayer).); a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity ([0081] At stage, 1102 the method includes configuring a first position frequency layer for full duplex operation. A base station 110, or other network server, is a means for configuring a position frequency layer. A UE may be configured with one or more DL PRS Positioning Frequency Layer configuration(s) based on higher layer parameters (e.g., DL-PRS-PositioningFrequencyLayer).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 to include the layer parameters of Duan and a combination of R2 with Duan renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(D) (e.g., applying the known techniques of Duan to the known virtual network functions of R2 to yield predictable results).
The combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: wherein the target configuration information comprises N groups of configuration information; and the second target information is used to indicate that the target device activates M groups of configuration information in the N groups of configuration information, or the second target information is used to indicate that the network device activates L groups of configuration information in the N groups of configuration information, wherein the L groups of configuration information are configuration information that the network device is allowed to send to the UE, N, M, and L are all positive integers, M is less than or equal to N, and L is less than or equal to N.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises N groups of configuration information ([0201] Alternatively, the first indication information may be configuration information or a configuration indication. The configuration information is used to indicate the correspondence between the first resource and the beam (the configuration information may include a plurality of configurations simultaneously), and the configuration information may be carried in higher layer signaling. The configuration indication is used to indicate which configuration in the plurality of configurations is to be used when the UE transmits the target channel and/or signal, and the configuration indication may be carried in DCI. [0202] With reference to the sixth aspect and the foregoing possible implementation, in another possible implementation, the transmitting unit is further configured to transmit, to the UE, second indication information that is used by the UE to divide the resource group into the at least one resource subgroup.); and the second target information is used to indicate that the target device activates M groups of configuration information in the N groups of configuration information ([0215] the first indication information may include an identity of each resource subgroup, and a number of a beam corresponding to the identity of each resource subgroup; and correspondingly, the determining unit is specifically configured to determine an identity of a resource subgroup to which the first resource belongs, determine a number of a beam corresponding to the identity of the resource subgroup, and then determine the uplink transmitting beam based on the beam corresponding to the number of the beam;), or the second target information is used to indicate that the network device activates L groups of configuration information in the N groups of configuration information, wherein the L groups of configuration information are configuration information that the network device is allowed to send to the UE, N, M, and L are all positive integers, M is less than or equal to N, and L is less than or equal to N ([0373] The at least one first resource forms a resource group, and the resource group may include at least one resource subgroup.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
Regarding claim 2, R2 teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: first indication information (p. 1/27 There could then be one or more levels of increased PRS transmission each associated with a different set of PRS configuration parameters such as parameters defining PRS bandwidth, PRS frequencies, duration of PRS positioning occasions and periodicity of PRS positioning occasions.), first resource information (p. 1/27 PRS frequencies), first period-related information (p. 1/27 duration of PRS positioning occasions and periodicity of PRS positioning occasions.), or second indication information (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the target device starts or stops sending the first target signal (Figure 1, Step 4; p. 3/27 The new PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth, a longer duration of PRS positioning occasions, PRS transmission on new frequencies, and/or a higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions and may, in some cases, be selected from a set of one or more preconfigured sets of PRS configuration parameters to support increased PRS transmission.), the first resource information is used to indicate a frequency domain resource for sending a second target signal by the target device (Figure 1, Step 4; p. 3/27 The new PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth, a longer duration of PRS positioning occasions, PRS transmission on new frequencies, and/or a higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions and may, in some cases, be selected from a set of one or more preconfigured sets of PRS configuration parameters to support increased PRS transmission.), the first period-related information is used to indicate a period for sending a third target signal by the target device (Figure 1 Step 4 (one of the three signals sent in step 7); p. 3/27 The new PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth, a longer duration of PRS positioning occasions, PRS transmission on new frequencies, and/or a higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions and may, in some cases, be selected from a set of one or more preconfigured sets of PRS configuration parameters to support increased PRS transmission.), the second indication information is used to indicate corresponding transmission and reception point (TRP)-related information for sending a fourth target signal by the network device (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.).
Regarding claim 5, R2 teaches: wherein the first period-related information comprises at least one of the following: a period value set (p. 7/27 In a synchronized or approximately synchronized NG-RAN, interference can be reduced by using the same PRS configuration in each cell with regard to bandwidth, carrier frequency, subcarriers and duration and occurrence of positioning occasions. In this case, in each cell, PRS will either be transmitted or muted during the same time intervals for the same set of subcarriers and will only interfere with and receive interference from PRS transmitted in other cells. However, when additional resource elements (REs) are assigned in one cell to increase PRS transmission in this cell, the PRS transmission in those additional REs will interfere with and receive interference from corresponding non-PRS RE:s for other cells.) or a repetition factor set (although not needed to reject the claim, see [0070] of Duan).
Regarding claim 6, R2 teaches: the target identifier further comprises at least one of the following: a first signal set identifier, or a first signal identifier, and the TRP-related quantity comprises at least one of the following: a first signal set quantity, a first signal quantity, or a first target quantity, wherein the first signal set identifier is an identifier of a signal set to be sent in the TRP, and the first signal identifier is an identifier of a signal to be sent in the signal set; the first signal set quantity is a quantity of signal sets to be sent by each TRP in the at least one TRP, the first signal quantity is a quantity of signals in each signal set, and the first target quantity is a quantity of symbols occupied by each signal (R2 incorporates TS 36.355 by reference on p. 2/27, which discloses 6.5.1.2 OTDOA Assistance Data Elements on p. 58/226).
Regarding claim 10, R2 teaches: wherein before the sending, by a location management function device, target configuration information to a target device, the method further comprises: sending, by the location management function device, a positioning information request to the target device, wherein the positioning information request is used to request the target device to send configuration information of the first target signal (Figure 1, step 2 - The LMF sends an LPP Request Capabilities message to the target UE as described in TS 23.502 clause 4.13.5.4 to request the positioning capabilities of the UE.); receiving, by the location management function device, a positioning information response sent by the target device (Figure 1, step 3 - The UE returns an LPP Provide Capabilities message to the LMF as described in TS 23.502 clause 4.13.5.4 to provide the positioning capabilities of the UE. The positioning capabilities include the DL PRS measurement capabilities of the UE.); and determining, by the location management function device based on a location service request sent by a location service client and the positioning information response, whether to send the target configuration information to the target device (Figure 1, Step 4 - Based on the LCS client type (e.g. an emergency services client type or a commercial client type), the QoS if provided at step 1 and the DL PRS measurement capabilities of the UE, the LMF determines gNBs nearby to the location of the UE (e.g. as indicated by the serving cell ID received at step 1) to be measured by the UE and a new PRS configuration for each of the gNBs. The determination at step 4 may also be based on location requests for other UEs nearby to the target UE which are received by the LMF at about the same time.).
Regarding claim 11, R2 teaches: send[ing], by a location management function (Figure 1 – LMF) device, target configuration information to a target device (Figure 1, step 5; p. 3/27 - The LMF sends an NRPPa PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs determined at step 4 and includes the new PRS configuration determined for that gNB. The request may also include a start time for each new PRS configuration and a duration.), wherein the target configuration information is used to configure at least one of the following for a network device or user equipment (UE) (Figure 1, step 5; p. 3/27 - The LMF sends an NRPPa PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs determined at step 4 and includes the new PRS configuration determined for that gNB. The request may also include a start time for each new PRS configuration and a duration.): a first target signal to be sent or related information for sending the first target signal, wherein the first target signal is used to determine a location of the UE (Figure 1, step 7; p. 3/27 Each of the gNBs which acknowledged support of a new PRS configuration at step 6 changes from an old PRS configuration to a new PRS configuration either after (or just before) sending the acknowledgment at step 6 if no start time was provided or at the start time indicated in step 5. In some cases, the old PRS configuration may correspond to not transmitting a DL PRS.).
R2 does not explicitly teach: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a first frequency layer identifier and a first frequency layer quantity; a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier; a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Duan teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a first frequency layer identifier ([0081] Each DL PRS resource set may include an ID) and a first frequency layer quantity ([0081] the number of resource blocks configured for PRS transmission (see 3GPP TS 38.214 release 16).); a first target signal (e.g., UL 334) to be sent at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier ([0081] At stage, 1102 the method includes configuring a first position frequency layer for full duplex operation. A base station 110, or other network server, is a means for configuring a position frequency layer. A UE may be configured with one or more DL PRS Positioning Frequency Layer configuration(s) based on higher layer parameters (e.g., DL-PRS-PositioningFrequencyLayer).); a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity ([0081] At stage, 1102 the method includes configuring a first position frequency layer for full duplex operation. A base station 110, or other network server, is a means for configuring a position frequency layer. A UE may be configured with one or more DL PRS Positioning Frequency Layer configuration(s) based on higher layer parameters (e.g., DL-PRS-PositioningFrequencyLayer).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 to include the layer parameters of Duan and a combination of R2 with Duan renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(D) (e.g., applying the known techniques of Duan to the known virtual network functions of R2 to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 12, R2 teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: first indication information (p. 1/27 There could then be one or more levels of increased PRS transmission each associated with a different set of PRS configuration parameters such as parameters defining PRS bandwidth, PRS frequencies, duration of PRS positioning occasions and periodicity of PRS positioning occasions.), first resource information (p. 1/27 PRS frequencies), first period-related information (p. 1/27 duration of PRS positioning occasions and periodicity of PRS positioning occasions.), second indication information (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the target device starts or stops sending the first target signal (Figure 1, Step 4; p. 3/27 The new PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth, a longer duration of PRS positioning occasions, PRS transmission on new frequencies, and/or a higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions and may, in some cases, be selected from a set of one or more preconfigured sets of PRS configuration parameters to support increased PRS transmission.), the first resource information is used to indicate a frequency domain resource for sending a second target signal by the target device (Figure 1, Step 4; p. 3/27 The new PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth, a longer duration of PRS positioning occasions, PRS transmission on new frequencies, and/or a higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions and may, in some cases, be selected from a set of one or more preconfigured sets of PRS configuration parameters to support increased PRS transmission.), the first period-related information is used to indicate a period for sending a third target signal by the target device (Figure 1 Step 4 (one of the three signals sent in step 7); p. 3/27 The new PRS configuration for each gNB may use increased PRS bandwidth, a longer duration of PRS positioning occasions, PRS transmission on new frequencies, and/or a higher frequency of PRS positioning occasions and may, in some cases, be selected from a set of one or more preconfigured sets of PRS configuration parameters to support increased PRS transmission.), the second indication information is used to indicate corresponding transmission and reception point (TRP)-related information for sending a fourth target signal by the network device (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.); and all of the second target signal, the third target signal, and the fourth target signal comprise the first target signal.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the first period-related information comprises at least one of the following: a period value set (p. 7/27 In a synchronized or approximately synchronized NG-RAN, interference can be reduced by using the same PRS configuration in each cell with regard to bandwidth, carrier frequency, subcarriers and duration and occurrence of positioning occasions. In this case, in each cell, PRS will either be transmitted or muted during the same time intervals for the same set of subcarriers and will only interfere with and receive interference from PRS transmitted in other cells. However, when additional resource elements (REs) are assigned in one cell to increase PRS transmission in this cell, the PRS transmission in those additional REs will interfere with and receive interference from corresponding non-PRS RE:s for other cells.) or a repetition factor set (although not needed to reject the claim, see [0070] of Duan).
Regarding claim 16, R2 teaches: wherein the TRP-related information comprises at least one of the following: a target identifier corresponding to a TRP or a TRP-related quantity (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.), the target identifier comprises at least one of the following: a first TRP identifier, a first signal set identifier, or a first signal identifier, and the TRP-related quantity comprises at least one of the following: a first TRP quantity, a first signal set quantity, a first signal quantity, or a first target quantity, wherein the first TRP identifier is an identifier of a TRP that sends signals in at least one TRP corresponding to the network device, the first signal set identifier is an identifier of a signal set to be sent in the TRP, and the first signal identifier is an identifier of a signal to be sent in the signal set; and the first TRP quantity is a quantity of TRPs that send signals in the at least one TRP, the first signal set quantity is a quantity of signal sets to be sent by each TRP in the at least one TRP, the first signal quantity is a quantity of signals in each signal set, and the first target quantity is a quantity of symbols occupied by each signal.
Regarding claim 19, R2 teaches: wherein before the sending, by a location management function device, target configuration information to a target device, the method further comprises: sending, by the location management function device, a positioning information request to the target device, wherein the positioning information request is used to request the target device to send configuration information of the first target signal (Figure 1, step 2 - The LMF sends an LPP Request Capabilities message to the target UE as described in TS 23.502 clause 4.13.5.4 to request the positioning capabilities of the UE.); receiving, by the location management function device, a positioning information response sent by the target device (Figure 1, step 3 - The UE returns an LPP Provide Capabilities message to the LMF as described in TS 23.502 clause 4.13.5.4 to provide the positioning capabilities of the UE. The positioning capabilities include the DL PRS measurement capabilities of the UE.); and determining, by the location management function device based on a location service request sent by a location service client and the positioning information response, whether to send the target configuration information to the target device (Figure 1, Step 4 - Based on the LCS client type (e.g. an emergency services client type or a commercial client type), the QoS if provided at step 1 and the DL PRS measurement capabilities of the UE, the LMF determines gNBs nearby to the location of the UE (e.g. as indicated by the serving cell ID received at step 1) to be measured by the UE and a new PRS configuration for each of the gNBs. The determination at step 4 may also be based on location requests for other UEs nearby to the target UE which are received by the LMF at about the same time.).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious under R2 in view of Duan and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0132921 (hereinafter “Vaupel”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: further comprising: receiving, by the location management function device, a target message sent by the network device, wherein the target message comprises capability information of the network device; or sending, by the location management function device, a first request message to the network device, and receiving a first response message sent by the network device, wherein the first request message is used to request capability information of the network device, and the first response message comprises the capability information, wherein the capability information is used to indicate whether the network device supports sending the first target signal based on the target configuration information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vaupel teaches: further comprising: receiving, by the location management function device, a target message sent by the network device, wherein the target message comprises capability information of the network device ([0071] The network node may be an LMF requesting over NRPPa the UE physical transmission and reception capabilities from a gNB. The network node may be an LMF requesting over NRPPa the gNB physical transmission and reception capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with receiving capability information of the network device (e.g., gNB) and a combination of R2 and Duan with Vaupel renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing capability information of the network device).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: further comprising: receiving, by the location management function device, a target message sent by the network device, wherein the target message comprises capability information of the network device; or sending, by the location management function device, a first request message to the network device, and receiving a first response message sent by the network device, wherein the first request message is used to request capability information of the network device, and the first response message comprises the capability information, wherein the capability information is used to indicate whether the network device supports sending the first target signal based on the target configuration information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vaupel teaches: further comprising: receiving, by the location management function device, a target message sent by the network device, wherein the target message comprises capability information of the network device ([0071] The network node may be an LMF requesting over NRPPa the UE physical transmission and reception capabilities from a gNB. The network node may be an LMF requesting over NRPPa the gNB physical transmission and reception capabilities.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with receiving capability information of the network device (e.g., gNB) and a combination of R2 and Duan with Vaupel renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing capability information of the network device).
Regarding claim 21, R1 teaches: A positioning method, wherein the method comprises: receiving, by a network device, target configuration information sent by a location management function device (Figure 1, step 5; p. 3/27 - The LMF sends an NRPPa PRS Reconfiguration Request message to each of the gNBs determined at step 4 and includes the new PRS configuration determined for that gNB. The request may also include a start time for each new PRS configuration and a duration.); sending, by the network device, a first target signal at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier, or a first target signal at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity, or related information of the first target signal (Figure 1, step 7; p. 3/27 Each of the gNBs which acknowledged support of a new PRS configuration at step 6 changes from an old PRS configuration to a new PRS configuration either after (or just before) sending the acknowledgment at step 6 if no start time was provided or at the start time indicated in step 5. In some cases, the old PRS configuration may correspond to not transmitting a DL PRS.), wherein the first target signal is used to determine a location of the user equipment (UE) (PRS); wherein the target configuration information further comprises a target identifier corresponding to a corresponding transmission and reception point (TRP) or a TRP-related quantity (p.2/27 The LMF could control PRS transmission from both normal gNBs and from Transmission Points (TPs) such as remote radio heads and PRS-only beacons.); the target identifier comprises a first TRP identifier (R2 incorporates TS 36.355 by reference on p. 2/27, which discloses “prsID: This field specifies the PRS-ID as defined in TS 36.211 [16].” on p. 61/226), the TRP-related quantity comprises a first TRP quantity (R2 incorporates TS 36.355 by reference on p. 2/27, which discloses 6.5.1.2 OTDOA Assistance Data Elements on p. 58/226); the first TRP identifier is an identifier of a TRP that sends signals in at least one TRP corresponding to the network device; the first TRP quantity is a quantity of TRPs that send signals in the at least one TRP (R2 incorporates TS 36.355 by reference on p. 2/27, which discloses 6.5.1.2 OTDOA Assistance Data Elements on p. 60/226 tpId - This field specifies an identity of the transmission point. This field together with the physCellId and/or prsID may be used to identify the transmission point in case the same physical cell ID is shared by multiple transmission points.); wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the network device, a first request message sent by the location management function device (e.g., Figure 1, Step 15), and sending a first response message to the location management function device, wherein the first request message is used to indicate whether the network device supports sending the first target signal based on the target configuration information (e.g., Step 6); wherein after the receiving, by a network device, target configuration information sent by a location management function device, the method further comprises:
R2 does not explicitly teach: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a first frequency layer identifier and a first frequency layer quantity; a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier; a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Duan teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a first frequency layer identifier ([0081] Each DL PRS resource set may include an ID) and a first frequency layer quantity ([0081] the number of resource blocks configured for PRS transmission (see 3GPP TS 38.214 release 16).); a first target signal (e.g., UL 334) to be sent at a frequency layer indicated by the first frequency layer identifier ([0081] At stage, 1102 the method includes configuring a first position frequency layer for full duplex operation. A base station 110, or other network server, is a means for configuring a position frequency layer. A UE may be configured with one or more DL PRS Positioning Frequency Layer configuration(s) based on higher layer parameters (e.g., DL-PRS-PositioningFrequencyLayer).); a first target signal to be sent at a frequency layer corresponding to the first frequency layer quantity ([0081] At stage, 1102 the method includes configuring a first position frequency layer for full duplex operation. A base station 110, or other network server, is a means for configuring a position frequency layer. A UE may be configured with one or more DL PRS Positioning Frequency Layer configuration(s) based on higher layer parameters (e.g., DL-PRS-PositioningFrequencyLayer).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 to include the layer parameters of Duan and a combination of R2 with Duan renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(D) (e.g., applying the known techniques of Duan to the known virtual network functions of R2 to yield predictable results).
The combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: sending, by the network device, L groups of configuration information to the UE; wherein the L groups of configuration information are configuration information that the network device is allowed to send to the UE, L is positive integers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: sending, by the network device, L groups of configuration information to the UE; wherein the L groups of configuration information are configuration information that the network device is allowed to send to the UE, L is positive integers. ([0201] Alternatively, the first indication information may be configuration information or a configuration indication. The configuration information is used to indicate the correspondence between the first resource and the beam (the configuration information may include a plurality of configurations simultaneously), and the configuration information may be carried in higher layer signaling. The configuration indication is used to indicate which configuration in the plurality of configurations is to be used when the UE transmits the target channel and/or signal, and the configuration indication may be carried in DCI. [0202] With reference to the sixth aspect and the foregoing possible implementation, in another possible implementation, the transmitting unit is further configured to transmit, to the UE, second indication information that is used by the UE to divide the resource group into the at least one resource subgroup. [0215] the first indication information may include an identity of each resource subgroup, and a number of a beam corresponding to the identity of each resource subgroup; and correspondingly, the determining unit is specifically configured to determine an identity of a resource subgroup to which the first resource belongs, determine a number of a beam corresponding to the identity of the resource subgroup, and then determine the uplink transmitting beam based on the beam corresponding to the number of the beam; [0373] The at least one first resource forms a resource group, and the resource group may include at least one resource subgroup.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
Regarding claim 22, RC teaches: wherein after the receiving, by a network device, target configuration information sent by a location management function device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the network device, first target indication information sent by the location management function device, wherein the first target indication information is used to indicate that the network device activates a part or all of configuration information in the target configuration information (Figure 1, Step 9 - The LMF sends an LPP Request Location Information message to the target UE to request the UE to measure DL PRS transmission by the gNBs determined at step 4 (and confirmed at step 6) according to the new PRS configurations. For example, the LMF may request measurements of RSTD if OTDOA is used. The LMF may also indicate whether UE-based positioning is requested whereby the UE determines its own location.).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: wherein the target configuration information comprises N groups of configuration information, and the first target indication information is used to indicate that the network device activates M groups of configuration information or the L groups of configuration information in the N groups of configuration information, wherein N and M are all positive integers, M is less than or equal to N, and L is less than or equal to N.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: wherein the target configuration information comprises N groups of configuration information, and the first target indication information is used to indicate that the network device activates M groups of configuration information or the L groups of configuration information in the N groups of configuration information, wherein N and M are all positive integers, M is less than or equal to N, and L is less than or equal to N ([0201] Alternatively, the first indication information may be configuration information or a configuration indication. The configuration information is used to indicate the correspondence between the first resource and the beam (the configuration information may include a plurality of configurations simultaneously), and the configuration information may be carried in higher layer signaling. The configuration indication is used to indicate which configuration in the plurality of configurations is to be used when the UE transmits the target channel and/or signal, and the configuration indication may be carried in DCI. [0202] With reference to the sixth aspect and the foregoing possible implementation, in another possible implementation, the transmitting unit is further configured to transmit, to the UE, second indication information that is used by the UE to divide the resource group into the at least one resource subgroup.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
With regard to claim 24, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: wherein after the receiving, by the network device, first target indication information sent by the location management function device, the method further comprises: activating, by the network device, Q groups of configuration information or the L groups of configuration information, wherein the Q groups of configuration information are configuration information in the M groups of configuration information, and Q is a positive integer less than or equal to M.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: wherein after the receiving, by the network device, first target indication information sent by the location management function device, the method further comprises: activating, by the network device, Q groups of configuration information or the L groups of configuration information, wherein the Q groups of configuration information are configuration information in the M groups of configuration information, and Q is a positive integer less than or equal to M ([0449]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: wherein after the sending, by the network device, the L groups of configuration information to the UE, the method further comprises: sending, by the network device, second target indication information to the UE, wherein the second target indication information is used to indicate that the UE activates P groups of configuration information in the Q groups of configuration information or R groups of configuration information in the L groups of configuration information, P is a positive integer less than or equal to Q, and R is a positive integer less than or equal to L.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: wherein after the sending, by the network device, the L groups of configuration information to the UE, the method further comprises: sending, by the network device, second target indication information to the UE, wherein the second target indication information is used to indicate that the UE activates P groups of configuration information in the Q groups of configuration information or R groups of configuration information in the L groups of configuration information, P is a positive integer less than or equal to Q, and R is a positive integer less than or equal to L ([0434]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: wherein the second target indication information comprises an identifier of each group of configuration information in the P groups of configuration information; or the second target indication information comprises an identifier of each group of configuration information in the R groups of configuration information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: wherein the second target indication information comprises an identifier of each group of configuration information in the P groups of configuration information; or the second target indication information comprises an identifier of each group of configuration information in the R groups of configuration information ([0057] “identity”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of R2 and Duan does not teach: wherein a manner of indicating that the UE activates the P groups of configuration information or the R groups of configuration information by the second target indication information is any one of the following: a manner of indicating activation by setting a target bit in a media access control control element (MAC CE); a manner of indicating activation by configuring a group identifier in the MAC CE; a manner of indicating activation by configuring a group identifier in downlink control information (DCI); and a manner of indicating activation by setting a target bit in the DCI.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Qin teaches: wherein a manner of indicating that the UE activates the P groups of configuration information or the R groups of configuration information by the second target indication information is any one of the following: a manner of indicating activation by setting a target bit in a media access control control element (MAC CE); a manner of indicating activation by configuring a group identifier in the MAC CE; a manner of indicating activation by configuring a group identifier in downlink control information (DCI); and a manner of indicating activation by setting a target bit in the DCI ([0375-376].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify R2 and Duan with target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs and a combination of R2 and Duan with Qin renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., target and activation information for a specific sub-group or group of UEs).
Regarding claim 28, R2 teaches: wherein before the receiving, by a network device, target configuration information sent by a location management function device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the network device, a positioning information request sent by the location management function device, wherein the positioning information request is used to request the network device to send configuration information of the first target signal (Figure 1, Step 5 or 15); and sending, by the network device, a positioning information response to the location management function device, wherein the positioning information response is used by the location management function device to determine whether to send the target configuration information to the network device (Figure 1, Step 6 or 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2023/0362874 relates to a method and apparatus for sidelink positioning.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643