Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 10/31/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cattaneo et al (US 20050272601; hereinafter Cattaneo).
As regarding claim 1, Cattaneo discloses the claimed invention for a boron oxide-containing adsorbent, comprising: a porous adsorbent base (component B), and boron oxide (component A) at surfaces of the porous adsorbent base ([0010]-[0012], [0018], [0022], [0024], [0026]; claims 1-2 and 4).
As regarding claim 5, Cattaneo discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Cattaneo discloses the claimed invention for porous adsorbent base and boron oxide ([0010]-[0012], [0018], [0022], [0024], [0026]; claims 1-2 and 4).
Regarding limitations recited in claims 10-11, which are directed to method of making said boron oxide-containing adsorbent (e.g. “applying aqueous boric acid solution to surfaces of porous adsorbent base, removing water from the boric acid solution, and forming boron oxide at the surfaces from the boric acid”) it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same or obvious as the product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.). See MPEP 2113 and 2114. Therefore, since the briquette as recited in claims 1 and 6-7 is the same as the briquette disclosed by modified Stephens, as set forth above, the claim is unpatentable even though the briquette of modified Stephens was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cattaneo et al (US 20050272601; hereinafter Cattaneo).
As regarding claim 2, Cattaneo discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Cattaneo discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the porous adsorbent base comprises porous adsorbent carbon particles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the porous adsorbent base comprises porous adsorbent carbon particles in order to provide adsorption capacity, rapid mass transfer, chemical stability, and broad-spectrum contaminant removal, since it was known in the art as shown in JP 2902032 (hereinafter JP ‘032; title, abstract, pg 1 left col ln 13 – right col ln 1).
As regarding claim 3, Cattaneo as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Cattaneo as modified discloses the claimed invention for the porous adsorbent carbon particles being derived from a natural carbon source or from synthetic hydrocarbon polymer (JP ‘032 – spherical cellulose particles; pg 2 right col ln 10-12).
As regarding claim 4, Cattaneo discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Cattaneo discloses the claimed invention except for from 70 to 95 weight percent porous adsorbent base, and from 5 to 30 weight percent boron oxide, based on total weight porous adsorbent base and boron oxide. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide from 70 to 95 weight percent porous adsorbent base, and from 5 to 30 weight percent boron oxide, based on total weight porous adsorbent base and boron oxide in order to maximized adsorption efficiency while preserving porosity, mechanical integrity, and material economy, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claims 6-9, Cattaneo discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Cattaneo discloses the claimed invention except for a surface area of at least 500 square meters per gram; the porous adsorbent base comprising particles having an average diameter of less than 1 centimeter; the porous adsorbent base comprising a monolith having a dimension of at least 2 centimeters; and less than 1 weight percent water based on total weight boron oxide-containing adsorbent. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a surface area of at least 500 square meters per gram; the porous adsorbent base comprising particles having an average diameter of less than 1 centimeter; the porous adsorbent base comprising a monolith having a dimension of at least 2 centimeters; and less than 1 weight percent water based on total weight boron oxide-containing adsorbent in order to maximize adsorption efficiency, maintain pore accessibility, control boron oxide reactivity, and ensure mechanical and flow stability, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 12, Cattaneo discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Cattaneo discloses the claimed invention except for a purifier device comprising a purifier vessel comprising an interior, an inlet, an outlet, and boron oxide-containing adsorbent. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a purifier device comprising a purifier vessel comprising an interior, an inlet, an outlet, and boron oxide-containing adsorbent in order a device for gas sorption , and broad-spectrum contaminant removal, since it was known in the art as shown in Battilana et al (US 6304367; hereinafter Battilana; fig. 2).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773