CTNF 17/972,097 CTNF 95090 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 02/11/2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 02/11/2026. The applicant argues that the amendments overcome the previous rejection. The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection has been withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Woo, US20200075982A1 and Franklin, US20020022170A1. Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches a fuel cell having a water blister (swelling phenomenon)[0034] generation prevention structure comprising: a membrane-electrode assembly (50) having an electrolyte membrane including a first surface and a second surface [0034][fig. 2]; a cathode electrode layer (100a) applied to the first surface of the electrolyte membrane, and an anode electrode layer (100b) applied to the second surface of the electrolyte membrane [fig. 2]; and a sub-gasket (200a)(200b) is applied for bonding with four edge portions of the membrane-electrode assembly (50)[fig. 2]; wherein a plurality of water discharge passages (205a)(205b) are formed in the alternate areas at the edge of the sub-gasket (200a)(200b)[fig. 2], where the sub-gasket are partially cut out (205a)(205b) to form the plurality of water discharge passages, and wherein the plurality of water discharge passages, the electrolyte membrane, the cathode, and the anode as overlapped and the electrolyte membrane, the cathode, and the anode are bonded together [fig. 2][0050] Woo does not teach an adhesive applied to an inner surface of the sub-gasket between the sub-gasket and the membrane-electrode assembly such that the adhesive is bonded with the four edge portions of the membrane-electrode assembly and the sub-gasket. Franklin teaches a fuel cell comprising a membrane electrode assembly (65) and a subgasket (gasket (64)) wherein an adhesive (66) applied to an inner surface of the sub-gasket (64)[0044] between the sub-gasket (64) and the membrane-electrode assembly (65) such that the adhesive is bonded with the four edge portions of the membrane-electrode assembly and the sub-gasket [fig. 6][fig. 7]. Further, Franklin teaches that the adhesive formed on the four edge portions of the MEA and on an inner surface of the subgasket prevents the leakage of reactants [0083][0084], and that the use of an adhesive to bond a gasket to an MEA is a known method in the art [0075][0076]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the adhesive applied to the subgasket as in Franklin into the subgasket of Woo to prevent reactant leakage by increasing bonding strength. Franklin does not teach the adhesive to comprise water discharge passages. However, the subgasket (200a)(200b) of Woo is formed with water discharge passages (205a)(205b). Then, an adhesive applied to said gasket would be formed so as not to impeded the function of the water discharge passages (ie formed with passages in the adhesive). Then, the proposed combination teaches an adhesive comprising water discharge passages formed therein. Regarding claim 2, combined Woo teaches the fuel cell having the water blister generation prevention structure of claim 1. Further, Woo teaches wherein the plurality of water discharge passage (205a)(205b) are formed on the partial area of the entire area of the adhesive (adhesive applied to subgasket (200a)(200b)) applied to the sub-gasket (200a)(200b), and formed as a groove (hole) opened toward the cathode and the anode (opens to cathode and anode GDL (250))[fig. 2]. Regarding claim 3, combined Woo teaches the fuel cell having the water blister generation prevention structure of claim 2. Further, Woo teaches wherein the plurality of water discharge passages (205) are formed alternately along the edge of the sub-gasket (200a)(200b) with areas of the adhesive formed therebetween (adhesive applied to gasket (310) which alternates with passages (205))[fig. 5] Regarding claim 4, combined Woo teaches the fuel cell having the water blister generation prevention structure of claim 2. Further, Woo teaches wherein the plurality of water discharge passages (205) are alternately formed along an edge, in a width direction (alternate with gasket (310)), of the sub-gasket, each of the plurality of water discharge passages being formed as a groove having a polygonal or curved shape (rectangle)[fig. 1][fig. 5]. Regarding claim 5, combined Woo teaches the fuel cell having the water blister generation prevention structure of claim 1. Further, Woo teaches wherein each of the plurality of water discharge passages (205) is formed to have a path overlapping the distal ends of the cathode and the anode (formed at the edges of anode and cathode (100a)(200b))[fig. 2]. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo, US20200075982A1 and Franklin, US20020022170A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Jin, US20170194658A1 . Regarding claim 6, combined Woo teaches the fuel cell having the water blister generation prevention structure of claim 1. Woo does not teach wherein the distal ends of the cathode and the anode exposed through each of the water discharge passages are formed as an active area for generating electricity of the fuel cell. Jin teaches a fuel cell comprising an MEA [0005] and subgasket (120)(130) wherein a plurality of water discharge passages (141)[0040] are formed in alternate areas at the edge of the sub-gasket (120)[fig. 4] wherein the distal ends of the cathode and the anode exposed through each of the water discharge passages are formed as an active area for generating electricity of the fuel cell (grooves overlap MEA when separator plates are disposed in fuel cell stack [0005]. Further, Jin teaches forming water discharges passages as such prevents damage from occurring from water buildup [0013][0016]. Then it would have been obvious to combine the water discharge passage teachings of Jin in to the fuel cell of combined Woo to prevent damage from occurring due to water buildup. Regarding claim 7, Woo teaches the fuel cell having the water blister generation prevention structure of claim 1, Woo does not teach wherein through each of the plurality of water discharge passages, water collected at a portion between the distal end of the electrolyte membrane and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive and a portion between the distal end of the cathode and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive is discharged in an inner surface direction of the cathode, or water collected at a portion between the distal end of the electrolyte membrane and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive and a portion between the distal end of the anode and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive is discharged in an inner surface direction of the anode Jin teaches a fuel cell comprising an MEA [0005] and subgasket (120)(130) wherein a plurality of water discharge passages (141)[0040] are formed in alternate areas at the edge of the sub-gasket (120)[fig. 4] wherein through each of the plurality of water discharge passages, water collected at a portion between the distal end of the electrolyte membrane and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive and a portion between the distal end of the cathode and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive is discharged in an inner surface direction of the cathode, or water collected at a portion between the distal end of the electrolyte membrane and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive and a portion between the distal end of the anode and the sub-gasket bonded by the adhesive is discharged in an inner surface direction of the anode (water generated during reaction within MEA is directed along the flow path towards electrodes and being discharged from outlet (142))[fig. 4][0015][0016][0041]. Further, Jin teaches forming water discharges passages as such prevents damage from occurring from water buildup [0013][0016]. Then it would have been obvious to combine the water discharge passage teachings of Jin in to the fuel cell of combined Woo to prevent damage from occurring due to water buildup. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PATRICK M GREENE whose telephone number is (571)270-1340. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Miriam Stagg can be reached at (571)270-5256. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 2 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 3 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 4 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 5 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 6 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 7 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 17/972,097 Page 8 Art Unit: 1724