DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. This Office action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed under 37 CFR §1.53(d) for the instant application on March 20, 2026. Applicants have properly set forth the RCE, which has been entered into the application, and an examination on the merits follows herewith.
Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 13-15 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on February 23, 2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stock et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,075,581).
4-1. Regarding claims 1, 8, and 13, Stock teaches the claim comprising: a chassis, by disclosing a motherboard 109 [column 2, lines 41-46; figure 1].
Stock teaches a plurality of information handling resources enclosed within the chassis and including a first information handling resource and a second information handling resource, by disclosing a central processing unit 110A/110B and memory modules 112A [column 2, lines 47-53].
Stock teaches an air shroud enclosed within the chassis, by disclosing plenum 200 [column 3, lines 28-32] that is mounted over top the computer motherboard [column 3, lines 46-49; column 4, lines 62-64; figure 6].
Stock teaches that the air shroud including a plurality of channels including at least: a first channel configured to direct airflow driven by one or more chassis-level air movers from outside the chassis into the chassis and proximate to the first information handling resource, by disclosing one or more of the cooling fans 240 that cause a flow of cooling air to move into inlet 222 [column 3, lines 35-41; figure 5] and through a passageway formed by the bottom and top portions of the plenum that surrounds CPU 110A [column 6, lines 43-45].
Stock teaches a second channel configured to direct airflow driven by the one or more chassis-level air movers from outside the chassis into the chassis and proximate to the second information handling resource, by disclosing a passageway formed by the bottom and top portions of the plenum that draws air to memory module 112A [column 6, lines 40-43].
Stock teaches a shroud air mover mechanically coupled to the air shroud and fluidically coupled to the second channel via an opening formed in the air shroud and fluidically interfaced between the second channel and the shroud air mover, wherein the shroud air mover comprises a fan and/or a blower, by disclosing one of the cooling fans 240 that cause a flow of cooling air to move into inlet 222 and that affect the position of flap 452 [column 3, lines 35-41; column 9, lines 29-48]. Since Stock discloses that the plurality of cooling fans 240 comprises three or more cooling fans [column 5, lines 35-39], certain ones of cooling fans 240 may be interpreted as the shroud air movers while other ones of the cooling fans 240 may be interpreted as the one or more chassis-level air movers.
Stock teaches the shroud air mover configured to operate in a plurality of modes comprising: a first mode in which the shroud air mover is inactive; and a second mode in which the shroud air mover is active such that airflow through the second channel is greater in the second mode than in the first mode, by disclosing that the operational state of the cooling fans may be in a first or second operational state wherein in a first operational state the flap 452 may be held in a first one of the open and closed positions, and when the fans are in a second operational state, the flap may move to the second of the open and closed positions [column 9, lines 36-42]. Thus, in a first mode, the cooling fans are inactive and in a second mode, the cooling fans are active such that airflow to the memory module 112A is greater.
4-2. Regarding claims 2 and 14, Stock teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 13 respectively, further comprising a management controller configured to: based on a temperature associated with the second information handling resource, determine a selected mode from the plurality of modes; and control operation of the shroud air mover based on the selected mode, by disclosing a controller for the cooling fans that can vary the rotational speed of the fans in response to a temperature signal from a temperature sensor [column 5, lines 40-46].
4-3. Regarding claims 3 and 15, Stock teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein: the first information handling resource comprises a processor; and the second information handling resource comprises a memory, by disclosing a central processing unit 110A/110B and memory modules 112A [column 2, lines 47-53].
4-4. Regarding claims 4 and 9, Stock teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 8 respectively, further comprising a second opening formed in the air shroud and fluidically interfaced between the second channel and a volume of the chassis external to the air shroud, by disclosing an auxiliary opening formed in the plenum to admit cooling air into the plenum at selected locations [column 9, lines 29-35].
4-5. Regarding claims 5 and 10, Stock teaches all the limitations of claims 4 and 9 respectively, further comprising an air flapper mechanically coupled to the air shroud proximate to the second opening and configured to: assume an open position in the first mode such that airflow through the second channel exits the air shroud via the second opening; and assume a closed position in the second mode to prevent recirculation of air expelled from the shroud air mover, by disclosing a pivot joint 454 of a flap 452 that is spring loaded into the closed or opened position [column 9, lines 31-37]. When the fans coupled to the plenum are in first operational state, the flap 452 may be held in a first one of the open and closed positions, and when the fans are in a second operational state, the flap may move to the second of the open and closed positions [column 9, lines 37-42]. The operational states comprise whether the fans are running or not [column 9, lines 42-48].
Response to Arguments
5. The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8, and 13 and the cancellation of claims 6-7, 11-12, and 16-17.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate limitations from canceled dependent claims 6 and 7, which now recite “wherein the shroud air mover comprises a fan and/or a blower.” Applicant alleges that Stock et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,075,581) does not teach this feature.
Regarding this limitation that has been amended into claim 1, the cooling fans 240 that cause a flow of cooling air to move into inlet 222 and that affect the position of flap 452 [column 3, lines 35-41; column 9, lines 29-48] have been interpreted as the shroud air mover. The operational state of the cooling fans may be in a first or second operational state wherein in a first operational state the flap 452 may be held in a first one of the open and closed positions, and when the fans are in a second operational state, the flap may move to the second of the open and closed positions [column 9, lines 36-42]. Thus, in a first mode, the cooling fans are inactive and in a second mode, the cooling fans are active such that airflow to the memory module 112A is greater. The cooling fans 240 that cause a flow of cooling air to move into inlet 222 and through a passageway formed by the bottom and top portions of the plenum that surrounds CPU 110A [column 3, lines 35-41; column 6, lines 40-43] have been interpreted as the one or more chassis-level air movers. Since Stock discloses that the plurality of cooling fans 240 comprises three or more cooling fans [column 5, lines 35-39], certain ones of cooling fans 240 may be interpreted as the shroud air movers while other ones of the cooling fans 240 may be interpreted as the one or more chassis-level air movers. Nothing in the claims prevent such an interpretation. Thus, Stock teaches wherein the shroud air mover comprises a fan and/or a blower.
Independent claims 8 and 13 contain similar limitations as claim 1 and thus, Stock is still considered to teach those claims.
Dependent claims 2-5, 9-10, and 14-15 recite all the limitations of the independent claims. As discussed above, Stock is still considered to teach claims 1, 8, and 13, and consequently, claims 2-5, 9-10, and 14-15 are rejected.
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118