Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 07 April 2025 for application number 17/972,278 . The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims. Claims 1- 16 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1- 12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mistry et al. ( US 2015/0332031 ). Regarding claim 1 , Mistry discloses an EM device for an augmented or virtual reality experience (par. 72; fig. 134) , comprising a main body and an electromagnetic signature (fig. 134; fig. 144, where RFID and NFC correspond to electromagnetic signature and NFC corresponds to electromagnetic (EM)) ; a. with the electromagnetic signature configured to be read by an EM reader and to communicate device parameters to the EM reader (fig. 134) ; b. with the device parameters corresponding to graphical effects configured to be displayed on a display device or audio effects configured to be played on an electroacoustic transducer (pars. 198, 127, where speaker corresponds to electroacoustic transducer) ; c. with device parameters including an orientation of the EM device (pars. 66, 67) ; d. with the properties of the effects dependent on the device parameters (par. 198) . Regarding claim 2 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with the electromagnetic signature connected to or embedded in the main body and comprising a plurality of sides (par. 100) . Regarding claim 3 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with the electromagnetic signature comprising a set of appendages (pars. 120, 121 , 128, where wires or circuits or antenna correspond to appendages ) . Regarding claim 4 , see teachings of claims 1 and 3. Mistry further discloses with the set of appendages arranged throughout at least a portion of the main body (pars. 120, 121, 128) . Regarding claim 5 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with the orientation being a sidedness-based spatial relationship between the electromagnetic signature and another device (fig. 31) . Regarding claim 6 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with device parameters including a proximity between the EM device and another device (pars. 122, 126) . Regarding claim 7 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being graphical effects including sizing (par. 201) . Regarding claim 8 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being graphical effects including perspective (par. 94) . Regarding claim 9 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being graphical effects including occurrence (par. 94) . Regarding claim 10 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being graphical effects including movement (par. 94) . Regarding claim 11 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being graphical effects including revealing or concealing a graphical layer (par. 200) . Regarding claim 12 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being audio effects including volume (par. 221) . Regarding claim 15 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects being audio effects including revealing or concealing an audio layer (par. 221) . Regarding claim 16 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry further discloses with properties of the effects including unlocking features on a separate platform (par. 224) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mistry et al. ( US 2015/0332031 ) in view of Hancock et al. ( US 2017/0078447 ). Regarding claim 13 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry does not explicitly disclose with properties of the effects being audio effects including panning. In the same field of endeavor, Hancock discloses with properties of the effects being audio effects including panning (par. 246). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Mistry to include the teachings of Hancock in order to determines how much of that audio asset is played back into a specific ear of a viewer (Hancock, par. 246). Regarding claim 14 , see teachings of claim 1. Mistry does not explicitly disclose with properties of the effects being audio effects including occurrence. In the same field of endeavor, Hancock discloses with properties of the effects being audio effects including occurrence (par. 46). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with motivation to modify Mistry to include the teachings of Hancock in order to add interactivity in the form of audio (Hancock, par. 246). Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT NGUYEN T TRUONG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5262 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon - Fri, 6AM - 2PM . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JAMIE ATALA can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-7384 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NGUYEN T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486