DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination with IDS filed on 06-11-2026. As directed, claims 1-3, 7-13, and 15-20 are pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS submissions on 06-11-2026 and 06-22-2026 have been considered. New grounds of rejection are set forth relying, in-part, on Noble (US 5,716,332) as cited in the IDS submission.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
A “reciprocation assembly” in claims 3 and 16 which is interpreted relative to paragraph 31 and Figure 3 (see reference numeral 126) of Applicant’s specification to include a comprisal of elements that allow for reciprocating movement, to include a piston 480, an applicator head 128, and connecting portion 460, and functional equivalents thereof.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mabuchi (US 4,513,737) in view of Mabuchi (US 4,088,128), hereinafter referred to as Mabuchi ‘128, Noble (US 5,716,332), and Fan (CN 109009977).
Regarding claim 1, Mabuchi discloses a percussive massage device (“beauty treatment device”) (Col. 2, lines 39-41 and 60-62, see “reciprocating”; Figs. 1-2), the device (“beauty treatment device”) comprising:
an enclosure (comprisal of 1, 2, and 5) having a cylindrical bore (see portions 1 and 5 in Figs. 1-2 forming a bore for the internal components), the cylindrical bore extending along a longitudinal axis (Col. 2, lines 42-45, Col. 4, lines 11-15, and Col 4, lines 58-66; see Figs. 1-2);
a piston (4) located within the cylindrical bore (Col. 2, lines 58-63; Col. 4, lines 58-66; Figs. 1-2), the piston (4) having a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1, where the first end is the end of 4 near rod shaft 18, and the second end is the end of 4/4A proximate head 6), the piston (4) constrained to move only along the longitudinal axis of the cylindrical bore (Col. 2, lines 50-52; Figs. 1-2) (Col. 6, line 52-Col. 7, line 7, where 4A of actuator 4 includes an opening 33 and a slot 32A, interpreted as a notch, for connection of pin 32 therein, where 32 traverses an opening in tube 10, which is shown in Fig. 11 as a portion of head 6, such that the head 6 and the actuator can be aligned for use; see Figs. 10-12);
a motor (20) positioned within the enclosure (comprisal of 1, 2, and 5), the motor (20) having a shaft (21) rotatable about a central axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the cylindrical bore (1+5) (Col. 2, lines 42-47; Fig. 1, see annotated version below);
a crank (17) coupled to the shaft (21) (Col. 2, lines 45-50; Figs. 1-2), the crank (17) comprising a pivot (19) offset from the central axis of the shaft (21) (Col. 2, lines 45-50; Figs. 1-2, where the central axis of the shaft is seen in annotated Fig. 1 below, and in Fig. 1, 19 is offset to the left of that axis; Col. 4, lines 58-66);
a reciprocation linkage (3) having a first end and a second end (see Fig. 2, where the first end is the end proximate 19 and 21 on the right side of the figure, and the second end is the portion proximate 4/18 on the left; Col. 2, lines 45-52), the first end of the reciprocation linkage (3) coupled to the shaft (21) (see Fig. 2, where the first end is the end proximate 19 and 21 on the right side of the figure, and the second end is the portion proximate 4/18 on the left; Col. 2, lines 45-52, where 3 is regarded as coupled to shaft 21 by virtue of its connection with disc 17 which directly connects to 21; see Fig. 1), the second end of the reciprocation linkage (3) coupled to the first end of the piston (4) (see Fig. 2, where the first end of 4 connects to the second end of 3; Col. 2, lines 50-52); and
an applicator head (6) having a first end and a second end, the first end of the applicator head (6) coupled to the second end of the piston (4), the second end of the applicator head (6) exposed outside the cylindrical bore (Col. 2, lines 53-62; see Fig. 1 where patter assembly 6 connects to actuator 4 via mechanism 12, and the first end of the head 6 is regarded as the portion of 6 closest to 4, and the second end is proximate cushion member 8; see Fig. 1 for the extension of 8 outside the bore).
Mabuchi fails to disclose the device is battery-powered, a counterweight offset from the central axis of the shaft and positioned opposite the pivot, and a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly.
However, Mabuchi ‘128 teaches a percussive massage device (“beauty treatment device”) (see title and Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 14-18 for reciprocation), wherein the motor (15) of the device is powered by a battery (Col. 3, lines 29-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the device of Mabuchi could reasonably be modified to power the motor using a battery, as taught by Mabuchi ‘128, such that the device could be used in a portable manner, given that the batteries are supplied onboard the device.
Modified Mabuchi fails to disclose a counterweight offset from the central axis of the shaft and positioned opposite the pivot and a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly.
However, Noble teaches a body massager with reciprocal motion, wherein a counterweight (68) is provided offset from a central axis (B) of a shaft (58) in order to reduce undesirable vibrations when the motor is running (Col. 3, lines 5-10; Col. 4, lines 19-24, and 40-49; Fig. 3).
Given that the counterweight of Noble’s device is positioned at a side adjacent to the motor (54) (see Fig, 3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Mabuchi to include a counterweight offset from the central axis of the shaft and positioned opposite the pivot (i.e. by positioning the counterweight of Noble on the underside of 17 closer to motor 20, thus positioning the counterweight on an opposite side of 17 as compared to pivot 19), as taught by Noble, in order to reduce undesirable vibrations when the motor is running.
Further modified Mabuchi fails to disclose a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly.
However, Fan teaches a percussive massage device (device for “deep muscle stimulation”) (abstract, lines 1-2; Fig. 1) which includes a motor mounting bracket (2101+2102) comprising a central opening (see opening in Fig. 1 through which the output shaft of motor 21 extends), the shaft (“output shaft”) extending through the central opening (see opening in Fig. 1 through which the output shaft of motor 21 extends), wherein the motor mounting bracket (2101+2102) is positioned within the enclosure (comprisal of shell 1 and handle 4) between the motor (21) and the second end of the reciprocation assembly (23) in order to fix the motor in place (page 4: “the driving motor is provided with a motor fixing flange 2101, 21 end the motor fixing flange 2101 is barrel-shaped, the bottom is provided with a motor fixing part 2102, is provided with a bearing fixing part 2103; the motor fixing part 2102 connected with the driving motor 21 by a bolt, output shaft of the drive motor21 into motor fixing flange 2101”; see Fig. 1, where the identified motor mounting bracket is positioned in the handle part of the enclosure between the motor 21 and the drive arm 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Mabuchi to further include a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly, as taught by Fan, in order to fix the motor in place within the enclosure and in operative connection with the reciprocation assembly.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mabuchi (US 4,513,737) in view of Mabuchi (US 4,088,128), hereinafter referred to as Mabuchi ‘128, Noble (US 5,716,332), and Fan (CN 109009977), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wersland (US 2019/0209424).
Regarding claim 2, Mabuchi in view of Mabuchi ‘128, Noble, and Fan the device of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Mabuchi fails to disclose wherein the device includes an actuator, wherein the actuator is manually operated.
However, Wersland teaches a percussive massage device (100) further comprising an actuator (104), wherein the actuator (104) is manually operated for powering the device on and off as desired (paragraph 46, lines 1-16 and paragraph 47, lines 1-5, see “user releasing” for manual activation of switch 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Mabuchi to further include an actuator, wherein the actuator is manually operated, as taught by Wersland, in order to power the device on and off as desired.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mabuchi (US 4,513,737) in view of Noble (US 5,716,332) and Fan (CN 109009977).
Regarding claim 3, Mabuchi discloses a method of operating a percussive massage device (“beauty treatment device”) (Col. 2, lines 42-62; Figs. 1-2) comprising:
rotating a shaft (21) of an electric motor (20) to rotate a crank (17) about a central axis of the shaft (21) (Col. 2, lines 42-50; Figs. 1-2, where the central axis of the shaft is seen in annotated Fig. 1 below; Col. 4, lines 61-66), the crank (17) comprising a pivot (19) offset from the central axis of the shaft (21) (Col. 2, lines 45-50; Figs. 1-2, where the central axis of the shaft is seen in annotated Fig. 1 below, and in Fig. 1, 19 is offset to the left of that axis; Col. 4, lines 58-66);
coupling the electric motor (20) to a first end of an interconnection linkage (3) of a reciprocation assembly (comprisal of 3, 4, and 6) (see Fig. 2, where the first end is the end proximate 19 and 21 on the right side of the figure, and the second end is the portion proximate 4/18 on the left; Col. 2, lines 45-52, where 3 is regarded as coupled to shaft 21 by virtue of its connection with disc 17 which directly connects to 21 of motor 20; see Fig. 1);
coupling a second end of the interconnection linkage (3) to a first end of a piston (4) constrained to move along a longitudinal centerline, the central axis being perpendicular to the longitudinal centerline (see Fig. 1, where the first end is the end of 4 near rod shaft 18, and the second end is the end of 4/4A proximate head 6, and see Fig. 2, where the first end of 4 connects to the second end of 3; Col. 2, lines 50-52, and the longitudinal centerline in Fig. 1 extends right/left along enclosure parts 1 and 5, and the central axis of the shaft is oriented up/down perpendicularly to the longitudinal centerline);
coupling a second end of the piston (4) to the applicator head (6) wherein rotational movement of the shaft (21) of the electric motor (20) causes reciprocating longitudinal movement of the piston (4) and the applicator head (6) (see Fig. 1, where the first end is the end of 4 near rod shaft 18, and the second end is the end of 4/4A proximate head 6, and where patter assembly 6 connects to actuator 4 via mechanism 12; Col. 2, line 53-Col. 3, line 2; Col. 3, lines 31-38).
Mabuchi fails to disclose a counterweight offset from the central axis of the shaft and positioned opposite the pivot and positioning a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly.
However, Noble teaches a body massager with reciprocal motion, wherein a counterweight (68) is provided offset from a central axis (B) of a shaft (58) in order to reduce undesirable vibrations when the motor is running (Col. 3, lines 5-10; Col. 4, lines 19-24, and 40-49; Fig. 3).
Given that the counterweight of Noble’s device is positioned at a side adjacent to the motor (54) (see Fig, 3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Mabuchi to include a counterweight offset from the central axis of the shaft and positioned opposite the pivot (i.e. by positioning the counterweight of Noble on the underside of 17 closer to motor 20, thus positioning the counterweight on an opposite side of 17 as compared to pivot 19), as taught by Noble, in order to reduce undesirable vibrations when the motor is running.
Modified Mabuchi fails to disclose positioning a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly.
However, Fan teaches a percussive massage device (device for “deep muscle stimulation”) (abstract, lines 1-2; Fig. 1) which include positoning a motor mounting bracket (2101+2102) comprising a central opening (see opening in Fig. 1 through which the output shaft of motor 21 extends), the shaft (“output shaft”) extending through the central opening (see opening in Fig. 1 through which the output shaft of motor 21 extends), wherein the motor mounting bracket (2101+2102) is positioned within the enclosure (comprisal of shell 1 and handle 4) between the motor (21) and the second end of the reciprocation assembly (23) in order to fix the motor in place (page 4: “the driving motor is provided with a motor fixing flange 2101, 21 end the motor fixing flange 2101 is barrel-shaped, the bottom is provided with a motor fixing part 2102, is provided with a bearing fixing part 2103; the motor fixing part 2102 connected with the driving motor 21 by a bolt, output shaft of the drive motor21 into motor fixing flange 2101”; see Fig. 1, where the identified motor mounting bracket is positioned in the handle part of the enclosure between the motor 21 and the drive arm 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Mabuchi to further include positioning a motor mounting bracket comprising a central opening, the shaft extending through the central opening, wherein the motor mounting bracket is positioned within the enclosure between the motor and the second end of the reciprocation assembly, as taught by Fan, in order to fix the motor in place within the enclosure and in operative connection with the reciprocation assembly.
Regarding claim 17, Mabuchi in view of Noble and Fan disclose the method of claim 3, as discussed above.
Mabuchi further discloses wherein rotating the pivot (19) of the crank (17) causes movement of the piston (4) (Col. 2, lines 45-62; Figs. 1-2, where the central axis of the shaft is seen in annotated Fig. 1 above, and in Fig. 1, 19 is offset to the left of that axis; Col. 4, lines 61-66; Col. 5, lines 23-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7-13 and 15-20 in regards to the art that has been cited and identified, the particular combination of the shaft, bore, crank, pivot, and pinion gear are not present alongside the claimed reciprocation/interconnection linkage of claims 1 and 3. In addition, the combination of a pinion directly coupled to the claimed reciprocation/interconnection linkage alongside the combination of the motor, shaft, and piston has not been identified. Therefore, these claims are understood to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785