DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1- 25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 16, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Steward et al (US20150289405) hereinafter Steward.
As to claim 1, Steward discloses a circuit board with server architecture, the circuit board including a plurality of input and output ports (I/O ports) and one or more processing circuitries coupled to the I/O ports, (Fig. 12 comprising of a plurality of boards coupled by cables, para. 0155, and I/O ports Fig. 13, para. 0156) the one or more processors to:
Steward also teaches access cable information pertaining to a cable coupled to one of the I/O ports (Fig. 1 illustrates the interconnect topology between the frame control center and each frame unit, para. 0012. Fig. 3, and para. 0102 teaches the exchange of cable information); and configure, based on the cable information, logic at a memory circuitry of the server architecture (Fig. 6, and para. 0103 where the operational signal is used to configure local frame unit).
As to claims 2, 17, and 23, Steward discloses the circuit board, wherein the cable information includes at least one of a cable part number, a cable version number, a cable serial number, a cable identification (ID), a cable type, a cable maximum bandwidth, a cable maximum frequency, a cable maximum speed of transmission, cable loss, one or more cable supported interconnect protocols, cable length, cable width, cable diameter, cable fiber bend radius, or an identification of one or more port protocols configurable to the cable (Fig. 1, and para. 013).
As to claim 7, Steward discloses the circuit board, wherein the memory circuitry is part of the circuit board (Fig. 1, and para. 0010, where the frame unit is a circuit board).
As to claim 8, Steward discloses the circuit board, wherein the circuit board is a first circuit board, and wherein the memory circuitry is part of a second circuit board of the server architecture (Fig. 1, with memory 136 in sub frame 176, para. 0124).
As to claim 16, Steward discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon, that when executed by one or more processing circuitries of a circuit board of a server architecture (Fig. 12 comprising of a plurality of boards coupled by cables, para. 0155, and I/O ports Fig. 13, para. 0156), cause the one or more processors to perform operations including: accessing cable information pertaining to a cable of the server architecture (Fig. 1 illustrates the interconnect topology between the frame control center and each frame unit, para. 0012. Fig. 3, and para. 0102 teaches the exchange of cable information); and configuring, based on cable information, logic at a memory circuitry of the server architecture (Fig. 6, and para. 0103 where the operational signal is used to configure local frame unit).
As to claim 22, Steward discloses a method to be performed at one or more processors of a circuit board of a server architecture, cause the one or more processors to perform instructions including: accessing cable information pertaining to a cable of the server architecture (Fig. 12 comprising of a plurality of boards coupled by cables, para. 0155, and I/O ports Fig. 13, para. 0156). Steward also teaches access cable information pertaining to a cable coupled to one of the I/O ports (Fig. 1 illustrates the interconnect topology between the frame control center and each frame unit, para. 0012. Fig. 3, and para. 0102 teaches the exchange of cable information; and configuring, based on the cable information, logic at a memory circuitry of the server architecture (Fig. 6, and para. 0103 where the operational signal is used to configure local frame unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, 14, 15, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steward et al (US20150289405) hereinafter Steward in view of Smith et al (US20160062939) hereinafter Smith.
As to claim 9, Steward discloses a server architecture including a motherboard, a circuit board, and a cable structure communicatively coupling the motherboard to the circuit board, (Fig. 12 comprising of a plurality of boards coupled by cables, para. 0155) wherein: the motherboard includes: a plurality of first input and output ports (I/O ports) and one or more processing circuitries coupled to the first I/O ports, the one or more processors to: access cable information pertaining to a cable of the cable structure (Fig. 13, para. 0156); and configure, based on the cable information, logic at a first memory circuitry (Fig. 1, and FRU 172, with memory 158, and para 0070);
and Steward discloses the circuit board includes second I/O ports, the cable structure coupling the motherboard to the circuit board by way of the first I/O ports and the second I/O ports (Fig. 1, and I/O ports on frame subcircuits such as 176, comprising memory such as 136, para. 0124).
Smith teaches the cable structure includes a second memory circuitry storing the cable information (Fig. 3, and para. 0034). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use the cable capability of Smith in the system of Steward to couple the system’s sub systems to gain the programming flexibility of this cable, (para. 0009).
As to claim 10, Steward discloses the server architecture, wherein the first memory circuitry is part of the circuit board (Fig. 1, and memory 158 in sub frame 172, para. 0124).
As to claim 11, Steward discloses the server architecture, wherein the circuit board includes another motherboard, a fabric extender, or a backplane of the server architecture (Fig. 25, and para. 0051).
As to claims 14, and 15, Steward discloses the server architecture, wherein the logic at the first memory circuitry corresponds to an I/O port (Fig. 1, and I/O ports on frame subcircuits such as 176, comprising memory such as 136, para. 0124).
As to claim 25, Smith discloses the method, wherein the memory circuitry is a first memory circuitry, and wherein accessing cable information includes accessing the cable information from a second memory circuitry storing the cable information (Fig. 3, and para. 0034). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use the cable capability of Smith in the system of Steward to couple the system’s sub systems to gain the programming flexibility of this cable, (para. 0009).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steward/Smith in view of Itkin (US20180239730).
As to claim 12, Steward/Smith does not explicitly disclose the server architecture, wherein the motherboard includes a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC), and wherein the one or more processors are processing circuitries of the BMC.
Itkin teaches the server architecture, wherein the motherboard includes a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC), and wherein the one or more processors are processing circuitries of the BMC. (Fig. 1, and para. 0033, where BMC serves said purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to use the controller of Itkin in the system of Steward/Smith to add this remote management capability with little overhead, (para. 0010)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 6, 13, 18 – 21, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/C.A.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184