DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 09/11/2025, are acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 10-11 and 13-15 are pending; claims 5-9, 12 and 16-18 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Upon further consideration, Examiner has determined that the amendments to the claims filed on 05/29/2025 introduced new matter by claiming formulas that were not disclosed in the originally filed specification:
Claim 1 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
. However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 2 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
. However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 3 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
. However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 4 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 10 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 11 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
. However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 13 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 14 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claim 15 was previously amended to disclose the formula:
However, this exact formula is not disclosed in the specification as originally filed. As such this is considered new matter.
Claims 1-4, 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses a droplet jet device comprising: a jet nozzle, a pressurizing liquid supplier, a controller (to control the pressurizing liquid supplier) “wherein
in which N is a number of the nozzle holes, r [m] is a diameter of the nozzle hole, and L [m] is a contour length of a cross-sectional surface of the flow channel, and the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 1 mm.” It is unclear what how the claimed formula relates to the claimed invention. That is, the claim is silent as to how the formula is used or what its purpose is. The claim merely states “wherein
” but does not disclose what the formular is for. Is the formula stating the required parameters for the geometry of the nozzle hole and flow channel in order to the sprayer to work as intended? If so, the claim should read as: “wherein the droplet jet device has a configuration/geometry that is within
…” Examiner asserts that the claim needs to have specificity other than just citing a formula with no explanation as to what it is for.
Claims 2-4 also disclose formulas without explanation of their relevance of what they are for. For the same reason as claim 1, these claims are also indefinite.
Claim 10 discloses a droplet jet device comprising: a jet nozzle, a pressurizing liquid supplier, a controller (to control the pressurizing liquid supplier) “wherein
in which N is a number of the nozzle holes, r [m] is a diameter of the nozzle hole, and L [m] is a contour length of a cross-sectional surface of the flow channel, and the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 1 mm.” It is unclear what how the claimed formula relates to the claimed invention. That is, the claim is silent as to how the formula is used or what its purpose is. The claim merely states “wherein
” but does not disclose what the formular is for. Is the formula stating the required parameters for the geometry of the nozzle hole and flow channel in order to the sprayer to work as intended? If so, the claim should read as: “wherein the droplet jet device has a configuration/geometry that is within
…” Examiner asserts that the claim needs to have specificity other than just citing a formula with no explanation as to what it is for.
Claims 11 and 13 also disclose formulas without explanation of their relevance of what they are for. For the same reason as claim 10, these claims are also indefinite.
Claim 14 discloses a droplet jet device comprising: a jet nozzle, a pressurizing liquid supplier, a controller (to control the pressurizing liquid supplier) “wherein
in which, N is a number of the nozzle holes, r is a diameter of the nozzle hole, a is a length of a first side of the cross-sectional shape of the flow channel, and b is a length of a second side of the cross-sectional shape of the flow channel which intersects with the first side and the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 1 mm.” It is unclear what how the claimed formula relates to the claimed invention. That is, the claim is silent as to how the formula is used or what its purpose is. The claim merely states “wherein
” but does not disclose what the formular is for. Is the formula stating the required parameters for the geometry of the nozzle hole and flow channel in order to the sprayer to work as intended? If so, the claim should read as: “wherein the droplet jet device has a configuration/geometry that is within
…” Examiner asserts that the claim needs to have specificity other than just citing a formula with no explanation as to what it is for.
Claims 15 also discloses a formula without explanation of their relevance of what they are for. For the same reason as claim 14, this claim is also indefinite.
Claims 14 and 15 are also indefinite because they disclose a diameter or the nozzle hole “r”, a length of a first side of the cross-sectional shape “a”, and a length of the second side of the cross-sectional shape “b”, but they do not disclose what unit of measurement these are in, which is critical in order for the formulas of these claims to make sense. It is not known if the diameter or the lengths are measured in inches, cm, mm, km, miles, etc. This renders these claims highly indefinite. For examination purposes, these dimensions will be considered in meters (m), as disclosed in other claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, 11 and 13 are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seto et al (U.S. 2010/0111708).
Regarding claim 1, Seto teaches a droplet jet device (1) configured to form a liquid into droplets to jet the droplets (as disclosed in Par 0021), the droplet jet device comprising:
a jet nozzle (95) having at least one nozzle hole (97) and spraying the liquid from the nozzle hole in a continuous flow state (Par 0103 discloses continuous ejection of the liquid);
a pressurizing liquid supplier (defined by 30 which supplies the liquid to the nozzle at high pressure – Par 0063) having a flow channel (88) through which the liquid in a laminar flow state (Seto teaches a device with all the claimed structure, furthermore Par 0078 discloses the flow channel having a minute diameter of 0.3 mm, as such the flow is the same as claimed, i.e. laminar) circulates (Examiner is interpreting “circulates” in view of Applicant’s specification, which implies the fluid flowing through, it does not imply recirculation or looping of any sort; as seen in the figures of Seto, the fluid flows through the flow channel 88) and pressurizing the liquid in the flow channel to feed the liquid to the jet nozzle (as disclosed in Par 0063); and
a controller (100) configured to control an operation of the pressurizing liquid supplier to make the liquid sprayed from the nozzle hole in a state of being fragmented into droplets from the continuous flow (as disclosed in Par 0086 and Fig 3, the controller controls the pressurizing liquid supplier; Par 0021 discloses the droplets ejected as pulse-like droplets, i.e. fragmented), wherein
in which N is a number of the nozzle holes (Seto teaches a single nozzle hole: N=1), r [m] is a diameter of the nozzle hole (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being from 0.1-0.2 mm; taking the diameter as 0.1 mm: r=0.0001 m), and L [m] is a contour length of a cross-sectional surface of the flow channel (Par 0078 discloses the flow channel has a diameter of 0.3 mm; therefore its contour length, i.e. circumference is 0.942 mm, which in meters is L=0.000942 m), (plugging in N=1, r=0.0001 and L=0.000942 into the formula above: 0.188 < 8.87x105≤3.19x107, which satisfies the range of the formula) and
the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 1 mm (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being 0.1 mm).
Regarding claim 2, Seto teaches the droplet jet device according to Claim 1, wherein the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 100 µm and no larger than 1 mm (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being 0.1 mm), and
(plugging in N=1 and L=0.000942 into the formula above: 1.53x10-7<0.000942<0.179, which satisfies the formula).
Regarding claim 3, Seto teaches the droplet jet device according to Claim 1, wherein the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 100 µm (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being 0.1 mm, which is 100 µm), and
(plugging in N=1 and L=0.000942 into the formula above: 4.34x10-7<0.000942<0.00565, which satisfies the formula).
Regarding claim 4, Seto teaches the droplet jet device according to claim 1, wherein
(plugging in N=1, r=0.0001 and L=0.000942 into the formula above: 3090<8.87x105≤3.19x107, which satisfies the range of the formula)
Regarding claim 10, Seto teaches a droplet jet device (1) configured to form a liquid into droplets to jet the droplets (as disclosed in Par 0021), the droplet jet device comprising:
a jet nozzle (95) having at least one nozzle hole (97) and spraying the liquid from the nozzle hole in a continuous flow state (Par 0103 discloses continuous ejection of the liquid);
a pressurizing liquid supplier (defined by 30 which supplies the liquid to the nozzle at high pressure – Par 0063) having a flow channel (88) through which the liquid circulates (Examiner is interpreting “circulates” in view of Applicant’s specification, which implies the fluid flowing through, it does not imply recirculation or looping of any sort; as seen in the figures of Seto, the fluid flows through the flow channel 88) and pressurizing the liquid in the flow channel to feed the liquid to the jet nozzle (as disclosed in Par 0063); and
a controller (100) configured to control an operation of the pressurizing liquid supplier to make the liquid sprayed from the nozzle hole in a state of being fragmented into droplets from the continuous flow (as disclosed in Par 0086 and Fig 3, the controller controls the pressurizing liquid supplier; Par 0021 discloses the droplets ejected as pulse-like droplets, i.e. fragmented),
wherein the flow channel has a circular cross-sectional shape (the flow channel has a diameter, as disclosed in Par 078, as such it has a circular cross-section).
in which N is a number of the nozzle holes (Seto teaches a single nozzle hole: N=1), r [m] is a diameter of the nozzle hole (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being from 0.1-0.2 mm; taking the diameter as 0.1 mm: r=0.0001 m), and R [m] is a diameter of the flow channel (Par 0078 discloses the flow channel has a diameter of 0.3 mm; as such R=0.0003m) (plugging in N=1, r=0.0001 and R=0.0003 into the formula above: 0.0190<9x104<8.10x105, which satisfies the range of the formula) and
the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 1 mm (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being 0.1 mm).
Regarding claim 11, Seto teaches the droplet jet device according to claim 10, wherein
(plugging in N=1, r=0.0001 and R=0.0003 into the formula above: 3.13x102<9x104<8.10x105, which satisfies the range of the formula)
Regarding claim 13, Seto teaches the droplet jet device according to Claim 10, wherein when the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 100 µm (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being 0.1 mm, which is 100 µm),
(plugging in N=1, r=0.0001 and R=0.0003 into the formula above: 3.09x103≤9x104<8.10x105, which satisfies the range of the formula)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seto et al (U.S. 2010/0111708) in view of Seto et al (U.S. 2012/0181352); hereafter referred to as “Seto 352”.
Regarding claim 14, Seto teaches a droplet jet device (1) configured to form a liquid into droplets to jet the droplets (as disclosed in Par 0021), the droplet jet device comprising:
a jet nozzle (95) having at least one nozzle hole (97) and spraying the liquid from the nozzle hole in a continuous flow state (Par 0103 discloses continuous ejection of the liquid);
a pressurizing liquid supplier (defined by 30 which supplies the liquid to the nozzle at high pressure – Par 0063) having a flow channel (88) through which the liquid circulates (Examiner is interpreting “circulates” in view of Applicant’s specification, which implies the fluid flowing through, it does not imply recirculation or looping of any sort; as seen in the figures of Seto, the fluid flows through the flow channel 88) and pressurizing the liquid in the flow channel to feed the liquid to the jet nozzle (as disclosed in Par 0063); and
a controller (100) configured to control an operation of the pressurizing liquid supplier to make the liquid sprayed from the nozzle hole in a state of being fragmented into droplets from the continuous flow (as disclosed in Par 0086 and Fig 3, the controller controls the pressurizing liquid supplier; Par 0021 discloses the droplets ejected as pulse-like droplets, i.e. fragmented); and the diameter of the nozzle hole is no smaller than 1 µm and no larger than 1 mm (Par 0078 discloses the nozzle hole diameter being 0.1 mm).
However, Seto does not teach the flow channel having a rectangular cross-sectional shape.
Seto 352 teaches a droplet jet device (10) wherein a flow channel (120) has a square shape (as disclosed in Par 0088), wherein a square is a type of rectangle.
It would have been an obvious matter to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any suitable shape for the flow channel, including a rectangular shape as taught by Seto 352, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, selecting any shape for the flow channel involves routine skill in the art. As it was determined in In re Dailey: the court found that shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B). In the present case, Doak discloses all the general structure of the claim, including recognizing that cross-sections can be squared, i.e. rectangular, as disclosed in Par 0052; therefore, it would be obvious to select any cross-section for the device to function as desired. Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for having the flow channel with a rectangular cross-section.
In combination, Seto teaches the device in which, N is a number of the nozzle holes (single nozzle hole: N=1), r is a diameter of the nozzle hole (Par 0078 of Seto discloses the nozzle hole diameter being from 0.1-0.2 mm; taking the diameter as 0.1 mm: r=0.0001 m), (Par 0078 of Seto discloses the flow channel has a diameter of 0.3 mm; which is a circumference of 0.942 mm; as modified by Seto 352 a square perimeter of 0.942 mm equals to each side being 0.2355 mm, which is 0.0002355) a is a length of a first side of the cross-sectional shape of the flow channel (a=0.0002355 m), and b is a length of a second side of the cross-sectional shape of the flow channel which intersects with the first side (b=0.002355 m).
(plugging the values of N=1, r=0.0001, a=0.0002355, and b=0.002355 into the formula above: 4.69x10-2<2.22x105<1.62x106, which satisfies the formula).
Regarding claim 15, Seto and Seto 352 teach the droplet jet device according to Claim 14, wherein
(plugging the values of N=1, r=0.0001, a=0.0002355, and b=0.002355 into the formula above7.73x102<2.22x105<1.62x106, which satisfies the formula).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 10-11 and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendments filed on 09/11/2025 have resulted in the new grounds of rejection found above.
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752