DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claims filed 27 April 2026 for application 17972854 filed 25 October 2022. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10-12, 14-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (Learning Manipulation Graphs from Demonstrations Using Multimodal Sensory Signals) in view of Kranski et al. (WO 2022212916 A1) further in view of Du et al. (3D Contact Point Cloud Reconstruction From Vision-Based Tactile Flow) and Chen et al. (NON-RECURSIVE GRAPH CONVOLUTIONAL NETWORKS).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 17, Su discloses: A system for proprioceptive learning, comprising:
a memory storing one or more instructions; a processor executing one or more of the instructions stored on the memory to (Fig 1 Robot comprises a computer having processor and memory) perform:
receiving a set of sensor reading data from a set of sensors (“The graph generation process is initialized from demonstrations, as shown in Fig. 2A. Our experimental setup consists of a 7-DOF Barrett WAM arm and a Barrett hand, which is equipped with two biomimetic tactile sensors (BioTacs) [27]. We demonstrate manipulation tasks through two types of demonstrations: kinesthetic demonstrations and teleoperated demonstrations. In the kinesthetic demonstrations, the human expert demonstrates tasks by directly moving the robot arm. In the teleoperated demonstration, the human operates the bi-manual robot by manually moving the robot’s master arm where the slave arm mimics the movements of the master arm to manipulate the objects. More details can be found in Figs. 3–5.” P3 §III.A ¶1 Su);
receiving a set of sensor position data associated with the set of sensors (“Multimodal haptic signals, including proprioceptive signals and both low and high frequency tactile signals, are captured throughout human demonstration. The proprioceptive signals are the 6D Cartesian position and orientation of the robot’s end-effector ypos ∈ R 6 derived from the robot’s forward kinematics. We also recorded the 6D Cartesian pose of the object in the robot’s surroundings with a Vicon motion capture system yobj ∈ R6” P3 §III.A ¶2);
constructing a first graph representation based on the set of sensor reading data (Fig 2 Segments Clustering and Skill Graph);
constructing a second graph representation based on the set of sensor position data (Fig 3 Manipulation Graph);
performing … message passing operation between nodes of the first graph representation and the second graph representation to update the first graph representation and the second graph representation (p3 §III.A last ¶, message passing is used); and
executing a task based on readouts from the updated first graph representation and the updated second graph representation (“After generating the manipulation graph, the robot can perform the task through graph traversal by executing a sequence of skills in the graph. It can also confirm successful or failed skill executions by clustering the tactile sensory signals at the end the skill execution against the corresponding discovered success and failure modes.” P4 §III.E ¶2).
However, Su does not explicitly disclose: indicative of points from an object point cloud of an object in contact with at least some of the set of sensors, wherein the object point cloud is obtained from vision-based tactile readings from the set of sensors;
indicative of a geometric arrangement associated with the set of sensors;
non-recursive message passing operation;
indicative of points from the object point cloud;
indicative of the geometric arrangement associated with the set of sensors.
Kranski teaches:
indicative of points from an object point cloud of an object in contact with at least some of the set of sensors (“A learning model may be configured to update setpoints for robot actuators based on those vectors (e.g., based on their latent space embedding). Some embodiments may control robots with an even more expansive ensemble of such models, e.g., pipelining a convolutional neural network (or vision transformer) that extracts features from 2D image data, a geometric deep learning model that extracts features from 3D point clouds from depth sensors, and an encoder model that maps both sets of those features for a given time slice into respective vectors in latent embedding spaces, and a reinforcement learning model that controls the robot (e.g., outputs a time series of target setpoints of a plurality of actuators) based on a time-series of those vectors, each vector representing a time-slice or robot and environment state.” [0017], see also [0032] and [0126]);
indicative of a geometric arrangement associated with the set of sensors [0017], [0032], [0126];
indicative of points from the object point cloud [0017], [0032], [0126];
indicative of the geometric arrangement associated with the set of sensors [0017], [0032], [0126].
Su and Kranski are in the same field of endeavor of sensors for robots and are analogous. Su discloses two graphs for processing sensory and position information for controlling a robot. Kranski teaches the use of point clouds for sensors and geometric arrangements (features) based on the point cloud for robot control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known graphs for robot control disclosed by Su with the known point cloud and geometric arrangements for robot control as taught by Kranski to yield predictable results.
Du teaches: wherein the object point cloud is obtained from vision-based tactile readings from the set of sensors (“With the technological improvements in digital imaging and computer vision, vision based tactile sensors using a camera to see through a transparent gel have become more popular. They provide superior sensing resolution and robustness to environmental changes.” P12177 §I ¶1, Fig 1).
Su, Kranski and Du are in the same field of endeavor of sensors for robots and are analogous. Su discloses two graphs for processing sensory and position information for controlling a robot. Kranski teaches the use of point clouds for sensors and geometric arrangements (features) based on the point cloud for robot control. Du teaches visual-based tactile readings for point cloud construction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known point clouds for robot control disclosed by Su and Kranski with the known point tactile vision based point clouds as taught by Du to yield predictable results of a better resolution and robustness.
Chen teaches: non-recursive message passing operation (Fig 1, note: Chen teaches that a recursive message passing graph network can be converted to a non-recursive one to yield the same result).
Su, Kranski, Du and Chen are in the same field of endeavor of learning models and are analogous. Su discloses two graphs for processing sensory and position information for controlling a robot. Kranski teaches the use of point clouds for sensors and geometric arrangements (features) based on the point cloud for robot control. Du teaches visual-based tactile readings for point cloud construction. Chen teaches that a recursive message passing graph neural network can instead be implemented non-recursively. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known graph networks for robot control as taught by Su, Kranski and Du with the known non-recursive graph networks taught by Chen to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Su discloses: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the set of sensors includes a force sensor, a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a tactile sensor, or an image capture sensor (p3 §III.A ¶1 tactile sensor).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Su discloses: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the second graph representation is a body graph indicative of a geometric arrangement associated with the set of sensors at a time step (“Given a skill graph and the modes for the manipulation task discovered from both successful and failed skill executions, a unified manipulation graph can be created for the robot, as shown in Fig. 2F. The large rectangles in a manipulation graph correspond to the unique modes discovered by skill replays and exploration. The directed edges indicate the transition probabilities between the vertices in the graph. Some skills result in the robot remaining in the same mode while others result in switching into different modes, as indicated by the connections within the same mode or between different modes.
After generating the manipulation graph, the robot can perform the task through graph traversal by executing a sequence of skills in the graph. It can also confirm successful or failed skill executions by clustering the tactile sensory signals at the end the skill execution against the corresponding discovered success and failure modes.” P4 §III.E, Fig 9 each node in the skill graph represents position relative to the task at a time step).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Su discloses: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the task is a pose estimation task or a stability prediction task (“Once we have a skill graph and discovered the corresponding modes for the grasping task, a manipulation graph can be formed by combining them. As shown in Fig. 9, starting state (s0) is in mode 1, and a sequence of actions a1 reaching to the object and a2 forming a pinch graph on the object result in states s1 and s2 respectively, which are clustered into the same mode as s0. Then action a3, closing both fingers on the object, causes a mode switch as state s31 is in mode 2. Executing action a4 lifts the object off of the table and action a5 places the object back onto the table but does not cause any detected mode switches because both states s41 and sf are still in mode 2, where sf is the final state. Executing action a3 could also result in failure mode 1 which is represented as failure state s32 in red in Fig. 9. After discovering this failure mode, continuing to execute the next action a4 either stays in the same failure mode or results in an additional failure mode 2, which is clustered together with mode 1. This corresponds to the object slipping out of robot’s fingers when it attempts to lift the object off the table” p7 §IV.D ¶1, the actions and positions are interpreted as a pose estimation task).
Regarding claim 7, Su discloses: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, comprising the set of sensors that receive the set of sensor reading data (“Multimodal haptic signals, including proprioceptive signals and both low and high frequency tactile signals, are captured throughout human demonstration. The proprioceptive signals are the 6D Cartesian position and orientation of the robot’s end-effector ypos ∈ R 6 derived from the robot’s forward kinematics. We also recorded the 6D Cartesian pose of the object in the robot’s surroundings with a Vicon motion capture system yobj ∈ R6” P3 §III.A ¶2).
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, comprising one or more actuators executing the task based on the readouts (fig 5 and 8, robot has end effector/actuator).
Regarding claim 10, Su discloses: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the processor performs multiple rounds of message passing operation between nodes of the first graph representation and the second graph representation to update the first graph representation and the second graph representation (p3 §III.A last ¶, message passing is used for each time step).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9, 12, 13, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Kranski and Chen and further in view of Dong et al. (Graph Neural Networks in IoT: A Survey).
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 19, Su does not explicitly disclose: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the processor performs feature extraction to generate point cloud positions and feature embeddings based on the set of sensor reading data and wherein the processor constructs the first graph representation based on the point cloud positions and the feature embeddings.
Dong teaches: wherein the processor performs feature extraction to generate point cloud positions and feature embeddings based on the set of sensor reading data and wherein the processor constructs the first graph representation based on the point cloud positions and the feature embeddings (“The basic node features can be directly extracted from the tracked trajectories. Spatial coordinates of the objects in the agents’ world coordinate frames are used as node attributes in [66, 147, 190], providing positional information and relative distance between agents. Authors of the works [41, 143, 260] use manually designed features to describe the state of each node at each time step, such as position, velocity and acceleration. These handcrafted features can provide more detailed information about the agents’ state from both spatial and temporal perspectives.” P13 §4.1.2 ¶2, “One of the benefits of LiDARs is that it can be used to provide precise and accurate localization and mapping, since they can produce a high-resolution densely spaced network of elevation points, referred as point clouds.” P12 ¶1, note: point clouds can be used for location data which is extracted to create feature for graph neural networks).
Su, Kranski, Du, Chen and Dong are in the same field of endeavor of graphs for sensor data and are analogous. Su discloses two graphs for processing sensory and position information for controlling a robot. Kranski teaches the use of point clouds for sensors and geometric arrangements (features) based on the point cloud for robot control. Du teaches visual-based tactile readings for point cloud construction. Chen teaches that a recursive message passing graph neural network can instead be implemented non-recursively. Dong teaches various known methods of using graph neural networks for processing signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the graphs with message passing as disclosed by Su, Kranski, Du and Chen with the known graph neural network and point cloud feature extraction as taught by Dong to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 4, 13 and 20, Su does not explicitly disclose: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the first graph representation is a world graph indicative of points from an object point cloud of an object in contact with at least some of the set of sensors at a time step.
Dong teaches: wherein the first graph representation is a world graph indicative of points from an object point cloud of an object in contact with at least some of the set of sensors at a time step (“The basic node features can be directly extracted from the tracked trajectories. Spatial coordinates of the objects in the agents’ world coordinate frames are used as node attributes in [66, 147, 190], providing positional information and relative distance between agents. Authors of the works [41, 143, 260] use manually designed features to describe the state of each node at each time step, such as position, velocity and acceleration. These handcrafted features can provide more detailed information about the agents’ state from both spatial and temporal perspectives.” P13 §4.1.2 ¶2, “One of the benefits of LiDARs is that it can be used to provide precise and accurate localization and mapping, since they can produce a high-resolution densely spaced network of elevation points, referred as point clouds.” P12 ¶1).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Su does not explicitly disclose: The system for proprioceptive learning of claim 1, wherein the performing the message passing operation between nodes of the first graph representation and the second graph representation is based on a hierarchical graph neural network (GNN).
Dong teaches: wherein the performing the message passing operation between nodes of the first graph representation and the second graph representation is based on a hierarchical graph neural network (GNN) (“For example, in traffic networks, the installed traffic camera and ultrasound sensors that continuously collecting data are the nodes in this case. In the papers that we surveyed, Zhang et al. [318] proposed a novel semi-supervised hierarchical recurrent graph neural network (SHARE) for predicting city-wide parking availability by developing a graph structure from sensors such as camera, ultrasonic and GPS.” P23, note: graph neural networks and specifically a hierarchical graph neural network can be used for position data).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC NILSSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151